Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Patterdale Hall Estate Certificated Location

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Glenridding > Patterdale Hall Estate Certificated Location > Reviews

Patterdale Hall Estate Certificated Location
Patterdale Hall Estate
Glenridding
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0PJ
Tel: 01768 482308
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 CAMC Members Only
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 11 Reviews
                9/10 from 11 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Caravan and Motorhome Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes and is for Club Members only.

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JFD2810 4 reviews from this member

 This is an excellent site for anyone who enjoys mountain walking. Numerous walks can be made directly from the site itself, including Helvellyn and High Street. In fact if you follow the delightful private path up Grisedale Beck through Waterfall Wood you can be on the path to Striding Edge without any significant road walking. The Beck also runs down one side of the site, and there are pools and waterfalls further upstream beside the path: needs to be borne in mind by those with children. Lots of other holiday facilities also in walking distance (including the Ullswater steamers). Being a smallish wooded site manoeuvring does require some care. Caravan Club members only, but in my opinion worth the membership fee. Thoroughly recommended, though bear in mind it is a CL, so without showers or toilet facilities. Helpful staff. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Lizzy1 5 reviews from this member

 I can't count how many times we have stayed on this site - it is our all time favourite. Although there are no facilities, we don't mind as we are self sufficient. The site is located next to the beck and is in a woodland setting with magnificent old trees. The water tap, chemical disposal and recycling area are kept clean and tidy. The scope for beautiful walks is endless from this site. We often walk through the woods, up to the tarn, into Glenridding and Patterdale and the mountains nearby.

This site is so tranquil and unspoilt.

In Glenridding we often hire a boat and go out onto the lake and the local shops are well stocked and reasonably priced. We often stop off at the pub in Patterdale for a meal - beware though - the portions are quite large but great value for money and nice fresh tasting food.

I'm loathe to tell others about this fantastic site for fear it gets too busy we won't get booked up - but if you're lucky enough to get in there - ENJOY! 


Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sherrif 25 reviews from this member

 Spent four nights at this great site must have picked the wettest nights of the year but it's the Lakes. What a great location easy walking into both Patterdale and Glenridding with shops and pubs in both.

Walked up to Grisedale Tarn a pleasant walk up the valley with great views. Also walked up to the old mines from Glenridding again brilliant views.

Only let down should have booked a longer stay but will be returning again next year that's a promise 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Livelylass 16 reviews from this member

 Refreshingly simple site, situated at an easy 10min slow walk to Patterdale.

Its good sized 5 pitches are in a secluded wooded area by a beautiful beck.

There is no TV or radio signal and there is only Vodafone mobile! But there is a pay phone up at the hall.

The quietness is simulating which is good since there is a path right from the site to hike up to Helvellyn or go across to St Sunday Crag.

You need to be self sufficient here as there are no toilets or ablutions block. The only facilities are electric; cold water tap; chemical waste disposal and recycling. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jegordon 11 reviews from this member

 Had a lovely pitch in the excellent location. Leaflet provided at gate with all information needed and map of estate walks given at office. Recommend the circular walk from site over the Kelda's with beautiful view of Ullswater.

As said previously, the water tap is set back so would need a long lead with a push-on connector if in a motorhome as the tap is a domestic type with push operation, so not able to fit the hozelock connector.

Washer available up at the hall only 1. 40 and tumble dryer if needed, only 50p for 20 mins. Very tidy recycling and waste area which was well fenced off.

Village shop in Patterdale baked bread daily which was great. I thought for village shops they were very well stocked both in Patterdale and Glenridding. Thought excellent value at 12. 25 a night for up to 6 people and no extra charge for awnings. Would definitely go back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kate75 11 reviews from this member

 The site is in an excellent location and a beautiful setting. You don't have to take the car anywhere if you chose as there are so many walks to do from the site.

We had 3 children with us and they were never bored. The site is close enough to walk to Glenridding to enjoy paddling in the lake and ice creams but the natural playground of the site kept the kids occupied for hours.

There is some road noise as the pitches are close to the road but it is certainly not excessive and the beck drowns out most of the noise anyway.

I would advise you to check the caravan club directions unlike us as we turned into the main entrance where the lodges are located and damaged the caravan in the process of having to turn back around - the cl site is located further down the road on the opposite side.

We were told we had free access to explore the 300 acre patterdale hall estate which was lovely.

The shops in both glenridding and patterdale were ok but I would advise you to take all food and drink with you as I thought they were limited and expensive - especially for wine!

The site gets very booked up early but I would not hesitate to recommend it. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: NRGRAY12 4 reviews from this member

 This is a campsite in a picturesque location, close to a babbling brook. It is a caravan club certified location with 5 pitches, which are among mature conifer trees.

The pitches are all hard standing, although rocks and an electricity pole and stay make it too tight for an awning to be properly erected on at least two pitches.

It is a 15 minute walk from the shores of ullswater, and is a good location for exploring the lake district while being away from the crowds around windermere.

The site is incorrectly listed in the caravan club handbook 2011 and is near penrith. Repeating what has been said in a previous review, do not take your caravan to the main office/estate office. We took ours that way and had difficulty getting it out, scratching the side in the process. When travelling from penrith, go past the main entrance on the left and turn right at the microscopic caravan club sign further on on the corner on the right.

Do not attempt to use this site without a motor mover if you have a large van. It is very tight, and there are large rocks and poorly trimmed bushes, which further damaged our new caravan. We felt that this and the directions could have been highlighted in the confirmatory email or on the caravan club website.

Patterdale hall is an outward bound centre, with playing fields and at least one assault course on the estate (the assault course is not to be used without supervision according to one of the many signs). It plays host to at least one school, and while we were there, the noise was dreadful. Screaming and shouting on a regular basis throughout the day and into the evening, particularly from an assault course next to the cl early one morning. The management claim that activities are kept well away from the cl, but this clearly was not the case while we were there.

We had good freeview reception, but some other pitches did not. We could not get any mobile reception with orange. The electricity supply was good, and the water and waste disposal adequate. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Walthams 26 reviews from this member

 Caravan club CL - members only.EHU but no other facilities. Setting under trees by babbling beck - no FM or digital TV on our pitch but apparently TV reception varies from pitch to pitch.

Wonderful setting in the grounds of a Lakes estate. Walked from the site up Grisedale valley to Grisdale Tarn. Also recommend the lakeside walk from Patterdale to Howtown, catching the steamer back to Glenridding.

Midway between Glenridding and Patterdale 10-15 minute walk to each. Good beer at the Travellers Rest just outside Glenridding. Good food and beer at pub in Patterdale

Excellent value at 12pn, short walk through the estate lodges to shore line of Ullswater. Magical 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 86 reviews from this member

 Excellent location to access all walks around Patterdale & Glenridding. We did Place Fell and Helvellyn whilst there but would have done more if it hadn't rained so much!

The pitches are really secluded down a narrow track with a babbling brook just yards away.

Motorhomes need to have a long water hose as the water point is not readily adjacent to the pitches.

12 per night was good value.

Glenridding has more shops etc. But Patterdale shop & pubs were just fine.

One to return to when we get some good weather! 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 608 reviews from this member

 This was our 2nd visit to this great site. The grounds of the Patterdale Hall estate are open to campers and there is access to the lake very nearby.
We walked directly from the site to Grisedale Tarn, Fairfield and across St Sunday Crag - an excellent day out. Arrived late on site, but just set up and paid the next day.
Ideal, minimal facility site with a laid back atmosphere. Will certainly return. 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Patterdale Hall Estate Certificated Location child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Patterdale Hall Estate Certificated Location?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Patterdale Hall Estate Certificated Location dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Glenridding      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2844 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement