Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Ridings Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Flintshire > Holywell > The Ridings Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

The Ridings Caravan And Camping Park
Babell
Holywell
Flintshire   (Browse area)
CH8 8PZ
Tel: 01352 721133
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/03 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 11 Reviews
                9/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Leosma 2 reviews from this member

 Absolutely beautiful little site. Just so quiet and with amazing views, and yet so close to towns, supermarkets etc. Lots of space for the kids to play as they havenít crammed as many caravans in as they could unlike so many other sites. Lovely little play area too. Owners are lovely and welcoming- definitely returning to this little gem of a site! 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Angieeb 1 review from this member

 This was our first camping trip and we couldn't have asked for more. This is a quiet site with a wonderful view of Moel Famau which we were keen to climb. The site is clean and well maintained with a shower room (shower takes 20p for 3 minutes), separate male and female toilet and a covered wash up area with hot and cold water. These were perfectly adequate as there was only one other couple staying. We didn't find a shop close by but got our few supplies from Holywell a short drive away. Would definitely return in the future. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mitzi16 13 reviews from this member

 Beautifully kept, quiet little site with fantastic open views of the Clwydian Hills and welcoming owners. Now has an extra toilet/shower block which provides perfectly adequate facilities for the size of site. Attended a wedding nearby so didn't have time to investigate local hostelries or walks - I'm sure we will return to put that right! 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bake1 1 review from this member

 Lovely site, the owners were very welcoming and we had a wonderful stay. An excellent site to get away from the stress of life and relax, though within reach of the North Wales Coast via A55 trunk road. Spotless and appropriate facilitates for a small family run site. Useful for walking and stunning views of the Clwydian Hill with Moel Farmau and Jubilee Tower dominating the scenery. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tom and Gill 1 review from this member

 We were booked on this site for 8 nights and liked it so much decided to extend our stay for 2 more nights. The owners had left a note for us on their door to say which pitch was reserved for us in case they were not home when we arrived. However she was in and she showed me where the toilet and shower blocks were plus the water, waste etc.

There were a couple of other caravans on site when we arrived and one couple even made us a welcome drink. These all left after the first weekend leaving the site to ourselves. The owners were very busy keeping the site well maintained and clean. Other campers had left various books and DVDs available on the shelf in the shower blocks for other visitors to use. Only thing we can say as a minor negative is that the site is only a 6 amp electric hookup and we forgot our low watt kettle!

Definitely go again as the area is far enough in the countryside for peace and tranquillity but only a five minute drive to the local shops and a twenty minute drive to nearby Prestatyn. Visitors to this site will not be disappointed. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kathryn_1956 4 reviews from this member

 We booked this site last minute as we were unsure where we were going, the decision was made for us when one of our grandchildren that was coming with us wanted to see some castles so we thought where's the best place for castles, Wales!

With that I started my search on this website and came across The Ridings Caravan & Camping Park. I phoned & booked us in, they didn't want a deposit just to let them know if we couldn't make it. When we arrived the owners weren't in but had left a note on the their door welcoming us and telling us to pick a pitch.

The site is a small well mown level field with EHU spaced out around 3 sides, leaving the middle empty for the children to play. Although there is only one very clean toilet and shower (20p for 3 mins hot water) it was fine as there was only us and another caravan on at the time. There is an undercover pot washing sink (but only a cold water tap).

There is a pub (Black Lion)almost outside the campsite which I was told does a very nice meal but with having the children with us we didn't get chance to try. Plenty of places close by to visit once you get your bearings on the country lanes. All in All I would recommend this site to anyone that likes peace & quite and doesn't mind the basics. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Aveline 4 reviews from this member

 The Ridings campsite is level with some 6 amp hookups, the toilet and shower was always spotless with some lovely touches such as handwash (rather than the old soap you sometimes find) handcream, room spray and always topped up with paper towels and toilet roll.

The site is a 2 minute walk from an excellent pub ( the black lion) lovely food and real log fire if a tad expensive. Although there is an alternative pub that serves food in Lixwm (the crown) a short drive away, lovely food and very reasonable price.

The Ridings is set in a beautiful rural location and within a farm with chickens, sheep, horses etc. Although it does not feel like it's situated on a farm, unlike many other campsites that are also farms we have been on the field is well kept with the grass kept short and it has good drainage.

The owners are delightfully friendly and are eager to make sure your stay is a happy one. This is the second visit to the ridings and it won't be our last!

I am reluctant to gush about this site as I am thinking if I praise it too much I may find myself without a pitch at some point, however it would not be fair to the owners, As their hard work obviously shows and at £8 a night for a fairly large tent with a hook-up it's a bargain. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cainejones 2 reviews from this member

 We have been to this site twice now and we are very impressed. The ground is flat and very clean. Only 1 toilet and 1 shower but is never too busy. Nearby pub about 2 minutes from site not really anything else around but very convenient for getting to other places. Owners are very friendly and helpful, we will definitely be returning. There is not really any bad points about this site apart from no shops nearby unless you go back to the town which is about a 10 minute drive. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Daveandjanina 5 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic campsite can't recommend it enough - we had a wonderful, relaxing weekend staying here. The owners were helpful, friendly and lovely people.

Our young son loved the campsite with all the animals, horses, hens, rabbits etc. The campsite is a great flat field with lovely lush green grass that is very well maintained. The facilities were spotless with hot shower, toilet, and all the usual chemical disposal, water tap etc all very close by. The site was very safe for youngsters with fencing all around (nowhere for them to escape :).

A great pub that does fantastic food within 2 minutes walk.

Fantastic walks, lovely views, peace and tranquillity - well worth a visit. Will be going back for sure. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cainejones 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed in a tent with hook up took a while to find as it was not sign posted but when we did find it, we got the tent up in no time with a little help from are camping neighbours. The ground was flat which made things easier. Toilet and shower block only consisted of 1 toilet and 1 shower which you had to pay 20p for 3 mins that I thought was reasonable and they were VERY clean if campsite got busy this could cause a problem. There was no washing up facilities but lucky enough we had an electric kettle and a washing bowl. The owners were great very friendly and helpful got on well with children. There was a pub/restaurant about 5 mins walk from site that was quite pricey. It is a very quiet area but we really enjoyed it would recommend this site to anybody. 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Ridings Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Ridings Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Ridings Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Holywell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Flintshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4145 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement