Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Brynhyfryd Camping & Caravanning

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Glamorgan > Bridgend > Brynhyfryd Camping & Caravanning Reviews

Brynhyfryd Camping & Caravanning
Ffordd Y Gyfraith
Cefn Cribwr
Bridgend
Glamorgan   (Browse area)
CF32 0BS
Tel: 01656 740544
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here

Pitches: 30
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 27 Reviews
                7/10 from 27 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Szandi 2 reviews from this member

We wish we could give a better review for this campsite which would match the very nice images and text contained in the owner's welcoming website.

From the M4 it is very straightforward, but once on New Road there is no indication or signs to the campsite, and at the staggered cross roads, our satnav took us down a left hand turn (Law St) instead of the right turn into Ffordd y Gylfraith where the site is some 20 meters on the left. We did ask a post office delivery person, but she didn't know where the campsite was! In the absence of any data signal we rang the campsite for directions.

What a disappointment once we arrived, couldn't believe it was the same campsite we had chosen for our stay.

We had to negotiate past an ancient rusting relic of a motorhome to get to the pitches. The grass was virtually worn out, which the owner acknowledged needed attention. About 6 'touring' caravans were on site which appeared to be permanent homes, along with their rubbish and clutter. Also the owner's son kept his two transit vans on site as it was his parking space! To cap it all sheep had recently been allowed on site with the evidence all over the place and it was necessary for us to clear our pitch best we could with a stick.

We had already paid £20 deposit when the site was booked which now covered our stay for the night. (should have been £21, but owner did not want the extra £1}. We left early the next morning.

The facilities were reasonably clean and tidy, but set against the rest of the site, was not enough for us to stay to enjoy the week we had booked.

We are disappointed that the campsite is not up to the standard as advertised, and unless some work is put into the touring side of the business, then only the brave will stay!

Some reviews already on UK Campsites dating back to 2012 reflect similar experiences. Why did we book – the website shows a clean pleasant grassy site with both tourers and tents. We usually pay attention to reviews but some are quite old and some were not so bad. As this site was in the immediate area we wanted to visit we took a chance, Sadly the site is in a poor state, and one hopes for their sake they will take the opportunity to rethink their plans for the future.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Elizabethlb 3 reviews from this member

After trying to find via satnav and getting lost, owner was friendly and helpful giving directions to the campsite and on arrival her husband had ran out to let us know it was a campsite, there was no sign outside to let us know, there was a rotten looking caravan with green mould in the front garden, and we squeezed through the unsightly entrance into the over grown campsite.

I can't find a single nice thing to say unfortunately, having being brought up with caravans and stayed in fields with just sheep, this is the worst place I have stayed, it was squashed in, and full, with on, y a narrow track or bush between pitches. Vehicles abandoned, rubble, a shed for a toilet block with doors permanently open, freezing, I'm so glad we stayed just for 1 night, I couldn't have showered in the cold. It was raining and the grass needed cutting, it was very boggy.

There was no where to swing a cat let alone our 3 year old to play. We were charged £19 and were not given our change from the £20. The only thing that looked nice and looked after was the owners house! No reception. We've paid the same price at a perfectly maintained campsite with 2 play areas, playing field etc etc I feel totally ripped off I've stayed in a hotel in snowdonia for same price including breakfast.

Because of size and the way the place looked in general it's way over priced, I wouldn't have minded if we had paid say £12 but it's just not worth £19 and never will be due to the size and lack of space to do anything, I. E games, the picnic bench was broken dangerous and had a big nail sticking out of it which was right outside our van, we popped out to get chips and found someone parked in the pitch we had chosen and owner had known this and told them to park anywhere in the two spaces, we had to ask them to move because we needed the electric hookup and they were parked in between both pitches!

This was our first night in our new campervan we spent 18k on to have a good time and it was a dissapointment, maybe if it hadn't been raining it would have looked a bit nicer, there where some flowery shrubs etc around, but just no space, a lot of caravans looked like they were stored permanently on pitches rather than in a separate storage field so it made it feel very over crowded as all pitches were taken.

I couldn't wait to leave It was like a horror hacker movie sorry but it's how I felt. I would rather have stayed in a field with cheep anyday.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Daggyjack 1 review from this member

We stayed at the Brynyfyd Caravan site located near Bridgend and have to say that the site is in a beautiful setting, overlooking the mountains.

The site is quiet, apart from the local friendly chickens and is a great site to visit if you want to get away from it all and relax.

The site is very clean, the toilets are immaculate as are the cooking areas (which includes a microwave) and there is a lovely little shop too.

For adults, there are a number of local walks available and for the children, Wiggleys Farm is only two minutes walk away. Margam Park is also only a 5-10 minute drive away.

Continual upgrades are being made (new electric hook ups and new smart fence posts) and I would recommend the site for anyone looking to stay in South Wales.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sal Patrick 1 review from this member

Owners are very friendly and helpful when they are around. We took advantage of their freezer packs too. Nice touch with the kettle fridge and microwave. We had a decent sized pitch but it was very wet underneath, you can't change the welsh weather!

Our only criticism would be the toilet and shower block. It would be much nicer if they were single sex! They weren't t very clean and seemed a little run down. Fortunately we had friends living in Bridgend so our whole family showered there, much nicer!

The entrance to the site doesn't give a great first impression either I'm afraid. Piles of rubble and cars/vans on bricks nearly made us turn around and leave.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tracy J 2 reviews from this member

A very unsatisfactory experience and I would not recommend this site at all. The site has several long stay caravans for contractors, which are crammed in, leaving little free space for children to play.

The toilets and showers were filthy dirty and needed to be cleaned regularly and properly. Hot water was very hit and miss and the level and standard of facilities were not reflected in the price of £20. 00 per night; I would not expect to pay more than £12. 00, they were very poor and I could not wait to leave. It might also be a good idea to have separate showers and toilets for men and women.

This has the potential to be an excellent small site, but the owners need to decide which direction they are taking it; either for contractors or holiday makers, you can't cater for both and keep everyone happy.

It would also be helpful to have a reception area or bell so that you can contact the manager when you need to. I would also recommend regular cleaning and maintenance work as in places the site bears the resemblance of a building site, it is not pretty and certainly not family friendly.

Very disappointing and I will not be returning. The pitch was very uneven and on a slope, resulting in us 'rolling' out of our beds, drainage was also a problem.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Evalily 6 reviews from this member

This is our second visit to this site and we will NOT be returning again. We first stopped here shortly after it opened. Then, it was a basic site with basic facilities & basic prices to reflect this. Upon our return over the 'jubilee' weekend we discovered that not much had changed;the facilities were inadequate, and the site fees had gone up considerably.

After pitching the tent in the rain (our decision), we had brought food with us to heat up in their microwave. Only to discover that the microwave didn't work as the fuse had gone. Somebody came to our aide by taking the fuse out of the kettle and putting it in the microwave. Not a great start!

As the rain continued to come down more heavily so the ground beneath our porch became more boggy. Certainly the pitches could do to have better drainage.

There were a lot more caravans and tents crammed in than when we had previously stayed and nowhere for the children to play other than the path. We knew there were no specific play areas from our last visit but then there was plenty of space on unused pitches.

The second night we stopped we opted for a bbq. There was little hot water for washing up and showers and the following morning there was none.

The toilets and showers were very basic and not cleaned regularly. Mops were left out but no mop buckets so you ended up swishing dirty water around and the toilet paper ran out. There was no reception and it wasn't always that easy to find someone when you needed advise or help.

Our friends had a larger tent for which they were expected to pay an extra £5. 00 per night which we felt didn't reflect the services provided.

All in all we made the best of what we could but we've paid less money in the past at different sites and found the facilities to be far superior.

The site has lots of potential and the location is great for Cardiff and Swansea but we feel it is poorly managed. Perhaps the owners would benefit by visiting other sites to see how their site could be improved

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Haulfryn 5 reviews from this member

Visited Brynhyfryd during the May heatwave and we were really looking forward to some peace and quiet in the sunshine. However, we couldn't have been more disappointed.

A row of around 7 caravans next to us was taken up with contractors working for National Grid who are there long term. Due to the fantastic weather they had turned the empty pitch right next to our tent into party central for the whole evening until we had to ask them to turn the dance music down so we could sleep.

Aside from this, the site is very messy, with rusting derelict cars and vans on bricks all around the entrance. They appear to be having an entrance driveway built, this is half completed and surrounded by rubble. First impressions are awful. The toilets/showers were clean and worked fine but are in portable cabins.

The site consists of two small fields. There is a barbed wire fence separating the pitches from the surrounding land. The only place for children to play is on empty pitches or the gravel road.

When we arrived there was nobody there but after we phoned and were told to pitch where we liked the owner came to see us. He was friendly and helpful. Pitch sizes are generous.

The owner did say that the contractors were not always there on weekends and that he would have gladly asked them to be quiet, however the overall feeling of the site, when we were there anyway, was not that of a laid back, peaceful family campsite at all - ie rusting cars, half built entrance, barbed wire fences and gangs of contractors.

We were really disappointed after reading all the great reviews from last year. Hopefully we were unlucky and the site will improve over the summer as the owner was great. Best free range eggs we've ever had too, and he even brought them to our tent for us.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Originaljoker 1 review from this member

I have just got back from here and I can't recommend this site strongly enough. The toilets are spotless and very well maintained, the owners are very friendly and the chickens are fun to watch.

I went with 2 other adults and 2 children who had not camped at all before and they all loved it.

The other campers were very friendly and willing to help each other. There was a very friendly atmosphere within the camp.

It felt very safe for children and I was happy for the children to wander around without supervision.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Crazyforcamping 4 reviews from this member

Just got back after a nice stay at this lovely site.

Really nice Welcome extremely friendly, and happy to help with anything. Pitch we were given was excellent for our tent and very easy to pitch in the pegs. The other people staying there were very nice, , and quiet just really lovely, the kitchen was really nice, Fridge, Microwave, Kettle, toaster and loads of plugs to plug phones etc in, there was high level of trust which no one abused and it was just really nice.

Bathroom areas were nice and clean, , simple but I clean hot shower and toilets are all we ask for.

The Chickens were lovely and great fun for the kids, plenty of room for kids to play and have fun.

I will definitely be recommending this site to friends, and we will be staying again

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tracyvicker 1 review from this member

We stayed at this campsite last night, and, as other reviewers have stated, the entrance isn't to welcoming, but once on the little site we found it lovely.

The weather during the day was fantastic my one year old and three year old had great fun running around free amongst the chickens!

The site was really quiet when we were there, a couple of other tents and a few caravans. It was our first time camping and the man who greeted us was really friendly, he even made my hubby and I a cup of tea and coffee while we put the tent up (for the first time!).

The showers/toilets are basic but clean considering it is a campsite and not the 5* Hilton. We really appreciated the microwave oven to heat our little ones milk bottle up in - so much easier than boiling a kettle on the fire etc.

This is an ideal site for first time campers to break you in easily, as others have said, could have benefited from a sand pit or slide/swings for the kids, but perhaps they will have them one day.

We will definitely be back

Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Glamorgan

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3887 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019