Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Camping Domaine Des Mathevies

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Aquitaine > Sainte Nathalene > Camping Domaine Des Mathevies Reviews

Camping Domaine Des Mathevies
Les Mathevies
Dordogne
Sainte Nathalene
Aquitaine   (Browse area)
24200
Tel: 00 33 0 553 59 20 86  or  0614109586
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: 29 April To 21 September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 21 Reviews
                9/10 from 21 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  21 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campo17 7 reviews from this member

 Beautiful family campsite with a lovely atmosphere. Small but very well equipped. Great pool, lovely bar (bit pricey!) and outside area, petanque pitches, tennis court all well kept. Toilet/shower block was excellent and always immaculately clean. The pitches were slightly on the small side but were well shaded from the sun. There is a lack of space for ball games which meant that footballs were often hitting tents. The staff were friendly, helpful and approachable. The site is well placed for Sarlat and the surrounding Dordogne area. I would highly recommend and will hopefully return. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jasper0505 9 reviews from this member

 As per the other reviews the site did appear very oriented towards younger kids. However, as we stayed during the last week of September it was very quiet. We chose a fabulous pitch overlooking the valley; what a great view.

The owners were very friendly and run a lovely little site, offering large pitches in a beautiful rural setting. Great walks for the dog from the site.

Although rural it is within a short drive of Sarlat and all the bars and restaurants you could ever wish. And although we didn’t try the on site catering it looked good with a basic menu at reasonable prices.

All the other facilities were within a short walk and clean with really hot showers. Unfortunately it was too late in the season and too overcast/wet to try the pool…

A well situated rural site which had a great rustic charm, despite many other sites in the area we would be very happy to return here, but probably not in July or August when it must be buzzing with families. But, if you do have young kids I think it would be a great site with all its amenities and a fab tree house… 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jaggerdon 5 reviews from this member

 This is a VERY family orientated campsite and has something of a relaxed backpackers feel about it up at the bar area. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Our children are 6 and 8 and I think I would say that although the campsite caters for 0-9year old, the older children may find it 'too young'. Great for families with babies and toddlers. The girls loved the treehouse (for the first few days), and the pool, which, yes was full of inflatables and people. Which brings me to my observation that it may on the whole be a bit small and crowded, especially if like when we stayed, possibly each of the 30 or so pitches were hosting families with at least 3 or 4 children. Ask for a quiet spot. There are lots of activities that the owners will help you arrange like, pony riding for the littlies and Kayaking for the whole family (over 5's only). You will find yourself travelling around a bit, and although the area of the campsite is pretty, the general area was quite touristy. We ate at the campsite restaurant, which was very pleasant. I do agree with some of the other reviews that things are a little expensive. You can't let your kids run free here, you need to watch them, even if you fancy a quick game of tennis the owners will insist your kids go too, even though the court is next to the park area. A lot of parents did let the kids run free though as it got pretty hectic at times. Each evening I wished I'd bought my ear defenders (from about 7pm) but eventual quiet from about 10pm when most kids were in bed! I think it would be better if there was a mixture of campers, not just large young families. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mrscmb 52 reviews from this member

 This is a small family run campsite with 30 grass pitches for touring units. The pitches vary in size and also in the amount of sun and shade they receive so there should be something to suit everyone. Some of the quieter pitches looked a bit “wild”. The site is in a rural situation, slightly elevated with a couple of nice views. Sarlat – the main town is about 6 miles away and is approx 15 minutes drive. There are two big supermarkets there – LeClerc and Carrefour; Sarlat is a nice town to visit even though it’s slanted towards tourism.

The sanitaires comprise 3 toilets, 4 showers, 2 washbasins plus 1 separate toilet and 1 shower & washbasin for disabled (and others) use. The showers were clean although a bit on the small side but the water was warm. One disappointment was that two of the showers and 1 toilet were locked and so we had to queue some mornings when there should have been no need. There are 2 washing machines, one tumble dryer, freezer and fridges.

Other amenities include a swimming pool, tennis court, football goal, badminton net, sandpit, playground and an indoor children’s playroom. Although the website states a café/bar/restaurant – there isn’t really a restaurant there. There is a small selection of tasty home-made food available at the bar which has to be pre-ordered. Bread and pastries are available each morning if you pre-order the day before, but were the most expensive we encountered on any of the French campsites we stayed at.

Be aware that wifi only works if you sit in or just outside the bar.

This is a nice small campsite with a friendly feel and is definitely child-orientated. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Grahamandsam 13 reviews from this member

 Agree with ALL the reviews on this site. We stayed when the site was at the height of season and found the toilet and shower facilities, although clean, fairly stretched for the amount of guests, they could have done with a more regular cleaning regime than just once a day to cope with demand.

There was noise on some nights from a nearby campsite, but I'm pretty sure it never went past midnight and wasn't intrusive in any case.

That was the only downside to what is a well managed, extremely beautiful campsite in wonderful surroundings.

If you want boozy late nights, stay away, if you want a very relaxing holiday in your tent/caravan with your young family in a laid back campsite then book without reservation.

Teenagers probably would find this site a little too quiet, most families had children under 10 years which this site seems to cater best for.

The nearby river dordogne provides lots to do from visiting the riverside villages and markets or canoeing with your family.

We had a wonderful holiday and recommend this site highly. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Catlover174 20 reviews from this member

 We stayed with another family for 7 nights and would gladly have stayed longer. This site is definitely one for families with young children. It is small and friendly, most of the clientele seem to be British. The pitches are not huge but are adequate. Some may be difficult for caravans or campervans to access so make sure the owners are aware of your outfit before you arrive so they can allocate an appropriate pitch. Most people were in tents but there are also a few nice-looking cabins available. The shower and toilet facilities are clean and adequate.

The site is very relaxed and easy-going. There is a very pleasant outdoor pool which can get a bit crowded later on in the day. There is a separate small pool for the toddlers. Close to this there is a tennis court (available at no extra charge), a volleyball/badminton net, table tennis table, and a children's playground.

There is a very sociable bar with indoor and outdoor seating, and a small selection of simple but freshly-prepared and tasty meals are available until 8pm (e. G. Pizza, quiche, sausages). Close to the bar outside are a couple of boule courts which the older kids (and adults!) loved, and a treehouse and toddlers playhouse, mainly frequented by the little girls! Inside the bar there is a separate playroom with a selection of toys, puzzles, games and a table football.

One of the stars of the campsite is the owner's dog, Maisy, who is very tolerant of all the attention from the children and you can take her for a walk with the owner's permission.

The entertainment is low-key and includes a very sociable barbecue night, a camp fire and boules competition. There was very little noise after 10pm and the noise from nearby campsites mentioned by a previous reviewer was very far away and certainly never troubled us.

There is a lot to do in the area. We went for a very scenic if somewhat hilly bike ride and stopped for a picnic in the grounds of a beautiful village church. The river is nearby and we spent a lovely day at nearby Vitrac swimming in the river and canoeing. We also visited the very interesting Grottes du Roc de Cazelle. The site is very rural, located in the small village of Sainte Nathalene, but there is a very pleasant restaurant in the village and it is within an easy drive of Sarlat where there is a large Carrefour supermarket and several restaurants as well as a weekly market.

At first glance this site may not seem anything special but what makes it so great is the atmosphere and dedication shown by the owners to make it a very special place to stay. We would not hesitate to return and hope to do so next year. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Bobbymax 12 reviews from this member

 Small site, kept very clean but it still needs more than four showers, three toilets and two sinks - most people ended up washing and brushing teeth in the washing-up area.

Must admit we were rather taken in by the excellent reviews which should really mention that if you haven't got kids under seven this place can be a bit of a nightmare.

We had a couple of all-night 'screamers' in close proximity and the Dutch kids, in particular, were allowed to run riot which included unplugging electric leads and throwing stones at each other across pitches.

The pool was permanently full of inflatables as well and you also get the noise from hi-volume entertainment at two other much larger sites across the valley so take earplugs. Another thing to note, the lower pitches are heavily sloped and the ground rock only seems to be an inch below the surface. With many tree roots, pegging was a real problem and I noticed many simply held their tents down with piles of rocks.

That said, the owners obviously work hard and were very friendly but with the supermarkets even a bit of a drive through a busy town, this site is quite expensive for what it is. I doubt we'll be back. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Albourneboy 13 reviews from this member

 Enjoyed a lovely holiday here from 20th June to 8th July, made even better knowing that we had escaped from the rain that deluged the UK over that period.

This is a lovely site - small, intimate, laid back and very quiet which was just what we wanted. Patrick and Natalie are great hosts and very helpful. Natalie is a good cook too though we were a little disappointed that she didn't produce many 'specials'. Having said that though, I can't say I blame her as they have a young family to look after on top of the campsite and there are only so many hours in a day.

The last time we stayed in the Dordogne (at a site about 2 miles from this one!) was 11 years ago in August and it was next to impossible to get anywhere near Sarlat for the traffic so this year, it was really nice to go there for the first time. What a lovely old town it is too.

We visited all the usual touristy sites in the area and even managed to fit in several long walks in the surrounding countryside following the area's brilliantly way-marked and extensive paths.

If you want an absolutely first-rate meal at a very reasonable price, pay a visit to the 'Auberge Médiévale' in the little village of Audrix near Le Bugue in the Vézère valley, an hour or so's drive to the North West - you won't be disappointed but you might need to ring and book. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mark+Gail 2 reviews from this member

 We booked for a few days in September but ended up staying for 10 days, this is an excellent campsite owned by Natalie and Patrick who seem to have Domaine Les Mathevies as perfect as you can get a camp site, such a good atmosphere very relaxing and in such a beautiful location.

The loos, and washing area is kept extremely clean.

The Nook is a great eating, drinking and meeting place. You can order bread which is delivered next morning.

The site is perfectly placed for visiting the Dordogne area, which has some great places of interest to enjoy. The local area also has some great walks for when you don't want to take the car out.

We can only agree with all the other reviews, this site is excellent and we would recommend a stay here. We will certainly stay there again and have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Denisepeet 1 review from this member

 Brilliant site run by caring and attentive owners in the heart of the Dordogne, only a few miles from historic Sarlat and the river Dordogne.

The campsite is smallish (about 20-30 pitches), spacious and well appointed with a wonderful friendly atmosphere created by owners Pat and Nat along with their young family.

Pitches offer wonderful views over the valley and enough space - there is no cramming here. The site is well catered for with clean showering facilities, a pool, tennis court, volleyball / badminton net, playground, tree house - loads especially for younger children. The bar is friendly and half run on a trust basis which kind of sums up the place - chilled out, relaxed and laid back.

Natalie's home grown tomatoes are amazing - nothing like the English (or even French supermarket) ones. I like my food but her salads and wicked dressing would turn me healthy. Also sampled an excellent pizza and exquisite quiche - top quality home cooking at reasonable prices.

Go canoeing on the river and visit some of the sights. We only had a few days there and the car broke down but we were so relaxed on holiday and the area and site is a cool place to be marooned anyway. Will go back, perhaps in one of their very affordable and smart chalets (especially out of season). They also have a gite.

Driving takes ages (10-11 hours) but you can do it in bits, the Loire valley is about half way from Calais. We actually stayed in Limosine which is about two hours north and east of the Dordogne but also very nice. Because of the car breaking we did the return journey in one with a nap along the way. Toll free route not too bad, French roads are much less busy the English ones and you can overtake with ease on their 'A' roads. Will possibly fly to Brive next time and hire a car and a chalet but we like our tent so maybe not! 


Previous     21 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Domaine Des Mathevies child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Domaine Des Mathevies have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Domaine Des Mathevies?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Domaine Des Mathevies dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Sainte Nathalene      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Aquitaine

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6228 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements