Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Penhalt Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Bude > Penhalt Farm Reviews

Penhalt Farm
Widemouth Bay
Bude
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
EX23 0DG
Tel: 01288 361210
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03/2022 to 30/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 18 Reviews
                9/10 from 18 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jackie 1 review from this member

 Stunning views and a great site. Some pitches are sloping so take chocks.

Very reasonably priced and lovely staff, nothing is too much trouble.

Good shower facilities too.

We’ll definitely return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Kgsm14 1 review from this member

 A great campsite with STUNNING views! Neat, generous pitches. Good washing up facilities and showers. No frills but decent, clean facilities all round.

Games room and climbing frame closed off due to Covid but looked good!

Lovely staff too working very hard to clean the showers and loos 4 times a day at the mo! Shower tokens free and good amount of hot water.

Handy mini shop on site and nice eating pub with a (long ish about 1. 5km) walking distance. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bbdawes 14 reviews from this member

 A good value campsite with sea views! Lots of space for children to run around in. Toilet block was a bit dated but clean, and separate shower block required 50p.

Easy to drive into Bude and Widemouth Bay. Perfect for walkers as a short detour from the SW Coast path. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Milese 2 reviews from this member

 This is a fairly straightforward campsite set on the coast near Widemouth Bay.

The pitches are based around the edge of a large field with a vast mass of grass in the centre. The Farm House, reception, toilet block and showers are at the top of the field facing the sea. All pitches will have a side view of the sea, the beach with Goonhilly in the distance.

My pre booking and pre arrival emails were answered promptly and helpfully. The owner was very welcoming and there is a small shop at reception for basic items, including a full range of calor gas. Reception seemed to be maned from early in the morning to early evening.

The showers take tokens which cost 50p and last about 5 minutes. The showers and toilets are fine, if a little dated and could be cleaner. Seen better, seen worse.

The play park is simple but kept our children amused. There is a wooden play fort which they loved, swings, two slides and some balance planks. The site is quiet with very little traffic so quite safe for children. There is also a games room with air hockey and a couple of pool tables, but we didn't use them.

For most, or more likely for those with young families or who don't like walking too much, the site is a little too out of the way to walk anywhere, but Widemouth Bay is only a 5 minute drive away and Bude probably 10 minutes.

The site is very laid back, it lacks an abundance of facilities but has what you need. It's not modern or lively but has a casual rural charm. If you want somewhere nice to camp, where you will provide your own entertainment and are happy to drive when you do want to get out and about this is a great site in a beautiful part of the country.

The folk on the pitch next to us had been coming back for the last 25 years.

A few things that bothered me - dog poo appeared near our tent. Can't blame the site but I suppose if you let dogs come it could be an issue with irresponsible owners. There are signs that state that dogs must be kept on leads.

They emptied the glass recycling bin at 6am one day. It must have woken up literally the whole campsite. Seemed a bit unnecessary! 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Acornis 28 reviews from this member

 Spent 5 nights here, lovely site. Terrific views over the bay, friendly owner, not a fussy site, not set out in a regimental style, just as I like it. Very quite considering it was the first week that the kids break up. The facilities were clean and maintained well.

We ate out at the Bay view restaurant/pub. Friendly staff good atmosphere good portions. Bit disappointed with the nearest pub which was the Widemouth Manor Hotel, only serve food on certain nights.

Popped over to the Eden Project, had been before several years back, victim of its own success, it was packed.

Bude and Boscastle are close by and good for a visit and shopping. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fatgocko 2 reviews from this member

 I can only reiterate the positive features trumpeted in other reviews here. The owner is delightful. Views from all the pitches are sublime and the site is quiet and carefree. There is no regimentation but facilities are excellent so if you like open countryside in a quiet location with great sea views this is a site you'll love. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Edwalis 2 reviews from this member

 Second time at this site beautiful views and really friendly and welcoming as remembered from a few years ago

Walk the opposite direction to widemouth bay along a steep coastal path takes you to millook - a pebbley cove really scenic quiet and great for wildlife spotting

Great base to explore the various beaches and coves nearby

Short drive into bude for shopping / supermarkets etc

Plenty of toilets clean and fully stocked

Showers always available for a 50p token - maybe could use a little refresh / good clean up eg somewhere to put belongings, but did the job - hot water, enough time on the token

Good games room for the older kids in the group and a nice play area for the little ones

Small shop in reception for basics

The farmer couldn't have been more friendly and helpful during the stay and I'm sure we'll be returning to this sure and would recommend to friends 


Date of Visit: July 2014  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ratty 279 reviews from this member

 We phoned up and booked a pitch the night before and on arrival they had no record of the booking, however they had plenty of pitches with hookup and offered us our pick of them. The owner did seem to think we should know where the pitches were and what the view was like from them, so we decided to walk the field and come back and tell him our desired pitch.

We paid £29 for two adults, one child, a dog and electric hook up, this also included 3 shower tokens at 50p each. So not too bad for Cornwall.

Facilities consisted of 2 blocks containing plenty of loos, which were always well stocked and showers. The showers were kept clean throughout our stay and there was plenty of hot water and a token lasted far longer than I needed under the water. There is a hook in the shower cubicle to keep your clothes out of the way.

There are a lot of washing up sinks all with hot water. There is also a Laundry room too but did not use this.

The site is great for kids as they do not allow anyone to pitch in the middle and this is left for kids to play frisbee, crickets, etc. There is a large play area with plenty of climbing areas and swings to occupy the kids.

In addition to this there is also a games room which had air hockey, two pool tables, a games machine and TV with a good choice of channels. The pool was 50p per game, we did not use the air hockey or games machine.

The site is located close to Black Rock Beach which is a fairly easy walk there, go out of the site, down the hill, just past the Adventure Centre you will see a gate leading to a path which runs to the beach. It is stony though. If the tide is low you can then walk across to Black Rock Beach, if the tide is in you will have to walk all the way on the road. The walk back is very steep.

On the same route you will find the Widemouth Manor Pub and restaurant which offers a good variety of drinks and to top it all off, superb views of the bay

Also nearby is Bude, Boscatle, Tintagle Castle, plus so much more, but you will need a car to get around.

Dogs must be kept on a lead, however the owners dog was allowed to roam free and we watched him chase after a childs kite, hassle our dog and others, but this was not constant and maybe just an error by leaving a gate / door open or something?

Overall this site is stunning with views that are magnificent, although it was very windy when we arrived, but it did settle by the evening and the next morning was calm too. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jill 01 1 review from this member

 My partner and I only live in St Austell but needed a few days away and chose Penhalt Farm. What a fantastic choice. It was so quiet and peaceful and Den made us so welcome. We booked for 3 nights and ended up staying for 5. The views and sunsets were spectacular. It was fantastic waking up to the views of the sea and nothing but birdsong. The toilets were spotlessly clean and showers were excellent value for money. The site is not over priced. We are going back again in September. Cant wait! 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: George4711 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 4 day stay at this great campsite. We know the area well having visited many times. Our favourite beach is Widemouth Bay as there is a large area which is dog friendly.

This site is located half a mile from the beach high on the cliffs with views across the bay which were very memorable. The site slopes slightly but not a problem we pitched our tent with the door facing the sea to enable us to wake up with a view of the sea.

It is a working farm and the fields around were being cut for silage.

The owner was very friendly and we had not booked as it was the school holiday period we expected a problem but they were very accommodating. Price £20 per night for 2 people with electric hook up.

Showers 50p token which were warm clean and ample time for a good shower. Toilets clean and enough to cope with the number of people on site.

There is a games room with a couple of pool tables and a TV which we did go into to watch the Olympic opening. Watching TV on holiday is something we do not do but we had a good evening with other campers on site.

The Widemouth Manor Hotel which does excellent food is a 20 min walk which is steep in places.

Bude is 15 min drive where there are 3 major supermarkets various restaurants etc.

I would fully recommend this site it was a large area with the units very sensibly spaced and a large area for children to run around in.

My only comment would be is if a strong S Westerly is blowing it is a bit exposed and you would definitely need longer pegs

Great site will be back 


Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Penhalt Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Penhalt Farm?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Penhalt Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bude      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Lifestyle 2022 Show, Shropshire 06/05 to 08/05
Holiday homes, caravans, camping, holidays, garden rooms, hot tubs, garden furniture, gardening, health & fitness - 20% off tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4184 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement