Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Camping De Lyon

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Rhone-Alpes > Dardilly > Camping De Lyon Reviews

Camping De Lyon
Porte De Lyon
Allee Camping International
Dardilly
Rhone-Alpes   (Browse area)
69570
Tel: +3304 78 35 64 55
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 233
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 10 Reviews
                7/10 from 10 Reviews

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JULIED444 61 reviews from this member

Didn't book but they were happy to fit us in, and on a large pitch to accommodate our large caravan.

Has obviously had some work done as reading the previous review, it now has a restaurant, which was always very busy, shop for groceries, a lovely sitting/reading area with a TV (was showing the 2016 Olympics for those interested), games room and children's play area. Wifi was available for a small charge around the restaurant area.

Would recommend the area, lots to see in Lyon, usually we just drive passed it on the motorway. Through the whole of August, free parking in the entire city - if only they did that in the UK!

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: AndyC13 4 reviews from this member

We pre-booked to stay here for two nights as part of a three week trip around Europe. It was to be our first 'nice' campsite, hence the two night stay.

Our arrival was straight forward. We were handed a selection of leaflets and a 'bag for life' type bag. From this point forward it became our wash bag :)

This was the first campsite we stayed at where we were told to pick our own pitch. All the pitches seemed similar, but either in the sun or in the shade. However, they were less 'grassy' than the website showed. This made it very difficult to put up our awning! So difficult in fact that we only managed to get in 3/4 of the pegs!

The campsite was basic. No real shop, no restaurant. Showers and toilets were ok. Seemed to remind me of a leisure centre type arrangement. However, they were annoyingly cleaned at exactly the time that you want to use them! And whilst they were being cleaned, you weren;t allowed in at all. Most annoying at 08:00 - 10:00 when everyone wants a shower!

The clothes washing facilities were good. Plenty of washing machine and dryers. There was even a chest freezer to use, which no other campsites we stayed at had.

Although we didn't use it, there is a bus stop right outside the campsite. There is also a VERY large Auchan supermarket nearby. 5 minute drive away.

I would definitely consider staying again, although if you plan to use an awning or pup tent, try and ask for a grass pitch.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Phil17 4 reviews from this member

Convenient for an overnight stop, but quite pricey for what it offers. The staff were very friendly despite a mix-up over our booking. There was a limited choice of food on offer in the bar area, but it saved us having to leave the site to find something better. They had entertainment on the evening we arrived consisting of a small band singing Beatles songs in the bar area.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Geraldinerocks 17 reviews from this member

Very convenient site literally just off the Autoroute. Very busy road though and directions not so easy to follow so you have to hold your nerve when towing. Having said that the roads round/through Lyon are a bit crazy anyhow!

Definitely an over-night campsite. Perfectly adequate but not at all pretty or charming. Agree with the review that said toilets were clean but a bit smelly.

It was very quiet when we stopped so had lots of space. Don't think we would have been happy had it been any busier. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful - couldn't fault them.

It was perfect for a stop-over to the south though and for travelling into Lyon for a lookie-loo. However, carried on to Tournus on the way home and had our overnight stay in a lovely site in the prettiest of villages.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lou van 5 reviews from this member

We arrived during an awful thunderstorm and stayed for 2 nights. Very convenient for the A6 motorway but not clearly signposted which is not great when towing a large caravan. Reception staff were lovely but very busy as it seemed they had to staff the bar at the same time.

Pitches were small and shallow however we were told to find one ourselves despite having booked. Ground drainage is great! We arrived in a mud pit but by morning the ground was dry.

The toilet block nearest was clean and the showers were reasonably sized however they were freezing! Also even though there were separate male and female facilities they were not clearly signed and there were numerous males in the ladies, despite the obvious urinals or sanitary bins in each. The female facilities, despite being clean smelt horrendous and couples were using a shower together.

Play area was adequate but can't comment on the bar/ restaurant or swimming pool as we didn't use them.

After 11pm huge iron gates lock the site, great for security but don't have a late night and makes me wonder about the safety of the local area.

Within walking distance is a huge Auchan supermarket which also has a petrol station.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Beeny 4 reviews from this member

A really good convenient site. Close to the autoroute, near a bus-stop into Lyon (via a tram) so no need to use the car at all. The pitches are not large but nicely spaced and private. The ground is easy for tentpegs too. The showers/toilets are all clean and well maintained. There's a small playground near reception but unfortunately by the toilet block. To make up for this though, the swimming pool is very good we thought. If you need any camping gear, there's a Decathlon two minutes away, and a huge Auchan within 5 minutes by car.

Reception was friendly enough but they need more staff as one poor lass was dealing with breakfasts, reception and phone enquiries when we stopped by to ask about transport into the city. With the ACSI card we had a bargain stay in this area and would definitely use it again if ever passing through.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jpaosta 6 reviews from this member

When I arrived I found that the pitches were flooded. There was no effort to cut back the overgrown grass and branches on each plot and this gave an air of neglect to the camping. In the toilets and wash area I found lights not working and some latches on the doors were not working. Again an air of neglect. Around the site there were 'street lights' (3 feet high) but beside our plot one of these lights flickered on off through the night. In the morning we were woken by at least 2 cars driving out of the camping at 6. 00 am!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Steve + Lisa 7 reviews from this member

Bob the Builder is spot on.

We also used this site as a stop over. It is so close to the autoroute on the way down (being North of Lyon). We didn't notice the noise too much.

Reception lovely with bar, restaurant, TV room and reception all based in a circular building, balcony overlooking play area.

The price is also superb compared to other stop offs we did.

Those who know what its like getting through Lyon will thank their lucky stars when staying here. Will now be using this site every year!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bob the Builder 9 reviews from this member

We treated this site as an overnight stop on a drive between Paris and Nice. Perfect location, literally seconds from the A6 autoroute but this does result in a little traffic noise from the far end of the campsite. Choose one of the earlier pitches you encounter, near the entrance. You are free to select any vacant pitch.

Very friendly welcome. There is a pool on site and a bar and restaurant serving Pizza which you can take away.

Decent play area for young children and the washrooms are clean.

Would definitely use this site again if passing.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Berriow 53 reviews from this member

You can just use it as an overnight stop. But there's a bus right outside the camp to take you to the Metro - (fabulous modern driverless trains, and work of art stations)- and there is so much to see and eat in Lyon - it's restaurant city central.

So you should certainly make it a two night stopover. But beware - in August half the shops and restaurants in the city are closed as there owners and staff have gone away for their holidays too, so visits at other times are better.


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Dardilly      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Rhone-Alpes

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4022 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019