Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cotswolds Camping And Caravanning

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton > Cotswolds Camping And Caravanning > Reviews

Cotswolds Camping And Caravanning
Spelsbury Road
Charlbury
Chipping Norton
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
OX7 3LL
Tel: 01273 492801  or  07721 712372
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 10
Open: 01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 36 Reviews
                8/10 from 36 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  36 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Mrdcro 1 review from this member

 Very friendly and helpful. Nice clean site with great walks for my dog.

Friendly people. Great coffee in there cafe.

I Will come again. Thanks David. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Rayne 1 review from this member

 Our daughter and partner had a pod for the night and we had our small campervan tucked in the corner. It was magical!

There was everything we needed and a small, honesty shop and we just checked ourselves in.

The cries of an owl at night and other wildlife sounds, around our campfire in our BBQ pit, made it all perfect.

The stars were out too. The footpath just a short way outside the campsite, was well worth the trip.

We shall return and make our stay longer next time. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jennycolin 6 reviews from this member

 Site with potential

Visited this site on 23/9/21for 7 nights. Good scenic quiet location, 5 min drive to railway station where good parking is available. UKCampsites states 10 pitches but we counted 78.

Only a few pitches were taken which was fortunate as the facilities are insufficient for that number.

The additional toilet /shower block that has been created is too small and at a quality level which will soon start to look very tired.

The friendly manager does his best to maintain the site but more investment is definitely required. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Sammie 1 review from this member

 Lovely site in a great location.

The staff were very helpful and it was great to be able to book on the day.

Good to have washing facilities close by and fire pits provided. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Brianjenkins 3 reviews from this member

 Good location for visiting the Cotswolds. There is a shop on site with basic provisions, which was useful.

Plenty of space on our pitch and the the facilities were in a good condition.

A couple of points - it is child friendly, so probably more suited for families as opposed to couples.

Also, you have to bring your own toilet roll - not a problem for us, as we had plenty spare. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: PepperTee 1 review from this member

 Really friendly welcome and quick efficient Covid temperature check. Nice smallish pretty site with some welcome features such as fridges available and toy sheds for younger children.

Toilets and showers both clean and tidy, but very disappointingly no loo roll to be seen anywhere. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: JoClarke 2 reviews from this member

 This site was not what we expected! The reason we chose it was because it promoted itself as a small and quiet site of 80 pitches. Bearing in mind it was the first weekend after lockdown and the weather was forecast to be sunny. We arrived at 3. 00pm and it was already chaotic. We had our temperature taken and there was lots of hand sanitiser everywhere.

Although the pitches were numbered there was not a map and people were not booked on to numbered pitches. There was no record of who was booked, who had paid, what pitches groups were allocated. When we booked, we specifically asked for three pitches to be together.

The guy showed us to one pitch and it happened to have two pitches next to it that were vacant so we took them. I then spent the next three hours defending the pitches for our friends who were arriving later.

There was no toilet roll - not sure if that is a Covid-19 thing. There was hand soap and lots of sanitiser (which was all gone by Sunday morning).

To say that tents and caravans and cars were rammed into every available space is an understatement! 80 pitches - more like 280! Tents were even pitched on the grass verge by the site entrance and on car parking spaces.

People, caravans, campers and cars were jammed in to the smallest areas. By Saturday evening the urinals had stopped working and the soap in the toilets had been watered down. It was more like a festival than a campsite.

Social distancing signs had been posted around the place but no-one adhered. When our friends arrived, they did not have their temperature taken. It was a complete shambles. We felt making money was more important than health and safety. We were very disappointed.

All that said though, the surrounding area is absolutely beautiful and we had some great walks. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Jaygee1 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed in Aug 2020 and site was an absolute shambles. Saw staff swearing and even being physically aggressive to other guests. We were blocked in by other tents. Left early. 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: VWT2GEL 7 reviews from this member

 Great location, very flat and well kept, new looking very clean toilets & free showers.

Communal microwave, fridges, freezers and a washing machine at no extra charge that are all kept really clean.

We went out of school holidays and at one point it was only us and another couple on the whole site which was great but was told by the owners they never over fill it anyway even in the peak.

About 1 and a half miles into Charlbury with 3 great pubs, small CO OP etc

Brilliant new hosts who I believe took over in May 2019 Ron, Keith & Mario. Thanks gents we will be back in 2020 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Crookedkat 2 reviews from this member

 Booked due to positive reviews but very disappointed. Arrived on the Saturday of a bank holiday weekend to be met with eye rolls from the warden when we told him we had booked a pitch with electric. Seems itís just a free for all with no allocated spaces. He eventually found us a shaded spot (not what we wanted) with electric. Luckily the pitches to either side were empty otherwise there would not have been sufficient space between units.

Lots of groups are allowed and it doesnít matter how they pitch and the level of noise they make. Amplified music supposedly not allowed but the warden just left people to it!

Cleaning was haphazard. Toilet roll always running out. There was one unisex bathroom which was ok and the water was hot but didnít drain well. Ladies had 3 toilets and I think 3 showers but they werenít all in the same building. There were microwaves kettle washing machine which was a good point.

The grass was short and the grounds were well kept and attractive.

East walk along road to Charlbury with 3 pubs and a railway station. I wouldnít return however. If your a group of friends with children you will probably enjoy but if you favour a quietest campsite with good facilities I would not recommend. 
via mobile


Previous     36 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cotswolds Camping And Caravanning child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cotswolds Camping And Caravanning?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Cotswolds Camping And Caravanning dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chipping Norton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2865 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement