Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Raddle Inn Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Staffordshire > Stoke On Trent > The Raddle Inn Campsite Reviews

The Raddle Inn Campsite
Quarry Bank
Hollington
Stoke On Trent
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
ST10 4HQ
Tel: 01889 507278
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 13 Reviews
                7/10 from 13 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dickiebird 19 reviews from this member

 Agree with previous reviewers re the location of this pub site. However, I was appalled at the state of the ladies' toilets and the shower room. Neither were fit for purpose. We would have left and moved on, but since it was winter and new year's eve, we felt we had to stay. However, very disappointed and will not visit again nor will we recommend to others. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Skevwickins 1 review from this member

 We have just come back from one night camping at The Raddle (2 adults and 4 children). The site is basic with only 1 female cubicle inc sink (which I washed in this morning as the shower floods) and a few gents cubicles. However, the location is beautiful and only 10 mins away from Alton Towers for anyone visiting the attraction. The Raddle pub which owns the site is really lovely with excellent staff who couldn't do enough to help make our stay enjoyable and gorgeous food. They also have lodges to rent out (some with a hot tub) at very reasonable prices. Don't let my comment about the toilet put you off this site. Its a great base, quiet with stunning views and we will definitely be returning! 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Narm 4 reviews from this member

 Well just returned after the Easter week end must say we enjoyed ourselves yet again. When we arrived there was no one at all on the field. The owner opened the gate for us and said help yourselves lol, so we did. We pitched our vango icarus 600 with fully enclosed canopy next to the ehu which was a 16 AMP supply, that was great as we had 2 fan heaters running on 1000watts each plus a 800 watt electric heater, it was cosy lol. The owner has managed to upgrade the showers with new showers and trays, and tiled around the sinks, he just needs to do the floors now, which he says is his next job! As usual the staff are so friendly, the food is fantastic, and the overall views from the field are outstanding, and at 54 for the three nights including the EHU is great value for money. Peace and quiet is what you get at the raddle. The field is quite flat and in good order. Happy camping 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Narm 4 reviews from this member

 What can I say. The owner and staff are very helpful, they go out of there way to make you feel welcome. The site is fantastic. Views around the site are stunning. Food in the inn is fantastic and great value for money. Rocks cottage is a beautiful olde world stone built cottage, we have stayed there on a few occasions and the hot tub is amazing, but now we're into camping, so back to basics lol. The only thing I would comment on is the shower block, maybe needs a little updating but having said that its FREE 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ccridersuz 1 review from this member

 Just returned from our 3rd visit to the Raddle Inn. This year the charge was 6 per person and 15 for the hook up. Still pretty good value considering the distance from Alton Towers, a bit hard to find for the sat nav, ended up putting in the town of Hollington, which got us there. The roads around that area are pretty narrow, so you take your chances with a caravan, as we use a tent it's easier.

The camping site is the opposite side of the road to the Inn, consisting of two fields with 4 hook ups on the right hand field and 2 on the left hand field, both fields slope but are level enough to obtain a good pitch up. There is a quarry bordering the left field, but you cannot see it without searching.

The toilet facilities could do with updating, but are adequate, they are basically a porta cabin with ladies one end, shower the other and gents in the centre. They have both hot and cold water. There are strategically placed picnic bench tables with seating on both fields. What makes it special are the views, you can see for miles.

The Inn itself is well furnished with a huge log burner and plenty of seating, includes a pool room and TV screen. There is a large conservatory and outside seating, with patio heaters. There is also an outside Pool table, Bouncy Castle and Play area for the kids.

There is also n outside evnding machine with bread, milk, bacon etc. which is very handy.

The Menu is extensive if a little pricey, includes kids meals, plus it does breakfasts and the service is excellent, the drinks are I think expensive.

There are quarry wagons during the day and depending on which field you are on, quarry noise during the day may be a problem.

Night time noise is dependant on whether the rented cottage jacuzzi is in use, but, it's the sheep and the cows that we heard, which were some distance away.

Alton Towers is about ten mins away and there is a Tesco about the same distance away.

This campsite is excellent value for money and has the basic's combined with an Inn should you not wish to get the stove out. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Justybiker 6 reviews from this member

 Wow what a campsite, at the time we visited It truly did leave a lot to be desired. The toilet and shower block was in desperate need of a make over, the pitches were far from level, the site itself is right next to an open and very active quarry, but please don't let this review put you off, the site is clean and maintained even with its minor faults the Raddle Inn Campsite is one of those sites that has that special feeling, the views over the stafford countryside are stunning, beautiful country lane walks, a real peaceful area, the raddle inn itself is a lovely pub serving great food with friendly staff.

Well worth a look 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Feughsider 10 reviews from this member

 I broadly agree with all the previous reviewers of this site. The roads leading to and from it are narrow and could be a bit of a nightmare if you had a big unit or were towing a caravan. The toilet and shower facilities were basic and only just adequate. I have rarely seen a busier pub however with meals being served left right and centre. Presumably locals come out here because it offers good value for money plus you can enjoy your food and drink outside in the garden admiring the breathtaking views beyond. I was charged 11 for one person in a campervan / one night / electric hook up. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Karlee 1 review from this member

 Just got back from a 2nt stay at the raddle Inn. The site is very basic, a small toilet and shower block.

The pub is a stone throw from your tent and services amazing food for excellent value for money. Drink prices are very reasonable.

Our main purpose for the visit was Alton towers, which according to the website is just 3 miles away. My brother who was stopping the Alton towers hotel, using his sat nav, managed to park within 5miles. The roads around the area are very narrow, and the use of a satnav is recommended.

We used a taxi company to get back, which cost 12, which was reasonable bearing in mind it costs 6 to park now at Alton Towers.

Will be returning next year, hopefully in better weather as we were a little afraid when getting back to the raddle inn that our tent might not be there after visit during 60mph winds, but actually the site is well sheltered and amazing views. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Emily84 2 reviews from this member

 As part of a large hen party - we booked two log cabins (another was needed for the second night).

The cabins were wonderful, the view was spectacular and clean. Booking was simple, key collection was simple.

Very close to alton towers which was amazing but book early for discount and group discount! Alton towers spa was definitely worth a visit.

Fantastic time was had by all, I just wish we had a log cabin with a hot tub! Unfortunately they were booked by another hen party.

Wonderful and peaceful site with beautiful views - looking at going camping there with my partner. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Beauandollie 2 reviews from this member

 A very encouraging welcome with list of 'rules'. The camping field looked tidy and well kept. One of the rules was keeping a distance from the next tent so could not understand why a tent was allowed to pitch 6 ft away from us, park a car in-between and then light a large BBQ. If you want to be among people walking round with bottles of beer at 11:30 am and large groups allowed (7 tents in one group!) then this is the site for you. Very close to Alton Towers but that is all that it has going for it. Not for us I am afraid. 


Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Raddle Inn Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Raddle Inn Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Raddle Inn Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Stoke On Trent      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Staffordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3701 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement