Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Lakes And Fells Certificated Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Lakes And Fells Certificated Site
Craighurst
Low Stott Park
Lakeside
Newby Bridge
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA12 8AX
Tel: 07810 710 744
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 5 CCC Only
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 12 Reviews
                9/10 from 12 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jackslad 4 reviews from this member

Itís a 10/10 from us 2 adults and 1 dog. Yes the access is tricky but donít be put off, well spaced hard standing pitches, electric, water tap, and satellite dish on all pitches if needed. No panoramic views but silence among the trees, and like others have said the lakeside ferry is just a walk down the road. All this for £12 a night.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jane Laurie 1 review from this member

A lovely, peaceful site with a very friendly welcome from owners. High Dam is worth walking to nearby. The site is dog friendly but facilities are limited with NO toilet block, this was no issue for us (our caravan has a shower room) but please be aware. Access is also tight our van is 23' and towed with a long vehicle, we managed to squeeze in but only just. Everything was clean and wll kept- definitely on the list for a return visit.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Stedi2 1 review from this member

This is a lovely, quiet site set within 15 minutes walk to windermere ferries, steam train, aquarium and restaurant. It is also about 5 minutes walk from a bobbin mill giving hourly tours of original bobbin making for cotton industry. The site is only for 5 units, adults only, dog friendly. Own sanitation is essential, but waste disposal and elson points are available. TV and WiFi are very poor, but you can borrow a sky dish and aerial and watch TV. All in all this is a beautiful, quiet site set in a very quiet spot, but very easy to get to Windermere. £11 per night including hook up.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bobskate 3 reviews from this member

A really peaceful site in a beautiful area. The hard standings are generous. Water and electricity near to the pitches. There is a motorhome service point (yes on a CL) and they will lend you a sky box for TV and for free. It's a half mile walk to Lakeside on the southern end of Windemere. Good walking area. It a few hundred yards from Stotts Bobbin Mill. A fascinating English heritage site. Negatives? Well no shop nearby. That's about it rally. We would recommend without hesitation.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Flyingphil462 1 review from this member

What a wonderful site! We stayed for seven nights and loved it. The facilities are exactly as described and We enjoyed the privacy and quietness that only this type of site can offer. Being adult only was a major influence in choosing the site, as was the location which suited us well with plenty of walks and attractions close by.

The owners gave as much help and advice as we needed and are a friendly couple.

We will definitely return there next time we visit the Lakes.

Date of Visit: November 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pauline Sellers 14 reviews from this member

What a gem of a site.

It is surrounded by stunning scenery, peace and quiet.

Well-kept and well-managed site.

Excellent facilities.

This is our second visit to this site and it is certainly in our top five favourite sites. Great for exploring the lakes and fells.

The Swan at Newby Bridge is a perfect location for summer dining or just a drink by the water (weather permitting of course).

Looking forward to our next visit

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Welshrover 20 reviews from this member

Spent eleven nights in total at this lovely and quiet little caravan park. Its an adult only site with no toilets or showers whatsoever. Ehu and water is set between two hard-standing so its very close to each caravan and waste water point is quite close by, but the elsan disposal point is up a bit of a hill, and the satellite dishes is set between two caravans in which Dr Brown will give you a free use of a television box. The hard-standings are flat and level well rolled limestone and extra large, which will site a twenty five foot caravan and awning and park the car without going on the grass.

Its surrounded with trees, and deer is a frequent visitors and a few ducks on the pond. There are two gates to open and shut to get in and out, but I don't think anybody can complain about that I never found it a hindrance whatsoever. The entrance does look a bit tight but I saw twenty five foot caravans coming in and out with no problems

DR BROWN and her husband is a lovely welcoming folks no rules only common sense, and leaves you alone unless you have problems, and the time I spent on site I never saw one problem.

Lakeside is half a mile away where you can catch the ferries and a drink in the hotel, and the steam train, nearest shop is about mile and a half away in a garage. There is so much to do in the area and great walks to be had. For a lovely piece of heaven this is the place to be, all for £11 a night including ehu. What more could a man ask for or expect

Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Vanterrier 29 reviews from this member

Nice quiet site but with no facilities apart from electric hookup and chemical waste point so own sanitation is essential. There is a lakeside ferry terminal close by with toilets. Access would be tight for large Vans or caravans but fine for a LWB Ducato PCV like mine. Nice walk nearby to small tarn on hill above site, but disappointed to find there was no lakeside access or view. Owners were very friendly. Site is dog friendly too. The pitches were all hardstand and well spaced. Nearby Ferry terminal gives access to Bowness and Ambleside via ferry if you want to just park up and ride (sail).

I would return if I wanted a nice quiet site for a Chill weekend.

Date of Visit: November 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mandm76 3 reviews from this member

Great little site, we really enjoyed our 2 nights here. Extremely peaceful ( we had the site to ourselves ) even though it was very wet and blustery, but that's autumn in the Lake District for you.

Open fields with wooded surroundings and plenty of pitching space. Sheep in the adjoining field, plenty of wildlife and even a nearby duck pond.

The entrance is a bit tight with 2 gates to go through and you need your own facilities but, at £10 a night,it seems like pretty good value to us. Owner very friendly and informative plus we were given a free loan of a satellite box for the telly. We will be back and would recommend this site to anybody.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Birdie 4 reviews from this member

We stayed at this CL for 2 nights and found it very quiet and well maintained. Only 1/2 mile walk to the Lakeside Hotel where you can catch the ferry to Ambleside or Bowness. There is even a steam train but we didn't go on that. We did take a walk up to the dam which was very pleasant. The campsite didn't allow children but pets were welcomed. The site did have access to electricity, water, CDP, bins, TV aerial and Motorhome Disposal Point for £10 per night.

The site was a little hard to find at first and could possibly have done with clearer signage from both sides of the road, we travelled from Hawkshead and didn't see it until we turned at the Swan Hotel and have to travel back on ourselves.

Overall a worthwhile site, but possibly would recommend it for a night or two if you want to use the ferry or have access to a car.

Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1094 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019