Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Primrose Hill Farm

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Harmans Cross > Primrose Hill Farm > Reviews

CLOSED: Primrose Hill Farm
Haycrafts Lane
Harmans Cross
Dorset   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 24 Reviews
                8/10 from 24 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: December 2021 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Daphnjim 8 reviews from this member

 We have had many happy holidays at Primrose hill over the years. And have always had a very warm welcome to this lovely site.

Sadly our June holiday 2021 was the last as the owner has passed away and the site is now closed.

RIP Lionel we will miss you 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: JGBE 4 reviews from this member

 A very quiet, secluded campsite, perfect for keen, active walkers/hikers looking to walk the Coastal Path around Dancing Ledge.

The Square and Compass pub is nearby, a sweet, traditional pub selling pies and pints. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Daphnjim 8 reviews from this member

 Another wonderful stay at this lovely site. Great location and views, Close to steam railway you can see the steam and hear the trains. Toilets and showers always spotless, good walks from the site.

About 3 miles from Swanage and around 5 miles from Studlands glorious beaches. Really lovely friendly owners.

Look forward to our next visit 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: NickHut 2 reviews from this member

 A beautiful, usually quiet and spacious country campsite. Showers 50p and housed in an old farm shed.

Great views and walks from the site. Well situated for access to the Swanage Railway. Quite hilly, you have to pick your spot carefully if you want 'flatness'. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Daphnjim 8 reviews from this member

 Lovely site with wonderful views, basic loos and showers but always spotless 50p gives you a good long shower with enough time to wash you're hair (as well as everything else) without having to rush.

Swanage and Corfe Castle are just a short distance away as is Studland with it's glorious beaches. The owners are very friendly and helpful. We have stayed on this site many times and love it. Primrose Hill is a firm favorite

Of ours we will be back 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jenclarke 16 reviews from this member

 Good site, basic facilities but clean. 2 showers each for men and women, 50p for 5 mins though at only £6 per person a night that wasn't a problem for me, 4 toilets in ladies, 3 basins. Don't know about the men's. Old fridge/freezer for campers' use.

One washing up sink. Water always hot. Bottom field only open, generally on a slope but with some flatter areas. Bit of a view of the Purbeck hills. Fairly flat at the top by the entrance. Top field is completely sloping but that wasn't yet open though the views better.

Part of the site is a Caravan Club Certified Location. Would think the facilities are woefully inadequate when both fields open and full to capacity. Think that's the only thing which lets the site down. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CampersHowe100 1 review from this member

 The view from the top field on this site were stunning and we were lucky to have fantastic weather to go with it. The top field was mainly hill with a large flat area at the top and a few flat shelves coming down but mainly hill so difficult to pitch if not much choice in busy periods.

Showers and toilets were clean but very basic and at 50p a shower it was a little expensive for what you got and we were unable to get them to work so paid £5 for for cold showers which was not so good and although mentioned were not offered refund or help to get them to work correctly.

Great for short break but lack of facilities would put us off a longer stay. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Snowflea 2 reviews from this member

 This site is consists of two fields, the top field is on a slope but it does have plenty of areas which are flat enough to pitch a tent. From the top of this field there are magnificent views over the Purbeck Hills and towards Swanage and the sea.

The lower field is much flatter and sheltered but doesn’t have the views. When we were there the site reached full capacity but there was masses of space between groups of campers which was really nice.

The site is very tidy, the facilities consist of toilets and showers both of which were basic but clean and well stocked with loo paper. There is a washing up sink in the barn alongside a couple of freezers for icepacks.

The owners were friendly as was everyone in the site when we stayed. We will definitely be returning. The campsite is situation is perfect for coastal walks. We walked from Worth Matravers the along the coastal path to Dancing Ledge (take your cozzie in your backpack and have a quick dip in the pool there) then turned inland to the Priests path and returned back to the village for a drink in the pub.

Pubs to visit while you are there The Square and Compass at Worth Matravers (very busy but nice outside space with views over the sea) and The Kings Arms at Langton Matravers which is a lovely friendly local pub. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: T5terry 2 reviews from this member

 Firstly I want to start this review by stating that we would definitely return to this site. We were looking for piece and tranquillity and that is certainly what we got as well as a lovely view and helpful campsite owners.

The facilities are basic but very clean and tidy and there is everything you need, there were even fridges that could be used free of charge if needed and a small cost for if you wanted anything charged (i. E. Phone etc).

Location was brilliant for what we wanted (good access for Studland beach) and Swanage is only a short drive away to stock up on food/drink. The site is a little haven and I am so glad that we have found it. 


Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3745 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement