Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pennings Farm Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Wiltshire > Salisbury > Pennings Farm Certificated Site > Reviews

Pennings Farm Certificated Site
Pennings Drove
Coombe Bissett
Salisbury
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SP5 4NB
Tel: 07721 442713
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 vans plus tents
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 10 Reviews
                9/10 from 10 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Gergeiboy 1 review from this member

 Just a few words, to describe Pennings Farm.

Well, stunning, beautiful, paradise, secluded road to view the farm, in a spot you could only dream of finding,

Every thing you need is there, with wonderful views in all directions,

A must visit campsite, john stevens. 


Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Colin Bridge 3 reviews from this member

 This is a very quiet site on a no through road high up on the Downs with great views.

The site is flat grass with easy access from the road and easy pitching.

The basic facilities for water and waste are close by, newly constructed and convenient to use.

The WC is a short walk away.

The nearest village has a shop and a pub open every day and offering food.

There is electricity. 


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Ancient Uncle 5 reviews from this member

 Lovely peaceful site at the end of a no through road. The road through Coombe Bissett was quite narrow and we were unlucky to meet the refuse lorry mid way along. No major problem as there was just enough space for me to pull over and let him ease past, but then a bus arrived just behind me!

We were able to cycle to Salisbury quite easily and also enjoyed a longer ride to Fordingbridge.

Lovely view from our caravan over a field of oil seed rape, but unfortunately it does give off large quantities of pollen, which did have quite an effect on me.

Owners were very helpful and friendly. We would love to go back again sometime to finish exploring the area.

The hill on the approach road was quite steep for cycling, or at least it was when we came back from shopping in Salisbury with panniers heavily laden!

Another route by cycle from here was along the pathway toward the other campsite which lead to another road. Turn right along the stony road and you come to Rockbourne Road. This will take you to Rockbourne Roman Villa and Fordingbridge. 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Cantegril 1 review from this member

 Hidden gem! Lovely well laid out level site with beautiful views over surrounding countryside.

All facilities easy to use. Watching the horses very relaxing after good walks and cycle rides around the area.

Mine host Richard very welcoming and helpful.

Highly recommended! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Dollys 1 review from this member

 We really enjoyed our stay at Pennings Farm. The campsite is a simple well kept field at the end of a country road with views across open fields.

There were 4 others staying there so it was nice and peaceful with plenty of space around each unit. There was a walk close by ideal for dog walking.

In the field there was just a water tap, chemical disposal point and rubbish bin area.

The toilet is through the yard past the horse stables.

The owners were friendly and helpful.

It cost 15 per night for the 4 of us and dog (without hookup). We would recommend it. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TomMac 28 reviews from this member

 Located around a ten minute drive to Salisbury. Quiet 5 caravans site. Power, rubbish, waste water and fresh water are the only facilities here. Fully grassed area overlooking fields. Walk 30 minutes to Coombe Bissett store which has a Post Office and speciality foods. A fish and chip van visits the store at times, you will see signs advertising when they are coming. A few minutes more is The Fox and Goose pub which has average food and great service. The walk back up is uphill.

There are one or two pitches which receive shade, the rest are in full sun, There are many walks nearby. We got ourselves an ordinance survey map which was very handy. Most paths were suitable for bike riding.

We have been here three times now over the past few years. The owners are very nice and you might only see them a few times a week. Stonehenge, Old Sarum and Rockbourne Roman Villa are all within easy reach. We also took the train to London for the day, went to the New Forest several times, Shaftesbury, Dorchester, Bournemouth and Weymouth. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mrs. Bonce 369 reviews from this member

 A very nice site, with easy access as promised, open to the south so easy to get the all impoertant Sky tv signal. Short well kept grass. Arrived on Tuesday and did not see the owner until Saturday when we paid him, 13 per night which is ok.

The village shop does sell most things, including a lethal South African rose wine, 13. 5 proof! There is no garage anywhere near though, the nearest is probably at the shopping centre down the A36 Southampton Road where there is also a large Tesco and a Lidl.

There are plenty of local walks as said, but we preferred it by the river Avon. Try the one at Amesbury, or near Downton.

The only slight gripe is that there is no recycling, only one bin. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Khoare 3 reviews from this member

 Just had a great time here despite the worst that the weather could throw at us. The ground held up very well despite no hardstanding and no trouble moving with our 3. 5 ton motorhome. A local village shop sells all you would need and is about 1. 5 miles away, uphill coming back though. There are plenty of off road tracks for walking or cycling and the scenery is stunning. Thoroughly recommended if looking for a peaceful retreat. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chocky52 9 reviews from this member

 Booked site for the weekend for a group of us like minded caravan and motorhomers. Were not disappointed. Well kept site in the middle of cornfields with skylarks to keep us company. Close proximity to Salisbury but more pleasant to idle away the weekend in the peace of the countryside. Minimal facilities but sufficient for our needs. Water, waste and chemical disposal. All EHU so no issues there. Plenty of space for all to spread out and enjoy.

Stunning display of thunder and lightning on the Friday night but cannot be guaranteed to repeat on demand. Owner unobtrusive but there if you need him. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Minerva14 24 reviews from this member

 The site owners promised lots of walks in the countryside and as we have 4 dogs we looked forward to getting there. We were not disappointed. Lots of walks for miles in lovely country where we walked for miles and miles. The owners were away when we visited but a relative was overseeing things and made sure we had what we needed. She even helped us search for one our dogs that went AWOL!

The site itself has minimal facilities but as we were self sufficient, it had everything we needed. Lovely place, nice people and we will definitely go back. 



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Pennings Farm Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pennings Farm Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Pennings Farm Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Salisbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


25092 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement