Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Camping La Porte

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Normandy > Calvados > Camping La Porte Reviews

Camping La Porte
Courson
Calvados
Normandy   (Browse area)
14380
Tel: 0033214125883  or  0033627642693
Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 6
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 16 Reviews
                10/10 from 16 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Chris0helen 1 review from this member

What a gem of a find, this little campsite tucked away in the lovely Normandy countryside. We were made to feel instantly welcome by Sharon, and Martin, who is a font on all local knowledge. The Campsite is small but very well maintained the showers and toilets were all clean and most importantly there was lots of hot water. The resident chickens, horse and donkey all added to the lovely atmosphere and the stars are quite fantastic too. The Campsite is quite centralised for exploring, Lower Normandy, with places like St Mont Michel and the Suisse Normandy area all within easy reach. Will be returning soon.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Claireuk 14 reviews from this member

We stayed just one night at this campsite on our way down to Brittany. It's in a beautiful little part of Normandy. I had booked a pitch with Sharon, the owner, before we arrived and upon arrival the campsite was quiet. The area is a small field with a couple of chickens running around which my 8 yr old loved with a field next door with a horse and donkey. It's very peaceful ! There's two toilets and two showers along with a washing machine. All kept very clean. Sharon made us feel very welcome and we opted for the ' camping and breakfast ' which was delightful. We dined in her conservatory on croissant, pan au chocolate, cereal and a full English ! A great start to the day for our journey ahead. The site feels like its completely in the middle of no where but it's actually not far out from a local town ( 6 km or so ) where we dined in the evening. We would definitely stop again.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Daniel 22 1 review from this member

Sharon is a great host, toilets and showers very clean, great surroundings, love the horse, donkey and chickens. If you want to the stars at night it's unforgettable.

We are from the seaham north of England and wouldn't stay anywhere else. Thankyou.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Meejoir 1 review from this member

We stayed here en route to the Tour de France, cycling down from the ferry at Caen we arrived rather exhausted and in need of rest and refreshment! Big hills in Normandy? Who knew! (They never seemed that big in the car!)

We booked up via this website 6 months prior to our trip and Sharon was very prompt with her correspondence and answered any queries we had.

On arrival we were eager to get pitched as it looked like rain was imminent, and Sharon brought us tea and coffee before offering us a lift to the village to the local bar/tabac where she had booked a table for us. She offered us a lift back but we decided to walk back for a bit of fresh air.

The site itself is quite basic but has everything a touring cyclist might need. We pitched along side the hedge which offered protection from the wind and rain. Showers and toilets were all fine, there was a washing machine but we were on day 1 of our trip so didn't need to use it.

We'd paid in advance for the full-English breakfast which was superb. No shortage of toast, cereal or coffee before the full breakfast arrived.

Sharon is a super host, really friendly and really goes the extra mile, on what is a super quiet campsite at the end of a farm track. The bar/tabac in the near by village is a gem of a restaurant with free wifi too!

If ever I'm in the part of Normandy again, I'd be sure to stay at La Porte.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: KFME 2 reviews from this member

Stayed at Camping La Porte on 2 occasions as a stopover from and to the Ferry. Chris and Sharon could not have been more welcoming and accomadating. Arrived close to midnight on the outward journey due to a Ferry delay then needed their help to jump start the camper at 6 in the morning on the outward journey. A nice site that is well equipped and run by really nice people. The campers breakfast is a must have and great value. Thanks Chris and Sharon.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Matthewj 7 reviews from this member

We caravanned here for a single night as a stop over from Dunkirk ferry to southern Brittany, we booked via email and got prompt and friendly replies from the site owner.

The site was easy to find although we followed sat nav via single track lanes but would have been much better taking slightly longer route via the local town. There was carefour and fuel close by, so perfect as a stop over site.

Chris was very welcoming on our arrival and after pointing out the best pitches for us, left us to set up after giving us directions to the town and supplies.

The site is well maintained and very level if you manoeuvre on the levelest sections.

We booked for the full cooked breakfast as the lazy option to our second day's drive to our final destination which was a great decision. The breakfast was really good with as much juice, tea and coffee as Sharon could make while chatting to Chris about their move to running a campsite in France and his many years playing in a band.

A great site with lovely owners and well worth a visit, even if it's only short like ours.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: RangerGT 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from France and used La Porte for a stop over for the outward and return journey. The site is a quite and tranquil site ideal to unwind and recharge your batteries. The hosts Sharon and Chris made us most welcome and have thought of all the little extras you might need, have even installed a sky run TV in there information hut. Intend to stay a little longer when travelling through Normandy in the future.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MattDodsley 1 review from this member

Just got back from a fantastic 8-nights' relaxing stay in our tent at La Porte.

We like a quiet campsite, and La Porte certainly suited us. We were the only people staying there for the first few nights.

Chris and Sharon could not have been more friendly and helpful. (The cup of tea when we arrived was very welcome, thanks!) They have a good knowledge of the surrounding attractions and restaurants, which was useful, as this was our first trip to Normandy. Also, going to watch Chris play his drums with a local band at a bar is St Sever was great fun!

The campsite was clean and tidy. There is a toilet, a shower, another toilet/shower wetroom, a washing-up area and a washing machine. These were basic, but clean and tidy. I don't know how busy the site gets, but you might have to queue for the showers if it was busy. There is a small kid's playroom, with things like a swingball, basketball, some games and a TV (although we didn't try that). There is also a fridge-freezer, which we found useful for storing our food in, as the weather got up to 35 degrees on one day.

The pitches are level and flat, with plenty of electric hook-up points. The site is very peaceful. There is a railway line a few hundred metres away, but there only seemed to be a few trains a day passing, and I didn't notice any at night, so we weren't disturbed by that. We also tried the Camping & Breakfast, which was very nice, and great value.

There is plenty to do nearby. In Villedeu, the copper workshop is worth a visit (although no English-speaking guide), as is the bell foundry (however, the English-speaking guide seemed to leer at the ladies!). We had a pleasant bike-ride around the St Sever forest, although the signs and arrows marking the paths were a bit vague, and we resorted to using our phone's GPS to find our way back.

The Vire viaduct is worth going to, for some excitement. We had several rides on the luge, but weren't feeling brave enough for the bungy jump or the zip wire. Watching other people throw themselves off a 60 metre high tower was enough for us.

La Porte is about an hour from Bayeaux, and seeing the tapestry was one of our highlights of the week. On the same day, we went to Arromanche, to see the remains of the D-Day Mulberry harbour, and the '360 degree' cinema at the top of the hill shows a short but moving film about the D-Day landings and the Normandy invasion.

We also enjoyed visiting the castle at Falaise, the birth place of William the Conqueror. This is a really impressive castle, and our 10 year-old son particularly liked taking the interactive 'I-Pad' around with him.

La Porte is about 90 minutes drive from Cherbourg.

It is also about 40 minutes from Granville, on the coast. The old town was very pretty, and if you want to see something 'unique, ' go to the aquarium!

There is a supermarket a few miles away in St Sever.

All-in-all we had a fantastic holiday, and it was always nice to come back to La Porte at the end of the day, get the barbecue going, and open a bottle or two of the local cider!

Thanks again, Chris & Sharon!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Thomo newbies 5 reviews from this member

We only stayed for 1 night as a stopover on our journey back from Vendee to tunnel. Welcomed by Sharon and offered tea or coffee. Flat camping area and pitched easily next to electric hook up. Basic but clean toilet, accessible shower and toilet and another shower cubicle. Free wi fi available. Good value for pitch with electric 20 euros - no additional charges for children / dogs / awnings etc. Great idea to provide breakfast for campers which we made the most of before we set off for the tunnel. Cereals/ tea/coffee/toast and cooked breakfast for 7. 50euro. Lovely peaceful area with the only sound being the cockerels! would definitely stay again.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Trisha M 3 reviews from this member

We have just returned from our second visit to la Port this year and agree with the other reviewers, the only thing Chris and Sharon cant do anything about is the weather(so they need to get that sorted out before our next visit!) Anything else they can help with, they certainly will(we actually had our first taste of Mars Bar ice cream from their freezer, thanks!) We are storing with them now, so will go back as soon as we can, we love the surrounding areas, friendly and peaceful and if you want hustle and bustle you don't have far to go to find it. We agree with review regarding Mont st Michel, but it comes down to personal taste and there are many things to see and do that don't cost anything apart from your petrol of course (we found a beautiful park called Mont Cerisey tucked away near Flers, lovely just to sit or they have tennis courts, table tennis, crazy golf, paddling pool etc and even a bar, but its vast and not a bit commercial.

We are sure there are many more places we havent yet discovered, usually we find the best places by accident!

Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Calvados      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Normandy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4391 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019