Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Mill Haven Place Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest > Mill Haven Place Camping Reviews

Mill Haven Place Camping
Middle Broadmoor
Talbenny
Haverfordwest
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA62 3XD
Tel: 01437 781145
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 3 Yurts 6 pitches
Open: 01/03/2022 to 30/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 9 Reviews
                9/10 from 9 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sarahsorted 6 reviews from this member

 What a wonderful place, we loved staying here. The camping area is a good size for the number of units, so it feels really spacious with large pitches which felt quite private.

Pitches all have a fire pit, with wood readily available using an honesty box, and each pitch has a wooden table and bench.

The facilities include free hot showers, a good number toilets for the size of campsite, a great airy washing up area and designated fridge storage for each pitch. There were also a lot of hand sanitizers.

The owners, Paddy and Lou, were really friendly and helpful making this a lovely relaxing and peaceful place to stay. And in a great location too - a short walk down a quiet lane and footpath gets you to the beach with beautiful coast path in either direction. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sandyj 1 review from this member

 We really enjoyed our 4 nights camping at Mill Haven. A really friendly experience with exceptional facilities in a good location.

Each pitch has a fire pit, picnic table and space allocated in a fridge in the nearby barn which were nice touches. Free hot showers and charging facilities were also available.

It's a short walk to the coastal path and about 40 mins along a quiet lane to the pub. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Singingcavy 23 reviews from this member

 We had a lovely 3 nights at Mill Haven Place, staying in one of the three comfortable and extremely well equipped yurts. We loved the sea views through the trees, the walk down to Little Haven beach on the stunning coastal footpath, and the location near all our favourite Pembrokeshire places.

Paddy and Lou are a very friendly and helpful couple and they maintain the site beautifully - everything was spotless, and the lovely expanse of grass was well mown in the middle of the yurts and as a path to the shower barn (but it is a rural site so bring suitable footwear!). It's a really safe place for children to play - cars can only move onto the grass at the beginning and end of stays.

The kitchen - in a separate canvas hut by the yurt - has everything you could want (just bring your food) including washing up stuff and tea towel. The shower was gloriously hot in the lovely big family bathroom and there were plenty of hooks for clothes etc. Phone charging points and ice blocks are available at the barn, as are a fridge/freezer.

The yurt bed was very comfortable and we loved having a woodburner and logs to buy - needed in the wet days and cool evenings. Tables/benches are provided both under cover and outside where you can sit in the shade of lots of young trees.

Lovely natural feel to the site (cows are very nearby and like to tell you that quite early in the morning to give you the full countryside experience) and well organised recycling facilities.

A short drive or cycle away Little Haven has several pubs and a cafe in a delightful village on the beach, and you can find all sorts to do around the area. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Sarac 9 reviews from this member

 In agreement with most of the reviews below, this campsite is our perfect campsite! The camping field is large and mown and pretty level, with picnic benches and firepits dotted around the place for you to use.

The facilities are basic, but exceptionally clean and well looked after - there is a composting toilet which was fun to use and a lovely shower in a wooden hut, with all your hot water included in the price. It is in a very quiet location, but this is the Marloes peninsula, so I wouldn't expect anything else.

We cycled everywhere as the lanes were quiet and cars we did meet were courteous. The family that run Millhaven Place are so lovely - friendly and laid back, but helpful if you need it. If you want to get away from the tarmac/hardstanding clinical campsites that are all too numerous now, then this is the place for you. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Welshcamper100 13 reviews from this member

 We booked this campsite thinking it was within walking distance of Littlehaven. Unfortunately it wasn't, it was miles from anywhere except a small cove which was very rocky. The site is pleasant enough with nice facilities.

It is very peaceful but you do need to drive everywhere along narrow country lanes. I probably would return but having to drive everywhere is a bit offputting. However the owners are helpful and the firepits and benches on each pitch are great. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Middlemouse 9 reviews from this member

 I am tempted to just write 'see below' for my review as everything that the previous reviewers have said is spot on. This is my kind of camping.

Basic but clean facilities with lovely homely touches such as tubs of flowers in the wash-up area and a real towel by the sink. I was thrilled to be able to have a fire (the main reason I chose the site!) and the wood was plentiful and reasonably priced at £3 for a large bucketful.

A very quiet site with no traffic noise at all - lovely. The owners are very friendly and offer help when needed but basically leave the campers to get on with it;'rules' are minimal (I didn't see any lists of 'please do not. ').

Sadly we left a day early as we chose to stay in a monsoon but at least it stopped long enough for us to have a fire on the first night.

By way of completeness I have to say that this site may not be to everyone's taste as it is not a manicured, trimmed site with washing machines and heated shower blocks (although there are freezers in the barn for ice blocks) and play equipment but if I had a campsite, I would model it on this one. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mozzy 2 reviews from this member

 Mill Haven is aptly named as it is indeed a haven from the hurly burly of everyday life – me thinks a little piece of heaven! It is run by a really lovely caring family, all of whom are friendly and extremely helpful.

We spent nine nights here and normally I am ‘ready to go home’ after eight or nine days but here I wanted to stay and it was a real wrench to go home!

There is plenty of room between pitches and plenty of space for children to play in the middle of the field. Each pitch has a picnic table and fire pit, with firewood available at a very reasonable cost.

In the adjacent field are four Yurts which are really cozy for those who prefer a bit of ‘glam’ camping! Facilities are excellent and kept really clean.

A 20 minute walk down the lane leads to a small cove and the coastal path which takes you along some stunning scenery. There are many lovely beaches around the area and plenty of places to visit, although I quite liked staying ‘on site’!

If you want peace and quiet, big skies and nature this is the place to go. We have already booked for next year and hope to again before the season ends. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Woody53 3 reviews from this member

 I cannot recommend this site enough! We opted to not take our tent and stayed in one of their yurts. They are beautiful and well worth the extra cash. The fact that you can have your own camp fire every night adds to the whole atmosphere on site which at night is very peaceful with just you and a few bats for company. The owners are very friendly and you get the impression that nothing is too much for them. The facilities were always clean with one large family shower room and 2 more single sized showers with plenty of hot water.

The surrounding area is lovely with lots of great beaches and small towns to visit. So good that we have booked again for next year! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stevenwilliam 5 reviews from this member

 We spent 8 nights camping in July 2010 and would like to recommend the campsite. The site is fairly small, but because tent pitches are limited to just 5, there is plenty of space between tents even if all the pitches are in use.

I got the impression that the owners would allow you to pitch anywhere, but the pre-cut fire rings mean that unless you have your own firepit, you’ll be near a fire ring if you want a fire (and who doesn’t?). There is a large pile of wood in one of the barns and the campers can help themselves for a small charge for a large basket load.

Situated down a single-track road which ends at the sea, the campsite has a lovely remote feel to it. It’s about a mile’s walk to the coast and the Pembrokeshire coastal path which runs through some of the most beautiful and dramatic stretches of the coast anywhere in Britain.

At night, apart from the sounds of nature (wind in the trees, the occasional cow lowing, crackle and hiss of the logs on the fire), it’s completely quiet – it’s not the sort of place you’re going to hear loud stereos or raucous conversations. However, if you do want peace and stillness, this is the place to come.

The closest community (a 10-minute drive away) is Little Haven, with its three pubs – the food at The Castle was very good pub grub - and the adjoining Broad Haven has a small supermarket which stocks most of your camping day-to-day needs. Haverfordwest, about 8 miles away, has a very large, 24-hr Tesco, selling virtually everything.

The owners are in the process of refurbishing various old farm buildings, and converting one of them into holiday cottages. The field adjoining the camping field is home to 4 yurts. The facilities were perfectly adequate and charming: simple wooden structures housing a compost loo, sinks and a shower.

It’s evident a lot of care and thought has gone into details: sprigs of home-grown lavender in the loo and sink area; hooks made from branches; an outline of a crescent moon carved in a door. The yurts have solar powered fairy lights, which faintly twinkle at night. During our week’s stay, a new area with showers and loos (of the flushing variety) was completed. Each pitch has a wooden picnic table and a barbecue.

On the warm evenings, it was such a joy to see so many swallows and house martins dipping and arcing over the field – could have watched them for hours. After the birds went to roost, there was the occasional bat flitting across the sky. The darkening sky in this part of the world is a beautiful spectacle; at this time of year, the twilight continuing until well past 10PM.

Perhaps what’s best about Mill Haven though is the fact it’s a truly family run affair; three generations of genuinely warm and caring people – they made us feel very welcome indeed. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Mill Haven Place Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Mill Haven Place Camping?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Mill Haven Place Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Haverfordwest      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2662 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement