Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Tyn Cae

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Aberdaron > Tyn Cae Reviews

Tyn Cae
Aberdaron
Aberdaron
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL53 8LL
Tel: 01758 760428
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 16
Open: Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 21 Reviews
                9/10 from 21 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  21 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Finnyb 2 reviews from this member

On the plus side nice enough location and not too expensive, but I would leave this site to the tents! Very hairy road if you are towing a caravan (narrow and vey windy single track, with a difficult entrance into the site. Facilities where clean but the showers couldn't cope with both going at the same time (mine stopped when another camper turned the 2nd on). My little boy loved the toy car but they have some football goalposts on the main camping field instead of the playing field and you wouldn't want to be stuck beside the kids playing here as it's a very small site

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Juemor 1 review from this member

Lovely site. Great views. Clean showers. If you don't have children be aware lots of noise from the children that are there which seems to be on a regular basis. Apart from that a good place to go Very peaceful when the children were taken in.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Mrsvaljacko 2 reviews from this member

We stayed in a beautiful static caravan. It was very clean and tidy with all the essentials needed for self catering. Denise and her family were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble for them. Highly recommended camp site. Thank you for a lovely holiday.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fiznlil 36 reviews from this member

Very peaceful small site with beautiful views and friendly owners. We had a lovely time.

Reasonable rates - 14 per night with EHU.

Tap conveniently next to EHU but seemed to be fitted with a spray nozzle! Easily solved problem of filling water carrier as we had a funnel with us.

No pubs/restaurants within easy walking, so we cooked in the van in the evenings. No mobile phone reception, but good TV signal.

We have our own facilities but the loo block seemed quite clean.

2 cubicles each with a loo and shower (20p). But no sinks in the cubicles meaning that tent campers would have to clean teeth/have a wash in the public sink area. No soap dispensers in sink area, but has electric hand dryer.

Nearby Aberdaron is so pretty - even in the pouring rain! National Trust car park very cheap. Tea room and pub or 2, ice cream and gift shops, Spar etc and a lovely beach.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tonicos1983 2 reviews from this member

Arrived back from a fab week at tyn cae arrived early and greeted with a warm welcome and a much needed cup off tea. No pestering for our site fees paid later on once all set up which was nice.

The site could do with a bigger sign on the main road as sat nav wasn't sure where to go. Could pitch were we wanted. The site small and no pubs arcades games rooms etc but still a fantastic site half the site is tents/caravans the other half a field for kids to let off steam and small slide and Wendy house football net my 3 boys loved it and didn't want to come home.

A new shower block which is very clean but only has 2 showers and toilets with a hot shower (20p for about 4 min) it never bothered us as the site wasn't very busy.

Aberdaron a short drive 4 for parking shops a little overpriced but expected for a small village afew pubs but never used them but the beach lovely, however a must see is whistling sands we thought we were in Greece although a steep hill to walk down/up to get to but worth the walk.

Nearest supermarket about 20mins drive. When leaving there was no rushing the owners didn't have a kick out time which made putting the tent away a lot easier. Defiantly worth the 16 a night price with ehu and would definitely be back. A little gem off a site

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Big Dave and Matty 1 review from this member

Would highly recommend this site. Tyn Cae is in a super location, very quiet and peaceful with lovely views.

Site and amenities are well laid out, plenty of space, exceptionally well maintained with excellent facilities. During my holiday stayed at another 4 star rated site further south which was not a patch on Tyn Cae.

Stunning beaches, countryside and convenience stores to hand. What more could you ask for. And yes we had good weather too!

Many thanks also to the fantastic hosts Ian and Denise for developing such a smashing site. A hidden Welsh gem.

Hope to see you all soon.

Best wishes Dave, Annette and Matthew x

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Amirecki 1 review from this member

Just returned from a bank holiday stay at this site and we loved everything about it!

The site itself is only small and secluded but allows for generous pitch sizes. Most of if is on a slight slope (joys of the area!) but it's not a problem. The site is quiet (there was about 7 big tents in total) and offers fantastic views as it is in the middle of the countryside. Bit of a shame you can't really catch the sunset from it, but 10 minutes in a car and you can view it from the breathtaking viewing point at the summit Mynydd Mawr.

It's about 5 mins drive to the Whistling Sands Beach (Porthor) and 5 mins drive to Aberdaron with a few food outlets (our favorite was a local 'sort-of' Fish & Chips offering local fresh seafood like crab & chips, lobster tails & chips and the likes for very good prices!)

There was quite a few things to keep our little ones busy (2 & 4 yo) - swings, a wendy house, sandbox, lots of toys etc. The kids also loved the owners' dog and the free roaming chickens.

Owners themselves were very helpful and easy going, allowed for a camp fire even though they had no pits.

Toilet/shower block very clean and reasonable with 20p for about a minute of hot water.

All in all, fantastic little site with caring owners a good walk from any other civilisation, but that's exactly what we wanted.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Autumn78 1 review from this member

Following a two week stay at Tyn Cae my review is as follows:

On our arrival we were greeted by the owners son who showed us to our pitches then offered us a cup of tea which was very welcomed after a 3 hour drive.

The pitches were very big and accommodated our large tents very well and plenty of space for the car alongside. A total Bargain at 16 per night with hookup

Ample spotless shower block for the size of the site comprising of 2 showers/toilet rooms a couple of wash basins and an extra toilet just outside the block. (these are shared facilities which may be a problem for some but It was never an issue for me)

Showers cost 20p for approximately 1 minute but this was enough time to shower and wash hair. (also stops people from hogging the showers!)

We never had to wait at all for the 2 weeks we were there.

During our stay the owners fitted a hand dryer to the on going renovation of the shower block

Washing up sink was within the same block so under cover.

Behind our pitches was a large area where the children could play football etc there was also a small climbing frame and slide along with a playhouse and toys for the children use.

There is an under covered seating area and bbq's for the campers to use which we did so a great touch there!

Overall this was a very relaxed and welcoming site perfect for all, sheep surrounding the site and chickens roaming free and off the beaten track so very quiet with hardly any passing traffic, we took a couple of walks into Aberdaron which is approximately a 30 minute walk (we did have to heard 8 children along the country roads so a bit quicker for just adults) but a lovely walk, it boasts a chip shop, spar (v. Expensive!), post office, newsagents, pub, cafes and a bakery ( brilliant for fresh bread and milk), also 5 minutes drive away is 'Whistling sands' a beautiful beach to visit.

Only criticism is that there could be a larger sign at the end of the lane for initially trying to find you :)

Many thanks to Denise & family!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Williams67 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a weeks stay and my review is as follows:

1: upon arrival a welcome cup of tea awaits, nice touch

2: spacious pitch area, flat with 10 amp e. H. U. Also allowed extra car at no extra cost.

3:very friendly and helpful owners (and also the pet dog!)

4: lovely play area for the children and covered b. B. Q. Area

5: breathtaking views with peace and serenity all around

6: Aberdaron a good 30 minute walk with two lovely pubs and great food ( but a bit pricey ! ) parking in the village a nightmare but a car park is available at a cost. Local shop very expensive, a place you will visit once, then ask where the nearest supermarket is.

7: shower block. Layout questionable. Shared block with 2 showers ( 20p for approx 1 min so get yourself ready to go ! ) w. C. In with shower ( but their is a basic outside w. C. ) wash hand basins in open area so difficult to have a wash and only 1 pot washing sink so usually a queue. My wife was a bit uneasy at sharing washing and toilet facilities with males but for 98 pound for the week for a family of 6 with an extra car and e. H. U. This for me was a minor inconvenience.

8: overall, a lovely little campsite with owners who are trying very hard and deserve all the praise and success that comes their way and I can only see this site growing and improving as the years go by ! please give this site a go, the owners deserve it.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lecras 4 reviews from this member

Arrived to glorious sunshine on Friday afternoon, the owners were very friendly and offered us a panad (tea).

The site is very clean and the pitches are generous.

The toilets / shower (20p) were immaculate with a new shower block ready next week.

The covered BBQ area was a nice touch and the kids had a great time in the play area and looking at the chicks and chickens that roam around the house.

The site is fully fenced off and there are plenty of water points around the site.

5mins drive down to Aberdaron and some good food in the local.

Overall an excellent site and a credit to Owners.

Previous     21 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4583 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019