Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Mains Farm Caravan And Campsite Eden Valley

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Mains Farm Caravan And Campsite Eden Valley
Kirkoswald
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 1DH
Tel: 01768 898342
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 80 Reviews
                10/10 from 80 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 1 mile 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  80 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jayc1976 1 review from this member

A October half term trip to mains farm in kirkoswald Cumbria was fantastic. We met friends on site who had a caravan and the owners put us in our tent right next to them as the site was quiet. Lovely warm friendly welcome from the owners. Toilets and shower area kept clean at all times and are modern and showers very hot. Site offers a kitchen to cook in if you want too it's equipped with a double oven, grill, toaster, kettle and utensils. Also a converted barn with an electric fire and dining tables A lovely place for a get together when the weather is poor. The site has a decent play area for the children and the river Eden runs along the bottom of the site a lovely walk. All in all one of the best sites we have visited and will be back at Easter

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Karenjjenkins01 1 review from this member

We (family of 4) really enjoyed our stay at Main Farm.

Id done my usual research of site reviews before picking the site; I was impressed by the reviews and being a 2 hour drive from home it was ideal for a weekend trip.

It was an easy site to book and we picked the larger size pitch in Orchard field. We had a warm welcome from the owners when we arrived and Robert showed us to our pitch. It was massive. The pitches are round the outside of a field and in the centre of the field was a volley ball net. The kids loved playing football and having a go at volleyball. We drove our car to the pitch and then up to the car park. I really like this about the site, its safer and more relaxing when the cars are parked away from the tents.

There were a few different facility blocks ; the one near our field had 3 showers and toilets for each men and women and 2 washing up sinks. The toaster, kettle, fridge and freezer made life much easier for me. These were cleaned every morning. I waited for a washing up sink once but I could have got to one of the other facility blocks.

We hired a fire basket for 10 per night and enjoyed chatting by the fire with our friends. I saw Robert on the Friday evening and he asked me if anything was quiet. I was impressed that he was around and cared about us getting a good nights sleep. The site went quiet at 11pm on both nights which suited us fine.

We walked from the campsite following a local walk along the river to Lacys Caves, little Salkeld, the standing stones of Long Meg & her daughters, the Viking grave at Addingham and then back to the campsite. We stopped for a tasty lunch at the flour mill at little Salkeld.

We had a great weekend and we would love to return to the site.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Simonl79 2 reviews from this member

Excellent site with spotless facilities. Good location just 15 mins from Penrith. Nice little park and lovely walk on river. Plenty of space in between tents and pods and not too noisy on an evening. Very warm welcome on arrival.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Donkers 15 reviews from this member

We really loved this idyllic campsite; beautifully situated in the Eden valley it is very picturesque, with stunning views of the surrounding countryside from all the pitches.

We stayed 4 nights over May half term (Monday to Friday) with our 2 young kids and anther family and we had the best time.

During our visit the site was pretty full, but still peaceful and quiet.

The campsite itself is split into different areas - 3 main camping fields with a few wooden glamping pods and a separate area for caravans. We were in the walled apple orchard and it was really gorgeous. There is a bigger main field with the pitches spaced round the perimeter, which leaves the middle as an open field - this gives a real feeling of space and left plenty of room for kids to play away from the tents. They could accommodate many more tents here by utilising more of the centre space, but this would ruin the feel of the site and is a good reflection on the owners not sacrificing the comfort of their visitors by packing in too many punters. Also there are no cars allowed to be parked next to tents, they must be left in the car park after unpacking, which further makes for a lovely, relaxing site. There is a nice play area for kids with a roundabout, swings and wooden climbing frame with slide. Our kids loved it and were in there most of the time, making friends and playing independently. Lovely walks down to the river directly from site.

The pitches are really well maintained and mainly level, although a couple of the fields do slope. The grass is kept short whilst remaining lush and green, and the ground is fairly easy to peg into with decent pegs and a mallet.

The facilities are good; free showers and the shower cubicles are big with plenty of hooks and a chair. There were 3 showers and 3 toilets with sink in the ladies and the same on the other side for the men. I never had to queue or wait for either a shower or the toilets.

There are a couple of pot washing sinks, a kettle, toaster, microwave, fridges and a freezer in the facilities block. There is also a decent recycling and rubbish point.

The owners were really friendly and helpful and we had a nice welcome on arrival.

There is plenty to do in the local area; lots of lovely walks, a fab heated outdoor pool in nearby Lazonby, nice pubs etc. We hired the fire pits and logs for 2 nights (10 per night) and it was a nice touch, with the kids cooking marshmallows. We visited the water mill at little Salkeld and there is a lovely cafe. Lowther castle has a brilliant adventure playground for the kids, the biggest weve ever seen.

Practicalities aside this site just has a lovely feel about it - all credit to the owners, they have created a little piece of heaven in the Eden valley.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Magik 1 review from this member

Absolutely fantastic site, wonderful location, great facilities, lovely helpful owner.

Only 2 constructive criticisms, could do with a motorhome drive over waste grid and some hard standing pitches for heavier motorhomes.

Will definitely be going back.

LOVE it!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CLS210276 2 reviews from this member

Just returned home this morning from a 5 night stay at mains farm and I'm already wanting to go back. This site has everything you need clean toilets and shower block, large pitch sites, electric for those that require it, beautiful views, play area for children and washing facilities even kettle toaster and microwave if needed, also the most lovely hosts imaginable Robert and Julie can't do enough for you so friendly and accommodating. The village is a mile away and has the most loveliest feel about it everyone so friendly and both pubs serve delicious food. What more could you want???? Apart from another visit!

We will most definitely be staying here again and already checking out when we have time off again.

Many thanks

Claire Darren and heidi xxx

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: SJSScotland 10 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a weekend as we wanted to do the Settle-Carlisle railway and this site was an easy, pleasant walk to Lazonby station. Very nice friendly site, beautifully kept, lovely flat pitches, not wet at all despite rain. Owners are incredibly nice, can't do enough for you. Happy for us to leave our van parked in their yard on the day we left, so we could go for lunch at the Fetherston Arms in Kirkoswald (recommended!). We will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: HappyHippie 8 reviews from this member

Just back from a short break here and would have loved to stay longer! The very friendly owners Rob and Julie go out of their way to make your stay a very enjoyable one. While getting ready for their very first Music Festival we got trapped in a heavy thunder storm miles away from the site. One quick phone call to the farm and we were rescued by their son, (sorry I don't remember his name) who came to pick us (two wet humans, two wet dogs and one very wet parrot)up, which we were and still are truly grateful.

Vans are pitched around the edges of two fields bordered by high hedges. Water and electric are near to hand. There are plenty of toilets and (free) hot showers. The shower and washing up blocks have information about the area and guides to walks. A short walk across the field takes you to the riverbank where there are two thoughtfully placed swing seats to sit and watch the hours ducks and river drift by. Kirkoswald can be reached by a walk along the riverbank. Here you'll find some nice pubs and a good little shop selling a mixed selection of food drink sweets and household items.

We really enjoyed our stay and hope to be back soon.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mischka 47 reviews from this member

We have just spent another enjoyable week on this site, for the 5th year in a row. The best thing about this site is the owners, Rob and Julie who are very welcoming and helpful. The next best thing is its location, which is on a small farm next to the scenic river Eden and about a mile from the village. The site is spacious, peaceful and picturesque and the facilities are great. Fabulous cycling on the doorstep, Rob will recommend routes. Nearby Lazonby has a community run outdoor (heated) swimming pool which sells hot drinks, snacks and sweets, so on a sunny day you can sit on the benches at the side and watch the swimmers even if you don't all want to join in. There is also a good sized Co-Op.

We thoroughly recommend this site.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: RV1973 1 review from this member

Family of 4 - inc 2 boys age 10 and 6.

We've never left a review before, but having just returned from a 2 night break at Mains Farm we feel we should share with everyone what a wonderful campsite this is. From the fantastic hosts, Julie and Robert, the breath taking views and the brilliant cycling (everything from Hartside summit at 1900 ft to rides suitable for an overweight mum and her cycling mad 6 year old). Rides helpfully supplied by Robert. Didn't really use the facilities- but they looked great too.

We think we've just found our new favourite holiday destination. Don't want to shout it too loudly in case it becomes too busy! 😄😄

Previous     80 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


401 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!