Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gwel Y Mor Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Abersoch > Gwel Y Mor Camping Park > Reviews

Gwel Y Mor Camping Park
Abersoch
Pwllheli
Abersoch
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL53 7UD
Tel: 01758 713131
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 125
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 14 Reviews
                8/10 from 14 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Berrisford62 1 review from this member

 We returned home today from Gwel Y Mor after having a brilliant weekend away!

The owners do a brilliant job at running the site.

Facilities only a very short walk from camping field. Hot showers and very clean facilities!

Play park on site for young children came in handy too!

Great location, close to plenty of amazing beaches, including Llanbedrog beach which we thought was absolutely beautiful!

Will definitely be revisiting! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mikehough72 1 review from this member

 This is the first time we have camped in over 30 years and so have nothing to compare to. However, having looked into many sites and read many reviews, we had a good idea what to expect.

The owner was very friendly and welcoming. We only stayed 2 nights and our needs were basic, requiring only a hot shower and toilets, both of which were ideal and very clean.

We had two good, quiet nights sleep and only a short walk to the facilities. Location was also perfect for us as we were walking the Coastal Path.

We would have no hesitation revisiting and if all our future sites are like this, we would be perfectly happy. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Divy600 1 review from this member

 Recently returned from a 2week stay on this site. Great location & loved the service pitch we had. Pitches seem close together.

If you have full awning up & park car at the side you have no where to sit other than in front of your caravans & if you open side caravan window next door cant get in their car.

Large section of season pitches in middle. Mrs not happy as before we went didn't know showers were very small cubicles with a communal drying/ changing area.

No problem with loos bring closed for cleaning however one day tried the loos just after opening time to find them still locked, two other people also tried & disabled one was also locked, there was no sight of the owner or warden so no loo facility available just prior to going out.

On day of vacating they started mowing the pitch whilst we were pulling our caravan off which was before 11am.

We won't return to this site as we have been on other sites in this area with more spacious pitches & proper shower facilities for a much lower price. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The-wilsons 3 reviews from this member

 The site is situated in a lovely area of Abersoch and we visited with two adults and three children. The site was very crowded and the pitches felt like we were on top of our neighbours.

There are a lot of seasonal pitches here with decking and awning looking like they have been in place for a while. There were weeds and a general feel of it not been cared for.

The shop is very limited, the showers are communal and in the gents the children and toddle double shower had a problem as it collected water.

I wouldn't plan a second visit unless the site had a 'makeover' and provided a more homely visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campingfiends 1 review from this member

 Spent a week here with friends and basically we enjoyed the time though there. It was a funny mix of nice and not so good that would take the edge off planning a second visit.

The facilities were all very clean - the site itself kept tidy and there was plenty of space for the tent - not crowded in tightly.

It is 30 minutes walk to the nearest shop/pub and that is abersoch. We didn't find any nice pubs in abersoch - Llanbedrog is much nicer though slightly further away (check out the Llanbedrog art gallery conservatory and the galley cafe on the beach).

The gwel y mor on-site shop only has calor gas, sweets and cans of drink and in any case is closed nearly all the time. (No camping gas - even though the web site says it does. )

The showers are not to everyone's cup of tea - being very open and communal in style. The ladies in the group were not very comfortable with this arrangement. There is only one shower/toilet block and it is closed for cleaning 11am to 1pm every day. Strangely - it has no lighting at night so go prepared with torches. There was only one soap dispenser and one paper towel holder in the gents - a bit limiting and tended to run out.

There is laundry and freezer room ( for ice blocks) though this closes 7pm to 9am (can be as early as 6:50 ish so don't be late!). There were facilities for wet suit cleaning and dish washing facilities (open 24 hr). These were adequate and clean.

There seemed to be a lot of minor rules - made me think of school again. Not really a problem - but it didn't add up to the 'you are welcome here' feel! It wasn't easy to ask questions - the response was quite often a bit 'sharp'.

In summary - it was quite expensive and I think we would have expected more 'welcome factor'. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Thai crazee 1 review from this member

 Managed to get the only Sat and Sun without rain I think, weather was beautiful. Great views from the top field of this campsite. Easy to find, just before the Warren. No shop near, so take your groceries etc.

Toilets and shower block etc are kept super clean!

Warren beach accessible by walking through their main entrance, but Llandbedrog beach, the opposite way, is less 'posie'

Only problem we found, as we walk everywhere, the road is mega busy, fast cars and no footpath until you get to the Warren, just a grass verge, which at the moment was very muddy.

Campsite is very quiet, but that suited us, don't like campsite clubs. Would stay again. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: C Shaw 1 review from this member

 I have visited Gwel y Mor on numerous occasions and always found the park to be clean, tidy and peaceful. The play area for the children is great and keeps them well entertained. The wardens are always helpful and ready to answer any queries. The surrounding area of Abersoch is second to none, and the local beaches are the best in the area. The facilities at Gwel y Mor are fantastic, clean toilets, hot water and nothing is too much trouble. I would recommend this park to everyone, and will certainly be visiting there again. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gravedigger1411 3 reviews from this member

 Excellent site and very friendly and helpful owners. We chose this site from this website as we have never visited the area before and for the disabled toilet facilities. I can honestly say that the owners could not have been more helpful. It is beautifully kept, spotlessly clean and drained well after a day of constant rain.

Although the shop doesn't stock food, you can borrow games from it - for free! We have no complaints about the site at all but for us, and due mainly to mobility issues, it was a bit isolated at night.

We went to the site across the road to ask if we were allowed to use the bar and were told no. The nearest pub is over a mile and a half away so too far to walk for me. A taxi into Abersoch cost 6 each way which I thought a bit expensive for the distance.

However the beaches are fantastic (we particularly liked Llanbedrog - easy parking, toilets and a licensed cafe - good snorkelling too). The pubs in Abersoch are well kept and friendly and for cheaper shopping Pwllheli is only a ten minute drive away.

If you want a quiet, relaxing break this place is ideal. I would certainly return for a short break. For us though, we found we missed having a club house or pub on the doorstep for the evenings. This is my only criticism and it does not stop me from recommending this site. My votes for location based on beaches and scenery alone would have been a firm ten. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stubcov 5 reviews from this member

 Recently stopped here for 4 nights with the girlfriend on a non-electric tent pitch, with two friends and there 2 year old joining us for the first two nights.

When we arrived we were greeted by staff and told to pick anywhere in the camping field on the left hand side. We picked close to the entrance of the field as these were the flatter pitches. (You have to pay a 20 deposit for a barrier key, which we were unaware of before we came). As the site was mostly empty, only around 7 tents at most in the field our friends were able to pitch directly next to us.

We didn't require a site with any facilities as were already had plans, there is a very small shop (if you can call it that, it doesn't stock milk bread etc just mostly kids toys etc, however there is a local shop half mile down road turn left out site.) There is a very nice site over the road for statics which you can use there bar facilities at no expense.

The toilet facilities are very clean and modern however the showers are a bit strange, there are roughly about 7 male showers, and the some of the doors on them are not full length so the water gets to the area where you need to get changed and the changing area is communal and not private which is unusual.

We all walked along the beach (3-5mins walk away - the beach is very nice!) and along it into Abersoch and then back one day(dependant on the tide). Then on a second day we all drove and then climbed Snowdon (About 50-60mins drive away)

Abersoch town is quite nice with a few nice bars and places to eat. A 5mins drive away at night.

I would say for myself that 4 nights at this site is plenty and wouldn't need any more what so ever, however if your just wanting to use it as a base to go onto then it should be fine as long as you have places in mind to visit. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Botty46 1 review from this member

 My wife and I have visited the site many times and the service is excellent, the facilities are kept very clean and tidy, the area is lovely and close to the beach.

The wardens are very helpful and they both go the extra mile night or day, nothing is too much trouble.The security on site is excellent and the wardens are always on hand to help.There is a shop on site but if there is something you need they will find it or find someone to help.

The play area for the children is of good size and set back in fields. The local beaches are kept clean and tidy and you can always find a spot to park.

The pubs in Abersoch are very good and friendly, the area around the site is beautiful. The warren beach is lovely and you can walk into Abersoch for a meal or just for a drink, no problems with traffic and the everyone is friendly and again very helpful. 


Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Gwel Y Mor Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gwel Y Mor Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Gwel Y Mor Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Abersoch      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


40044 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement