Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Scar Close Certificated Location

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Richmond > Scar Close Certificated Location Reviews

Scar Close Certificated Location
Hudswell
Richmond
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
DL11 6BQ
Tel: 01748 823287
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 CAMC Members Only
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 7 Reviews
                9/10 from 7 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Caravan and Motorhome Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes and is for Club Members only.

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Fairliered 6 reviews from this member

 This is a very spacious CL with well maintained grass pitches. We had EHU and a tap at our pitch.

There is a small toilet, which we canít comment on, as we use our own facilities.

A gate at the bottom of the site leads directly to National Trust woodland, which is great for walks if you donít suffer from vertigo!

It is a 10 minute walk to an award winning, community owned, dog friendly village pub.

Mrs Porter will send you detailed directions to the site, avoiding the worst of the steep hills and narrow lanes.

Leyburn is worth visiting, especially on market day. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Denisea 13 reviews from this member

 Excellent site in a great location. Very quiet and peaceful. The owners are very friendly.

We stayed to attend the open day at Culloden Tower which was amazing.

Afterwards we returned to the site and enjoyed a walk in the National Trust Woodlands.

We saw red squirrel and lots of rabbits.

The views are amazing and we would have loved to have stayed longer but had to return to work. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pacesetters 2 reviews from this member

 We used this charming little site for an overnight stop while visiting friends in Richmond.

Don't expect any frills but there is a nice flat grassy pitch, tap, hook--up and loo.

Walk straight out of the field and you are practically next to the river Swale and the lovely market town of Richmond is close by.

Owner Mrs Porter gave us a warm welcome and a friendly send-off the next morning.

Next time we will stay for longer 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: TracyJen 13 reviews from this member

 This is a large nicely kept field with a central road and grass pitches on both sides with electric hook up and water taps.

There is a gravelled car park area that can be parked on if raining, but there are no electric hook ups in this area.

There is a gate at the bottom of the CL which connects with the National Trust woodland area.

A leaflet in the information shed shows walks in the area of varying lengths and degrees of abilities and includes a riverside walk to Richmond.

Once through the woods the scenery is spectacular. There is recycling on site and the toilet is a portaloo within a small shed, which is perfectly adequate.

The grass can be a bit soft when it has rained, even though we used plastic under tyre treads, we still managed to leave a tyre mark, for which I apologise.

We did not visit Hudswell although we would if we stayed for a longer visit.

Mrs Porter was very friendly and helpful, I would recommend this site and would certainly return for hopefully a longer visit. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: SwanseaJack1 5 reviews from this member

 Just spent three nights here at this lovely, well located CL.

Lovely views from your van. Lady very welcoming and helpful.

Hook ups and drinking water taps no problem. Chemical disposal and a loo thrown in (very clean portaloo type-this is only a CL).

Village pub within walking distance and Richmond only 2 miles away, and the bus will stop right outside the site.

It has been raining constantly for some time and the lady offered me a place on some hardstanding.

Do not normally use CLs but if they were all of this standard I would use them more often. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Daleswalker 9 reviews from this member

 Just got back from an extended weekend stay at Scar Close, this wonderful site is a definite for a return visit.

A warm yet unintrusive welcome from the owner preceded a thoroughly lovely stay.

The views are breathtaking and the main field opens straight out to a public footpath through Calf Hill woods and on to Round Howe.

There is a lovely pub just down the road (a fair walk but an easy drive). The site is kept immaculately but it is a CL so don't expect toilet blocks etc.

There are recycling facilities on site which is unusual for a CL, the main field is generously sized for a maximum of 5 vans so plenty of room to spread out!

To top it all off we got perfect reception on all TV channels (digital).

A great site for a quiet stay but with the lively town of Richmond just a stone's throw away. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 571 reviews from this member

 Scar Close is a small site for a maximum of five units, situated in the village of Hudswell, a couple of miles from Richmond.

The area surrounding the site is excellent for walking, with the adjacent National Trust woodland and River Swale.

There are several marked trails directly from the site, and the walk into Richmond takes about 45 minutes, although the all back is very steep.

The town is worth a visit; it offers several shops, bars and restaurants, as well as a Saturday market, the castle and a museum.

There are no shower facilities on site, but there are water points, electric hook-up points and a small porta-cabin toilet. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Scar Close Certificated Location child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Scar Close Certificated Location?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Scar Close Certificated Location dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Richmond      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/05
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3844 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement