Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Freiburg Hirzberg Camping

Campsite Search > Europe > Germany > Freiburg > Freiburg Hirzberg Camping Reviews

Freiburg Hirzberg Camping
Kartaeuserstrasse
Freiburg
Germany   (Browse area)

Tel: 0049 761 3 50 54
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 65
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 15 Reviews
                8/10 from 15 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: December 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Selmac 1 review from this member

 Fabulous site with very friendly and helpful staff.

Clean hot showers.

We had a very comfortable stay here on a cold December night.

Sadly we were were just passing through but the town centre is a nice walk away.

Next time we will stay longer.

They serve a good cappuccino too. Thank you. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Bl03 11 reviews from this member

 Enjoyed this campsite, small pitches but ideal location for Freiburg and the surrounding area, friendly staff, spotless facilities.

Not much to add that hasn’t already been written. One of the young wardens is an English chap who was really helpful and informative. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mummymills 11 reviews from this member

 This was the 4th campsite my family of five (mum, dad & 3 kids) visited in Freiburg one busy week in August. The other three were either too awful for words or too small, but we really did save the best until last!

Upon arrival, the lovely team showed us a couple of options for our rather large tent, before giving us some details about local supermarkets & Freiburg in general. The first evening we ate in the beer garden. The food was delicious, reasonably priced & the garden had a really friendly atmosphere.

The site itself has a lovely laid back vibe, and even though they strictly enforce the mid-afternoon “quiet time” it’s done very well and with the guests in mind. The bathrooms were spotless, as were the washing-up & laundry facilities. All of which were used by us through-out our stay.

The kids play Park is quite small, but our kids made friends with a group of American kids & had a brilliant time. There is also a reading lounge overlooking the kids play area with some board games. The location of the site is great for getting into Freiburg.

There are public transport links right outside the site, or you can walk a scenic route along the river straight into town. Along this walk there is some stunning street art to admire. There is also a lovely kids play park just across the river, as well as some beautiful cycle & running routes. On sunny day there are parts of the river shallow enough to play in, which our kids loved.

All in all a really lovely site in s great location for Freiburg. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Noddy1304 21 reviews from this member

 A popular town site on several levels, in quiet residential area. Hardly signed from the town. A few gravelled standings for motorhomes. Most pitches shady and rather muddy after rain.

Arrivals were met and positioned by the pleasant, helpful, English-speaking owner; then registered at office. Good clean facilities and very small shop. Bar/restaurant next door.

Arrived the day before Corpus Christi Weekend Holiday (new to us) so we were warned that everything in the town would be shut the next day and we could maybe only stay one night on the very crowded site. Took 25 minute walk by river to attractive town.

Nordsee is good fish restaurant chain in town if you can’t cope with German menus. Left after one night. Roads busy with cars and motorhomes, but no lorries working for that holiday period. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Campervan Mam 3 reviews from this member

 Booked here for 3 nights as part of our 2013 european megatour so we could visit local attractions - thermal baths and steinwassen park (both worth a visit). The toilets and showers are modern and clean and staff are helpful.

There is a kitchen area, lounge room and reading room, but the site seems very hectic with lots of coming along narrow dirt tracks and going and only limited waiting space near reception.

We were given a plot (all are very small) with an additional 'secret garden' between two hedgerows with enough space for a small table and chairs or hanging washing. People with tents seemed to be walking across a field from their cars.

The owners have certainly packed them in here! Nice restaurant nearby with choice of self-service or al la carte and not too far from plenty of town shopping or parklands with stream. Unfortunately, because of the overcrowding, my husband felt unable to return for a third night, so we paid up and left - this didn't seem to be a problem and we were not asked to pay for the third night.

This is a site to use as a base and travel from, certainly not one to stay at for relaxation. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tommyginit 8 reviews from this member

 We had a lovely stay at this very welcoming site. It is ideally located for exploring Freiburg and the surrounding area.

The pitches are small and close together however this more than made up for by the ease of getting into Freiburg and the helpfulness of the owners. Of the eight sites we stayed at on our 4 week trip they were the most helpful. They lent us a map for the day so we could do a 30km cycle ride with our two boys (aged 9 and 7) and for a small fee gave us their two adult train passes for the day which we used to go to Lake Titisee.

There is nothing on site for children to do however we were out and about so much that it did not matter. We spent a couple of hours playing in the river which runs just by the campsite.

We cycled each evening into Freiburg (along dedicated cycle paths) for an evening meal and enjoyed the local sausages and schnitzels.

The facilities were very good and clean and we ordered bread and croissants each evening which we collected for breakfast each morning.

We would definitely use this site again. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pansy 5 reviews from this member

 This is a nice site about 15minutes walking distance from the centre of Freiburg. The owners speak perfect English and were very welcoming. They take you to your pitch.

The pitches are very close together, but this can be normal for a lot of European campsites. The toilets and showers were spotless and as mentioned earlier you have to take your own toilet roll, but there is soap.

We liked this site because it was very central for Freiburg, which is a lovely city, but because you are very close to your neighbours I don't think we would stay any more than two or three nights 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Nicolashort 5 reviews from this member

 Pleasant site in a really nice position just a few minutes from freiburg. Site is set on a hill in a mainly residential area. Very peaceful, but only 15 mins from the centre of town and bus stop just outside gate.

We were shown to our pitch and helped to park. Facilities clean and free showers, but you do need your own loo roll (there is a supply for emergencies!)

Good indoor communal room for meals next to kitchen area

Had one of the nicest meals of our trip in the bar/restaurant next to the site- would recommend a visit (though they don't speak English)

Nice base for a few days to explore the Black Forrest 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alk47 15 reviews from this member

 This turned out to be the most expensive caravan site we have ever visited. We were charged for the pitch, the electricity used and Wi-Fi, in all averaging 30 euros per day. Very expensive for what is a below average site.

The site is on the outskirts of Freiburg. The entrance is very tight. Once checked in, there is a steep climb to where the terraced pitches are located on a hillside. All the caravans & motorhomes were crammed on, very close to each other with zero privacy.

The pitches were sloping and made up of soft sandy & gritty soil with scrubby grass & weeds around the edge. Water supply & waste facilities looked like they belonged in the stone age. The shower block down the hill looked modern (we use our own on board facilities).

The staff were very friendly & helpful. Freiburg town is within walking distance & very beautiful, though not many concessions to the English language. We enjoyed our evening walks by the river and our visits to the Black Forest, Triberg & Titisee. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Trevorandfiona 11 reviews from this member

 We were supposed to use this site as a stop-over on our way to Bavaria but we liked it, and the area, so much that we actually stayed there for the whole 14 days!

You are welcomed by very efficient, English speaking staff who personally take you to your pitch and will help guide you into the pitches.

The pitches themselves vary in size. None of them are huge but most are perfectly adequate. We saw people with huge double-axle caravans and a motorhome the size of a bus get fitted on without much trouble. Our pitch was big enough for the car, caravan and awning and still left a good amount of space for sitting. If you really want a big pitch then just book ahead as, otherwise, it is first come first served.

The site, and the town of Freiburg, boast great 'green' credentials and there are recycling points, solar water hearing, composting, lovely gardens etc all around the site and town. The whole area is really geared up for cycling and you can go for miles on cycle paths without ever needing to go on the road.

The town is in the Black Forest and a 1 minute walk up the hill behind the site serves as a wonderful entrance point into this beautiful natural world. There are many hundreds of miles of trails, all signposted!

It is a 20 minute walk along the river to the town where you can buy anything you can think of and, much nearer, there are also a good supermarket, shops and many many bakeries.

All in all a brilliant base for the Black Forest and we'll be back soon I am sure. Just remember to take your bikes! 


Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Freiburg Hirzberg Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Freiburg Hirzberg Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Freiburg Hirzberg Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Freiburg      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Germany

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2606 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement