Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Campsite L Eau Rouge

Campsite Search > Europe > Belgium > Stavelot > Campsite L Eau Rouge Reviews

Campsite L Eau Rouge
Cheneux 25
4970
Stavelot
Belgium   (Browse area)

Tel: 0032 080 86 30 75
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 140
Open: 01-03 /19-11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 8 Reviews
                9/10 from 8 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rusky 8 reviews from this member

Where do I start for this most unusual of campsite reviews? I'll start with the negatives first I think, I decided to book this site for the location to the Spa racetrack so that I could take my son to see the F1. Some more family members decided that they'd like to come too so I looked to book two separate pitches with electric hook-ups, next to each other if possible.

I did the booking back in late January 2015 and had several emails over the course of the following months, there was some communication breakdown over the two pitches but I did eventually get sorted.

We arrived it the site on the Wednesday before the actual F1 race on the Sunday, I queued at the small office to check in and pay my balance ( which was quite a few euros more than I'd calculated off the tariff on the website) and we waited to be shown to our pitches.

Let me say at this point that the pitches are all nicely dived up by hedges and trees. We were shown to a single pitch and I protested that we had booked and paid for two separate pitches, I was told that as it was F1 we would have to get two tents on one pitch and this would be the same for everyone else.

I do wish I'd have been informed of this in the many email exchanges between us before we arrived!

We were extremely disappointed by this, but we had little choice but to get on with it as we'd paid our cash balance and I felt that I probably wouldn't get that back if I'd decided to go elsewhere.

To the owners credit she did let us choose a pitch in a corner in which we were able to just about get our two tents on.

The camping experience itself was like no other any of us in our party had ever experienced before though and after the initial disappointment we experienced, in a really good positive way!

The F1 brings people together to talk about cars, drink lots of beer and generally have a great time, this site delivered a whole new experience for us all. The site by the Friday was packed like some kind of 'Glastonbury' overspill. There was music coming from every direction (the Dutch have some weird musical tastes!) lots of drinking lots of laughter and you couldn't help yourself by getting immersed in the whole experience.

The shower and toilet facilities were excellent for the whole weekend, considering how busy it was nobody in our party of seven had to wait any more than a couple of minutes for a shower, they were always hot (50 cent coin required) and well cleaned. There was a smell by one block of toilets in the middle of the site that was near the huge waste disposal skip, but was not an inconvenience.

The site had a very busy bar area that put on food each night and in the mornings there was a bakery that came in and you could buy bread and croissants etc. You could also purchase a breakfast before you went off to the F1' which was excellent.

We went into Stavelot which is the nearest town about 5 min drive away and they have shops where you buy buy your groceries. We also went to a restaurant here that was also really very good (Figaro's).

So overall after the disappointing start to the camping we really loved the site and the whole experience and would definitely go back again for the F1.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dubdogs 140 reviews from this member

We had a two night stay here when wanting to visit the F1 track and visit the local area.

The site was very quiet and following a note on the reception door, we pitched up where we wanted. The EHU was a mix of UK type sockets and Continental sockets where you need an adaptor (not sure if they had adaptors available at reception as we had our own). As it was so quiet we had plenty of space, but the pitches looked a good size in any case. The facilities were good and the shower block was very modern.

The site is in a very picturesque setting with woods, fields and the river running around it. It was about a 2 mile walk down to the circuit and as there was a track day on, you could hear to sound of the cars echoing from the site and on the walk towards it. The nearby village/town of Stavelot has a supermarket, bakery, cafes, and is a nice little place to wander around.

All in all, we really enjoyed our time at the site and visiting the local area.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Gingawarrior 82 reviews from this member

This is my favourite campsite of 2014 and there are over 30 to choose from, it is sadly a little far away for most people, but if you are in the area or passing it is well worth a stop.

The facilities, whilst in no way inadequate, unclean or in a poor state of affairs, are really not one of the standout aspects of the site. The toilets are fairly basic and typically european, there are plenty of washing up sinks and the showers are excellent, you do have to pay 50 cents but the time is more than enough, counts down and you can pause, quite hi-tec in fact.

There is a small bar that we did not use but it looked nice, and the Dutch owners were very friendly, well as friendly as a virtual lack of any common language would allow, but there was lots of smiling and plenty of enthusiastic nodding.

So to what makes this a great campsite, well its the location really and the fact that its in the Ardennes Forests, which creates a unique atmosphere and means the general appearance and upkeep of this wonderfully peacefulness site ticks all the right boxes.

There is a small river that runs around much of the site and its gentle babbling sound relaxes you day and night, there is a real feeling of being immersed in nature and its green, very green with plenty of grass and forest is all around you.

Beyond the site is the pleasant town of Stavelot, by no means big, but it has the usual bakery, butchers and cafes to while away a lunchtime, plus a small Carrefour for the boring bits.

Within a pleasant walk from the site through the forest is the Spa Grand Prix circuit. We ventured forth just expecting to see the track and maybe take a picture stood at the entrance, which we achieved. We were more surprised that all the gates were open, so we speculatively wandered in, and then wandered a bit further, there appeared to be a track day going on, eventually we found ourselves in the pit complex and in the VIP area, all this with two dogs in tow.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dargy 34 reviews from this member

This is a difficult review to write as we primarily wanted a site close to the circuit for the F1 race this year. Eau rouge is perfect as it is just a 20 minute walk or 10 minute cycle to the entrance yet being a 'proper' commercial site offered facilities. But it was also filled more than 2 times over capacity for this particular weekend which meant our caravan was about half a metre from next door - no problem reaching out of the window and passing them the sugar! We resolved ourselves to this, after all F1 is a huge event and there was a definite happy vibe running through the site. However, electricity was thin with multiple adapters going into single sockets and blowing regularly which forced us onto gas for the duration. Remarkably, you would have thought the facilities would have been stretched - and they were - but there were people in there cleaning all the time and keeping them tidy. A good effort given that much rain had made the site pretty muddy.

However, given we had all booked ahead for a pitch for this race weekend, the booking in procedure was. Er. Antique. After being showed to our 'pitch' by hired help I then walked back to the office and queued patiently for 2 HOURS. Yes, 2 hours behind others as Franka (the owner and actually really nice) slowly booked us in, by hand, with a calculator, writing out receipts longhand, taking deposits for power adaptors - all on her own. Given this must be the financial highlight of her year I was wearily surprised she didn't bring in more people to speed this all up. We arrived at 3pm - and she was still on the go when I wandered past again at 9pm.

With so many people of this 6000m site it is difficult to give a fair review of how it stands in normal circumstances. Stavelot is a cute town with a handy Carrefour supermarket for supplies and plenty of cafes and restaurants. The local area has plenty to explore and the position of the site itself is quiet and peaceful.

Would I return? Yes for the F1 race but also any other time too. But Eau Rouge - sort yourself out with more staff for booking in and upgrade your power.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: AliGreen 12 reviews from this member

Chose this website on the back of the excellent reviews seen here, but was rather disappointed. We were there the Whitsun half-term week and although I agree that the setting was lovely, it was not quite as welcoming a place as others have found. In fact the lady on reception couldn't have been less so ! We booked in advance for 3 nights, but mentioned that we may stay longer. She replied 'I HAVE to know how long maximum'. Isn't that the point of motor homing - going with the flow ? We decided to leave it at the 3 nights and were glad we had. I will say that we had a lovely pitch though - plenty of space for van, awning and room for dining al fresco. Only trouble was that our quiet corner near the pretty stream was also near a rather noisy road and on one day the racing bike noise from the nearby Grand Prix track was pretty deafening. Stavelot looked like a pretty town, but a drive rather than a walk away, and take note that the Lidl here has now closed. There is a great cycle path called the Ravel which you can pick up just outside the site, but beware of a very steep uphill climb to reach it.

Facilities were two-fold - one much older rather tired block and one brand new building which was much better, although showers cost 50 cents and you need to take your own toilet paper in both. There was a table tennis table and basketball hoop and looks like a small swimming pool was in the works too, but my 2 teenagers seemed to be the only kids of that age there during this week. I expected to be in the minority as a Brit (majority of campers and the owners were Dutch), but have to say, we felt a little unwelcome because of it. When I asked about the restaurant and bread ordering that is mentioned on the website, the owner was quite abrupt in her reply 'there is no restaurant and no bread till next week !'. It is not a bad campsite by any means and probably perfect for racing fans, but we won't be visiting again. To end on a positive though, with the ACSI card, it was very good value.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Christine16 1 review from this member

Visited here over the weekend of May bank holiday and loved every minute. Staff were lovely, pitch we had was perfect. The site is easy to find from directions given. It was very clean and the showers warm for 50 cents at 7 minutes.

The only thing to say is to bring loo roll with you.

It's around 5 minute drive to the Spa circuit which at smaller events is perfect. Could imagine F1 being more busy but a 3KM walk would be okay.

Missing being there now and definitely go back.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: PatrickG007 1 review from this member

Stunning scenery surrounding the campsite in the mountains.

The staff are very friendly and efficient. We were at campsite for the F1 race this year and many other campers had been to this campsite before.

We, like they, would continue to visit this campsite year after year for the race.

Good job to owners/managers and staff - well done on doing a good job on a very busy weekend.

We will be back for sure.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Squipper99 1 review from this member

Just spent 4 nights at this site and loved every minute. Its only a short drive to nearest town of Stavelot which is stunning and does have a supermarket(Lidl). Also really close to Spa Francorchamps race circuit.
There's a river onsite, a small bar, play areas for kids, and plenty to do nearby. I recommend Plopsa Coo that's nearby for a visit or the Abbey in Stavelot. It's off the main road and is a really peaceful and quiet site. The hosts were brilliant and so friendly.

All in all I could not have wished for a better site with good friendly atmosphere from the hosts and the return campers from all over europe.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Stavelot      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Belgium

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4037 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019