Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Long Meadow Campsite (new Forest)

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > New Forest > Long Meadow Campsite (new Forest) Reviews

Long Meadow Campsite (new Forest)
New Park
Brockenhurst
New Forest
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO42 7QH
Tel: 01590 622489
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 4th March - 31st October 2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 140 Reviews
                9/10 from 140 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  140 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Awfuldriver 7 reviews from this member

Very good facilities and spacious site layout. Flat and scenic rural setting. Well trimmed grass and strimmed hook-ups. Not to be undervalued.

Do-do in shower not cleaned up. Kiddies? Staff - check more regularly.

Better in cooler weather as Lymington - Lyndhurst road can be noisy with traffic belting along. Also hotel (?) over the bund is a source of disturbance but beyond owners' control probably.

Our stay also affected by guitar man deciding to hold his own impromtu gig on the next pitch. Staff reluctant to act at first.

Ideal for children - lots of them present even though term time.

Cycle and walking in woodland close by a big plus. Good for dogs.

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Cclcfc 15 reviews from this member

This was the second stop on a two week break we had in our campervan.

We arrived at Long Meadow on the Monday and had booked in for 4 nights and could easily have stayed a lot longer.

The first thing I will say is don’t worry about maps and Sat Nav – the site is signposted directly off the A337 between Lyndhurst and Brockenhurst.

The site is a little unassuming as you drive in as you think ‘oh it’s a just a big field’ but the pitches are really spacious (we had a Grass with Electric pitch so am only speaking for the grass pitches) and the field is mowed in a lovely fashion to make the most of the ‘meadow’.

There is a toilet block in the middle of the grass field and then a bigger toilet and shower block next to the reception. The showers were lovely were cleaned and checked regularly.

The biggest plus about this site is the location. From the back of the site you walk directly in to the Forest. One way goes to Brockenhurst which is a 30 minute walk over a lovely little river that our dog loved playing in as it was very warm and then on to the open land where many horses and cows roam. Another way goes to Lyndhurst which is an hour walk.

A couple of times we walked to Lyndhurst, had a look around and a drink and then caught the bus back to Brockenhurst.

On the way to Lyndhurst you can go a slightly different way in through the village of Bank and there is a fantastic pub called The Old Inn.

We ate a few times in Brockenhurst at The Snakecatcher and The Huntsman – both of which were very good. There are a couple of supermarkets in Brokenhurst as well as a lovely bakery and couple of cafes.

The other advantage is the train station at Brokenhurst where there are regular trains down to the coast – going on to Christchurch, Bournemouth and Poole. We caught the train to New Milton and walked to the beach at Barton-on-Sea (about a 30 minute walk from the station). Barton-on-Sea is a lovely little place with a lovely little beach and fantastic café which is licensed…perfect !

All-in-all we had a fantastic time at Long Meadow and are already planning our next visit. It ticked every box for us and I’d definitely recommend it.

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: KayakJon 4 reviews from this member

Stayed here with friends for easter. Had read some poor reviews from here. Was hoping the weekend wouldn’t be ruined.

When I arrived, I was early and asked if I could just go and visit my friends, until it was time to set up.

The super friendly wardens said my pitch was already available for me to go ahead and set up.

This was an hour and a half before anyone else could get on site. Happy camper.

The wardens were also very helpful, as I had not been to the New Forest before.

There are only two issues I have about the site. The first is the cost. £28/night for an unserviced tent pitch. Extortionate. The other is with the showers. They were clean and worked well, but the bottom lip of the tray is only 2” and the curtain was short by 8”, or there abouts. So when you have a shower, 90% of the water ends up outside the shower on the floor. You end up drying yourself off and changing in a pool of water.

A higher tray lip and/or longer curtain might solve this.

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Cobo127 4 reviews from this member

Just stayed again, fourth visit. Lovely campsite. Right on the edge of the forest. The deer came through the site at night, lovely.

Only down side was it took so long for hot water to come through in the shower I had given up and had a really cold shower.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kellyfreeman 1 review from this member

Just stayed at Long Meadow for the weekend!I had booked the weekend before but due too storm forecast my son wouldn’t camp!I emailed too inform them I couldn’t come because of the storm and was very kindly offered the following weekend. I really appreciated not having to let our son down, really nice of them.

We cannot fault this site !Friendly welcome and shown too pitch. Very peaceful site although plenty of people there. Lovely sized pitch, nice and flat. Clean facilities and no queues.

Situated with a easy walk too bransgore which we all enjoyed, and a lovely stream. Great location with lots too do!Will definitely return. Thank you

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Kerry123 1 review from this member

We stayed at Long Meadow Campsite in September'18 in our campervan.

We stayed on hard standing with hook-up. We found the pitches to be spacious and despite the site being busy, it was very quiet and kept clean and tidy.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

The site has a shower / toilet block plus a pot washing area.

It's in a idyllic location backing directly onto the New Forest where there is a direct 2 mile path which leads to Brockenhurst.

We loved our stay and with out a doubt we will stay again!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Doverover 25 reviews from this member

Third visit and nothings changed. Lovely walk to Brockenhurst, enough local shops to make it worthwhile and a tea shop closest to the ford that has an amusing host and cream teas that are just right in every way.
I can recommend this site without hesitation.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Myfanwy Couple 11 reviews from this member

Really enjoyed our stay at Long meadow, did not feel like a 100 pitch site.

We enjoyed walking through the New Forest to Brockenhurst and Lyndhurst.

Views from the site were very nice the deer visiting the site and the ponies in the forest a bonus.

Very good facilities and reasonable value

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: KFDR 1 review from this member

A super site in a fantastic location, the bridge over the little stream about a 5 minute walk away was our 3 year olds highlight.

Toilets and showers were always spotless. Even though there were only 3 showers and it was a busy bank holiday we didn’t queue. Staff were very friendly (ignore any reviews from last year about staff as there are new wardens) we wanted to stay an extra night and they went out of their way to accommodate us.

They tried hard to manage noise, there were a few larger groups who ignored the quiet after 10. 30 but they were politely reminded of the rules. Great cycle routes from the site. Would highly recommend the bakery in Brockenhurst. Great day out at Mudeford Quay crabbing, bike ride and picnic at Moors Valley Park was brilliant, La Pergola was great for dinner in Lyndhurst.

Thank you for a brilliant week.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Novicemummy 3 reviews from this member

A very hot bank holiday weekend was enjoyed at Long Meadow! We knew the area as had stayed on other nearby sites in previous years but were quoting nearly £40 a night for a family of 4 - Long Meadow was only £27 a night so much more affordable!

We arrived shortly after the reception closed (my bad, I totally didn't even check the times!) but on ringing the bell, were met by a very friendly lady who walked over to our pitch with me, pointing out all the facilities as we went. A decent size pitch too, with really good spaces between them - lots of room for our car, tent (icarus500), table, chairs and kids to start ball games before finding others to play with.

We were near the field toilets and they were as spotless as they could be given they'd just mown the grass. The main block was as clean and showers had lots of push button hot water, normal sized cubicles were big enough to shower & change with child in tow (there was also a family / disabled shower). Plenty of washing up sinks although husband did say he had a bit of a wait one evening.

Free freezer for refreezing your own ice blocks too - big plus!

There was direct access from the site onto cycle tracks to Brockenhurst and beyond which we made good use of.

The kids initially complained about lack of playground but survived! We didn't have hook up but as it was May, it was light til 9:30/10 so no biggy and very few site lights so husband enjoyed stargazing later on.

I should imagine if we visit the area again, this would be the first choice campsite for us.

Previous     140 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near New Forest      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5925 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019