Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Castle Inn Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Selby > Castle Inn Caravan Park Reviews

Castle Inn Caravan Park
7 Wistowgate
Cawood
Selby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO8 3SH
Tel: 01757 242837
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 18
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/01/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 18 Reviews
                9/10 from 18 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Fred Stubber 9 reviews from this member

 Very friendly. Pleasant location. Good pub. Good facilities.

What more do you want me to say? Iíve said it all, concisely.  
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: S64miller 40 reviews from this member

 Spent one night here on our way home from Pontefract races.

The campsite is through the car park at the back of the Pub. The facilities are at the back of the Pub to one side of the Car park. Very clean and plenty of hot water.

We spent the night in the pub and received a very friendly welcome from the Bar maids and locals. The Lamb pie was lovely. Dog friendly pub where ours received a lot of attention.

Didn't have time to explore the area but its well worth a return visit 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cazbix 15 reviews from this member

 Nice little site, very friendly staff, Toilets & showers was nice and clean, ladies had 2 toilets and one large shower with plenty of hot water, but there is no heating so it was a but cold.

The pub restaurant was nice but we had to wait too long for the food, (We didnít book) there are other pubs in the area just a short walk away if you fancy a change. Selby has a good market on Mondays itís worth a look. We would return to the campsite it`s fine. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Fenderbender 7 reviews from this member

 First visit to this site and it won't be the last, great welcome from owners at the pub.

I was originally put off by a couple of old reviews but these are new owners and they are doing a great job.

The site is very clean as are the showers and toilets. Pitches are gravel hard standing and level, electrics are only 6 amp but I didn't have any problems.

A nice quiet spot in the middle of a lovely village.

Pub serves breakfasts as well as other food throughout the day, a couple of other pubs a few minutes walk away. 


Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ladybaby53 6 reviews from this member

 Just returned after a lovely weekend. The couple who now run this site have only been in the job 5 weeks and are learning quickly taking advice from owners who use the site. They had only been there 3 days when one of the previous reviews had problems but they sorted it when they were made aware within 2 hours. The owners are welcoming and friendly.

The shower and toilets were very clean. The owner told us they have plans to update and tidy the site.

The pub and the food they serve is very good. The Chef is excellent. Cawood is a lovely village with plenty of walks the locals are friendly. There is a well stocked post office and mini market. Good bus service to York and Selby the stop outside the pub.

Looking forward to returning and seeing the improvements. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: J55ptk 8 reviews from this member

 Just stayed 2 nights. It was supposed to be 3 but we didn't enjoy our stay. A chaotic check in but we were able to use any available pitch. 2 travelling type caravans on site complete with transit vans spread out over 5 pitches. Toilet and shower were filthy and the chemical waste point was blocked and full. This may be why some residents were using the grass between caravans as a toilet! No one about to check out at 11am on Monday morning. No one answered the phone or showed when we banged on the pub door. We shoved the money owed through the letterbox.

This could be a nice little site with some work and management but it will be a long time before we go there again. I am just glad we didn't bring the Grandchildren. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jannergirl 2 reviews from this member

 A great little site with plenty of space for each unit. Central to visit lots of surrounding areas like Selby and York. Pub on site which are really welcoming and serves great, reasonably priced food. Looking forward to returning and would recommend to anyone preferring small more basic sites where you don't pay for fancy additions you don't need! 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cliveyorkie 2 reviews from this member

 Just stayed 2 nights we would like to thank the owner for her great hospitality and lovely food. The site is lovely and peaceful. The shower is big and clean, plenty of hot water. Good and secure site. Beer is a very good price for a pub. Would stay again and would recommend to everyone

Thanks clive and julie 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Roberto01 5 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a weekend at the castle inn park and what a lovely little site it is, a friendly welcome from the owners on arrival and everything we needed to know explained. The site itself is small but that's what we like, was happy with the locked gate and toilets/shower block which I must say were clean and well kept.

The castle inn itself is cosy and welcoming and cannot fault the landlady for her helpfulness and friendliness, we booked a table for Saturday night and ordered the castle pie. My oh my this was delicious and a huge portion too and there wasn't anything I could fault lovely veg etc. All in all we had a fab weekend and will definitely be visiting this lovely site again. A big thankyou to the owners for making our weekend so enjoyable. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The Dirkster 3 reviews from this member

 We have just stayed for two nights at the Castle Inn Caravan Park and have to say that has been the friendliest site we've ever been to!

It offers easy access along good roads (if a bit narrow in the village) and is well situated for York, Selby and some lovely, unspoilt countryside.

From arrival to departure we were given the impression that nothing was too much trouble, and so it went on.

Pitches were of a very good size and all had an electricity supply; although at only 6 amp, it was quite easy to trip the fuse. Grass coverage superb and well kept and with nice mature trees dotted around the outside to offer shade.

The toilet and shower facilities were reasonably basic, and only one of each for each gender, but very clean and quite adequate for the site's size - we never had to wait and there was always plenty of hot water.

We ate in the pub on our first night and, if we hadn't already brought our own bbq stuff, would had done so again the following evening. Food, beer, service and hospitality all excellent. Their website states 'good home cooked food and plenty of it' and they didn't disappoint! We left for our caravan well fed and watered and very pleased with the value.

All in all we had a really enjoyable weekend and will be back again soon. 


Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Castle Inn Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castle Inn Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Castle Inn Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Selby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3970 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement