Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Birley Arms Certificated Location

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Site Reviews

Birley Arms Certificated Location
Bryning Lane
Warton
Preston
Lancashire   (Browse area)
PR4 1TN
Tel: 01772 679988
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 CAMC Members Only
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 13 Reviews
                8/10 from 13 Reviews

Photos (4)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up Area   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 No Shop   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

This is a Caravan and Motorhome Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes (no tents) and is for Club Members only.

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: HermanHymer 13 reviews from this member

This CS is ideal for an overnight stopover. Excellent pub/ restaurant. Safe location, locked at night. Sometimes it's not worth paying the cost of a full service site - this fits the bill. What more is there to say?

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: J5hky 2 reviews from this member

We picked the Birley Arms as a last minute one night away to test our new to us motorhome relatively locally. It was selected from this site. Telephone booking and and email confirmation was swift and easy and only £14. 50 per night for our unit. The site was easy to find and local roads easy to negotiate. On arrival at 2pm I parked up in the large car park, attended the bar, paid a £10 deposit for the security barrier key, and a member of staff met me outside to show me the pitches. The level pitch was separated from its next door neighbour by a panel fence, had hard stone standing with a mown grassed area which had its own picnic table. The water and power were adjacent to my osf corner, (I reversed in a 6 metre Autotrail Apache) we were close yet self contained from other units. The toilets and single shower were part of the pub but open from before 9am to closing time, they were clean. The waste point was outside the pitch's site, on the other side of the security barrier, near but far enough away so as not to smell, and behind a door. The entrance was easy to negotiate as was parking on the pitch. The food was excellent and had filling portions, (well my Lasagne/salad/chips and 3 slices garlic bread was very large and under £10). Very nice for a night stop over and only about 15 minutes from the M55.

Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrmotorx 89 reviews from this member

We have just stayed the weekend here and loved it. Great little only five pitches pitch 1 and 2 might prove a little difficult to get out of if you are a very very nre/inexperienced caravanner other wise its brilliant. £14. 50 per night for us which includes hook up both water and electric. 20 mins from blackpool and we are looking forward to returning here hopefully with better weather, ( site carnt do anything about the weather ). Pitch is hard standing and size is more than adequate each pitch has its own picnic table. Also there is a small play area for the kids to use very close to the pitches. Great site see you soon.

Date of Visit: December 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Glynnwi 4 reviews from this member

5 x very small level pitches, fenced off with 5 foot panels, feel very enclosed in. Very quiet site no road traffic very little airport noise. I think the manager said 10 amp ehu. Only tripped once, because very cold and frosty we had heater on all the time. Toilets kept spotlessly clean. Private walkway to pubchilds playground. Pitches are well drained each with own mains point. Three water points between 5 pitches. Security barrier to site (£10. 00 key deposit) good wide entrance through the pub car park. Be careful if booking a saturday and arriving about 15:00pm because carpark is used as entrance to flyde fc football ground.

Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DawnQuin 3 reviews from this member

Direct access to lovely pub/restaurant (and hotel). Site has very easy access. Secure barrier (£10 key deposit). Staff were very helpful and friendly. Was made to feel welcome and directed to facilities. Small site with hard standing, water and hook up. Spotlessly clean toilets and a shower. Some noise from air con/chillers at the pub/hotel but not enough to cause concern. Very convenient for Lytham, Blackpool and Preston.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chari g 2 reviews from this member

Just had eleven nights at this gem of a site the toilets were always kept clean shower free and plenty hot water all services at hand try the meals in hotel you wont be disappointed made to feel very welcome by staff we will be returning as we enjoyed it so much sam and chari from Glasgow bonny scotland

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sue and Bill 1 review from this member

We stayed here for three nights during March 2012 and heartily recommend it – we will be back!

Birley Arms is easy to find and has wide access to its large car park. We booked in at the bar/reception and the young man told us to go and find ourselves a spot, which we did.

The five pitches are clearly marked, separated by neat fencing, have their own water and electric hook-up, picnic table and grassy area. The dustbins are “hidden” out of sight but do not take much finding.

Depending on which way you choose to site your van/motorhome you can either look over fields (and AFC Fylde football ground) or the back of the pub – not too difficult for us to choose which we wanted – the fields won!

A five-bar gate allows access to the children's play area and, via a rear entrance, to the toilets, shower and the pub/restaurant itself. At first we couldn’t find the shower, however, when we asked we were told it was behind a door marked “private”. It was clean and perfectly adequate.

The facilities are open from 7. 30 in the morning until 11. 30 at night.

The area is quiet and very pretty. Turning left out of the hotel, the walk into Warton (where there is a Spar, or something similar, selling basic foodstuffs, newspapers etc. , a pub that isn’t a patch on The Birley, a bus stop to Preston and a bus stop to Blackpool) is on the flat and extremely pleasant.

The weather was beautiful and local residents were out tending their gardens and everyone we passed spoke to us and many had time for a chat. Turning right, Wrea Green is a couple of miles away and is a lovely spot, well worth a visit.

A highlight for us one evening while sitting in the pub enjoying a drink, was watching the odd fighter aircraft from the nearby BAE Systems airfield at Warton taking off and landing. Not everyone’s cup of tea but a thrill for us.

The Birley Arms is extremely clean and provides excellent, reasonably priced, meals. All the staff are friendly and helpful and the owners are charming.

Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jesspusss1 1 review from this member

We stayed here over the weekend brilliant

Read all the negative reviews and don't agree

We nearly didn't book because of them. The staff were very helpful showed us exactly were everything was. If you want a cl then its exactly that, we, ve got a 24 foot caravan and we fitted on with no problem the toilets are the pub toilets were lovely and clean.

We had a meal in the pub and it was excellent.

We also have a dog which we took to lythem st anns where there is a beach 5 min drive, will be going back soon hopefully to have more than 1 night.

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sallydadog 2 reviews from this member

We stopped At The Birley Arms For 2 nights on the 1st October to the 3rd October 2010. When we arrived we were not shown where to go and were not shown were all the facilities were.

Dogs were welcome but just no dog walks in the surrounding area you had to get in the car and travel. On the Saturday night a marquee was erected by the caravan site where a wedding reception was held on the evening with a very loud band who went on to 12 midnight. If we had been warned of this we could have made other arrangements, people were coming and going till 3.30pm in the morning making noise and disturbing my dogs

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Burnsguitarman 3 reviews from this member

When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised at the well kept pitches each with its own grassed area and picnic bench, As said in previous reviews, the pitches are very small and give a 'hemmed in' feeling with high fences dividing them.

We weren't shown or told about any of the facilities and had to find the bins and waste water areas ourselves, also we were told that the toilets were only open during pub hours, and there wasn't a shower?

The noise from the hotels air conditioning unit was a real nuisance over night and considering we had our windows and rooflight closed due to the bad weather, was maybe not as bad as it could have been!

Also we were troubled by a constantly barking dog from a neighbouring property.

The gate from the pubs play area and garden had no sign restricting access to the camping area and on Saturday night we had children from the playground running around the caravans.

I know all this sounds very negative, but really its not that bad!

I would visit again, but not for any more than a weekend.

Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3588 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019