Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Moorcroft Holidays

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > North Uist > Moorcroft Holidays Reviews

Moorcroft Holidays
17 Carinish
North Uist
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS6 5HN
Tel: 01876580305  or  07796620098
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: 30/07/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 93 Reviews
                10/10 from 93 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  93 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Carole 3 reviews from this member

 Very well organised site and well kept, lovely views.

Good location with walk across the road and many other walks near by.

Facilities were closed due to pandemic. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Arranb 3 reviews from this member

 Great base for exploring Berneray, North Uist, Benbecula and South Uist.

Gorgeous site with spectacular views out to the west across the beaches.

Managed to get some fishing in too from the site.

Lovely friendly owners. Thank you x 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Arranb 3 reviews from this member

 Great base for exploring Berneray, North Uist, Benbecula and South Uist.

Gorgeous site with spectacular views out to the west across the beaches.

Managed to get some fishing in too from the site. Lovely friendly owners.

Thank you x 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kimbr1 2 reviews from this member

 Very nice campsite. Spotless owners were very friendly and approachable.

Limited areas open due to covid restrictions.

Beautiful views out onto sandy beach and lovely walks next to site 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rustyharas 5 reviews from this member

 My favourite site of the dozen we stayed at on our 3 week trip. Very friendly and helpful owners who live to the side of the site and were around a lot of the time. Suggested a couple of lovely walks.

Facilities were good, although we didnít use the toilets, showers or laundry they looked modern and clean. There was a washing line near the laundry for guests which is something I havenít seen before and very thoughtful. Certainly the water, waste and chemical disposal were well situated and clean with decent Covid precautions (sanitiser at every point)

All the hard standing pitches are well spaced and arranged to provide a good view over the coast, on three terraced areas

There are three glamping pods (smart, new -looking small cabins) and I believe they normally have a bunkhouse too although this wasnít open due to Covid.

Site on the west coast of North Uist has lots of walks and sites of interest, there is a good example of a stone circle, a chambered cairn and a ruined temple within walking distance from the site. There is a good co-op a reasonable distance away. And of course some lovely beaches. Sunsets over the water were beautiful, if you are blessed with good weather as we were.

There were a couple of keen fishermen staying next door to us whoíve been coming to Uist for 30 years so I would say there is good fishing locally too! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 106 reviews from this member

 This was a return visit for us and this time we only stayed the one night en-route North. The site is as immaculately presented and the owners as welcoming and friendly as we remembered. However, if it's windy you'll moan about the lack of shelter and if its not, you'll moan about the midges!

The campers' kitchen is excellent and the wash facilities second to none. You really need to experience it to believe it. Perfect stop over for us and could easily have stayed longer.

You can shelter from the wind behind the wash room and never complain about calm sunny weather in Scotland, just slap on the insect repellent! 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bobc51 22 reviews from this member

 Arrived with plans to use as a touring base.

What a pleasant surprise lovely greeting by Catriona showed us to our "reserved" pitch beautiful views over a tidal bay and Benbecula.

Things just get better Toilet and shower probably the best I have seen on any campsite.

I am surprised that no other comments have been made as to the kindness of Iain and catriona as on Tuesday night we were hit by the tail end of hurricane Dorian gale force wind and rain flattening some tents, they were then put up in the bunkhouse and hobit home WHAT STARS.

My rating 10 STAR +++++ 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hek132 7 reviews from this member

 We arrived on a wet & windy day to camp but decided to ask for accommodation, due to the poor weather. After a friendly welcome we where happy to be given a double room in the lovely modern bunkhouse. The room was clean spacious with comfortable beds with extra space for luggage. The bunkhouse cottage is situated in a nice quiet picturesque site looking out to the beach.

The kitchen and living room / dining room was very comfortable, free tea and coffee and everything was accessible and easy to use including a nice clean toilet & shower

There is a separate toilets showers area for campers and camper vans plus hobbit huts, which looked lovely

Thereís loads of information in the reception area and free wi fi too

It cost £90 for our two night stay which we thoroughly enjoyed

Thanks to Catriona & Iain for helping us with our last minute accommodation request and being helpful & friendly hosts. We would highly recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Eileengrace 5 reviews from this member

 This is a fabulous site and we would have stayed longer but had only booked 2 nights and it was fully booked. From our van we could see across the bay to Benbecula and South Uist.

When the tide went out there was a huge expanse of sand which our dogs loved. The facilities were excellent with lots of thoughtful touches like shampoo and a hairdryer, soap powder for the washing machine and

Tea/coffee/sugar in the quirky and very well appointed campers' kitchen. Well situated for touring the Uists and Benbecula. Best site we stayed on in our Hebrides tour.

Can't judge child friendliness as we have none and there were none there on our visit. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dlgb 10 reviews from this member

 Location - at south end of North Uist and good place to explore all features of the Benbecula and N Uist. Overlooking sandy inlet south and pitches positioned to give all good views. Could be exposed in strong south westerlies

Facilities good and clean. Good / informative notice board. Showers electric, but ok to ajust, no extra charge.

Proprietor very helpful, live on site and all site well organised, pitch prebooked and allocated.

Kitchen and wash up good, in larger than usual sitting / laundry area with hanging rails, in old stone build outhouse

Priced at £20 per night good value include EHU 


Previous     93 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Moorcroft Holidays child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Moorcroft Holidays?  There is a shop within 10 miles  View all facilities

Is Moorcroft Holidays dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near North Uist      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1606 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement