Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Ar Kleguer

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Brittany > Saint Pol De Leon > Camping Ar Kleguer > Reviews

Camping Ar Kleguer
Avenue De La Mer
Saint Pol De Leon
Brittany   (Browse area)
29250
Tel: 00 33 2 98 69 18 81
Visit their website    

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/04/2024 to 30/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 14 Reviews
                9/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: TartanBilly 7 reviews from this member

 Excellent camping site.

Great location with beach and walks.

Facilities very good - clean and hot water in showers.

Nearby we had lunch in Mary Stuart which was very good too. 


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Crwydryn 144 reviews from this member

 Had a two night stay prior to travelling back to Wales.

Great ACSI price.

Excellent site and facilities.

Sanitary blocks are kept pristine and there’s plenty of hot water.

Pitches are large and well laid out.

Indoor and outdoor pool.

Bar and restaurant weren’t open when we were there but there’s a bar/ restaurant and two restaurants close by. We ate in the bar and one of the restaurants and enjoyed both.

No shops nearby but large superstores to stock up on the way in or out.

There’s free 30 minute wifi available on request each day. 


Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Roma07 37 reviews from this member

 Absolutely agree with the 2021 review. Gem of a site, with friendly welcoming staff. We had a double pitch shared with another motorhome, but separated by a partial screen hedge.

Very popular on the day we arrived, and the “site full” notice (complet) went up by the time we had found a pitch. Obviously it is used by a lot of campers in transit from port, but well worth a visit. ACSI low season discount available, though outdoor pool and bar/cafe not open then.

Points to note: the site is split into two camping areas, separated by a public road. We were in the overspill area which was about 150 metres’ walk from reception and covered pool. 30 minutes of free WiFi are available per day on request from reception.

We had a lovely meal at “Mary Stuart” restaurant a few minutes’ walk along the front. It was packed at midday, but we got a reservation for the evening. St Pol is a pleasant, quiet town. Usefully, a large Super you is in the middle of town near the Tourist Info centre, and there is a free parking area adjacent which can accommodate large vehicles.

Would happily use the site again. 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chrisandsandra 67 reviews from this member

 We use this site as a last stop off for the Roscoff ferry but it's really worth staying for a few days as it's so beautifully situated.

We were very late in the season this year so many of the facilities such as the outdoor pool, the bar and the shop had closed but it was still good. No bread was available at this time either.

We asked for a pitch near the facilities and were given one opposite which was ideal as I was struggling with walking.

The pitch was on a slight slope but we managed to get level without blocks with a bit of shunting round. It was a good size and surrounded by shrubs and trees on 3 sides. One thing we hadn't realised is that some pitches have the old French two pin EHU sockets, so an adaptor could be needed.

The facilities were clean with plenty of hot water but I agree with another reviewer that there could be more toilets.

As reported the outdoor pool with the water slides etc was closed but the indoor pool was open.

The beach outside the campsite is a joy with a long promontory leading to a small islet. Once again as we were very late in the season the cafe on the beach was closed but the restaurant next to the campsite, Quai Ouest, which looks out over the bay was open and we had two very good meals there.

During the season there's a free bus service from outside the site to the centre of St Pol but once again this had stopped by late September. It is possible to walk or cycle to the town if you are fit as it is uphill.

It's about a 10 minute drive to the Roscoff ferry making this an ideal stop off.  


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Butterflies 60 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a couple of nights as we thought we would have a relaxing last day before getting the ferry home from Roscoff, which is nearby. This site has more facilities than we would usually require, ie bar, swimming pools/slides, and even though it was quite busy it was OK. The actual pitches aren’t too big and we noticed some of the larger RVs struggling to get on. There are also some lovely pitches facing out across the bay. The site has plenty of showers, but in our opinion could probably do with a few more toilets. Toilet roll and soap are provided. All the usual facilities are provided in the sanitation blocks and there is a laundry, and a free half an hour of wifi. English is spoken in reception, and they have plenty of information – maps, bus timetables etc. There is a shop of sorts – ie a few shelves in the bar stocking emergency food (jam, water etc), and they sell baguettes in the morning. There is a SuperU in St Pol, but you would need to drive.

There are 2 restaurants nearby, and we had a very nice meal at the Mary Stuart – odd name and nothing to look at from the outside, but popular with the locals, as they knew all the customers there when we stopped there for lunch. The centre of St Pol de Leon is probably about 3 km away – it took us about half an hour to get there following the roads on a map from reception (and initially up quite a steep hill).

We'd stop here again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kitkat2279 9 reviews from this member

 This site is positioned in the most fabulous setting by the sea. Undoubtedly one of the best campsites for a sea view.

We arrived early from overnight ferry, given our pitch number we couldn't choose but the pitch position was fabulous a little uneven but the view WOW. We were told we couldn't go on till 12pm but the pitch was already vacated so of we went and got settled.

The site is spotless and lovely. The toilet block was clean and the showers ok could do with being a little warmer but that is my only criticism. The toilets don't have toilet seats and there is no hand dryers or paper towels. We mostly used the caravan toilet.

The indoor pool and steam room was great and we didn't mind that the outdoor pool was closed as the weather was really poor.

The bar was also closed and only opens high season this was a huge disappointment or us as there really was no where to go. The Mary Stuart which is a restaurant within walking distance we were recommended not to go as some fellow campers had, had an awful meal there. The Le Chalet which is a 2 min walk had very strange opening hours so could not be relied upon it was shut tue, wed open thur and I don't know after that. We found one pub in saint pol de leon open which was quite quirky but that was it we are a couple in our 30's no children we don't like nightclubs or staying out till the small wee hours we just wanted a couple of bars to sit and relax but this sleepy village has nothing. We went to roscoff for the evening much better we found a little bar and watched the football. The walk into saint pol de leon is about 30mins. We found the facilities good and you can get wifi free for 30mins a day. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ian-james 14 reviews from this member

 Lovely campsite, grassy hedged pitches and you can choose your own. We were up on the high part of the site, rather windy but a great view over the bay. Pleasant and friendly reception. Bread available at reception from 8. 30am, it's best to pre-order for the next morning. In the high season there's a shop, bar, restaurant and pool, but none of these were open in April. The san facs are very clean, loo paper and soap supplied but no loo seats or hand drier. The water points are grouped in one central place for this top area. Good MVWP. St Pol-de-Leon is an attractive small town with good beaches. The coast is good all around here, and the GR34 coastal path gives some good walks in both directions. It's also convenient for Roscoff ferry port, which is just a few miles up the coast. WE paid €17. 66 with an ACSI card. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Badger54 19 reviews from this member

 We spent just 4 nights here recently and felt that it was a fabulous site. We arrived while the office was closed for lunch and so we walked around the site to see which pitches were empty and couldn`t believe our luck to find one of the cliff top pitches with incredible sea views. On the advice from the couple on the next pitch we just parked up on it and informed the office, when they returned, which pitch number we had chosen. Apparently if pitches are reserved the owners put a yellow marker on the pitch with the reserved dates on. Anyway, I digress, if you are considering this site you will not be disappointed - - go there. The shower/toilet facilities are second to none, and there are both indoor and outdoor pools. There is even a newly built room for hikers that has fridges, microwaves, and kettles for no charge, and free wi-fi is available around the site. Close by are 2 restaurants, the closest of which we tried, and were served the biggest bowls of moules we have ever seen - -the other one, about 100 metres down the road, is incredibly busy at lunchtimes which is always a good sign in France.

The main beach is about 50 metres outside the site and there is another smaller one just a scramble down from the sea-view pitches.

I am constantly amazed at how French sites can offer such incredible facilities as this, with great views at these prices - - we paid 16 euros a night including EHU and our dog with the ACSI card ( about £12 at current rates). 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bensonsire 4 reviews from this member

 Decided to use this site prior to getting the ferry home via Plymouth. We were so pleased that we gave ourselves a good buffer of 3 nights as it was a lovely site in a beautiful location overlooking the Bay of Morlaix. We could not get a sea view as they were all taken up but we did have a very large pitch which accommodated our caravan and tow car with plenty of space to spare. The chap in reception was very friendly and helpful and spoke impeccable English. The very new toilet block was heated with low volume piped music and excellent facilities, spotlessly clean, which were never full despite the second block being closed for the season. We have quite a large single axle van and some of the turns were a little tight but with care should pose no problem. Having recc'd the area I would definitely recommend that the only approach to the site is via the D58 from the Morlaix direction. Please, do not try going through or anywhere near the town centre, you will regret it. There is a lovely indoor pool on site which was the only one open as the site closed 4 days after our departure. However, we enjoyed our swimming there in very warm water so that was an added bonus. The site is well planted with trees and individual pitch hedging which gives privacy and the landscaped hillocks topped with large boulders gives a really lovely ambience. If you climbed the large rocks to the top you had beautiful views of the bay and Roscoff in the distance. Adjacent to the site entrance there is a long causeway leading to a lovely parkland area. Again, you could climb up the large prominatory at the end and get fantastic views across to Morlaix. Wonderful! St Pol de Leon is a nice little village with a market on Tuesdays and a very convenient Super you on the village edge. We actually used the Leclerc when we were passing from Roscoff so no problem with a very good selection of groceries, etc. , Overall, a lovely site which I would love to visit again and thoroughly recommend to anyone visiting the area or getting the ferry home(a 20 minute drive away) 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Monty the Motorhome 3 reviews from this member

 Agree with other reveiws, excellent site with views and location to beach and town. We stayed on the main site area. We had pitch 116 which had great views over the bay. Levelling blocks needed.

While there they had a creperie visit the site and also a pizza van with onboard wood fired oven, amazing.

Showers and toilets kept spotless, toilet paper is now available in the toilets but does run out :-)

Small shop in the bar that has the basics, plus every morning fresh bakery delivery of bread and croissants, these do go quickly so don't lay in too long.

Free wifi around some areas of the site but its very slow maybe because the site was full. 


Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Camping Ar Kleguer child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Ar Kleguer have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Ar Kleguer?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Ar Kleguer dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Saint Pol De Leon      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Brittany

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2281 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement