Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hirdre Fawr Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Pwllheli > Hirdre Fawr Farm Reviews

Hirdre Fawr Farm
Tudweiliog
Morfa Nefyn
Pwllheli
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL53 8YY
Tel: 01758 770309  or  07920486166
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 13/07/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 52 Reviews
                9/10 from 52 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Graham 3 reviews from this member

 Nicely laid out site on a working farm. Very friendly welcome from owner

The facilities were spotless and covid safe. I used the site for walking the coast path, which is about a mile away.

I was able to use the shop and pub about a mile away, in the village.

I hope to come back next year and walk some more of the coast path. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: MrVango 1 review from this member

 Please take note if you're visiting july 2020.

The good- stunning location and a stony beach nearby.

Not so good - despite what the site overview states, there are no toilet/shower facilities available due to CoronaVirus.

In addition, during our visit there was no access to the stated Wi-Fi or children's playground. There is no reduction in the day rate despite the lack of advertised amenities. 
via mobile
Management response: Thank you for the review.

They knew that it was against the law to open the facilities and play area when they came, as we had advised on here and on Facebook

If they would have asked for password they could have had the wifi code and made use of this and they knew the price

It is a shame they gave us a low rating as they did ask to come back the following weekend but I had to say no after their behaviour on their stay, music 'til after midnight and others which I wonít go into, sorry, but that's not the kind of campsite we are.


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bonnyrigg 36 reviews from this member

 Our second visit this year. What more can we add? the site is lovely, the owners are friendly, The facilities on the site are good, even if a little walk from the field. Its worth it and they are clean and well kept. There is also a butty wagon run by Annwen the owner of the site and the sandwiches are very good. The location is good and best of all is the private cove down their own private lane and most of the time there are the beautiful seals to see. Bank Holiday Monday we were there and saw twenty seven seals all together. We walked the coastal path over to Ysgarten beach and that is beautiful, sandy, clean and safe.

We are returning next years its already in the diary. Thank you to Annwen for running a family orientated peaceful site. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dellmer 1 review from this member

 Our second year staying here, great campsite with a walk down private lane to a lovely cove with seals. Can join coastal path with great walks to some fantastic beaches.

Stayed in sea view camping field lovely sunsets to sit and enjoy, the owners donít bother you but any problems you can speak to annwen who is really friendly, the facilities are clean yes it is 50p for a shower but it last a long time and showers are big enough to share, plus it stops people taking ages in showers so never had to queue. Bacon butties from the food van were great and saved cooking on the last day.

The walk to toilets isnít that bad and there is only one water tap in field but it isnít that bad to walk we love the this campsite as it great for camping and enjoying the outdoors £24:00 isnít to bad with hook up donít charge you for anything else such as dogs awnings etc as do so many other sites. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bonnyrigg 36 reviews from this member

 We visited this site for a week and were very impressed. The positives are the location, the cleanliness of the site, the on site breakfast bar each morning, the play area for children, the laundry and washing up area. The ladies, gents and family facilities are kept to a good condition with plenty of toilet items in each room. We had a pitch on Seaview which was lovely and felt like sites from old. A laid back site ideal for a switch off.

The only negative is the distance to the facilities from 90% of the pitches and camping field. If the gate is across the yard its even further to walk to them from Seaview.

The site has its own beach/bay and the grey seals use the bay as their home, its lovely to see them so close.

The owners are friendly and helpful. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: HLSW 6 reviews from this member

 We loved this site! The facilities and location were great. We had the Sea View Field which suited us as it was lovely and quiet and really did have a fantastic sea view! It felt like a little site separate from the main one. There was no TV signal in this field which didnít bother us too much except on rainy evenings when our DVD player played up. The owner was friendly and helpful. We were glad to be the furthest field from the park area where the kids hung out (in quite a large number in the evening!) A lovely walk down to the beach where we saw seals on our first visit and the next day. Great walks along the coastal path. (Quite a long walk to the chemical disposal point from our field and the elevated position made it difficult to empty the toilet. ) Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, one of the more expensive but still felt value for money. Ate at the The Ship Inn, food was excellent although a bit pricey. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cerysa 1 review from this member

 We have just had an amazing stay at this campsite. Our family consists of 2 adults, 8yr old, 6 yr old and a 2 yr old dog. The pitches were brilliant sized - we had loads of room and were well spaced out. All the fields are set up with tents round the edges and the middle free for the kids to play. We were next to the park which was perfect to keep an eye on our kids. The facilities were cleaned very regularly and spotless. Showers 50p but last enough time for us all to shower. Great to have washers, drier, fridge and freezer on site. The kids absolutely loved climbing the trees and making dens in their secret area they found. My absolute highlight was the walk to the beach from the campsite to see the grey seals and the amazing sunsets. Annwen was lovely, really helpful and it was no problem that we took a little longer squeezing everything back into the car before we left. The whole family was gutted to leave but we will definitely be back. Xxx 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CAROLINE64 8 reviews from this member

 Last minute booking for the last Bank holiday in May.

We normally book a adult only site has we donít have little kids with us anymore. We also donít normally pay £24 per night with hook up, £21 without, we think a little steep for under canvas & paying for all your showers.

But on arriving we are well impressed, the site is split into 3 areas, caravan area family tents & play area and facilities, then the big main field we are pitch 23. The pitch is fairly flat, the grass is a bit longer than we like, all tents are round the perimeter of the field so the kids have ample space to run round, play football, rounders. We are quite a walk to the showers & toilets, showers take 50ps for 8 mins but we think itís longer, the showers ( Family rooms x 2 ) are the best we have ever had, spotlessly clear with plenty hot water, the ladies toilets also have 5 toilets & 2 showers still quite clean but are used more than the family rooms.

The washing up area is in a room with 4 sinks, 2 large fridge freezers & washing machine / tumble dryers.

There is only one drinking tap in the big field. Also no lighting on camp site so kids do tend to be dragged back to tents for at least 9. 15/30 pm. Then itís quite quiet.

The site in on a working farm so expect cows mooing & sheep bleeting very loudly from about 3. 30am, but lovely bird song.

The site boasts its own beach, down itís private lane, thought weíd have a walk to it, omg! be prepared for a long walk at least 20/30 mins down a very muddy slippy Lane then down a step hill, the beach is pebbles, shingles BUT! A great place for the kids of all ages ( & adults ) to explore rock pools, we didnít see any seals.

Over all this as been a great long weekend break.

You do need a car to get every where nothing on the door step, itís all lanes.

Lots of info and leaflets in the kitchen area.

Customer services, well there arenít any really, booked on line, paid by email, arrived to a girl with a scrap of paper with names and pitch numbers, no one came to see if we are ok.

Definitely child friendly

Value for money for us would be about £15 per night with hook up with free showers.

We wouldnít come back as we donít do the same campsite twice, unless we bring the grand kids next time who would love it. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Victoria9413 2 reviews from this member

 We visited on the bank holiday weekend after a recommendation from a friend. We were on the tent field with an electric hookup. It's a little pricey at £24 per night especially considering you have to pay for showers (50p for 5 minutes). The facilities are clean enough and there is an indoor area for washing up / washing etc.

The field itself was incredibly muddy so make sure you have your wellies!

The private beach is great although it's quite a walk to get to it. We went to the beach a couple of times over the weekend and were lucky enough to see lots of seals sunning themselves on the rocks.

Overall a good campsite for a weekend away - particularly if you have children. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Trank1978 1 review from this member

 We have camped all over North wales.

Since finding Hirdre fawr we have not been to another since. We have been returning to this site for the last 4 years

It ticks all the boxes for us as a family of 4 (plus dog).

Loads of Space for the Kids to play.

Sheltered beach with rockpools and seals.

Electric hook up.

Clean toilet block and showers.

You feel that you don't need to always keep an eye on the Kids.

Great location to explore the rest of the LLyn Peninsula.

Great approachable owners.

It does not get any better for us :) 


Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hirdre Fawr Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hirdre Fawr Farm?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Hirdre Fawr Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pwllheli      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1531 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement