Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping At Ynysfaen

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Brecon > Camping At Ynysfaen Reviews

Camping At Ynysfaen
Ynysfaen
Cwmwysg
Trecastle
Brecon
Powys   (Browse area)
LD3 8YF
Tel: 01874 636436
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 15
Open: 19th March - October

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 30 Reviews
                10/10 from 30 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <10 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  30 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tankosl 3 reviews from this member

 I'm afraid this going to be another boring 'excellent' review.

This has to be one of the best sites we've ever stayed at!

I can only echo everyone else's comments really, I was unsure when booking how we'd cope with not having our car close by but to be honest, I loved it! This meant you didn't have to worry/put up with any traffic at all, but if you have mobility issues, you could always pitch near the entrance to lessen the walking.

It's obvious the owners are very proud of their little piece of heaven and look after it very well.

I would quite often meet the owner at 7:00 doing a quick clean/inspection of the showers and toilets to make sure everything was fine, and the whole place gets a thorough clean later in the day when most campers are out, then gets another tidy up later in the evening along with general 'look ins' throughout the day!

At 22:00 you can sit around your campfire and look around at the glow of other campers doing the same, with muffled conversations being the only noise. Oh, apart from the owls in the trees joining in with the sheep! I think by 23:00 the whole site was asleep. But if you are still awake, make sure you look up. The night sky's are amazing here, helped by the lack of light pollution.

The local scenery is stunning, this is my first visit to the Brecon area and Ynysfaen, but I certainly intend to come back again!

If you are looking for late nights, shops and pubs around the corner, then this site isn't the one for you. Leave it for me please! 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Davidandjunemuir 24 reviews from this member

 A really excellent site. I agree with all the positive things said in previous reviews. As with all sites, it depends on what you are looking for. But you want peace and quiet in beautiful surroundings, you can't do better than this site. Be prepared to walk back and forth a bit during your stay, especially if you choose to pitch on the far side of the field, as we did. It's 100m from the car park to the gate of the camping field, then up to 150m to the far side of the field, so you forget something you left in the car, it's a half kilometer walk to go and get it! So be well organised. But it's worth it, and we hope to be back. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DoYouHaveItInGreen 3 reviews from this member

 Oh gosh. WHAT a gem of a site. Visited with my husband and 4 year old.

Flat site (amazing given the local hilly terrain) which they do not over book with tents so you have plenty of room around you. No cars on the main camping field which is great as you don't have the noise of cars coming and going and gives the place a really peaceful vibe. Lovely not to have to worry about the cars if you have children running around. They are completely safe. You park by the farm house which is a short distance from the camp ground. If you have a lot of gear it is a bit of a tooing and froing but wheelbarrows are provided to get your gear from your car and we don't mind this arrangement at all.

Unisex facilities are spotless. Good pressure from hot showers with plenty of dry space to get changed in the individual shower rooms. Showers are included in your pitch fee and they aren't timed, just have a polite notice asking you to conserve water as Ynysfaen has it's own modest spring water supply which is filtered on site so it is best not to waste it.

Washing up facilities are great, with washing up liquid provided and plenty of room to dry your dishes etc.

There is no mobile phone or internet signal on this site as it is down in a valley but the owners post a hand written weather forecast every day and are a goldmine of local information if you need to know anything.

Site is right next to the river but this is safely fenced with a stiff gate (which young children would need help to open) so I did not need to worry about my 4 year old. That said it is by no means a raging torrent anyway! It is a babbling, shallow river, very suitable for children to paddle and play in and my son had a fabulous time looking for freshwater shimp under the rocks, playing pooh-sticks etc. Fantastic outdoor fun in nature and lovely to wake up to the sound of the water. I wondered if the proximity to the river might give issues with midges/flies but absolutely no problems at all while we were there.

Campfires are allowed and braziers are provided for free to keep the fires from damaging the grass. Fire wood is available on an honesty box system, all of which sums up the ethos of this site beautifully.

A small fridge is provided for campers and a freezer for recharging ice blocks.

My son enjoyed seeing the happy (and quite sociable) chickens and diligently went to thank them each day after eating their eggs for his breakfast.

Plenty to do in the local area but the area is very rural. Local amenities are all a drive away. Lovely dog walks directly from the site. If you have children, do visit the Dan Yr Ogof Show Caves, about 20 mins from the campsite. Fab day out there with life size dinosaur models all over the place, the caves themselves, lots to see for all ages, well cared for animals in spacious, well designed housing on the rare breeds farm (I don't generally like animals used in attractions but this seemed like a good one, as they go) and indoor play barn all included in your entrance fee.

If you want a site which trusts campers to do the right thing and let's you get on with enjoying nature, you'll love it here. We'll be back. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stevenwilliam 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Ynysfaen for 9 days in Sep 2013. The campsite sits in a quiet valley a couple of miles southwest of Trecastle, which is part way between Llandovery and Brecon, in a beautiful rural location not far from some of the great climbs of the Beacons.

The site consists of one field about 150 yards long, which is almost entirely flat (very unusual for such a size) and surrounded by trees, which gives it a cloistered enclosed field and shelters it from the winds to some degree. On the south side there is a small river, obscured by trees, but which creates a gentle aural backdrop, which sounded a bit like rain on occasion. If the road is followed past the nearby reservoir, one can reach the area of Llandeusant, home to a lovely horseshoe walk. We had plenty of space between our tent and our nearest neighbours; on the Saturday night there were probably a dozen tents on the field, but there was still a good space between tents. There was no queue for the facilities, although there might be if it had been busier. The grass of the meadow was mown close when we arrived and was mown again during our stay; after the mowing it felt like a carpet to the touch of bare feet. You can light a fire and fire baskets are provided and the owners requests that you buy the wood from them; a bag was costing 3.

The most striking thing about the campsite is the quality and cleanliness of the facilities: in a purpose-built wooden block there are 3 WCs, 2 sinks and 3 shower stalls; there is also a table displaying useful books and brochures and the owner copies out the BBC weather forecast for Wales on a daily business, a nice touch. We have never seen a better standard of cleanliness than is present at Ynysfaen; it is truly exceptional and, because it is so clean, the campers tend to tidy up after themselves (as encouraged to do by the little signs the owners put up), so it becomes a virtuous circle. On the back of the block, there is a covered washing-up sink, double draining board and table with running hot water. Outside the toilet block, a few feet away, another hut contains a fridge/freezer.

The owner is a friendly presence around the site and is happy to stand and chat with the campers. There is nothing one can criticize about the site as it has all been thought through and executed really well. Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wire Fox Terrier 4p 1 review from this member

 Excellent' excellent' excellent what else can I say that hasn't already been said about this perfect campsite.

The best site we've camped on in the past 5 years, lovely welcoming owners, cleanest toilet & shower block ever, with a natural spring water on tap, fantastic well maintained pitching area, we are a family of 7 people + my dog who really enjoyed every minute with 3 tents, a large gazebo and a great log camp fire to add to our evenings atmosphere, plus the wine and a few beers helped.

We would recommend this site to anyone, as it is safe for families and pets close to the River Usk which is fenced off for safety but has a gate for walkers access, with plenty of room for field games and activities, very quite tranquil picturesque scenery, enough said 'faultless'. Many Thanks & Best Regards from the Fairfield and Smith party. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jcjbears 11 reviews from this member

 As with most of the sites in this area, cars are not allowed on the field. We pitched our tent in the rain and the trek from the car park with a wheelbarrow was a real pain - especially with the air beds, as our only means of inflating them was an electric pump for which we needed the car! Not fun trying to walk 200m with an inflated air bed in the wind and rain trying to keep it dry. However, the owner did rush out with some tarpaulins to try to help.

Unfortunately, we also had to take down the tent in the rain - (it was a wet week, we didn't even get to see the beautiful stars, the main reason we stayed at this dark sky site!) which was even more of a pain - nowhere to put anything out of the rain. At one point we put the wheelbarrow inside the tent and had to squeeze around it to pack up!

Having said that, this is a lovely quiet site, just the sound of the stream, the owls. And the rain of course. No playground, but plenty of space for children to play. The stream is fenced off with gates. Had the weather been reliable enough, we would have enjoyed using one of the fire pits and bag of logs provided for a small charge, delivered to your tent by a small tractor.

The facilities were kept very clean, but were closed for about half an hour at around 11am, evey day, for cleaning. This was a real problem for us as it was the time we usually left the site and needed a 'last minute' trip to the loo; the owner was quite sharp with us the only day we braved trying to 'go' while she was cleaning!

There was no mobile phone signal on site - a mixed blessing:- no phones ringing or other peoples conversations to have to listen to, but my daughter had to walk about 1/4 mile up the road to use her phone.

This is a lovely site, but I don't think I shall be returning to it due to the distance from the car park to the tent (and the fact it usually rains when I camp with my daughter!) and the inconvenience of the toilet/shower block closing completely, just when we needed it. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CatherineG 1 review from this member

 We've just got back from 3 nights camping at Ynysfaen and I am reviewing for the first time ever - this has to be the nicest site I've stayed at, by far.

The owners are friendly and really seem to care that guests feel comfortable and well-looked after and they do this in a number of ways. First, they don't overfill the site - there is one field, very flat and reasonably sized, and never overcrowded, because they don't overbook. There are no bushes to create little sheltered havens, but there is so much space that you can really spread out and not fall over the other campers.

There are no cars allowed on the field, but a multitude of brightly coloured wheelbarrows wait by the parking area, and it's not very far to the field, I thought this might be a bit of a pain, but it wasn't, and was more than made up for by the quiet in the evening, and the fact that with no cars on the field at any time, the grass is not churned up anywhere.

There is a river running alongside the campsite, safely fenced off from the field, but with 2 gates to get through into an area with a path running beside, and the river, no more than a foot deep, with lots of big flat stones on the river bed; this belongs to the campsite, and is an area where children can play if they're old enough, building dams and getting wet and generally having a good time, and also dogs can be let off their leads to do the same thing (well maybe not the dam building!)

The toilet block was immaculately clean, and I never had to wait for a shower. The only small gripe I would have is that there is no hand drier or towel, so if you've just used the toilet and washed your hands, you probably haven't taken your towel up with you and you'll have to shake your hands dry.

The campsite is in a valley, and when we arrived at 7pm I thought it would almost certainly be in shade, but it wasn't, and anyone lucky enough to be there in good weather (we visited during a heatwave) can expect to see the sun in the field right up until sunset.

As it was a heatwave we didn't use the firepits provided, although others did, and they did look very good.

There are no electrical hook-ups - we never use one anyway, and there is a communal fridge/freezer, for perishable items and re-freezing ice blocks - this is useful as local grocery shopping is limited.

We took a badminton set, other families had cricket, football etc, - there is no playground, you have to actually play with your children yourself.

There were a quite astonishing number of well-behaved dogs when we stayed, all on leads on the site, but the site is only about half a mile from the Usk reservoir, which would be an easy first choice for dogwalking.

We all thought the site was fantastic, and if we go back to the Brecon Beacons we will be trying to book in there again. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KandEG 1 review from this member

 A tranquil area - virtually no road noise at all, and made better by a no cars on site policy. The site only allows tents and trailer tents (trailer tents are towed onto the site for you). Colourful wheelbarrows are provided to transport kit to your chosen site (it's not a long walk as the car park is close to the camping field).

There is no electric hook up. A no noise after 10. 30 policy ensures a peaceful evening.

The camping field is surrounded by trees with a wide margin of nettles on one side to encourage wildlife. Birds abound, including spotted woodpeckers, green woodpecker, red kites, buzzards. On the other side of the field is the river Usk, accessed through gates. This is an area of special scientific interest, so guests are asked to visit it with care.

The site is mainly level, with a few pitches on very gentle slopes. When we visited it was easy to push tent pegs into the grass without using a mallet.

There is no children's' play area, but most children seemed to find plenty to do and amuse themselves.

There is no lighting on site at night (ideal for star gazing), so take a torch for visits to the toilet block. These are by far the cleanest we have ever seen on any campsite. Showers are clean and hot. Guests are requested to mop the floor after using the showers, and as far as I could see, everyone complied to keep the facilities pristine.

Fire pits are provided, wood and kindling can be purchased on site.

Eggs and fresh vegetables (in season) can be purchased on site from the owner who runs the site so well. The owner is extremely approachable, friendly and helpful. A credit to the tourist industry.

There is a shared fridge/freezer on site, but you are asked not to store unnecessary items. Instead, you are encouraged to freeze your ice packs and keep as much as you can in a cool box, to free up fridge space for everyone else.

Because the weather was so good when we were there, the site was full one night, but there was still plenty of room for all.

Many of the guests we spoke to were return visitors. As we will be!

The nearest shops are several miles away, so stock up well. There are tea rooms in the village of Trecastle (1. 5 mile walk), which always look very busy, so probably worth a visit, although we can't vouch personally.

There are good walks nearby. We can also recommend the Brecon Canal and best of all, in our opinion, Craig-y-Nos Country Park. The route to the country park over the top of the Brecons is awesome!

As might be expected for such a rural location, some of the surrounding roads are very narrow, so drive with caution, and enjoy the views! No need to rush here.

All in all, the best campsite we've ever been to. The only thing which could be improved, which is beyond the owners's control, is the weather! Can't wait to go back. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Redfordj 4 reviews from this member

 This is our second family Camping visit to this site this summer and again had a fab time. The field is flat and stone free and despite recent rain had drained very well. On both visits the school holidays were in full swing but the site was never crowded. Toilets, showers, Fridge/Freezer were all immaculate.

The site lends you a fire pit for free and a large bag of Kindling and logs (Delivered to your tent!)are only 5 which last a couple of nights. Its lovely when the sun sets and the fire are lit the campsite has a very peaceful glow.

The owners of the site are a delight and will do whatever they can to help (Even loaned me a tin opener as I forgot move - A basic camping error!)

We will definitely be back - Thank you. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tiff+mike 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site last year and have been meaning to leave a review ever since but have only recently just remembered our username and login details!

The site itself is beautiful and very well kept. Cars are not allowed on the field and visitors are encouraged to use the wheelbarrows provided to ferry your gear from the car to the pitch, this is not a problem at all as it is only a short distance, in fact it adds to the whole 'traditional' feel. The toilets are by far the cleanest we have ever seen at a family run site, the owners do a fantastic job at keeping on top of things. The block itself is very well equipped and the water heat and pressure is very good. The owners are very friendly and at the time we stayed camp-fires were allowed (obviously I'm unsure if this is still the case?)They were very reasonably charged and were delivered direct to your tent which was a nice touch!

All in all this is a fantastic site, a true gem and we will be returning again at some point this year. 


Previous     30 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping At Ynysfaen child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping At Ynysfaen?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Camping At Ynysfaen dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brecon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3679 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement