Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Comillas

Campsite Search > Europe > Spain > Cantabria > Camping Comillas > Reviews

Camping Comillas
Calle De Manuel Noriega
Comillas
Cantabria
Spain   (Browse area)

Tel: +34 942 72 00 74
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/06/2022 to 30/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 7 Reviews
                9/10 from 7 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Crwydryn 97 reviews from this member

 This has been the most expensive site weíve stayed on during our 7 week trip. No doubt down to location as some pitches are on the low clifftop overlooking the sea and with a few steps down to a lovely sheltered bay.

A short walk away is the main beach.

It is also within 10 minutes walk to the old town of Comillas with its interesting streets, shops (including a medium sized Lupa), bars and restaurants. Menus de Dia were abound at around 15 euros.

Given the price the facilities are pretty basic but as previously mentioned itís the location that makes it so popular and capable of the fees charged.

As far as the clifftop part of the site is concerned there arenít any fresh water points dotted around and some pitches will need levellers and longer electric cables. As with many sites the dishwashing, hand laundry and washing basins only have a cold water supply. The only free wifi is around the bar area.

The main site is across the road as we only visited reception there canít comment on the facilities on that part of the site. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kelper 80 reviews from this member

 As others have stated, the site is split into two, quite different, sections.

The more open, cliff top section, with some wonderful views over the beaches and sea, though many plots require considerable levelling apparatus!. And. The section within the walled grounds of an old house. The latter is very peaceful and belies its proximity to the town. Though it offers no distant views (just the garden walls. Both sections are well grassed. )

Ablutions were good and the bar/terrace area is charming, with a variety of sections/rooms splitting it up. Breakfast and drinks are cheap.

Comillas itself is well worth a visit. Medieval centre and lots of bars and restaurants. Busy and touristy in high season. But, a good one/two night stopper en roule along the coast or to the Picos.

If you want a lovely country embedded site. I'd recommend El Molina de Cabuerniga (a few miles further inland). For a good coastal site: Camping Las Arenas, a few miles further west along the coast. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SueandGlenn 12 reviews from this member

 Booked as it was fairly close (less than 1 hour) away from Santander, our ferry arrived at 18:00 and we didn't want to undertake a long journey to a campsite (we are in a touring caravan).

Straightforward journey and campsite easy to find (you can see it as you come over the bridge into Comillas. Reception closed but we did find someone who pointed us in the right direction, he also recommended the Hotel Josein for a meal - its only 5 min walk from the campsite, we had a nice good value meal which was great after such a long day. We stayed on the coast side (there is another huge campaign field and facilities on the opposite side of the road).

Not many other people on site and those who were there seemed to have clustered themselves along the cliff top to get un unspoilt sea view, however we parked further down nearer the shower/loo block on flatter ground and had a superb sea view all week as the area in front of us roped off as the ground was soft following recent rain :o).


We loved the site, showers etc spotlessly clean, good supply of hot water, only down side was that they the shower cubicles were quite dark. Washing up sinks and washing machine & dryer available.

Route to Comillas town centre is very walkable either via the coast road or up the hill opposite the camp site, its a lovely town with a great atmosphere, lots of cafes and bars and some interesting buildings including a rather quirky house designed by Gaudi (Capricho de Gaudi - well worth a visit), the harbour is nice as well (and again walkable from the camp site.

Wifi only available at the bar/reception which is across the road, but there is a lovely shaded area where you can have a beer and catch up on the internet. Overall I would highly recommend this site, prob not great if you have kids as no play area etc.

The surrounding area and coastline is stunning, we visited most by cycle (Rabia, Rioturbio & St Vincente de la Barqueva) and were there for a week from 12th June 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Snoopysmum 27 reviews from this member

 A lovely site overlooking the sea. Grass pitches so be careful parking. New shower block, keep pushing the button or the shower stops and then the water has to heat up again.

Helpful owner, shop on site. Quite expensive still 27. 5 euros end of September! 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bazlam 15 reviews from this member

 We spent 16 nights here. Initial impressions were not favourable. As described before, the site is split by a fairly busy road. The beach side of the site was very full and crowded when we arrived at the start of September, and we were disappointed that we couldn't find a suitable pitch. Many seemed sloping and the majority of outfits (motorhomes predominately), were using levelling blocks. So we went on the other side of the road where the facilities are. Much better. The whole site was reasonably level, and much less crowded. In fact, towards the end of our stay, we were the sole occupants! The owner, Carlos, and his entire team (special thanks to the lady who ran the shop and provided us with fresh bread every day)were brilliant. The shower and toilet blocks were always immaculate despite constant influx of grass and sand from feet and shoes! The large sandy beach is less than a five minute walk, and the stroll into Comillas takes about ten. Comillas is a lovely pretty town with lots to see, including a very bizarre house designed by Gaudi. The university on top of the hill has a stunning interior and exterior, and is worth a visit, as is the town's cemetery. The information centre is good. Lot's of cafe's and restaurants to choose from. Some good, others not quite so good. You won't find any other nationality of food but Spanish (apart from one restaurant, Quo Vardis, an Italian which we could not recommend)and to be honest, the quality wasn't that great. Most set price 3 course menus offered pretty much the same selections. One dish we liked very much was fabes con almejas, a clam and bean soup. We enjoyed the Restaurante Filipinas and the beachside La Caracola (5 minutes walk from site). There are a couple of supermarkets in town for fresh supplies. Near to the site is the medieval town of Santilla del Mar which, although very touristy, is beautiful. The mountains are not far away, and driving to the top can be quite exciting! On one trip we were 1200 metres above sea level, and as we turned round a hairpin bend, a very large bull with huge horns was standing in the middle of the road! We visited the cave museum at Altamira, took the cable car at Fuente De among several other outings. All in all, a very nice scenic region, an excellent site and very friendly people. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: J9PET 2 reviews from this member

 We consider ourselves so lucky to have found this campsite by the sea in the wonderful town of Comillas.

The campsite is on two sides of a minor road, one side has pitches by the beach, there are very nice separate mens and ladies toilets, showers, dishwashing facilities and a laundry on this side of the campsite. Extremely helpful wardens, nothing was too much trouble and they were always on hand to help with any queries.

The other side of the road, there were plenty of pitches in the grounds of a beautiful Spanish house with a walled garden. There are also facilities on this side of the campsite, together with a lovely bar where there is free wifi.

Carlos, the owner of this lovely property was a delight to meet, we highly recommend a visit to Camping Comillas if you are in this area of Spain, it is nearest to Santander but also not far from Bilbao.

Comillas has a palace, great fiestas in the typical Spanish squares, a very helpful tourist information office. The beaches are lovely, very sandy, a small harbour with a great fish restaurant. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paul_M 29 reviews from this member

 Very basic flat site with reasonable, clean facilities. Cross the road from the front gate and you're on a sandy beach - with some cliffs and rocks quite close at hand.

Had a small bar which was usually closed and a shop which was reasonable although the fresh veg/fruit left something to be desired. Bars/restaurants within easy walking distance whether up the hill behind the camp to the old town or along the road to the fishing village.

Good place to explore Cantabria from although a bit of a drive to the Picos de Europa. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Comillas child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Comillas?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Comillas dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cantabria      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Spain

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3076 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement