Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Blacksmiths Arms

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Lydney > Blacksmiths Arms Reviews

Blacksmiths Arms
Main Road
Alvington
Lydney
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL15 6AU
Tel: 01594 529657
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 18
Open: All Year Weather Permiting

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 23 Reviews
                8/10 from 23 Reviews

Photos (3)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Tylers 1 review from this member

Spent last night at this lovely site. Great pub with lovely home cooked food and a very pleasant atmosphere. Welcoming staff and great facilities, we had the whole site to ourselves and it was wonderful! Excellent value too.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ByTheSea 2 reviews from this member

A useful place to stay - we were a family of four - the landlord is very hands off and allowed us to select our own area of the field to pitch our tent. The field is on a slight hill and and falls off slightly to the side too. We have stayed before using electric hook-up but this time we were told they didn't have any available. The field has tall trees to one side and fruit trees/hedge to the other, it is nice and protected from the strong winds that can drive up the Severn valley - our first stay was in an awful force gale - but we were nicely protected and slept really well.

The toilet/shower is basic, mainly clean and functional. The shower was hot and there was a stool, hook and shelf for my personal belongings - although the space was limited to move around in.

I didn't fancy using the fresh water tap - as it is still located next to the waste point. Thankfully we were visiting relatives so we could fill up from them and use bottled water for drinking.

The play area, which is rather dated and tired, consists of a swing, plastic 'tree house' slide and a see saw - useful for the kids to let off some steam and is sited within view of the field, yet far enough away for the sound of play not to travel and annoy others at the site.

Booking has always been easy and payment is done at the bar. The pub offers a discount for campers - and I saw many people use the facilities. On our second visit we were disturbed by other campers playing music beyond 10pm and others leaving the pub at closing time before starting a BBQ at 11pm. Thankfully our kids were fast asleep, but I was disturbed a little.

I would return again - it is a good for value campsite - no frills - but very handy.

The location is good, set back from the A48 and is well connected to the Forest of Dean, Chepstow and the Wye Valley and Lydney for groceries. Lydney has a great park for children and the steam train stops there too.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sorman 1 review from this member

Just come back from a great weekend here, the weather really helped, very warm welcome, great food and beer with a discount for staying there!. Facilities basic but functional, its a pub campsite. Owner really chilled and approachable. Great location a complete sun trap! Will be re-visiting soon. Some really nice walks from the site with great views of the seven bridges, drove back this morning thinking it would be busy only took 40mins in rush hour. Brilliant.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Adamcraigscott 38 reviews from this member

Arrived on site mid week only one other unit. The pub was shut due to staff shortages. The site itself is basic has about 6 hook ups fairly flat surrounded by plum trees some of which were over hanging so not good when you pitch up. The owner seems friendly and said pub would open in the evening. The facilities are very basic in porta cabin 2 toilets and an electric shower in the ladies and 1 toilet and shower in mens. They are kept fairly clean few cobwebs. A bit tight getting out of the shower but 1 hook and a stool for your clothes nice hot shower though. Only cold water in basin. We ate in the pub most evenings and the food was very good and plentiful also we were given 10% discount because we were on site. No washing up facilities for campers. We were there over August Bank holiday the site soon filled up so toilet block was busy.

Around the area is another pub few yards up the road which is open all day quite modern inside and also does food had nice sandwiches in the garden with our 2 dogs but dogs are allowed in the bar area. A petrol station with shop close by too. Nearest town is Lydney with an array of shops pubs and supermarkets. Noticed an outdoor pool too. Very close to the Forest of Dean with some lovely sites also Tintern Abbey and Ross on wye quite close.

We enjoyed our stay here very relaxing and at £15 a night was about right for what was on offer

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: RL Bedford 1 review from this member

This is the third time we have visited here and have really enjoyed our short 2 day stay. The hard standing is fine if you don’t want to risk parking your MH on the grassed area which has a very gentle slope. It is however surrounded by plum trees with, if you time it properly, lovely fruit. The toilet block is adequate and spotlessly clean. Like other reviewers our only reservation was the proximity of the water point to the chemical disposal point. The pub is friendly and the food good value. The site is only 3½ miles from the National Diving and Activity Centre and a good base for a weekend’s adventure. It is good value and we’ll be back soon.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Heatherharwood 1 review from this member

This delightful site offers a unique position to explore the wonderful Forest of Dean as well as the surrounding area.

The Inn serves good food at affordable prices and a warm welcome is provided.

There is a small shower block with male and female sections. This is unusual for such a small site. It's clean and the showers very good. The site is grass with electric hook ups available too. Very quiet and behind the pub itself.

An added bonus is that the Inn offers a 10% discount on food for campers! The owners and staff welcoming and most helpful. It's a lovely venue.

The whole area is full of history and there is something to suit all tastes.

We can't wait to return for a second visit.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Jet2 3 reviews from this member

Visited for four days, cheap stay, toilets/shower were basic as described but was diasappointed they were not cleaned daily. As for the food in pub we asked to eat outside and were told no, following day people were eating outside. Staff didn't seem to be consistent. As for the food itself it was not worth the money at all, couldn't chew meat and it was very dry, it seemed it was just reheated in microvave. There was no atmosphere in pub. Site is fine for one night though.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Emvid 17 reviews from this member

We stayed here over a very hot and sunny weekend.

The site is generally quite flat and well sheltered and pitches a good size. It is situated behind the pub away from the main road.

The website said there was a new shower block but I couldn't locate it. The only shower and toilet facilities I came across were in a little green hut. The ladies had 2 toilets and 1 shower and the mens (i am told) had 1 loo and 1 shower. The shower in the ladies was good hot and powerful but unfortunately took a long time to drain away which meant standing ankle deep in water. Crocs recommended!

The mens shower was out of order during our visit, so men had no option but to use the ladies shower. There was very little space in the shower to dry and get changed, so I would suggest taking a big towel or bath robe to walk back to your unit in to get dry and changed - or even better use the shower in your van if you have that option.

We could only find one water point and unfortunately it was located in the very same spot as the tap with a hose attached to it which is meant to be used to wash out chemical toilets. The chemical disposal point was also located here right next to the tap. We witnessed several people sending kids to fill aqua rolls etc and the kids using the hosed tap to fill them. We also witnessed a caravanner use the water tap to rinse out his cassette toilet here at the water point too. I know the site cannot be blamed for what other people do but I do think locating the chemical point and only water tap on the same point is nothing short of unhygenic.

I popped to Tesco in Chepstow and used bottled water all weekend after witnessing the above.

There was no washing up point, not a problem for those in caravans but if you are in a tent, make sure you take a bowl to wash up in your tent.

All in all we had a fabulous weekend here thanks to the fantastic weather and friendly bar maid and waitresses in the pub but the site facilities did feel a little unloved. The landlord of the pub/site owner hardly raised a smile to us all weekend and offered no apology for the out of order mens shower.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Maxt46 53 reviews from this member

Stayed here for two nights, the site is quite flat and the two toilets and showers (portacabin) were always clean and never had to wait, but there were only two or three other units on site.

One thing of concern was the water point and the chemical disposal point are VERY close and use the same water supply.

On the plus side the pub was very good and the food reasonably priced, plentiful and tasty, oh and it's very dog friendly.

We took a drive into Lydney and the little harbour is worth a visit for a pleasant wander.

There is a small playground attached to the pub.

Will we visit again maybe.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Virgincaravanner 1 review from this member

We chose this site because it was our first time away in our first ever caravan and we didn't want to travel too far. Lovely little site, basic but very clean toilet/ shower block, kids play area and plenty of walks for the dog. It's a small site which I imagine in the summer is very busy but its really well kept and although on a road we didn't hear any traffic. Landlord is a very pleasant man and very easy going. We had an evening meal in the pub which was superb, proper homemade steak and kidney pie! Lady who served us was lovely and kept the kids entertained with ghost stories. Also at £13 a night flat rate with elec hook up we thought it was a bargain! Will be using again.

Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4749 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019