Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Snowdonia And Coast ( Previously Cae Bach Campsite And Wigwam Site )

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Snowdonia > Snowdonia And Coast ( Previously Cae Bach Campsite And Wigwam Site ) Reviews

Snowdonia And Coast ( Previously Cae Bach Campsite And Wigwam Site )
Graianog
Llanllyfni
Caernarfon
Snowdonia
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL54 6SY
Tel: 07719 970012
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10
Open: Contact For Details

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 11 Reviews
                8/10 from 11 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Jrwshrops 1 review from this member

Me and my fiancee have just returned from a 3 night stay, in one of the biggest camping pods ever! The owners were on site to help at the ring of a doorbell or a call/text, a lovely couple, very welcoming and friendly. The site has 5 pods - the seating area folds out into a super king size bedding area, and still leaves a seating area! There is a fridge, kettle, heater, electric - we rated the pod 10/10. Each pod had outside the patio area a large, solid, wooden table that would seat 6 people with ease. Fire pits & logs also available, for that lovely campfire experience. There are communal showers (mixed male & female), which gave hot water nicely, and clean toilets. There is also an area for washing up, with a toaster/microwave/over/grill/fridge/freezer, and a large table if you wanted to eat indoors in poor weather. A toilet roll was provided by the owners, but you may want more. Around the pods there were a couple of caravans and an area for tents, also the owner informed me there is another field behind the house for tents during busier periods. We've stopped at many campsites in our 10 years, and this one has to be the most welcoming one to date. It is a perfect distance from Llanberis (20 minutes or so) for keen mountain walkers, and also neighbouring towns (Pwllheli / Porthmadog). The closest small town is Penygroes (a 5 minute drive north on the A487), that provides shops, chippy, curry and chinese if you fancy. All in all a great experience and will be back!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Circle 1 review from this member

We stayed in this campsite during the August Bank Holiday and like every other campsite in the area it was busy. Having said this, what a great campsite it is. Although it was busy the toilets and showers were always kept clean. And as an added bonus this campsite has a kitchen area for the use of campers.

There are many country walks and the bicycle track runs near the campsite which was brilliant for the children.

The owners were on hand if we needed anything and were very helpful.

I am looking forward to returning to Cae Bach in the near future it is one of the best sites we have ever stayed in as a family and I would recommend it to all my friends.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Happycampers00 3 reviews from this member

On arrival we were quite disappointed with the site as it was very small and all tents were pitched very close together. There was no where for the children to play football or cricket let alone ride a bike. Which meant the toilets and shower block was the area which they hung about at. We had children from other tents running around our tent which we weren't happy about. The site has a small hardcore track going through it and a bit of grass each side for campers. We had to pitch the back end of our tent in the long grass as there wasn't enough room even though we had booked in a jumbo tent. There are wooden pods on the site there was no personal space at all.

If you get the choice don't pitch under the trees as they are very noisy (we didn't get the choice)

Showers are powerful but better drainage is needed as the entry get flooded easily. Be careful with dry clothes as there isn't anywhere to put your clothes for them to stay dry, so make sure you put them in a plastic bag. Toilets aren't very clean they were never bleached while we were there. The toilet brush was a health hazard!No toilet roll is supplied but there is hand soap but no towels.

There is a communal kitchen/ dining area with fridge, microwave, hob and sink for washing up. This was a good feature.

The site was off the beaten track and was lovely and quiet away from the traffic noise.

We won't be going back as it wasn't right for us we prefer more space and somewhere with an open space for children to play/ run.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Rachrezgar 1 review from this member

We stayed in a wigwam and it was lovely, very clean and warm in the night. owner is very helpful and provided us with a fire pit. my kids loved it it was a really nice quiet site. we went to the national park in the evening for a walk to the waterfall, it was about a 20 min drive. the showers were hot and powerful and did their job! I would of loved to stay for longer but had to come home for work will be returning.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Runners 1 review from this member

Owner was very welcoming even gave his mobile number to contact him for any directions etc whilst we stayed.

Stayed in a wig wam, was very impressed with these, would recommend. great and considering it was freezing in the night, we were lovely and warm.

However the Toilet / shower block very basic, concrete floors and walls no where to put clothes towels etc when showing. When someone else flushed the toilet or used a sink the shower went down to a trickle. The site was quiet and wouldn't like to take a shower when it is busy for this reason.

Kitchen was fully kitted out but very dark and cold. Enjoyed our stay but something as easy as adding tiles in shower block and better lighting in the kitchen area would have made this break better.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kevpj 1 review from this member

Really enjoyed stay at the site. Was a quiet site with not a great deal around within walking distance in the way of shops/pubs etc - which may be part of the appeal.

Facilities basic but more than adequate. Fire pits available which were a real bonus. Stayed with my girlfriend for a quiet break and it was ideal for this.

Campfire and red wine of an evening was very enjoyable!

The warden was very friendly and helpful. I Recommend taking bikes and taking the bike path to Caernafon - traffic free and really pleasant. Though a little harder on the way back as its slightly uphill.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dragonwoman 1 review from this member

Small quiet site with friendly relaxed owner. Toilets and showers basic but clean with free, plentiful hot water.

There is a kitchen facility in a concrete outhouse with electric kettle, microwave & 2 ring cooker which was brilliant as we arrived during torrential rain & would have struggled to cook otherwise.

Also a large table & benches indoors in case of bad weather which meant our party of 12 could eat together on a rainy night instead of huddling in separate tents.

Shared kitchen also made the site very sociable. Surrounded by lovely countryside, but a car drive from shops etc.

Enjoyed our stay in spite of the rain!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Baggers1 7 reviews from this member

Having read the reviews before booking and really looking forward to spending a quiet Bank Holiday Weekend in Wales, upon arrival our first impression was one of disappointment.

The main camping field was divided by a single service gravelled road with pitches either side, however, as we drove down the track the space between each unit became less and less - So much so that units were too close together and posed a potential fire hazard, with cars having to park partly on the service road - this also meant there was little room to sit outside your tent and have a bbq/campfire.

The shower/toilet facilities were, as stated in previous reviews, a little basic, however, whilst kept reasonably clean we did encounter a number of issues: no toilet rolls (so make sure you take your own!), no hand driers, sinks were in with the toilets so this caused queues in the morning as people waiting for the toilet had to wait for people to vacate after washing/cleaning teeth etc.

There were 4 showers, however, the water pressure was seriously affected if someone was running water in the washing-up sink in the kitchen area and, on that subject, there was only one sink for washing-up which again caused queueing at peak times.

That said, we were camping with friends and decided that we would make the most of what we had and quickly pitched our tents (with a little difficulty due to the stoney, uneven ground). Our children, and those of others, soon became bored by the lack of play space as the only area to play on was the gravelled service road. We witnessed some unsupervised children (who were staying in the 'wigwams') finding their own entertainment by playing with the firepit they'd hired and using toilet rolls from the toilet block and card/paper from the recycling bins as fuel.

Whilst this is not necessarily the resposibility of the site owners, I do feel that there could have been better 'policing' of the site to ensure the safety and enjoyment of other campers.

The site is obviously popular as it had a number of regulars who seemed to know one another quite well. Surprisingly, one group of 'regulars' had little consideration for their fellow campers and young children as their choice of words was quite often loud and inappropriate. A family arguement, from the same group, also led to a beer bottle being kicked across the cramped camping space and hitting another campers tent!

We are regular campers and frequently rely on the reviews and feedback from other UKCampsite users and whilst we do not expect luxury or 5 * facilities, we do expect space to pitch your tent and park your vehicle, space for children to play and proper flooring in the toilets/showers as well as toilet roll holders.

On the positive side, the owner was friendly, the electric was reliable and hot water was free. The site is in a good location for Dinas Dinlle beach, Caernarfon and Anglesey.

The site would be greatly improved if units were pitched more sensibly and appropriate to the size of the unit and the number of units limited to avoid 'overcrowding'.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Spiderboy007 3 reviews from this member

Have just come back from a 2 night stay at this campsite over the bank holiday weekend (29 - 31 May) and it was great. The owners were very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The site is about a mile from the main Porthmadog to Caernarfon road and well signposted. Very quiet at night, no traffic noise. The drive down to the site from the main road had very recently be re-surfaced with the last 200 - 300 yards quite narrow.

The site had a unisex toilet/shower block with 4 toilets and 4 showers (at the time of our visit there were approx 20 units on site mix of caravans/camper vans/tents and the 'posh' campers in the Wigwams) and we didn't experience any queues for the facilities. Adjacent to this block is a kitchen/dining area comprising of cooker (2 hob/grill and oven) microwave, toaster, kettle, fridge/freezer and sink for washing pots and pans, they also have those there! Pots and pans and crockery and cutlery, basically all you'd need for self catering! there was a large dining table and separate eating area, which we found very sociable, as it was a great way of meeting fellow campers and exchanging experiences of local areas of interest.

Toilets and showers were basic but clean and looked recently refurbished, although some were lacking the little touches of mirrors and hooks (always handy to have!). The location was handy for Porthmadog, Caernarfon and a little bit further the delights of Snowdonia.

We will certainly be visiting again, and possible staying in one of the 4 'wigwams' on site which had heating, kettle, fridge/freezer and sleeping area for up to 5 with beds and mattresses supplied. Our son also enjoyed the animals, cattle, sheep and lambs could be seen nearby. To summarise, a great little site with good facilities and friendly owners, what more could you ask for! Well Value for Money which this site also offers.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Spacem8n 1 review from this member

We stayed in our motorhome on this site in May. It's a lovely little farm site with electric hookups and probably room for about 7 caravans / motorhomes.

At only £12 per night its super value and the owners are very pleasant and welcoming. At this price once doesn't expect 5 star luxury of course, but the toilet block is clean and functional and there is as much hot water as you want i.E. No tokens.

It's located right next to a old railway line which is now a cycle track which takes you all the way into Caernarfon without once having to go on a road. We cycle everywhere with our 7 year old boy on his islabike trail bike - so this was just perfect.

If you are a walker then it also ideally located in the foothills of Snowdonia.

The only thing to note is that you have a big caravan or motorhome (ours is just 6 metres) the roads to the site are quite narrow - but perfectly driveable - but I know some folk get nervous on roads like these.

I'd thoroughly recommend this site and we will certainly be returning.

Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4684 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019