Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Clifden Eco Beach Camping & Caravanning Park

Campsite Search > Europe > S Ireland > Co Galway > Clifden Eco Beach Camping & Caravanning Park Reviews

Clifden Eco Beach Camping & Caravanning Park
Claddaghduff Rd, Wild Atlantic Way
Clifden
Connemara
Co Galway
S Ireland   (Browse area)

Tel: 00353 95 44036
Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here

Pitches: Low Density
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 19 Reviews
                9/10 from 19 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

If its just about location then this site must be one of the best there is in any country.

The pitches are on grass but its very firm. No pitch markers, the owners takes you to your spot and there is electric dotted around the site. Most pitches have views of the water - without a doubt the best views are from down by the loo block - over the private sandy beach.

The loos and showers kept very clean, they are functional - if you want 4 star facilities this isn't the place.

Fresh water is from a spring - easy access for campervans to fill. There is a bar and shop approx 2 miles up the road if you need supplies.

The owners have built a great site, they are happy to talk about the site and the area. There is plenty to see and do, the causeway over to Omey Island is worth a visit, Cleggan and its ferry out to the islands, Kylemoor Abbey etc.

We will be back again, its an amazing site and one of our favourites so far in Ireland. €20 without electric (€5 extra for electric) includes wifi.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Octo 2 reviews from this member

Packing up today after 6 nights in Claddaghduff and what a great experience we had!

There's so much to recommend about this place. The views are great. The beach is perfect for playing and swimming. I love how the layout is somewhat higgledy-piggledy; it isn't set out in orderly rows which always makes me feel like I'm on a housing estate.

You need to book ahead in high season as it's very popular.

You will need to bring your own cooker although there is a kitchen to washup and make tea and has a fridge.

You can rent a fire pit with fuel for 12euro.

You are assigned a pitch. We were happy with ours but I met others who were not so happy with their location.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Eshardy 12 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 2 nights. Cost €25 per night.

The best thing about this site is its stunning location, we were overlooking the beach and although the weather was sometimes wet and windy it was great.

The pitches are all on grass, scattered about the site so you don't feel overlooked.

There is a building with facilities, there is a kitchen which looked good, although we didn't use it.

There are 2 sets of 2 toilets and one shower. , facilities were kept clean.

The shower costs €1 for 5 minutes, I found the shower dissapointing because as well as being on a meter you have to keep pressing a button for the hot water, the time for one euro was not really long enough to shower. Also all the facilities are housed in a sectioned off barn, but there is no ceiling over the shower room except for the very high barn roof so it was very cold when you had had the shower.

I suppose if the weather had been warmer it would have been less of a problem!

Overall, beautiful site, would recommend a visit.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chris5448 32 reviews from this member

This site is stunning. Situated next to a beautiful beach with lots of beach walks. The site is a no frills no gimmick site but the amenities provided are spotless. Kris and Tatjana run a tight ship which enhances everybody's experience. They are lovely, helpful and have been a pleasure to meet. If you want an amazing view, relaxing time and just need to get away from the rat race then you won't go wrong by staying here.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wendy12 6 reviews from this member

Lovely location with clean facilities which unfortunately are not adequate for the number of people staying on site. Saying that it's overpriced based on our experience of touring Ireland over this summer.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Swiss 1 2 reviews from this member

'Paradise Found' - This is a beautiful eco campsite right at the coast on the Wild Atlantic Way, a little drive outside Clifden town. The site is excellent with beautiful views, private beach, clean facilities, dry ground even after rain & the best drinking water I have ever experienced, all in the middle of nature. There is a strong drive towards sustainability & this is visible in the great efforts the owners have taken to become an internationally recognized eco certified campsite.

The young family that operate the campsite are very friendly. Here you are sure to get a real Irish welcome. Security on the site is one of the best I`ve experienced which gives families & individuals a true feeling that they & their belongings are safe & secure.

Look forward to returning to this special place in nature & a dip in the cool blue Atlantic.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Glossopwhite 33 reviews from this member

What a stunning, beautiful location with a private beach with golden sand and turquoise sea.

The pitches are unmarked and are scattered amongst the sand dunes, you can pitch at any angle on these and face any direction you prefer.

The wind and rain can be strong (as we found out), however the pitches remain dry and puddles on the access road drain within minutes of the rain easing.

There are 4 toilets and 2 showers, 2 toilets and 1 shower at each side of the barn with a kitchen area in between. These were always clean despite the rain and sand. The showers are free of charge and once at the right angle the water pressure was okay. There is music/radio playing in the barn and the lights are on sensors.

Wi-fi is available in the kitchen area which has sinks, a microwave, fridge, table and chairs along with lots of information about the local area.

The walk to Omey Island is lovely, we chose to walk there and back along the road due to cows being in the fields along the coast, cows and dogs are not a good combination! We managed to walk all the way round the Island and got back across the “sand road” without being cut off by the tide.

This is the perfect campsite, spacious, uncrowded, natural, peaceful and with a very relaxed atmosphere, wild camping but with facilities, just how camping should be.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Andy55moto 4 reviews from this member

Interesting site, right on the sea, set in dunes. Access is on typically terrible Irish roads so you need good suspension. When you arrive, access is not great especially if has been raining a lot, as it had when we arrived since the access road is not well kept.

The facilities once there are very basic, but the prices charged are top whack so value for money is not great. The toilets are completely inadequate: two unisex toilets and only one shower. Also, these are located in a huge empty barn/garage building and its cold and breezy, so even the 'power shower' is unable to make you feel warm.

In good weather it may be OK, but we were there in very bad weather and it was no fun at all. You will also be charged chemical toilet waste disposal after the first one. So, the good points: great location, right on the Atlantic.

Bad points: overblown facilities, overly expensive, a good way from shops, pubs etc and nothing available on site (no shop), not even dishwashing facilities and completely inadequate facilities.

Oh, and some pitches are flat, but not many, some are sheltered but some see the full wrath of the Atlantic in bad weather!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Fossie 1 review from this member

As others have written this is a special place - one of the two best sites we have used in 40 years of camping. It's a pleasure to wake up each morning - wind, rain or sunshine - and look out across the bay and headland to the Atlantic.

Highlights:dolphins and a seal in the bay;the estuary and beaches; the space between pitches among the dunes - but with hook-up: busy Clifden for shops and coffee 20 minutes' drive away; the cleanliness of the two modern toilets and shower; Chis, the owner and manager, friendly and organised, putting himself out to find the best pitch for each tent and camper. And the sunsets!

We want to return.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Humbird 4 reviews from this member

I enjoyed staying at this site, I found it refreshing to go back to basics and it certainly felt like wild-camping. I did however begrudge the cost of the site for such basic facilities.

As others have stated, there is still only 2 unisex toilets (2012) (not spotless but clean enough. ) and one shower. There were queues in the mornings, and the shower was not hot.

So yes, I might return again, but I really do think its overpriced for what is offered. I go to other Atlantic shore campsites and for top notch facilities they charge the same as Actons with little or no facilities.

Washing dishes was a real pain - no kitchen area to wash - just a place behind the barn where you could hose your dishes down (open air).

Nice site, but too expensive.

Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in S Ireland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3239 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019