Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Blaarmeersen

Campsite Search > Europe > Belgium > Ghent > Camping Blaarmeersen Reviews

Camping Blaarmeersen
Zuiderlaan 12
Ghent
Belgium   (Browse area)

Tel: 0032 09 266 81 60
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 206
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 27 Reviews
                8/10 from 27 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mickirvine48 5 reviews from this member

 A little difficult to find and it seems like going round the houses to get there but pleasant enough when you do. Reception is well organised particularly if you book in advance and staff helpful and speak English. Pitches are generally good mainly on grass with EHU and water within easy distance. Black and grey water disposal at the toilet block which were clean and tidy. Set in the grounds of a recreation centre the walk round the lake is worth doing. On site facilities good with a take away chippy. A good stop over going north or east. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brians dad 9 reviews from this member

 Three days here whilst we visited Gent - as good a Bruges but not so touristy. Helpful reception, site divided into fields with hardstandings in the part where they park motorhomes. You may need a long lead to the nearest hookup - they readily lent us an extension. Toilets very clean on our visit, they seem to get checked 3 times a day. A bit noisy as main road nearby, but I guess that is the price you pay for a well connected city site. Easy to get into Gent by bus - we got a Gent City card - 35 euros for 3 days, but you have to get this at the tourist office in town. Good if you want a boat trip and a days bike hire and do the museums- it also includes bus travel. Evening meals at the site restaurant are very good and reasonable price. Pitch was 25 / night. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MichaelaHewlett 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of our tour of Germany. Site is well kept with nice sized bays. A hedge offers some degree of privacy.

The facilities are in desperate need of a revamp. The gents toilets were dirty and although the women's were clean, the shower didn't drain properly which meant I was standing ankle deep in water which was running out of the door. There was some road noise, but not to the extent to really be a nuisance. Restaurant is good, nice beer & reasonably price food.

The site seems to be part of a large country park offering lots of water based & climbing activities.

We drove into Ghent, lovely town full of beautiful buildings. A bit like a little Amsterdam. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jonnypanic 15 reviews from this member

 A really nice and pleasant site with a bar and restaurant.

Very helpful staff who spoke English.

The site was very nicely marked out with each 'bay' surrounded by a hedge offering a little privacy.

Short bus ride into Gent centre. Will visit again when in Belgium. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dep1 6 reviews from this member

 Pleasantly surprised. The positive: Professional reception with multi-lingual staff. Full site and Ghent information provided including bus timetable and location (3 euros each way). Pitches separated by low hedging. 2 rows of paving slabs mark out where the pitch is leaving a grass area to the side. Our electric cable was not long enough and reception helpfully loaned an extension free of charge. Toilet blocks are male and female separate but showers are unisex (i think, difficult to work out). The only negative is that the toilet blocks are not as clean as they could be. They are not filthy by any means but appear to need some elbow grease. The showers are good but always flood the floors. Would stay again off season. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Remus927 25 reviews from this member

 We liked this site. Our pitch was a decent size though some of them looked to be a bit of a squeeze. The utilities were ok and functional but, occasionally, a bit whiffy. There is free wifi on site. Buses into Ghent are frequent. The stop is five minutes walk from reception. Cost is three euros per person per journey, or you can buy a mutli-journey ticket from reception and save quite a bit. The lake, with beach, is five minutes walk from reception. The site has a shop plus chip shop plus restaurant and bar. Ghent itself is quite nice with some interesting old buildings but, despite the tourist blurb, is not as good as Bruges. We would recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Triton1 12 reviews from this member

 We've stayed here a number of times before. Not a lot had changed except for it seeming a bit tidier. The families who have seasonal pitches now seem to be in just a couple of the separate alcoves rather than dotted around all over the place; there also didn't seem to be as many of them. Finding there was now WiFi at our pitch was nice as it's previously only been at reception, but it didn't work too well as there were so many people trying to make use of it.

The toilets here do have toilet paper and are clean (though some of the drains do have that certain continental drain smell)! Insect repellent is useful at some times of year as Gent is built on low lying marshy ground, and though now well drained does retain a bit of a mosquito problem. Very occassionally after an exceptional downpour the site WILL flood. We lifted the blinds of the caravan one morning a couple of years ago to find that most of the site was under several inches of water. Soon there were 5 large pumps running taking water away to the local lake, and by the evening everything was pretty much back to normal.

A very useful stopping off point on the way to/from the ferries; if you are new to this site or northen Belgian towns just be VERY careful of all the cycle paths on your approach to the site as bikes come whizzing out from everywhere. Very good for exploring some of the northern WW1 sites. Taking the bus into town (buy your tickets from the site shop) is a must, as Gent is a fantastic city! 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Blueclouduk 13 reviews from this member

 Blaarmeersen was our last European stop after three weeks on the Continent.

It was also the most expensive at 31 for 2 adults, EHC and a 7m tourer. However that worked at at about 23 due to a good exchange rate.

The staff are very polite and the chap that dealt with us spoke very good English.

I was a little confused about the insistence of producing both passports and proof of address as nowhere else we had stayed had asked for either.

Free WiFi is a bonus.

The EHC is only rated at 10amps so we had to use gas for hot water if we didn't want to trip the supply. We were running a laptop, battery charger, fridge, cool box and low wattage kettle though.

Access to the site is excellent and the location just off the motorway network makes things so easy.

The only fly in the ointment is the future of the site. One of the staff let us know that the owners of the site are thinking of selling-up. This might go a long way to explain why the sanitary facilities are starting to look a bit tired.

If the site is still operating the next time we go abroad it will definitely be our first stop. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gordon67 16 reviews from this member

 The site was easy to find and the reception staff were very friendly and spoke good English. We had a nice corner pitch which was quite roomy, the pitches are well laid out into little 'sections'. There is a lovely walk around the lake and it was all well maintained.

We managed to get into Ghent by bus very easily (with our cocker spaniel!) and had a nice day there.

The toilet blocks look like some are being refurbished. They were all clean. Free wifi which was good.

We also had takeaway chips from the chippy which were good. We would visit again. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lindseyderby 11 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for two nights on our way to the Black Forest. The complex where the site is situated was easy to find, and once inside the site was signposted. Our pitch was quite shady and spacious, and although this is a very large site, the way it is divided up gives the impression of a smaller site. The facilities were clean, but, as others have stated, rather tired looking. The bus into Gent was easy to use and frequent, and Gent is a lovely city. I would use this site again as a stopover, but would not use it for a prolonged stay. 


Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Blaarmeersen child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Blaarmeersen have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Blaarmeersen?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Blaarmeersen dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ghent       Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Belgium

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4110 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement