Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Station Inn

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Kendal > The Station Inn > Reviews

The Station Inn
Oxenholme
Kendal
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA9 7RF
Tel: 015395 87015
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/06/2024 to 30/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 9 Reviews
                8/10 from 9 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Bazizm 2 reviews from this member

 The very best hospitality returned by enjoying a superb meal in the pub meeting good company.

Nice toilet open all hours and warm water shave in morning.

Quiet sleepover, totally recommended but do not overdo it and spoil it as not biggest area, just nice for a few quiet ones like me.

Being hotel as well pub were preparing breakfast at 7:30 so campers can get it or coffee too.

Brilliant, will defo be there again, thenks to all staff and management. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Squirrel nutkin 1 review from this member

 Great place to stay for an overnighter. This is a fantastic pub for meals - good value and huge portions. Real ale available plus Thatchers cider, so plenty of choice at the bar. Our dog was allowed into the bar dining area which we found convenient. The site itself is a hard standing square which is gated off from the car park - there is a very wide grassy verge all around the edge, so we positioned the van where we had the wheels on the hard standing and put the awning on grass. Only 2 other caravans there so very quiet. Completely secluded. As for facilities, well we brought our own water, but noticed there is an outside tap for drinking water outside the pub. We used the pub toilet during the day and then reverted to our porta-potty overnight. There is a disposal point outside the pub also. It's a lovely old style building with hanging baskets all round, Alpaca's and hens plus a fabulous play area for kids. During the day we walked through ferns up The Helm - cracking views. Thoroughly recommended. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Peteluwie 7 reviews from this member

 Just to say stopped here again on way up to Scotland, same comments as my review for 2014, all very friendly and helpful, good food and real ale.

I would like to make a comment regards another review on here, re the motorhome owner there IS a water tap near by also there IS a chemical waste at the end of the building. 10. 00 a night is a very cheap for a motorhome.

The gravel area does not slope that much either, perhaps they should have gone to a 5 star campsite, motorhomes have all the facilities in them. I know I have owned and used campervans as well as motorhomes 


Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Raglanarms 9 reviews from this member

 We paid 10 for nothing! We stopped on a very sloping car park for the night - it had a litter bin but no water, nowhere to dump any waste, no EHU, no WC except in the pub. We spent a lot of money in the pub on drinks/food - perhaps we should have had our 10 back for spending so much, like BritStops? There was a kids' play area & the alpacas were lovely. There was some road noise. We wouldn't go back there. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Peteluwie 7 reviews from this member

 Stopped for one night on way back from Knockhill BSB meeting in Scotland on my motorcycle, I did a check call by on way up and booked my camping spot a few days before.

As mentioned in previous reviews no shower but facilities open at 8am for breakfast toilets washroom. Had a nice evening meal and breakfast, Camping area very good and tidy, a large gravel area for motorhomes and caravans. Overall a nice spot and a friendly welcome. Will stop again for sure in the future. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pooh and Gruffalo 23 reviews from this member

 An excellent stopover site with good views but you need your own facilities. We were charged only 10 for the night and stayed on the hardstanding area at the top of the carpark. There is also a small fenced off field for campers.

The pub toilets are available only during the day, (watch out you don't lock yourself into the disabled toilet as the lock is a bit dodgy).

The site has good chemical toilet emptying facilities and a fresh water tap but no dedicated toilets or showers.

There is an excellent children's adventure playground on site next to the beer garden and a field of Alpaccas for added interest.

The Station Inn itself is very friendly and welcoming with log fires and good food. It is also very dog friendly in the bar area with a water dish laid out for our pooch as well as our meal.  


Date of Visit: November 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Arrachogaidh 15 reviews from this member

 Excellent stop-off point if travelling up or down the M6 or looking for a Lakeland base.

Pub beer and food excellent quality and value. Warm fire, dog friendly and plenty of visitor info to hand.

Pre-order breakfast it really is good. We had evening meal as well and food was superb.

Sit by the fishtank for added variety.

Alpaccas optional extra!

Ideal base for fell walkers.

Heading for M6 make sure you take appropriate road, we ended up on a narrow lane which was a bit hair-raising in 27 footer. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Grimmy 5 reviews from this member

 Just spent a couple of nights on this new site.

You need to be self contained to a certain degree, as mentioned on the website, but the pub is a very friendly place to use their facilities. You can pre order breakfast the night before and take advantage of the good menu.

We didn't eat in the pub but it looked very good. We were told this is a new venture for the pub, it does have the chemical facilities. The camping is hard standing (stones) with a small area of grass bordering it for your awning.

There was a medium sized fenced off area we assumed was for tents, then the alpacas were in the next field, (cool!) there is also a fenced off play area for the children. I assume the gate would not be locked from the camping area when you arrive with children or they would have to go through the car park, I'm sure the landlord would open it for you.

Oxenholme station is 5 minutes walk downhill, we used this to get into Kendal for the Torchlight procession. Dont forget your torch if returning at night, its a very dark lane back up to the pub.

Nothing to see in Okenholme, the nearest village, but a nice walk if its dry (we got soaked) Altogether a recommend, we would return with the Grandchildren next time.

All staff and customers were helpful and chatty. 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jdowd 3 reviews from this member

 The Station Inn has a small plot of land next to it which they use for pitching. Its 6 per night, no shower facilities but you can wash up inside the pub.

It's a short 10min walk from Oxenholme Lake District station which was handy.

The area is beautiful, and the local people are friendly. The staff at the pub are friendly and helpful. Pub prices for breakfast, lunch and evening meals are a little pricey but the food is very tasty.

They have a typical pub play area for children and they even have Llamas in another enclosure!

All in all, I spent two enjoyable days there, and I would certaintly return there soon! 



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Station Inn child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Station Inn?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Station Inn dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kendal      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3587 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement