Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Leonards Cove Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > South Devon > Dartmouth > Leonards Cove Holiday Park > Reviews

Leonards Cove Holiday Park
Leonards Cove
Dartmouth
South Devon   (Browse area)
TQ6 0NR
Tel: 01803 770206
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/05/2024 to 30/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 4/10 from 11 Reviews
                4/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Kampervankeeny 14 reviews from this member

 The website showed great views across the sea, and as you arrive at the site the view is wonderful but when you are pitched in the caravan/campervan field you don't see the sea due to the field being below the tree line. The tent camping field does get great views but its on quite a slope.

The facilities are in small portacabins in the camping field and only 3 loos and showers for the whole site. Very disappointing for a site that portrays itself as a holiday centre.

The nearest beach is Blackpool Sands a 20 minute walk away, and 25 minutes up steep hills back. You could drive it and motorhomes are permitted to park there so an option.

The caravan field needed levellers and after the regular rain, several motorhomes needed towing off the grass onto the roadway.

For the way this site presents itself on its website its very disappointing in reality. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Davemw 21 reviews from this member

 The camping side of this site is cram as many as you can in ! We found a pitch, non were big, they have a line round to show you your pitch. Went for walk to the beach, when we came back we had someone in the next pitch and over our border line, which meant we were 3' apart ! Then a large tent was put up in the other side pitch, One foot over in our pitch, and over the next pitch too. Being so close you hear all that is said, radios etc, etc.

The showers were Not cleaned the two nights 3 days we were there. So you had a shower stepped out of the shower on to a wet grassy muddy floor. When we left there were Over 17 tents / camper vans on the same field all to close for comfort, in fact we did walk the whole site and everything on it is very close together. Will Not be going here again. We did email our displeasure, but no reply yet ? 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ty-george 1 review from this member

 The site is a fairly sloped field which is fenced on all sides preventing vehicles driving to the tents. Tents are pitched so closely that guy ropes can interlink which is dangerous for those walking around at night. Therefore the site feels very tightly packed and if your unlucky to have some noisy neighbours with no regard for anyone else don't expect an early night. The toilets are portacabins and whilst looking unsightly are functional and clean. There is a very overpriced shop on site stocking the majority of things you will need. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Butters 2 reviews from this member

 Went for aug bank hol 2013

Great if you have a tent and don't require electric !

Good points

Helpful staff, clean toilets, showers clean ( portaloos but perfectly acceptable), cubicles are small though but the water was hot ! plenty of loo roll amazing view, good village location, pub nearby (which I didn't get too ) not far from a wonderful beach. Location if the site spot on. Didn't seem bothered we were not off the pitch by 10 am which is a good thing !

Could do better

They love to cram you in esp if you want electric as all the hookups are in one corner so if you need electric take a long lead ! We have a folding camper and they crammed them in so we had to wait for others to leave before we could.

It's not the end of the world though and perfectly ok for a weekend. Any longer be choosy where you pitch if you get a choice :) 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Aliciaroy 2 reviews from this member

 My wife and I love visiting Dartmouth for the Regatta in August. This year we booked a long weekend stay at this site.

Good points

There is a local shop 2 minutes away where you can get freshly baked bread. The view from the site is beautiful, especially when the moon is visible in the evening. There is also a local pub. The showers were clean.

Bad points

Unfortunately, despite its excellent location we were disappointed with our stay and actually left a day early. The main issue was that there were too many tents squeezed on the field.

Several tents were so close that they had guy ropes overlapping each other. The toilets, although clean, ran out of hand towels each day.

We tried a meal in the local pub, but were disappointed with the quality. The mashed potato appeared to be instant mash!

We came away with the impression that the camping side of their operation is of lesser importance then the static caravans and chalets. Which is a shame as the location is ideal. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Voortrekker 2 reviews from this member

 GOOD POINTS: Excellent sea view. Shop/off licence, restaurant and Green Dragon pub all within a few mins walk away. Fairly convenient for Dartmouth, but is a hike on foot so most people would need to use the bus or their car etc. Blackpool Sands is an easy walk away but care needs to be taken as the road has no footway. During our stay we did not experience any problems with unreasonable behaviour or noise from other campers.

BAD POINTS: The campsite is poorly organized. Upon arrival we were shown roughly where to pitch and then left to get on with it. As the site became more busy other tents were located uncomfortably close to us which resulted in complaint to the proprietor. The toilets/showers are in two Portacabins and while these are attended, they were not very clean and often there was no soap or hand towels. While no fault of Leonards Cove campsite, the village church bells sound each quarter hour throughout the day and night and while this did not bother us it may be a nuisance to some. The tent pitches are not level and if you need 240v make sure to ask for this when booking as electric hookup points were few.  


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Coast walkers 17 reviews from this member

 As a couple with a small two berth trailer tent without awning,we booked 2 nights at Leonards (1 acre)campsite,expecting it to be a small site,it was much bigger than expected with static caravan/chalets.

GOOD POINTS:Fish and chip Resturant / Take Away next to campsite (closed Sundays) General local store / Post Office selling Newspapers.Bus stop.Good location to walk to Dartmouth (3.5 miles)

BAD POINTS:A little expensive, but we were lucky to be squeezed into our sloping electric pitch. We noticed the other tent field didn't look secure, it had a low wall right next to the main road.

A few more amps on the electric point would have helped not trip the power when a neighbour used theirs.

Soap/hand towels would have been welcomed in toilets.CDP needed a tap with hosepipe. The Church Bells were delightful when we first arrived and we were in for a treat as they also rang all night every quarter of an hour. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jonesfamily39 8 reviews from this member

 We are a family of 4: 2 adults, 2 children, 10 & 7. We booked this site for 4 nights, wasn't too sure what to expect, but all others in the area were booked up.

Good points: village shop a minute's walk away with a good selection of basics. Close to Dartmouth, walked in on the coastal path (approx 4 miles) and got the no. 93 bus back. A laundry on site with 2 washers and driers. Chip shop at the entrance to the site. Reception will freeze your ice packs for no charge.

Bad points: Where did the 6m distance between tents go?? We have never been so packed in. The field is not large and we were at one stage overlapping our guy ropes with the tent at the side. There is little room for children to play near the tents (there is a playing field, but it is not in view of most of the tents).
Unless you get a pitch around the edge there is a slight slope everywhere else, this does get annoying. Next to the road, which although through a village is fairly busy.
Toilets and showers in portakabins, 2 toilets in the ladies, 3 showers. Another block in another field, where caravans were quieter but had to pay for the showers there. Not particularly clean in any of them.
Visited The Green Dragon pub in the village, lovely pub for a drink but food terrible, all frozen and microwaved, refused to pay for my son's it was so bad (had already sent it back once as stone cold). Very worst thing was the church bells chiming every quarter hour day and night, not just one chime but a whole routine, very loud and lost sleep as did many other campers. Can't say the owners were welcoming saw them once when checking in, think the statics and cottages are of more concern to them.

It does look like a new facilities block is being started which will improve things. I still wouldn't recommend this site, although the area and Dartmouth are fantastic. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jo67jo 4 reviews from this member

 Made the booking for this site in March, and booked for 10 nights from Sunday 26th July through till Wednesday 5th August.

On arriving at the site around lunch time I was told that we'd been overlooked so the original pitch we were allocated had been taken.

We were then almost shown to a non-electric hook up pitch, until I advised that I had paid for electrics.

The pitch we were then allocated was along the front camping row, and quite near the toilet portacabins. Although this wasn't too bad as we didn't look directly onto them, and it meant only a short walk to the loo.

All the tents are quite close together as this site gets extremely busy, so guide ropes overlapped in places.

There is (was) a new toilet/shower block being built, but unfortunately it has been put on hold due to a complaint by someone local, so there is a little bit of a building site going on by the tent field.

The old toilet/shower block is allocated in the bottom touring field, and the showers here cost 20p a time to use, but the showers in the portacabins on the upper camping field are free.

All the toilets and showers are cleaned to a very good standard on a daily basis, although there is a lack of shelving and hooks for toiletry bags, towels etc.

The camping field is on a slight slope, so you have to set up the sleeping arrangements fairly strategically. Heads uphill and feet down.

This was also quite a precarious problem when using the cooker as the pans tended to want to slide off the hob and unfortunately for me one of mine managed to and put a lovely hole in my ground sheet.

There is an allocated play area for ball games etc, although many of the parents still let their children play around the tents, which we found really annoying at times as balls kept hitting the side of the tent and children would climb through the small spaces between tents to retrieve their toys.

It could also be extremely noisy at times, but generally everything quietened down by 10.30ish.

Thereís a fish and chip shop and restaurant on site, we didnít use the restaurant, but we did use the fish shop, which was lovely.

Generally the site is OK, as long as you donít mind being crammed in and the noise on a morning and an evening.

Views over the bay are good from the camping field.

Dartmouth and the surrounding area are really scenic and tranquil.

You can walk into Dartmouth from the site either on the coast path or along the bridle path, (which we found better), but if you go in by car you can use the park and ride. This costs £4 per car and is a really good service (£3 after 3pm). We also found that you can park on the road side near the castle all day for free, but spaces are quite limited.

Blackpool sands is a short walk from the site, although the road main road is fairly busy, so we found that if we walked to the Green Dragon pub and then took the road a little higher up on opposite side of road from pub, this brought you out almost opposite the coast path which lead to the beach. Car parking at Blackpool sands is £6 per day! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Icehockey44 2 reviews from this member

 PLUS POINTS

Beautiful setting, with uninterrupted views of the sea, very relaxing.

It's Dartmouth, no questions asked stunning.

Local shop in village very small but well stocked. The best Bacon for sarnies around.

BAD POINTS

Old outdated dirty shower block 20p per shower not enough room to swing a cat, toiletries on the floor bend over touch the sides need to wash again!

When we were there 2 block of new toilets were opened, but no showers, these were lovely (obvious as they were new).

Tent pitches, seemed very unorganised, we called in at reception, the guy came out walked us to the Tent field then pointed to a pitch, and said 'go where you like'. As a square field it was smaller pitches around the outside with old stone walls on the back, white lines are painted on the grass in which we were instructed to stay between as people need to drive around. Larger tents were placed in two lines in the middle of the field. But as the field got more busy it looks like the 'stay between the lines' went out the window, then on the Sunday we struggled to get out as people had pitched tent on the designated 'road' areas!

It was a huge shame about the shower and toilets otherwise it is a perfect site, but I guess keeping it all a bit 'rustic' makes them more money! 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Leonards Cove Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Leonards Cove Holiday Park ?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Leonards Cove Holiday Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dartmouth       Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in South Devon

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Woodshrop 24 Tribute Festival 19/07 to 21/07

Family friendly festival in Shrewsbury with 16 of the UK's best tribute bands honoring the greatest hits of the past and present. Chill out zone, food and drink stalls, camping on site and more. Win weekend camping tickets for two AND save 10% on Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4630 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement