Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Horgabost Camping And Wild Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Isle Of Harris > Horgabost Camping And Wild Camping Reviews

Horgabost Camping And Wild Camping
Horgabost
Isle Of Harris
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS3 3HR
Tel: 01859 550386
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 50
Open: May To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 60 Reviews
                8/10 from 60 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <10 miles   Restaurant <10 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  60 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Carllindley 4 reviews from this member

Unfortunately with all the publicity this site has received over the last year the site is very busy. The position is perfect but the lack of facilities to cope with the 100 plus units ie two of each means that tenting has to be undertaken in between others users which can be busy a peak times.

The cost £9 for a two man tent is good but you pay for what you get which is nothing only the view.

They are looking to upgrade the facilities but this is only adding two extra shower units which when the site is full will not cope.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Carllindley 4 reviews from this member

Right on the beach, hence subject to the weather both from the sea and the mountains. Therefore very good in the sun but damp in the rain and wind.

Very good when quiet ie during the week but very busy at weekends.

Camp where you want so can be very closed in if people are inconsiderate.

Lovely beach and hills to walk around.

Single toilet block for each sex which can be busy at times but clean, need a pound coin for the shower.

A shop is open sometimes run by locals but does't sell much.

You need an envelope and cash for money to pay for the site which is left in a tin on the gate.

A fridge and freezer is available for storing food/ice blocks.

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Gonnate 14 reviews from this member

Previous reviews describe it well. The position and views are stunning, the facilities are better than they look outside, the part time warden is very friendly. You do need to be self sufficient. There is no provision for emptying toilet cassettes, not even if, like us, you use organic bio safe stuff in there, so the nearest point is on the council waste site on the road to Scalpay at Tarbert. (£3)

It is very exposed to wind, it was bitingly cold, our van is unheated. And we firmly plan to return to this wonderful place.

It's superb for capable experienced walkers - sadly health issues prevent us, but the Seallam! centre just south, is very worth visiting, as well as just being in that scenery.

The dark sky meant great viewing of stars, including shooting stars.

Highly recommended site.
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Eileengrace 5 reviews from this member

This is an undulating expanse of grass behind a beautiful beach. You pick a spot and pay £15 at the butty bar at the entrance, or pop it in a box (envelopes provided).

There are toilets and showers (£1) in containers in the beach car park - clean, but showering is not very private. No EHU or CDP. It was fairly busy when we were there, so we were lucky to find a level place for our van not too far from the beach.

Not too far from the ferry port at Leverburgh where there is a good supermarket but no amenities in the immediate vicinity - you need to be self-sufficient.
via mobile

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: BeachDog 26 reviews from this member

Camping in the undulating dunes next to lovely sandy beach, no marked pitches just pick a suitable space, some level areas. No EHU or WiFi. Might be worth picking a lower sheltered spot in poor weather!

Sturdy container based facilities in the beach car park, clean and adequate, small kitchen area with fridge/freezer, bike hire shop. Plans on the door indicate these may be upgraded to include more disabled facilities.

Butty wagon at entrance but was closed for the day when we stayed. Honesty box at gate for payment £14. Great rural site, would definitely return.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Reuben 14 reviews from this member

Great informal site with no EHU. Next to a great beach that was very quiet when we were there. All the facilities are in shipping containers, they were clean & it was £1 for a hot shower, I thought that was fair. They were just setting up a shop on the day we were leaving & the food van at the entrance was closed.

£14 via an honesty box. If youíre in a van you need to drive around to find a flattish pitch so donít be late! Iíd certainly stay here again. Thereís another more organised site a mile down the road it thatís more your thing- £24 a night. Didnít see the wardens but didnít need to.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: GillOK 8 reviews from this member

6th campsite of 11 on our tour of Skye and the Outer Hebrides, 4 adults and 1 car. No dog and no children.

We didn't see owners or managers - run an honesty system. We only stayed one night, because on our way to Uist, this was our last of 3 nights on Lewis and Harris.

As suggests, there is no EHU or wifi, as in sand dunes. But there are toilets and showers, a hut with ample information.

Amazing scenery, this is a must place to stay. We chose a sheltered spot, so out of the wind. Reasonably level, but that's your choice as there's no booking, so its whats available when you arrive. There was a food van, but they'd gone to the mainland for 2 nights, just unlucky for us. Otherwise didn't appear to be any pubs/restaurants within walking distance.

Great for beach lovers, dogs, children. Near to ferry, can recommend the Anchorage and the Butty Bus

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: John Perkins 3 reviews from this member

I spent nearly a week here, enroute through the Outer Hebrides. Great site, fabulous position. Free and easy. Arrive and pitch where you can. Facilities are basic and adequate. Payment by honesty box. Nice touch!

Good access to Harris

Best shops in Tarbert, includes a butcher if you need small cuts of meat.

Ample supermarket in Leverburgh to the south. Meat selection restricted to prepacked, no good if you want one chicken breast! I have a small fridge.

I highly recommend this site.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Doggies On Tour 28 reviews from this member

£14 per night with limited facilities. Yes it is right by the beach, but the beach wasn't that big and it got very crowded. The site was packed, so get there early to try and get a decent and level spot! Plenty of room for tents, just caravans and motorhomes were more limited.

There are toilets and showers and a beach shop and info area with washing up, however no CDP to EHU! you need to take your CDP to Leverburgh ferry point which is 10 minutes drive away!

I think £14 per night was a bit expensive for what you get, but it was very popular so I may be in a minority! There are some nice, quieter beaches nearby and lots of wild camping spots, but you have to pay for these too in Harris.

Normally £5 or £10 per night and no facilities! The scenery is amazing and the beaches are beautiful, maybe next time we will go during the quieter months, as we don't have children! Greta place for families though as the beach is quite sheltered so the kids were out with their boats and body boards all day long.

There is a jetty there too so it looked fun jumping off the end of that! Lots of little art galleries and cafes and a shop in Leverburgh, so plenty to keep you entertained if you don't like sitting on the beach all day, or if the weather turns!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Einsteinwasright 4 reviews from this member

We stayed for one night on our tour of Northern Scotland. This is the most unforgettable location with a clear sandy beach and mountains over looking the bay. It was really hard to leave when it was time to pack up!

It is in a fairly rural location with not too much nearby so make sure you have all the supplies you need with you. Once you have set up you can truly relax, there is an abundance of wildlife in the area from rabbits to seals, and we were lucky enough on the ferry across to Tarbert to see puffins, dolphins and whales. An amazing campsite that I would love to visit again and can't recommend enough.

Decent shower and toilet facilities that are kept clean and a small kitchen area that has fridge/freezer - which is really useful when camping!

Because this area is so remote the night sky is exceptionally clear with no light pollution to block the stars. We saw the most incredibly bright shooting star - if you can stay up to watch the stars on a clear night they are probably some of the best you will see anywhere in the world.

We didn't take our daughter with us on this trip, but there were several families with children - the location doesn't have facilities aimed directly at children however the beach seems to be enough to keep them occupied indefinitely!

Previous     60 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Isle Of Harris      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5990 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019