Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Newcourt Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Brecon > Newcourt Farm Reviews

Newcourt Farm
Felindre
Three Cocks
Brecon
Powys   (Browse area)
LD3 0SS
Tel: 01497 847285
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 13/07/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 11 Reviews
                8/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Elliemayrose 1 review from this member

 Loved the area, nice welcome and good to be able to pick your pitch.

Disliked the loud music playing campers on a near by pitch and noisy children late into night. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Delma cook 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 3 night's all together we were a party of 6 adult's and 6 children all under 5 year's, in 3 tent's, what a lovely site, stunning view's, such friendly people. We where made very welcome by the gentleman on site, he was very helpful and explained where all the facilities were to be found, even though there were plenty of children the site was really quite and all you could after 9. 30pm were the sheep, birds and horses.

The toilet block was very clean and well kept with plenty of hot water, there was one shower in the ladies again very clean just 50p but it lasted for a long time and had good water pressure. The washing up area was brilliant plenty of sinks, only slight problem, no hot water, really didn't put us off.

This site is a must see for anyone who likes peace and quite, lovely country views and very friendly people. Only about a 10 minute drive from Brecon and surrounded by the Beacons lots of walks and little villages to visit at only 5. 00 per person per night children free you cannot beat it we will go again and can not wait to get my family back together so we can go.

Well done to all the staff. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Hobbits 20 reviews from this member

 We booked a couple of nights here at the end of August just after the Bank Holiday weekend. As we drove north from Cardiff the weather was terrible but we crossed our fingers and kept faith with the BBC weather app which said that it was going to dry up at about 4pm.

When we arrived on the campsite at about 3pm it was very wet and the cloud was low over the surrounding hills, but despite this both my husband I almost instantly fell in love with this site. Why? Those 3 over-used words: Location, Location, Location. Just a few miles from Hay this beautiful rural site has spectacular views in almost every direction and is surrounded by fields and more bird-life than you can shake a pair of binoculars at.

The site itself is gently sloping but there are plenty of pretty flat areas. There are no marked pitches and the owners encourage you to camp around the edges of the field. There are a number of water points and bins around the field, the toilet block and washing up facilities are hidden behind the massive trees at the top of the field. No matter where you pitch you will get a good view.

The facilities themselves are basic but clean, and there is plenty of hot water for washing up. There are 3 toilets in the ladies and just 1 shower. It must be a bit challenging for the shower when it is busy but who needs to rush into a shower in the morning when you can just sit and take in the view? The shower costs 50p for just under 8 minutes which is fine by me when the site costs are so cheap. The washing up area is in a big barn which also has loads of local area information and tables and chairs you can use for eating, playing games etc.

The kids had a great time just exploring the field, picking blackberries and pears from the trees and just playing. Who needs a playground?

There is so much to do in the area: Hay-on-Wye itself is a fantastic little market town, famous for its bookshops and coffee shops. We also visited Pwll Y Wrach nature reserve just outside Talgarth. It takes a bit of finding but it is worth it for some lovely walks alongside the river, we even saw a dipper. There are plenty of longer more strenuous walks around for those without young children! But mainly we enjoyed just chilling out on the site, reading, watching the weather and the birdlife. We saw loads of swallows and during the night heard owls.

I can't finish this review without mentioning the stars. On our first night the clouds cleared and the stars are incredible. You are in a Dark Skies Reserve so there is no light pollution to speak of and the sky is spectacular. We saw the biggest and best shooting star either of us has ever seen and could have sat up watching for hours. It was worth it for that alone.

We will definitely be revisiting this simple, peaceful site soon. What a joy! 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Boggis 6 reviews from this member

 This is a very pleasant, quiet, 'get-away-from-it-all', informal, pitch-where-you-like campsite at about 200m on the north-western slopes of the Black Mountains and has extensive, open views north and west towards Builth Wells and Mynydd Epnyt.

The site itself is gently sloping, and given its position, remarkably well sheltered by the hedges along all sides, and the 350m high forested hill immediately to the south. The facilities are clean, well maintained, and probably just about adequate for full occupancy - the showers run on 50p's.

All the facilities - including an excellent communal 'barn' that is clean, warm, comfortable and has lots of seating - are at the top end of the campsite and surrounded by tall trees that mean you don't have to watch an endless stream of people shaking their hands dry after going for a pee!

There is no shop, no playground, no pub, no swimming pool - just a good value (8 for a small tent, 1 adult, 1 child and a car for one night) campsite with good views, decent toilet/shower/washing-up facilities, and easy access to the adventure playgrounds of the Brecon Beacons, the Black and Cambrian Mountains, and the booktown of Hay-on-Wye. Its a favourite for DofE/youth groups, walkers, mountain-bikers, and the fundamentally lazy who want to sit in glorious, silent surroundings, read a good book and drink endless cups of tea!

If your kids love running around, having adventures and getting grass stains then this is a child friendly site, if however your kids need/want playgrounds, tv's, music, ball games and 'entertainment' then they won't enjoy this site - and consequently neither will you.

Turn up with what you need, Three Cocks has a shop, but you'd be far better hitting a supermarket on the way.

Nice, friendly owner, happy to chat but not in-your-face, or constantly prowling for money. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dingobee 5 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site in beautiful countryside and very reasonably priced. The toilet block was kept clean at all times, and the toilet paper and hand towels were always well stocked, even over a busy weekend.

The ladies only has one shower (presumably the mens side is the same), which did cause a queue in the morning, but we avoided going in the busy time between 8-9am and so didn't have to queue. 50p for a shower, but you got quite a long time for that, and the water was nice and hot.

The washing up area is inside a large room, which was being used by DofE groups when we were there. It has lots of useful local information stuck on the walls.

The whole site is gently sloping, which resulted in a bit of a slide down the bed during the night, however this was not a big problem, and could easily be solved by propping up the bottom of the bed with a spare jumper.

There is no playground here which may not suit those with children, but there is plenty of good walking to be had from the site. 20 minutes gets you to the pub in the village, which was very welcoming and had a reasonably good restaurant. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Simonleeann17 22 reviews from this member

 We love this site having found it by accident a few years earlier.

It is basic, with one coin operated shower each for male and female which can be busy. We have stayed on several occasions over the August bank holiday with two small kids and managed with this without issue.

The owner is lovely and couldn't be more helpful and accommodating for us.

There are some wonderful walks from the site and we have summited Lord Herefords Knob on a few occasions as well as circular walks ending in Felindre and the pub there. (the last time we were there the pub was under new ownership having been shut for some time which was great news as we spent a rainy afternoon in there watching the sheep being shepherded down the street).

Hay-on-Wye is great and a short drive or nice cycle. Book shops and canoeing etc. And there is a pony trekking place just down the road.

The Talgarth festival over the August bank holiday is well worth a visit (it's mostly free) for the occasional music on the green, the duck race and there is stuff for the kids.

If you are after the creature comforts when you camp avoid Newcourt farm but if you love wonderful scenery, great cycling and walking and the occasional bit of rain then you'll love it here. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BalooTaylor 2 reviews from this member

 Great campsite in a fantastic location at base of twmpa. As others have said facilities are basic but sufficient and certainly clean and tidy. Beautiful views out over wye valley and a very peaceful atmosphere - very quiet when were there.

Bit remote - but that's a good thing! - Nearest pub in velindre appeared to be closed for refurb / good when we visited so nearest place for refuelling was glasbury on wye. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Simo74 1 review from this member

 Basic site but very friendly. The toilets and shower was adequate but that's all that is there. The view was amazing but not much lighting in the evening and no allowance for fires made it cold and dark for this time year.

It was a bit pricey to camp considering that there are no cafe / park / pub on site.

There wasn't much to do with the children so be prepared and take plenty of outdoor games.

The nature trails were fun but again, hard work for the children when out for a few hours.

I'm not likely to return as it's much like a stop gap for hikers and walkers. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MatSav 2 reviews from this member

 I agree with the first reviewer's comments. We 'de-camped' to this site from Hollybush Camping, a site we abandoned after many years use, since our experience there in 2005. In some ways, it's very similar in atmosphere to The Hollybush of old. No open fires are permitted here, unless it's a BBQ.

It's a long way from anywhere - but it's very friendly. Just don't trust your SatNav to get you there, as it may take you along a Greenway :-)

Bring your earplugs if it's a busy weekend, as there will be children and crying babies. Generally though, there's not much noise after dark.

If you are a CC member, there is a segregated area, which is a little flatter than the rest of the site. The 'club house' is a very basic 'barn', which can make for an excellent storm shelter. It was being used as a First Aid Post for a large Duke of Edinburgh's Award group while we were there.

If you like railway history, you may be able to identify the old goods wagons that are used as storage sheds and the rubbish disposal point!

There's only one water point that I know of, so there may be a short wait at the tap to refil your containers. I don't know if the limited hard-standings with electric hook-ups also have water.

We'll be back! 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Biggirafe 7 reviews from this member

 If you like your camping basic then this site is for you, A lovely site at the foot of the Black Mountains / Brecon Beacons fantastic view across the valley. Turn right out of the site and drive a mile to the end of the road and you can walk straight into the Beacons.

A mile back down the road is a small village with a fantastic pub. It can be walked too from the campsite and takes about 10 - 15 across the fields.

Nothing really for Kids so take your own entertainment if you have children but there is plenty of space for them to play ball games etc.

On arrival the farmer could not have been more helpful and friendly even towing our Trailer Tent across the rough wet ground and into position.

This is only a CL (certified location) so facilities are basic. Couple of showers for gents and ladies, although 1 was locked on the gents side and did not look as if it was ever unlocked. The toilets were clean and tidy. No washing up facilities but there is water and a chemical disposal point. As I said basic but clean and adequate.

Don't be fooled by the website or the C&CC website which says 'Gently Sloping'. Very little if any of the campsite is what I would class as level and the gently sloping parts do require chocks for caravans and are an issue for Trailer Tents.

We went the First Bank holiday of May and the site was very busy. Its popular for walkers and there seemed to be quite a few regulars. 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Newcourt Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Newcourt Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Newcourt Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brecon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2471 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December