Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Fox And Hounds Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (South) > Okehampton > Fox And Hounds Camp Site > Reviews

Fox And Hounds Camp Site
Bridestowe
Okehampton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX204HF
Tel: 01822 820206
Visit their website    

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 24 Reviews
                7/10 from 24 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Mecamper 1 review from this member

 Very easy to find easy going Ďpark where you like Ď sadly didnít get chance to sample the food.

Just a shame about the massive family group that arrived and took over everywhere with kids, fires and drinking till gone 3 in the morning. But not entirely the pubs fault. Common decency is all that was needed but nice site otherwise 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mrs. Bonce 368 reviews from this member

 What to say about this site? Positives-in a good location, about 4 miles from the A30 on the main road to Tavistock, good for Dartmoor. The site is behind the pub, access is ok but the road to it needs repair.

The pub itself of course, but we didn't try it what with Covid and our old dog. Looked ok when I went to pay. Then the shock! £20 per night with EHU when the C&CC book states a lot less. It's not worth that much, concrete hardstandings which are not wide enough, no recycling.

No names taken on payment, so I have no idea how they know who is staying. Loads of motorhomes turned up on New Year's Eve and I bet they didn't all pay.

We would not stay again. 


Date of Visit: November 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Caroly 1 review from this member

 Great little site right off the moor and close to the Granite Way.

Got the motorhome a bit stuck in the mud, so decided to stick to the hardstanding pitch.

Had a meal in the pub that evening. Good food and lovely service.

Would definitely stay again. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Petem1 1 review from this member

 My email booking was ignored, when I phoned they said turn up and book in at the pub. Fair enough, the site only has one male shower/ toilet block, upstairs and off a narrow corridor, probably fine normally, but with covid, I would consider unacceptable, I personally avoided after my first attempt, and didnít stay for the second night Iíd paid for.

Having said that from what I saw, staff friendly pub very nice, in a good position, clearly popular and I look forward to going back when and if the coved problem is resolved. My heart goes out to all such businesses, but my health comes first. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Angela Houlding 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for 3 nights with tent to walk part of Dartmoor. Could not fault this quite little haven.

Basic needs, but brilliant for walking Dartmoor, basically straight out your back door. The pub it self can't fault the food, the staff brilliant.

Definitely will be going again. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Bertwoody 5 reviews from this member

 I had such a nice time at this site, peaceful, quiet and well maintained. The toilet/shower facilities are basic, but were kept very clean. There are no set pitches, just park up where you wish.

There are some fab walks nearby. I ate one evening in the pub, which was a very acceptable and value for money meal.

The charge was £9 per night (no charge for my dog) 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jolev 1 review from this member

 Don't understand the negative reviews on here. A proper pub with well kept beer, and the best home made chips.

We stayed two nights in the campsite which is cheap and basic and perfect location for walks. What more do you need?

Would definitely come again. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiznlil 42 reviews from this member

 Pub is much better than the campsite!

We had a good meal in friendly atmosphere at a bargain price.

This was a one night stopover going from south to north Devon we wouldn't have stayed longer as the facilities left a lot to be desired, after a brief glance, used our own! 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BigErnie 32 reviews from this member

 We stopped at this campsite for one night on route to Cornwall. We arrived on Monday afternoon to a pretty empty field and parked in the far right hand corner at the top of the site, there were a number of long stay caravans down the left edge of the field but these were mostly kept tidy so didnít detract from the overall appearance of the site.

It was fairly easy to level up and the facilities in the bunkhouse just off of the site were a little basic and could do with a little TLC but were clean. The site doesnít pretend to be anything fancy and cost us only £10 for the night, for that reason the facilities were perfectly acceptable and met our needs.

The pub was a delight, we wanted a good hearty meal after our drive and that is exactly what we got, itís dog friendly and we were able to find a quiet corner to sit, eat and enjoy a pint before returning to the van for an early night. It even does a takeaway breakfast menu which we took advantage of when my husband paid for our stay.

This site is definitely for walkers which is one of the reasons we chose to stop. On Tuesday morning we took the dogs straight off of the site and onto Dartmoor for a good walk before departing and carrying on with our journey.

I have no doubt that we will come back to this site. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dubdogs 147 reviews from this member

 Stopped for 3 nights as a group of 9 whilst walking in the area.

A nice open field that's slightly sloping with mature hedges and trees around the outside. Having a long EHU lead gives you a better selection of where to pitch. The facilities are shared with the camping barn, so one cubicle and one shower can lead to a wait, but the shower's nice and hot and they were kept clean.

The location is great for walking as it's right on a farm track that leads up on to the open moorland behind. On a bus route so catching the bus and walking back is also an easy option.

The pub serves good food and beer, and you can also book in for a nice cooked breakfast in the morning.

Had a really enjoyable stay and this will no doubt turn in to a site we visit regularly. 


Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Fox And Hounds Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fox And Hounds Camp Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Fox And Hounds Camp Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Okehampton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


45781 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Play our
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win an amazing 12V and 240V 21.5" Full HD Smart WiFi TV with Satellite Decoder worth £399 provided by outdoor superstore Towsure!

Play Here


Advertisement