Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gradbach Scout Camp

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Staffordshire > Quarnford > Gradbach Scout Camp Reviews

Gradbach Scout Camp
Old Hall Farm
Gradbach
Quarnford
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
SK17 0SU
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Groups, schools and organisations
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 6 Reviews
                10/10 from 6 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stridstrider 4 reviews from this member

 Ticks all the boxes for my perfect kind of camp site. It's a Scout camp site, and I was camping with my Explorer Scout Group.

-Remote, stunning, peaceful location.

-Fabulous shower block (a few minutes walk, but there's that great view to look at while you make it).

-Hiking from the site

-Very friendly, helpful wardens

-Alter fires available or you can dig a firepit.

All in all my kind of site - this is what camping is all about for me. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Grahammm 8 reviews from this member

 WOW, what an amazing campsite!

As an outdoor enthusiast, this campsite is ideal for me. It's remote, quiet, large and hence no one bothers you, there are fields of different sizes to cater for different needs, there are sufficient standpipes around the site, there's the most amazing toilet/shower block ever and a service crew / staff team which went out of their way to be as helpful as possible for me.

The campsite is incredibly cheap (to the extent that it's almost embarrassingly cheap, not that I am complaining!)

I've not used the indoor accommodation, but it looks good from the outside and I'd happily book it for a winter weekend if you're not a fan of the cold. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Camp Staff 1 review from this member

 Owners Comment

Please Note that Gradbach Scout Camp is not open for overnight camping to family groups and individuals, it is soley for the use of Scout, Guide, Schools, Duke of Edinburgh Award Scheme and other youth / adult affiliated groups.

We have in the past taken bookings from non affiliated groups, but as a Scout Campsite we are bound by certain rules and future bookings from non affiliated groups will unfortunately be declined.

Thank you to all those who have visited and enjoyed staying at Gradbach Scout Camp in the past.

Gradbach Scout Camp Staff 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Memameda 1 review from this member

 This is the second time we have visited Gradbach, and it is the best campsite we have ever been to. We stayed on site No 3 which is level and secluded, and has the river running along the edge, making a wonderful fridge!

We were totally left alone to get on with enjoying our holiday, the only downside being that the shower and toilet facilities are up at the top of the site, which is a ten minute walk or short drive up the hill, but if what you want is peace and quiet, this is the perfect site.

We got to sit round our fire picking beer out of the river and looking at the bluebell covered hills with sheep and deer grazing. We went to Alton Towers one day which is only forty five minutes away by car. Will definitely be back.

There is currently a new shower block being built which is severely needed, and although Buxton is a drive away, there's not much in the way of amenities in between. 


Date of Visit: February 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andrew Wynne 4 reviews from this member

 I absolutely love this site and have been going back most years for a winter camp. I had my first winter camp here with my brother in January 2004 with the surrounding woods, hills and valleys covered in pristine snow where we had to dig our way in to the entrance!

The site is fairly remote and there are fantastic walks near to the site including the Roaches, Hen Cloud, Luds Church and Three Shires Head to name a few. We've also driven further afield for walks but in hindsight that somehow defeats the object. There's a certain magic about arriving at such a beautiful site for a weekend and simply enjoying the place for what and where it is.

Facilities are basic, a toilet and taps throughout various pitches across the site(though mostly these are turned off throughout the winter months) There is plenty of space and various fields to choose from though several of them are sloping and you have to search carefully for any with any kind of wind-breaks.

Camp-fires are permitted and we usually dig a pit which is then filled back in when we leave.

I don't remember what the price for camping was last time but it was inexpensive.

There is a pub in nearby Flash but I've never felt the need to venture in, being perfectly happy to be self sufficient here.

A lovely site, highly recommended out of season but during Peak season, who knows? 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: January 2009 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 If you are looking for indoor accommodation for a scout or cub residential experience, or an 'outward bounds' type course, then Peter Watson Scout Camp at Gradbach is an ideal location.

Although designated as a ‘Scout ‘ camp site we welcome groups, schools and organisations from all walks of life.  



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gradbach Scout Camp child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gradbach Scout Camp?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Gradbach Scout Camp dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Quarnford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Staffordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3791 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement