Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cannington Cottages And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Lyme Regis > Cannington Cottages And Campsite Reviews

Cannington Cottages And Campsite
Cannington Farm
Uplyme
Lyme Regis
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT7 3SW
Tel: 01297 443 172
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 33
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 10 Reviews
                7/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: White Mini 4 reviews from this member

 Yes, two more stays at my favourite ever campsite.

Given that this is one of the most beautiful locations in the country AND that the owner's philosophy is to provide a peaceful site with very few campers, one must expect to pay more.

On our last visit we were one of three tents on the site. On the next night we were the only guests. It feels like you own the place! How many sites have an actual viaduct spanning the hills over the next field?

George, the owner, is lovely and keeps every inch of his domain spotless, including the washing areas. He was also ready with his jumpleads when our car wouldn't start (we put the tent up in the dark using headlights!)

There were several children just leaving on our first morning and George looked rather like the Pied Piper while doing his rounds. I would say well-behaved children are very welcome.

Stargazing here is unbelievable due to the lack of light pollution and yet there is pizza just down the road in Lyme!

Thank you George! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vicky49 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for a long weekend with a group of friends. The campsite is in a beautiful, peaceful spot, within walking distance of the pub in Uplyme and only a short drive to Lyme Regis.

The facilities are basic, but the toilets were always clean and there was plenty of hot water for the shower (takes 20p's). The shower was quite slippery (I took a tumble) but the owner seemed genuinely concerned and agreed to try and address this. There is a sink for washing up, which didn't have hot water but we just filled up our washing up bowl in the toilets, so was fine.

The only downside was the price, which we had neglected to check before we booked so didn't feel we could quibble about (the website doesn't list the tariff). We were charged 25 per tent per night, for a small tent with 2 adults, plus extra for the gazebo. This is the most we have ever paid for camping and not what we expected for a fairly basic site. I suspect this is why the site was almost empty, despite it being a sunny weekend in August. This is a shame because it really is a lovely spot. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Execalibre 8 reviews from this member

 I stayed here with a small group of friends and we opted to stay here instead of a holiday park with all its associated facilities. There is a pub within walking distance and the beaches are a short drive away, what more do you need!

The pitch we had was pretty level and sheltered and we could not fault the cleanliness of the facilities offered.

Our bugbear was the cost of the site. We paid 25 per tent per night for a small thing with two people in it, this is twice what I usually pay, even in touristy areas in high season. On top of that we were charged for a gazebo and had to use 20p pieces to make the showers work.

Unfortunately the cost left me feeling like I had been fleeced instead of feeling like I had enjoyed a relaxing weekend away. Note to self: confirm costs before booking next time 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RichardJCB 8 reviews from this member

 We were welcomed on site by the owner. The site is very attractive with a stream, a number of different fields/camping areas, and some holiday cottages as well as touring pitches. The facilities were clean and well-kept. Although we only stayed one night, as we were touring on our bicycles, we would certainly recommend it as a peaceful and pleasant location.

As we didn't have children I have not commented on child friendliness but I think it would be! 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tictac1 1 review from this member

 First impression beautiful site in buttercup filled field with views of surrounding farmland and viaduct. Facilities very basic but functional. One shower in ladies toilets, coin operated. No hot water for dishwashing. The site is peaceful and despite being a bank holiday weekend there were only seven units in the field who all left on bank holiday Monday leaving an empty field. The field is sloping. At the bottom you can be fairly evenly pitched but at the top quite steep. Good location for Lyme Regis and other coastal towns. Down side was cost considering only facilities were a couple of toilets and one shower and unfortunately, although children are allowed, they were made to feel very unwelcome. Owner asked one child 'do you like climbing trees?' When he replied yes he was told that if he did he would be thrown off the site. We felt we had to stay away from the site all day so the children could let off steam. If children are unwelcome it should be sold as an adults only location. Unfortunately dogs were not so well policed and dog poo was trailed in to the tent. Shame such a beautiful location was spoiled for us. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: David Shadbolt 1 review from this member

 Firstly have stayed at Cannington Farm Campsite many times over the years, peaceful site, 1st class.

Easter 2013 stayed in Cannington Cottage 1 - Fantastic - Thankyou to the owner who made the whole family very welcome.

The location of the Campsite & Cottages makes easy access to explore Dorset & Devon.

Definitely will be back, and there is nowhere else to stay in my opinion.

Look forward to ticking off a few more beers on my next visit. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: White Mini 4 reviews from this member

 This is one of my favourite campsites anywhere. Beautiful and peaceful setting, with a stunning view of the Cannington Viaduct which crosses the next field.

Facilities are adequate - a shower each for ladies and gents, hot taps and spotless toilets. Reasonably priced too - I think we paid 15 per night.

The owner, George, is delightful and we met up with him at the pleasant local pub on both visits to the site.

To me camping is not about T. V, Mobile phones or Karaoke. This is getting away from it all - but with Lyme Regis just down the road and easy access to the rest of Dorset and Devon.

Hoping to be back next w/e! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camper14 1 review from this member

 We have just spent the weekend at this gem of a site. It was wonderfully quiet and peaceful on our first night, so much so that we could hear the woodpeckers and buzzards by day and the owls by night. There were adequate facilities for adults for a short stay. Unfortunately for us, some young people moved on to the site for our second night, and made a lot of noise. They didn't seem to appreciate the need to keep the noise down when they arrived back at the site very late at night either, and seemed oblivious to others trying to sleep. They left the lights on in the toilets all night and left litter in the shower for others to pick up. They were inconsiderate which was a pity. However, we believe this is a rare event at this site and will look forward to visiting again in the future.

The fridge/freezer was a bonus for a small charity donation. There was no hot water but the 20p for the shower lasted for a good 3 minutes and this was quite enough. The water in the shower was lovely and hot. We used a bucket to use some shower water for shaving, and boiled a kettle for washing up. The views were amazing and we were given a warm welcome. Highly recommended for anyone looking for a quiet break. Facilities are basic but very clean. We paid 16 per night. More than most places but you can't put a price on peace and quiet and such a lovely spot in the Devon countryside. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rambler24 2 reviews from this member

 Very basic facilities, no hot water taps. Twenty pences for less than one minute in shower. One drinking water tap. Nowhere to wash up, I had to use the drinking water tap. No plugs for hairdryers etc.

Toilet block was clean. Nice setting and lovely view of Viaduct. There is no set tariff, so prices/charges vary to those previously agreed, making this a very expensive trip! 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Duncsuk 2 reviews from this member

 Friendly, relaxed site. Plenty of space, though finding level ground for all 33 pitches could be problematic . Arrive early ! Parts of the site likely to be boggy underfoot in wet weather.

Costs for 1 night (May BH weekend) : Campervan - 10, 2.50 per person and 1 for our small dog. Donations for freezer-pack service.

Considering the number of pitches, the facilities are limited. 2 payable showers and only 1 (uncovered) washing-up point. And somewhat surprising to us, no hot water in the toilet blocks nor for washing-up.

Pleasant pub nearby (does food) and ideal for exploring Lyme Regis. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cannington Cottages And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Cannington Cottages And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lyme Regis      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6293 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement