Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - West Kyloe Farm Old Mill Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Site Reviews

West Kyloe Farm Old Mill Caravan Site
West Kyloe
Berwick On Tweed
Northumberland   (Browse area)
TD15 2PF
Tel: 01289381295  or  07791976535
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 12
Open: Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 28 Reviews
                8/10 from 28 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: ArtieMiss 6 reviews from this member

This site was easy to find with good sign posting. A working farm and basic campsite with no human interaction from owners! Ground is a bit uneven. Shower block is more than adequate though and showers are amazing! constant very good pressure. There are only 2 though. With a separate gents and ladies toilet (1 of each). Washing up space is sheltered and adequate too. Stunning views over the countryside, nice quiet place to get away from the busy world.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Denisea 8 reviews from this member

This is one of our favourite camp sites. I was a little reluctant to write a review as I would love to keep this little gem a secret. We have visited on several occasions and always had a fantastic time. You tend not to see the owners but know they are always available should you need which is the way we like. It is a quiet beautiful site in a great location for fantastic beaches. The facilities are kept immaculate and the site is never allowed to be overcrowded. We are already booked to return again in August and will continue to return whenever we can.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Abunce 1 review from this member

We stayed on this campsite for 6 nights. Despite the windy and rainy weather, we had a wonderful time!

The site is set on a beautiful farm that is really well kept. It is a smallish site with a gents toilets, ladies toilet, shower room and wet room. All pitches have electric hook up. Our boys (aged 4 and 2) loved watching the cows and having a good amount of space to play.

The owners were friendly and told us we were allowed to go onto the farm to see the tractor and other farm vehicles.

A great find! Highly recommended!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: JLMay 2 reviews from this member

We loved this site and stayed three nights. Would happily go back. It is remote and the views are amazing. The facilities are good - good hot showers, two toilets and a washing up area with plenty of hot water. This is a good base for exploring the local area, particularly handy for Holy Island. The owner came up every day with his dog and was helpful and friendly. This site is very good value for money. We have a camper van and paid 15 a night with electrics.

They are limited in the number of units they can take so do book in advance.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Barryhodge 6 reviews from this member

Site was very overcrowded for the facilities available. At one point, there were 9 caravan / motorhomes and 9 tents on site despite it being recorded as a 12 pitch site by the AA. There is only one gents and one ladies toilets, apart from the wet-room facility. The facilities were not very clean, in comparison to other sites in the same price range. The booking system is chaotic. My daughter arrived, only to be told by the owners that they were expecting a tent, not a caravan, despite confirmation emails being written and the change from a tent to a caravan confirmed. Be aware that the caravan field has a considerable slope in places so levelling ramps may be needed. The site owners were rarely in evidence and the camping field is on a remote part of the farm so no control over noisy campers late at night. I cannot understand why this still has a two star rating from the AA. There are good walking opportunities from the site and lovely beaches nearby. Holy Island is definitely worth going to visit, but to avoid the crowds, go early on a day before the causeway is covered at about 9. 30am. When the causeway re-opens at 2. 30, the island is very crowded. The post office tearoom on the island does lovely lunches and cakes. The boat trips to the Farne Islands from Seahouses are excellent value for money.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The highbury 21 reviews from this member

On arrival, first impressions were we thought how stunning it was. However, after settling in the lack of communication left us wondering where the facilities were as we had not been told needing water we found we had to ask a fellow camper. As nothing had been explained. We feel that only having one shower was an issue really could do with being upgrading.

Site rules stipulate that all dogs are to be kept on a lead this should also apply to the owners dogs as one was allowed to roam the site and often we see him fouling the site which wasn't very acceptable

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Montalbano III 1 review from this member

We found this lovely site via UKcampsites, and it has turned out to be one of the loveliest sites we have ever used. Easy to book, pleasant owner to deal with, a very nice location in a wonderful area. The views are marvellous, and we enjoyed the pond and its wildlife, as well as all the stock wandering in the adjacent fields.

There are two areas, one open, one enclosed within a walled area that gives a bit more shelter. We chose the latter with our small MH. The toilet and shower areas were very nice, perhaps in need of a deep clean as it get towards the end of the season, but nevertheless, clean and tidy enough. The wet room has lots of space, a good shower and because the roof is clear, gives plenty of natural light. The flowers planted around give a very colourful aspect to the whole block.

Despite very wet weather, we had no issues with our MH on the grass pitches, and although not completely flat, levelling up was easy. There were no issues with the EHU, no tripping out at all. Our two dogs had a decent walk direct from the pitch, and there are lots of footpaths around. As the site is quite close to the A1, getting out and about is easy, however the site is wonderfully peaceful and quiet, no road noise at all. This is a lovely area to visit, close to some gorgeous beaches, lovely towns and villages, and lots of historic sites, such as Flodden Battlefield, at least half a dozen of the best castles in England, and some beautiful countryside. We can highly recommend Cocklawburn and Goswick beaches, just south of Berwick. Berwick has a full range of supermarket, chain and independent shops, and the Town Walls are a very interesting walk.

The owner lives just up the lane, and visits the site every day. It is popular with caravans, MHs and tents, which gives a lovely mix of visitors. Everyone was very friendly and obviously having a very nice time.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ronb9191 3 reviews from this member

Possibly the most beautiful site we have had the pleasure of staying on, no light pollution, sky full of stars and the only sounds you hear are the occasional moo. The site is perfect for walkers and a must see is lindisfarne. The facilities are very clean and Mrs Smalley puts a good flower display on. The resident lurcher will come and inspect you on arrival but he is very friendly, a short walk up the hill gives you a magnificent panorama of holy island all the way round to budle bay and bamburgh castle, we will definitely be returning at Easter and again in September.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Butterfly 8055 1 review from this member

We first visited West Kyloe caravan site fifteen years ago and have been staying there regularly ever since. We love it because there is plenty of room so we don't feel crowded and the site is far enough away from the far buildings so that we don't feel overlooked.

The site is perfect for us in every way - its location, its facilities, which are spotlessly clean, and its amenities. I have Parkinsons Disease so the wet room is perfect for me as there is loads of space. My husband is a runner so the farm trail is ideal for him - three circuits is the perfect workout.

The site is just a few minutes drive away from Lindisfarne causeway and just nine miles from Berwick where there is a good choice of shops and supermarkets (and you can park all day for free). There are also several other places reasonably close by such as Bamburgh Castle, Ford and Etal, Budle Bay, Seahouses and St Abbs.

When we visit Northumberland, we would never even think about staying anywhere else.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sab1 14 reviews from this member

Very good location just off the A1 for stopover on the way to Scotland, with fantastic coastal views from the site and suitable dog walks on lead though because of cattle, sheep and geese and ducks on the millpond.

Facilities good and well maintained, the workers on the farm friendly and claimed Twizzle the lurched when he wandered in.

Locally Holy Island, Bamburgh and beaches to the south are all worth a visit.

Only concern is the uneven sloping field which may cause problems. Local store on junction of A1/Holy Island road with petrol was very comprehensive.

Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3188 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019