Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Blacksmiths Arms

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Lydney > Blacksmiths Arms Reviews

Blacksmiths Arms
Main Road
Alvington
Lydney
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL15 6AU
Tel: 01594 529657
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 18
Open: All Year Weather Permiting

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 27 Reviews
                8/10 from 27 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: R083rt0 7 reviews from this member

 First time at this site as this is one of the few parts of the country that I hadnít visited before. They are doing a good job of keeping it Covid-secure, toilets are kept very clean.

The site is tucked behind the pub and is lovely and quiet. You get a friendly welcome and the food in the pub is excellent.

I would definitely stay here again if I was coming to the region. I agree with the poster who wished that the water tap was in a separate area to the toilet disposal but I always boil any water when Iím away from home, so this is a minor consideration. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Janrob83201nfz 1 review from this member

 Good location for Forest of Dean. Clean facilities. Small quiet site.

Lots of room to pitch, dog friendly- And great sunday lunch!

Thanks Dave and family. No children on site, at time of booking.

Pub garden playground available. 


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Tony simpson 2 reviews from this member

 Very welcome small site and basic but nice and quiet.

Stayed there for the weekend pity the weather was Rotten.

The food in the pub was nice and you're allowed to take dogs in as well as long as they behave 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Puffin nose 1 review from this member

 A lovely quiet site near the Forest of Dean. Its behind the Pub so convenient for meals and having a drink. Meals excellent by the way. Very pleasant host. Toilets bit basic.

Visit bit spoiled by the gypsy in his caravan who was rude to the kids when they kicked there ball near his rustic living quarters. Understand he's only there for a short while, but if this puts you off best to check first. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tylers 1 review from this member

 Spent last night at this lovely site. Great pub with lovely home cooked food and a very pleasant atmosphere.

Welcoming staff and great facilities, we had the whole site to ourselves and it was wonderful!

Excellent value too. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ByTheSea 2 reviews from this member

 A useful place to stay - we were a family of four - the landlord is very hands off and allowed us to select our own area of the field to pitch our tent. The field is on a slight hill and and falls off slightly to the side too.

We have stayed before using electric hook-up but this time we were told they didn't have any available. The field has tall trees to one side and fruit trees/hedge to the other, it is nice and protected from the strong winds that can drive up the Severn valley - our first stay was in an awful force gale - but we were nicely protected and slept really well.

The toilet/shower is basic, mainly clean and functional. The shower was hot and there was a stool, hook and shelf for my personal belongings - although the space was limited to move around in.

I didn't fancy using the fresh water tap - as it is still located next to the waste point. Thankfully we were visiting relatives so we could fill up from them and use bottled water for drinking.

The play area, which is rather dated and tired, consists of a swing, plastic 'tree house' slide and a see saw - useful for the kids to let off some steam and is sited within view of the field, yet far enough away for the sound of play not to travel and annoy others at the site.

Booking has always been easy and payment is done at the bar. The pub offers a discount for campers - and I saw many people use the facilities. On our second visit we were disturbed by other campers playing music beyond 10pm and others leaving the pub at closing time before starting a BBQ at 11pm. Thankfully our kids were fast asleep, but I was disturbed a little.

I would return again - it is a good for value campsite - no frills - but very handy.

The location is good, set back from the A48 and is well connected to the Forest of Dean, Chepstow and the Wye Valley and Lydney for groceries. Lydney has a great park for children and the steam train stops there too. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sorman 1 review from this member

 Just come back from a great weekend here, the weather really helped, very warm welcome, great food and beer with a discount for staying there!. Facilities basic but functional, its a pub campsite.

Owner really chilled and approachable. Great location a complete sun trap! Will be re-visiting soon.

Some really nice walks from the site with great views of the seven bridges, drove back this morning thinking it would be busy only took 40mins in rush hour.

Brilliant. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Adamcraigscott 40 reviews from this member

 Arrived on site mid week only one other unit. The pub was shut due to staff shortages. The site itself is basic has about 6 hook ups fairly flat surrounded by plum trees some of which were over hanging so not good when you pitch up. The owner seems friendly and said pub would open in the evening.

The facilities are very basic in porta cabin 2 toilets and an electric shower in the ladies and 1 toilet and shower in mens. They are kept fairly clean few cobwebs. A bit tight getting out of the shower but 1 hook and a stool for your clothes nice hot shower though.

Only cold water in basin. We ate in the pub most evenings and the food was very good and plentiful also we were given 10% discount because we were on site. No washing up facilities for campers. We were there over August Bank holiday the site soon filled up so toilet block was busy.

Around the area is another pub few yards up the road which is open all day quite modern inside and also does food had nice sandwiches in the garden with our 2 dogs but dogs are allowed in the bar area. A petrol station with shop close by too.

Nearest town is Lydney with an array of shops pubs and supermarkets. Noticed an outdoor pool too. Very close to the Forest of Dean with some lovely sites also Tintern Abbey and Ross on wye quite close.

We enjoyed our stay here very relaxing and at £15 a night was about right for what was on offer 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: RL Bedford 1 review from this member

 This is the third time we have visited here and have really enjoyed our short 2 day stay. The hard standing is fine if you donít want to risk parking your MH on the grassed area which has a very gentle slope.

It is however surrounded by plum trees with, if you time it properly, lovely fruit. The toilet block is adequate and spotlessly clean. Like other reviewers our only reservation was the proximity of the water point to the chemical disposal point.

The pub is friendly and the food good value. The site is only 3Ĺ miles from the National Diving and Activity Centre and a good base for a weekendís adventure. It is good value and weíll be back soon. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Heatherharwood 2 reviews from this member

 This delightful site offers a unique position to explore the wonderful Forest of Dean as well as the surrounding area.

The Inn serves good food at affordable prices and a warm welcome is provided.

There is a small shower block with male and female sections. This is unusual for such a small site. It's clean and the showers very good. The site is grass with electric hook ups available too. Very quiet and behind the pub itself.

An added bonus is that the Inn offers a 10% discount on food for campers! The owners and staff welcoming and most helpful. It's a lovely venue.

The whole area is full of history and there is something to suit all tastes.

We can't wait to return for a second visit. 


Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Blacksmiths Arms child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Blacksmiths Arms?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Blacksmiths Arms dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lydney      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1321 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement