Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Fakenham Fairways Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Fakenham > Fakenham Fairways Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Fakenham Fairways Caravan And Camping Site
Burnham Market Road
Fakenham
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR21 9SA
Tel: 01328 856614
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: January - December

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 92 Reviews
                9/10 from 92 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  92 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Grandma Jill 6 reviews from this member

We spent a week here and thought the site was great - it had good toilet and shower facilities as well as a washing-up area with lots of hot water and EHUs.

It was very conveniently situated for exploring the area; we visited several coastal resorts between Cromer and Hunstanton. Brancaster beach is lovely, with lots of space for ball games if you have children. There's not an awful lot in Fakenham itself but it has a nice Wetherspoons (The Limes)and two supermarkets.

Have a ride out to The Duck Inn at Stanhoe for a lovely lunch.

The site was also very reasonably priced, compared with some sites in the area.

There was minimal road noise from the A148 but that wouldn't stop us returning in future.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jo007 6 reviews from this member

This my second visit to this site, first time Aug 2016. Brilliant site + this year with more play equipment + fire pits to hire. There is EHU but we don't use it. People who run it are very friendly + helpful. Pitches are a nice decent size unlike some sites were the owners try to cram you in like cattle which I'm sure is a fire hazard. Shower/toilet block is kept clean + considering there is only 2 showers me + my family didn't seem to have a problem using them. There is plenty to do in the area with Pensthorpe Nature Reserve less than 10 minutes drive away, great place for kids! There are a few large supermarkets in the town approx 5 minutes drive away + plenty of high street shops. With so much do in Norfolk I will hopefully be making a third visit next year.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Phoebesgran 7 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to Fakenham Fairways but it won't be our last! 10 year old granddaughter and I loved it here.

As others have said it's a neat and tidy flat site where you are met with a warm welcome.

The pitches are huge! We were in a relatively small tent (4 berth but looked tiny compared to some of the hotel sized tents around us). Our neighbour apologised for their guy ropes being on our pitch and offered to shorten them but there was so much space that wasn't at all necessary. We could have got another tent on the pitch, and the car, and still had plenty of room!

No downsides but it did feel a long trek back to the shower block and washing up area. A drain where the drinking water tap is situated, to facilitate emptying a washing up bowl, would have been useful.

Also worth noting is that the toilet block is on the edge of the main car park used by people visiting the driving range. Entry is by key pad so very secure but I'd be cautious about allowing young children to go by themselves, especially when it's dark.

We went to Morston Quay one evening and took a boat trip to see the seals. As I'm not a good sailor I was a little apprehensive but it was fantastic.

We also visited Cromer, a very pleasant seaside town. It was overcast and chilly but, like true Brits, we bought bucket and spade and went on the beach. Granddaughter went in the sea while I huddled into my fleece and drank coffee for warmth!

Pensthorpe Nature reserve is nearby and is superb. We were there for 6 hours and it wasn't long enough. There are walks through beautiful gardens and meadows, fabulous indoor and outdoor play areas (grown ups can play too!) ducks, geese, red squirrels, cranes, dragonflies, etc. The Land Rover Explorer trip is well worth the extra cost. We spotted deer whilst out on 'safari'.

In summary Fakenham Fairways is an excellent site for couples or families in an ideal location. What more could we ask for!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Thebaths 10 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a great two weeks at this site. We had been last year too and there have been a couple of changes. The most important for us was the change in the showers - the temperature can be adjusted which is great as last year our children found them too hot. Also there has been additional equipment in the play area. It is a great area for the children to congregate and have fun, in a safe environment. Pen and Jacqui are friendly and welcoming and work so hard to keep the site in an immaculate condition. The site is a great base to tour north Norfolk. We spent a lot of time at Wells as it was carnival week. The site has a mix of tourers, tents and motorhomes and has an area which is away from the play area so is suitable for all.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Brievans 6 reviews from this member

A lovely site, well run with a small cafe/clubhouse for the golf on site.

We stayed on the adults only part and really enjoyed our stay, certainly would come back again.

There are loads of shops in Fakenham but it is a long walk or five/ten minutes in the car.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mammysarah 1 review from this member

Lovely clean site, very quiet and peaceful. Spacious pitch for our 6 man tent with plenty of space to store the trailer and park the car. Kids had a lovely time in the play area, playing on the equipment and in the open space playing childhood games, tig or kicking a ball about. Plenty of families used the space for a game of cricket or rounders. We had lots of rain but the site never got muddy. Great base for days out we visited Holt woodlands as well as a couple of NT places. Wells next the sea was a much and had a lovely time on the beach when we finally got a sunny day. Fakenham is 5 minutes and has a Morrison's (with café that we used as kids eat free), Tesco, Lidl and Aldi. We visited the Hungry horse in Fakenham too for a birthday meal. A lovely family site, we would definitely return if we were to come to this area again.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andersons 3 reviews from this member

What a lovely site! We stayed with our 2 children (6&3), the play area was a real winner - lots of children congregated and played very well together. The showers were great (family sized shower would have made life easier), nice and hot too. The washing up area is Good, undercover too. All round good site, we'll be back!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Steven781 3 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to Fakenham Fairways and we were not disappointed. Wonderfully quiet and family-friendly site. The childen were safe to play and there is just so much to see and do in this part of Norfolk for young families. We visited Norfolk last year also but we still haven't been to all the places we wish to visit. I was particulary impressed that the owners had organised a daily airshow for us from the nearby airbases. The children (and parents) were excited each evening to witness the low flying Hercules making supply drops. The American Osprey aircraft was also a regular attraction. We loved it and you cannot come to this part of the world and not expect to see any flying activity. Our only complaint is that as we were so busy each day we just did not get a chance to sample the cake from the clubhouse, which I believe from the other reviews is simply fabulous. We will not only return next year to this site but also for many years to come. Brilliant!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tank21up 2 reviews from this member

Visited here in September and what a lovely site. The ladies that run the site were very welcoming and could not do enough for you especially when I had a horse fly bite, they drove me to the local doctors surgery where I got some antibiotics and then came back to pick me up. What lovely people. The site was very clean and well maintained and the pitches are level and a very good size. All the amenities are of a good standard and the cafe very handy for a coffee and also the bottles of real ale beers are a very nice addition. Handy local bus service to wells which we found very convenient with having a motorhome, will definitely return in the near future.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jellybrain 4 reviews from this member

Well, we can genuinely say that this is one of the better campsites we have stayed on. Everything was very clean and well thought out - the pitch size was great for us (I rang in advance and spoke to Jackie explaining we have a massive tent, and she sorted us a large pitch with electric). On arrival they gave us an extension lead for our electric and also a welcome pack with a booklet in all about Norfolk.

The ladies who run the site are super friendly and can't do enough to help. The coffee shop is a lovely feature, and although due to the brilliant weather we didn't spend much time in it, I can imagine it's a great bolt-hole during the rainy and colder times - particularly with free wifi. The driving range kept my teenage son entertained when we returned to the site after a day out, and we never got round to playing on the pitch and put, but can imagine that would be great too. My daughter made some friends and they played on the top field/playground some nights which is great to give them a bit of freedom in a safe environment.

There are only 2 showers in the ladies/mens and on the odd occasion I had to queue to wait - but that's what camping is all about, slowing down the pace of life! The washing up facilities were very clean and with 3 sinks, there was always plenty of room.

We liked the spacious feel to the site, the attention to detail (they even have a blackboard of things going on locally during the week to help you plan your week) and friendliness and welcoming nature of the staff. We would definitely return here.

Oh and by the way - North Norfolk is beautiful - so many things to do locally, and the amenities in Fakenham which is a 2 minute drive away has a Tesco, Costa etc. Lovely beaches in Brancaster, Wells next the Sea, great day in Cromer, Hunstanton etc. We will definitely return and will stay at Fakenham Fairways again.

Previous     92 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3985 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019