Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Carriages Certificated Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Cheshire > Site Reviews

Carriages Certificated Site
New Russia Hall
Chester Road
Gatesheath
Tattenhall
Cheshire   (Browse area)
CH3 9AH
Tel: 01829 770958
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 5
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 11 Reviews
                7/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Theresa C 5 reviews from this member

We were in 2 units (a tent with 2 adults and one child) and a motorhome with 2 adults).

The owners / staff could not have been more helpful from first booking until the day we left.

The site itself was close to Cheshire, yet peaceful and relaxing. We had a meal at the pub on site which is run by the same owners and the food and service were second to none Ė highly recommended.

The site is very reasonably priced.

The only downside was the fact there were only 2 toilets which had the toilet, basin and shower in them, therefore in the morning it was murder trying to get into the toilet, let alone for a shower and the site was not full when we were there (we were there through the middle of the week).

The facilities themselves were clean, however needed some repair Ė peeling paint and one of the toilets door didnít lock, we notified the owner who was very apologetic and did try to fix the lock, however the door was warped and by the next day the lock didnít work again, leaving only one toilet / shower unless someone stood guard outside for you.

All in all I believe the owners are making repairs and gradually improving the site, which I highly hope they do as their personalities are just the kind you need for this type of business.

I would love to go back in a year and see what had changed / improved.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kevnik0 6 reviews from this member

Found this little gem on UKCampsite.Co.Uk and trip advisor. Needed B&b accommodation along with camping facilities for a short break. With reference to previous reviews most of them I found to be accurate. First impressions are excellent as you pull on to site. There is a small industrial estate to side but didn't see any activity at all. The owners are fairly new to this establishment and it is evident a lot of money has already been spent. Won't comment on B&b as I didn't see the bedrooms but my mother in law was delighted with the service she received which meant I was ecstatic. We are caravaners and this site suited our needs perfectly. The site at present is good approx 12 pitches with tents in middle. Hard core has recently been put down and I understand it will be tarmaced in the future. There are 2 toilet and shower facilities which are superb for the type of site this is and electric hook up is available. The toilet disposal point is OK and there is a outdoor sink available for washing up although there is no hot water. The price for camping here is competitive and in time camping facilities will to the same high standard that the rest of the site already is. Bar food and drinks are excellent and good value for money. I wish the owners all the best with there venture they clearly are customer focused and my family and I will return in the future.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jesscar 1 review from this member

We spent the Easter week here whilst exploring Chester, the campsite is in the process of being upgraded (compared with Google maps aerial photos) and is arranged with well defined pitches around a central loop. The hardstandings and roadway were recycled hardcore and possibly not yet finished surface. The left hand side pitches are very long and easily took our 26' caravan. The pitches on the other side of the field looked a lot shorter. Plenty of EHU points around the field.

The toilets and showers are new and very smart.

We were made to feel extremely welcome in the pub and restaurant, good food and drinks, run by a nice family.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Robbiewos 1 review from this member

Had stayed at Carriages this time last year and was not impressed with the facilities or the owners. Only booked it this year as it is handy to the Birkenhead Ferry. On arrival we noticed a big change in the condition of the property and the campsite. We were met by the new owners who made us very welcome and made us aware of the massive improvements to the Bar and Restaurant areas. They have been open only six weeks and the changes they have made are remarkable.

Toilets and new showers for the campsite which were badly needed also new electrical hookups. Food superb and well priced, drinks of the highest quality. They also have renovated all the bedrooms in the B&B section of the property. There is a road alongside the campsite but it didn't bother us as we live on a main road at home. We would have no hesitation in recommending this site due to the friendly Hosts and Staff and the much needed renovations.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Stu93 1 review from this member

Stayed 1 night on way back from visiting our son in Wales. What a great little find. Will be back for sure. This is a small well serviced site with ehu available. Set in a great location for a stop over heading to or coming back from Wales, also great location for visiting the best of what Chester has to offer.

Toilets clean and well looked after. Showers are more than adequate. Elsan point and fresh water available. The best bit has to be the owners who could not do enough to make your stay enjoyable. The pub/hotel attached to site is second to none, the food was spot on and very satisfying. What more could you ask for, great company, great site. Will most definitely be back very very impressed.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TCC Rallyman 8 reviews from this member

Just got home after a visit to Carriages.

The sign on the gateway told us to park up (on the left for hookup, right for non hookup) and book in when the pub was open. It also told us where the fresh water & Elsan was situated.

Pitches: £5pppn (-2yrs no charge) + £3 pn electric hookup.

Free showers only when the pub is shut as there is limited space in the shower area and this wouldn't currently provide any privacy when dressing/undressing. The owner is hoping to extend and separate the showers so that 24hr use is available. Toilets 24hr.

We ate at the Carriages twice during our 3 night visit and found the food very good and very reasonably priced, selecting from their 1-2-3 menu (2 courses for £10/3 for £13.

We will be visiting again sometime in the near future.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The Benyons 2 reviews from this member

Beware! Pub Landlord and Lady are new and don't know what they're doing.

Like placing a Motorhome in the 4 meter separation space between my awning and next doors' tent while we were out. The ensuing row was unpleasant for all on site and a breach of fire regulations.

Like showers (Ladies) that are blocked and cause a flood through to the restaurant area. The landlady critised my wife for using them and had to mop up as if it was an inconvenience for her being there. No apology was given for the faulty shower. Instead, a bad attitude to which my wife objected, culminating in the LL saying 'well don't come back if you don't like it'.

The grass is very long and uncut so the dew doesn't burn off and stays wet all day. There was a few mown areas but has the cuttings all over it and walks into your tent/camper/van on your feet.

You camp next to a hedge between you and a 60mph main road into Tattenhall. Doesn't bother us but you might want a good nights sleep.

Small swing frame in the pub area that you can only see through the bushes, so not good for keeping and eye on the kids.

This site is very much an afterthought. Nothing wrong with using spare space, but layouts and service points need more thought. No hookups on the right hand side of the field (that's why a Motorhome tried to come between us) and all other services are at the entrance.

This is advertised as a members only site but we are, like many others the same weekend, not and the LL didn't ask if any of us were!

Date of Visit: December 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Anjo 13 reviews from this member

As a campsite I would say it was 'ok' at the moment it feels the owners have a spare field and thought putting electric on and a tap in the corner was enough. The toilets were in the actual pub and you are restricted when using the shower, this means no early morning shower a shower before bed. The shower itself is basic, no where to dry meaning you have to dry in the actual toilets and hope no one comes in, due to the shower/toilets being shared with customers of the pub. So as a party of 2 vans - 4 adults none of us bothered using it at all.

Speaking to the landlord he is planning on changes in the way of porta loos in the field areas but not sure if he also meant shower block in this also. His plans are that this is to be a camp site with a pub on it and not a pub with a campsite attached as it is / feels at the moment. I would say £15 a night at the moment is expensive for the facilities available on the site, may be when toilets / shower block is available that would be an acceptable price

Pub / meals. We participated in the early bird menu at £5. 99 which was as you would expect for the price 'simple pub grub' but edible, just having a quick look at the general menu this looked to be ok and I'm sure would be nice food if you went for this menu. We were on site for the New Years evening disco / buffet celebration at the cost of £10 per person, this did seem to be a fair price for a nice buffet / disco evening, this was attended by pre booked ticket only and capped at 50 people which was to make sure everyone could have a seat / table. Children were allowed to the evening, neither of our party would have booked if we knew this in advance as to us children at a children's function / adults at an adults function, although I must say that the young ones in attendance didn't seem to be much trouble at all, however, our feelings are to have an adult evening on NY eve.

The candle factory nearby is well worth a visit.

Site is 6 miles from Chester and an easy drive in, advice !don't park in the NCP carpark which you arrive to first this is expensive - 2 hrs £5. 70 carry on further up the road and carparking can be found across the road from the race course at 3hrs for £3. 00.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Spike_uk 9 reviews from this member

I used this site so we could visit Chester City centre and also the zoo. Both are easy to get to and the park and ride mentioned in the previous review was great. Carriages as a pub is really nice and the food is excellent and also a good sized helping. The staff were also very friendly. As a campsite I would say it was 'ok' to me it felt the owners had a spare field and thought putting electric on and a tap in the corner was enough, the toilets were in the actual pub and you are restricted when using the shower, this meant little ones cant have a shower before bed. The shower itself was basic and there was no where to dry meaning you have to dry in the actual toilets and hope no one came in. Due to the shower/toilets being shared with customers of the pub I would say £15 a night was about 3 or 4 pounds too much.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MattCharlie 17 reviews from this member

Just returned from a lovely stay at this site. After looking at the pictures on the website the first impressions of the site was that the pictures must have been airbrushed, the site upon first appearances seems tired.

The site itself is located in a field in front of the pub and has plenty of space. The field was hard and dry although it is not hardstanding and was pretty level. The water tap is easily accessible by the gate if you are a motorhomer and isn't much of a walk if your in a tent or tourer.

At the rear of the site is a large field ideal for walking your dog or for children to play games if you have them, but I believe this doesn't belong to the site so not sure on the legality of using it etc. but was never challenged when walking the dog on there and I never saw any of the other site users challenged either.

The toilets on site are open all the time, they are clean but only basic and are shared with the pub. There are restrictions on the time that you can shower, between 2300 and 1100 and 1500 and 1800 are the only times you can use them as this is when the pub / restaurant is closed.

The shower is located in the toilets and is a small wet room which is again basic but clean, the only criticism with the showers is that there is no shelf to put your belongings and clothes on to stop them getting wet, you have to put all your stuff in a bag and hang them on the back of the door and pull the curtain across to stop them getting wet and leave your shoes / crocs outside the door.

The site is only 6 miles from Chester and the park and ride is just at the top of the A41 and there is also a supermarket (Sainsburys) just off the roundabout if you need shopping. If you head towards Chester just after the roundabout on the A41 there is a good chip shop on the left called sea breeze if you can't be bothered to cook 1 night.

I would recommend a visit to the ice cream farm which is only a few miles from site, its reasonably priced and the ice cream is to die for, also if you are into crafts or have children it might be worth visiting the candle workshops as they have activities on for children and seemed like a cheap day out for those with a young family. For the fishermen there is a fishing lake 4 miles from site but cannot unfortunately comment on this as I never visited.

The only downside to this site was that dogs are not allowed in the bar at all, understandable in eating areas but most places will allow dogs into the bar. All in all a good site that I would visit again but feel the price is a bit high compared with the prices you pay for other sites of equal facilities and cleanliness but would return again.

Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cheshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2957 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019