Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Higher Kestle Farm C S Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > St Austell > Higher Kestle Farm C S Site Reviews

Higher Kestle Farm C S Site
St Ewe
Mevagissey
St Austell
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL26 6EP
Tel: 01726 842001
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 Caravans and spacious tent pitches
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 12 Reviews
                9/10 from 12 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sunnydale 5 reviews from this member

 A delightful site to stay on. Good clear instructions for access avoiding very narrow lanes.

Spacious pitches although not all level. Board near entrance to site indicated your pitch.

Good wifi and very clean facilities, including a well equipped laundry room.

Pleasant way marked way to Lost Gardens of Heligan (about 40 mins). Very sociable owner.

Would definitely stay again. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Pipidoda 5 reviews from this member

 We booked the first 2 nights here on our 14 day road trip and were sad not to be staying longer.

Beautiful countryside location on a working farm. The site is small and perfectly maintained with facilities that are also well thought out and immaculately clean.

With no on-site shop or reception some might find it a little remote, but we loved the hands off approach.

When you arrive your name & pitch number are on the Welcome

Board.

Farmer Richard was friendly and helpful when he did the daily rounds to say hi and catch up with everybody.

These guys have put some real thought into this site with some great little touches.

Most pitches have access to a picnic table.

Shower/toilet blocks are spotless. Hot water a plenty in spacious cubicles with hanging hooks. There is lots of space next to the cubicles too if you should have small children to shower and dress.

There are 2 washing up sinks with lots of bins to help with recycling. And even a small freezer to keep you ice blocks in top form.

They even have a lovely laundry room complete with ironing board!

A dog exercise area is available along with easy access to some beautiful countryside walks. Mevagissey and the Lost Gardens of Heligan are just 30-45 minutes walk (or a few minutes drive) away along with some stunning scenery.

Their Lobb’s Farm Shop is located at the Gardens too and well worth a visit. Their meat is amazing, the deli counter has some lovely offerings and you can use your own containers and refill your milk bottles! Some fresh veg and baked goods along with all the essentials makes it a great place to stock up (not the cheapest but you get what you pay for).

In a large motor home or caravan the roads could prove to be a little technical, but you won’t be disappointed once you arrive.

I always try to think of just one thing that would improve a site but honestly there is nothing.

Almost don’t want to tell anybody about it as it was just a gem - We will be back! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Peterinmalaga 5 reviews from this member

 One of the best UK sites we have visited. Spacious pitches, very clean facilities and a lovely location.

Richard, the owner, is very friendly and helpful and the site is very well organised.

On the opposite side of the lane is a beautiful, ancient wood with lovely walks down to Mevagissey and Heligan, so no need to use the car for visits to Mevagissey.

Not far away is Gorran Haven, our favourite village in this area and not far from there the Vault, a beautiful dog-friendly beach with parking at the National Trust car park in Lamledra.

The coastal walks round here are amazing too. There are local shops and 2 large supermarkets in St Austell. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mrs Bones 2 reviews from this member

 This is an excellent site. Plenty of space, very well maintained with the best facilities on a CL we have ever found.

There is even a laundry room with washing machine tumble dryer iron and ironing board. Richard the owner calls in the evening to collect monies but there is an honesty box too.

Cannot comment on child friendly there were no children there when we visited but it was all perfectly safe for children. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chris5mph 35 reviews from this member

 The last half mile of approach is typical cornish single track lane, where, when towing, you pray not to meet anything coming the other way - we had no problems.

The site is delightful with a large choice of reasonably sized pitches. In wet weather the most troublesome spot is, surprisingly, the top end of the field, which soon turned sloshy with only a couple of vans on site.

Plenty to do and see in the area, Heligan gardens, many beaches and coastal walks, Charlestown is worth a visit especially for Poldark and tall ship fans.

I understand that the owners are dealing with the problem with the light sensor in the toilet block - if you are alone in the block and in the shower the light goes off, leaving you in the dark. Easy answer for us was to shower in daylight! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mitzionline 9 reviews from this member

 This campsite is situated down a quiet lane with hardly any traffic. First impressions are of a well kept quiet site. The owner Vicky visits each day to maintain facilities (she keeps them spotless) and is on hand if needed.

We were here during May half term and the site wasn't at all full - even if it was it wouldn't feel crowded since the pitches are so generous. EHU available if needed - book EHU if you want to use hairdryers / charge phones etc, since there isn't a communal electric point.

It rained a bit whilst there and the pitches were well drained. Ours was a pretty much level pitch and most were, although there are a small handful of pitches on the way in to the site that slope down at the back, so if you want to avoid a slope it's probably worth mentioning. Our pitch was oriented to face over the farmland in to the distance giving nice views.

There is enough green space left within the site for children to run around and have a good play, although there isn't a playpark. Due to the layout and location of site kids can play safely as it's easy to keep an eye on them. There were other families staying whilst we were there, and also some couples.

The facilities are amongst the best we've seen on a campsite. Showers/ loos/ washing up area and laundry were all modern and spotless. Laundry has an industrial size washing machine and tumble drier. In the laundry is a visitors information stand. Near the washing up area there is a freezer for freezer blocks. Rubbish area has well labelled bins to assist recycling. There were wooden picnic benches between pitches for use.

The peace and tranquillity of the site was great. Hardly any light pollution so great for stargazing at night, we slept well as it was so quiet, and woke up to just the sound of birds singing.

We took the half hour walk in to Mevagissey a couple of times, it's along a quiet but narrow lane (no footpath) gets a bit steep on the way in to the harbour - so a bit of effort is needed on the way back. If you want to drive it takes 5 minutes or so and there is a large pay car park (we paid £4 for 4 hours). Mevagissey a lovely little town, worth a visit it to enjoy fish and chips by the harbour and do a bit of crabbing - we found the Central Café just round the corner from the harbour to be the best quality for takeaway fish and chips and you can eat in there. Sharksfin is another great restaurant if you want to enjoy a meal with a view of the harbour.

Not to be missed is the Lost Garden's of Heligan. It's a steep and fairly challenging walk from the campsite, or a 5 minute drive with free parking. The gardens are spectacular and can easily fill a day. The cafes within the grounds serve lovely food. The gardens have a great farm shop too.

Eden Project is about 35 minutes to drive. Lots of lovely beaches in the area too.

Definitely recommend this site. A lot of sites saw in the area were too big and crowded for us, and many by main roads. This site is a real hidden gem. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Enchantedtower1 1 review from this member

 My husband and I spent a few days at Higher Kestle Farm C S and was very impressed. The location is peaceful, immaculately kept with plenty of space between tents/caravans/campervans and well placed hook-ups - water taps. There is a toilet/shower block (looks very new) which are well looked after and cleaned daily.

There is also a washing up area, a freezer and plenty of bins. Also worth mentioning is the site is very dog friendly and campers who had a dog were very respectful of other people around them.

The owners visit every evening who are very friendly and suggested places to visit and local walks. Mevagissey is a lovely place but we fell in love with Gorran Haven which has a cove and a harbour.

We hired a Kayak for a few hours and explored the coastline which was stunning. Plus, we were told of an amazing walk from Gorran Haven to Mevagissey, which we did and saw the most spectacular views (took us a few hours so go prepared).

Truly well worth a visit and do try this lovely campsite. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Macsen 4 reviews from this member

 Didnt manage to research a campsite in Cornwall rain had altered our plans so arrived here following recommendation from another campsite. It was perfect for our needs. Very quiet, a field with a brand new shower block, which was always immaculate. Very laid back owners who would drive round in the evening give information if needed but otherwise left you to it. A couple of pubs nearby with good food, and there always seemed to be something going on, quiz nights open mic local musicians etc. Mevagissey is just down the road and is a great base to explore the coastline. No complaints. Would be happy to spend another week here. As mentioned previously the farm shop at Lost Gardens of Heligan sells great meat for barbeque. The gardens were one on my highlights. 5 min drive from campsite. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dens 8 reviews from this member

 Beautifully-kept certificated site up the hill from Mevagissey. When we stayed, there were only two units on site as well as one which was not being used.

The toilets and showers are kept clean and have mirrors, liquid soap and clean new shower curtains.

The washing up facilities are outside but under a canopy. Bins labelled clearly for all rubbish are nearby.

The owners are very friendly and pop round to collect the fees which are very reasonable.

Within cycling distance of the Lost Gardens of Heligan: a definite place to visit. The well-stocked farmshop next to the gardens is owned by the same family as the site.

I have given a lower rating for the site facilities as they are basic but clean and were enough for us.

We will return here. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Luvlyclure 5 reviews from this member

 We loved this site. Quiet, secluded and spacious. Lovely views over the surrounding fields.

The owners popped by on our second day to collect the payment and were really friendly and chatty.

The toilets/showers were on the basic side but very clean and as the site was so quiet (there was only us, 3 caravans and a campervan all with older couples in). I never even saw anyone else use them so no queues!

As the other reviews mentioned the owners have a farm shop at The Lost Gardens of Heligan site and the produce is excellent.

Mevagissey is really close and we were there for the Mevagissey Feast Week which was really excellent. Well worth a visit. Fab fresh Mackerel baps and lots of yummy food being cooked on the harbour side.

St Austell is also close with a big Asda and Tesco for supplies. A perfect base for exploring Cornwall in my opinion especially if you want somewhere quiet and secluded. 


Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Higher Kestle Farm C S Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Higher Kestle Farm C S Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Higher Kestle Farm C S Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Austell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3971 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement