Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Ar Kleguer

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Brittany > Saint Pol De Leon > Camping Ar Kleguer Reviews

Camping Ar Kleguer
Avenue De La Mer
Saint Pol De Leon
Brittany   (Browse area)
29250
Tel: 00 33 2 98 69 18 81
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 10 Reviews
                9/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Butterflies 60 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a couple of nights as we thought we would have a relaxing last day before getting the ferry home from Roscoff, which is nearby. This site has more facilities than we would usually require, ie bar, swimming pools/slides, and even though it was quite busy it was OK. The actual pitches aren’t too big and we noticed some of the larger RVs struggling to get on. There are also some lovely pitches facing out across the bay. The site has plenty of showers, but in our opinion could probably do with a few more toilets. Toilet roll and soap are provided. All the usual facilities are provided in the sanitation blocks and there is a laundry, and a free half an hour of wifi. English is spoken in reception, and they have plenty of information – maps, bus timetables etc. There is a shop of sorts – ie a few shelves in the bar stocking emergency food (jam, water etc), and they sell baguettes in the morning. There is a SuperU in St Pol, but you would need to drive.

There are 2 restaurants nearby, and we had a very nice meal at the Mary Stuart – odd name and nothing to look at from the outside, but popular with the locals, as they knew all the customers there when we stopped there for lunch. The centre of St Pol de Leon is probably about 3 km away – it took us about half an hour to get there following the roads on a map from reception (and initially up quite a steep hill).

We'd stop here again. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kitkat2279 9 reviews from this member

 This site is positioned in the most fabulous setting by the sea. Undoubtedly one of the best campsites for a sea view.

We arrived early from overnight ferry, given our pitch number we couldn't choose but the pitch position was fabulous a little uneven but the view WOW. We were told we couldn't go on till 12pm but the pitch was already vacated so of we went and got settled.

The site is spotless and lovely. The toilet block was clean and the showers ok could do with being a little warmer but that is my only criticism. The toilets don't have toilet seats and there is no hand dryers or paper towels. We mostly used the caravan toilet.

The indoor pool and steam room was great and we didn't mind that the outdoor pool was closed as the weather was really poor.

The bar was also closed and only opens high season this was a huge disappointment or us as there really was no where to go. The Mary Stuart which is a restaurant within walking distance we were recommended not to go as some fellow campers had, had an awful meal there. The Le Chalet which is a 2 min walk had very strange opening hours so could not be relied upon it was shut tue, wed open thur and I don't know after that. We found one pub in saint pol de leon open which was quite quirky but that was it we are a couple in our 30's no children we don't like nightclubs or staying out till the small wee hours we just wanted a couple of bars to sit and relax but this sleepy village has nothing. We went to roscoff for the evening much better we found a little bar and watched the football. The walk into saint pol de leon is about 30mins. We found the facilities good and you can get wifi free for 30mins a day. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ian-james 14 reviews from this member

 Lovely campsite, grassy hedged pitches and you can choose your own. We were up on the high part of the site, rather windy but a great view over the bay. Pleasant and friendly reception. Bread available at reception from 8. 30am, it's best to pre-order for the next morning. In the high season there's a shop, bar, restaurant and pool, but none of these were open in April. The san facs are very clean, loo paper and soap supplied but no loo seats or hand drier. The water points are grouped in one central place for this top area. Good MVWP. St Pol-de-Leon is an attractive small town with good beaches. The coast is good all around here, and the GR34 coastal path gives some good walks in both directions. It's also convenient for Roscoff ferry port, which is just a few miles up the coast. WE paid €17. 66 with an ACSI card. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Badger54 17 reviews from this member

 We spent just 4 nights here recently and felt that it was a fabulous site. We arrived while the office was closed for lunch and so we walked around the site to see which pitches were empty and couldn`t believe our luck to find one of the cliff top pitches with incredible sea views. On the advice from the couple on the next pitch we just parked up on it and informed the office, when they returned, which pitch number we had chosen. Apparently if pitches are reserved the owners put a yellow marker on the pitch with the reserved dates on. Anyway, I digress, if you are considering this site you will not be disappointed - - go there. The shower/toilet facilities are second to none, and there are both indoor and outdoor pools. There is even a newly built room for hikers that has fridges, microwaves, and kettles for no charge, and free wi-fi is available around the site. Close by are 2 restaurants, the closest of which we tried, and were served the biggest bowls of moules we have ever seen - -the other one, about 100 metres down the road, is incredibly busy at lunchtimes which is always a good sign in France.

The main beach is about 50 metres outside the site and there is another smaller one just a scramble down from the sea-view pitches.

I am constantly amazed at how French sites can offer such incredible facilities as this, with great views at these prices - - we paid 16 euros a night including EHU and our dog with the ACSI card ( about £12 at current rates). 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bensonsire 4 reviews from this member

 Decided to use this site prior to getting the ferry home via Plymouth. We were so pleased that we gave ourselves a good buffer of 3 nights as it was a lovely site in a beautiful location overlooking the Bay of Morlaix. We could not get a sea view as they were all taken up but we did have a very large pitch which accommodated our caravan and tow car with plenty of space to spare. The chap in reception was very friendly and helpful and spoke impeccable English. The very new toilet block was heated with low volume piped music and excellent facilities, spotlessly clean, which were never full despite the second block being closed for the season. We have quite a large single axle van and some of the turns were a little tight but with care should pose no problem. Having recc'd the area I would definitely recommend that the only approach to the site is via the D58 from the Morlaix direction. Please, do not try going through or anywhere near the town centre, you will regret it. There is a lovely indoor pool on site which was the only one open as the site closed 4 days after our departure. However, we enjoyed our swimming there in very warm water so that was an added bonus. The site is well planted with trees and individual pitch hedging which gives privacy and the landscaped hillocks topped with large boulders gives a really lovely ambience. If you climbed the large rocks to the top you had beautiful views of the bay and Roscoff in the distance. Adjacent to the site entrance there is a long causeway leading to a lovely parkland area. Again, you could climb up the large prominatory at the end and get fantastic views across to Morlaix. Wonderful! St Pol de Leon is a nice little village with a market on Tuesdays and a very convenient Super you on the village edge. We actually used the Leclerc when we were passing from Roscoff so no problem with a very good selection of groceries, etc. , Overall, a lovely site which I would love to visit again and thoroughly recommend to anyone visiting the area or getting the ferry home(a 20 minute drive away) 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Monty the Motorhome 3 reviews from this member

 Agree with other reveiws, excellent site with views and location to beach and town. We stayed on the main site area. We had pitch 116 which had great views over the bay. Levelling blocks needed.

While there they had a creperie visit the site and also a pizza van with onboard wood fired oven, amazing.

Showers and toilets kept spotless, toilet paper is now available in the toilets but does run out :-)

Small shop in the bar that has the basics, plus every morning fresh bakery delivery of bread and croissants, these do go quickly so don't lay in too long.

Free wifi around some areas of the site but its very slow maybe because the site was full. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Frogman14 17 reviews from this member

 Endorse comments re finding the place, we did tour of the town with a pretty big caravan, which was fun -- for the watchers, but a bit fraught for us. When you see the sign, you wonder how you could be so stupid as to miss it, so hopefully to help those who come after us. From which ever direction you approach the area, From south or Roscoff, stay on the big road till the signs for L'Eclerc, pass in front of same ( cheap diesel available) over a couple of speed bumps to the mini roundabout then left up towards town, and there is a big sign for sites and beaches, or follow signes to railway station, tn left in front and down leafy lane, turn left at bottom and right at end of castle wall. There are blue signs as advised route for motorhomes, which is still a bit narrow but rural, and gets you onto the beach area. Then motorhomes can choose the aire on the seafront or continue to the end and Ar Kleguer or the next site Le Trogolet.

We were on the second site for Ar Kleguer, out of gate and round the corner. Bit of a walk to the pool and bureau etc, but we had a massive pitch, well set out and accessible, in amongst others similar, and easy trot to the loo block which was well adequate, and well kept. Previous visit we have been on the pitches overlooking the bay, and though nice views, on a walk round, we thought the pitches up there to be a bit difficult with a big outfit, and a bit remote from the nearest loo block, albeit the new one referred to previous, and immaculate. On balance we concluded the 2nd site where we now were was indeed the best option, and the little walk to the pool, no hastle. Overall impression of the camping was that someone was paying a lot of attention to detail, and as such it would be unlikely to have a major moan.

The area around is lively and attractive, outside the site is an area for concerts etc, and there was a folk type fest when we were there. Further afield, Roscoff is well worth a visit, and a boat trip to Isle de Betz. Carentec is charming, and if you get the tide right there are loads of walks across the sands for miles. St Pol itself is great for an evening stroll, with much interesting architecture. L'Eclerc previously mentioned is a big one, and once you know where things are, not difficult to find. Tip re local produce, in July artichokes abound, and give them a try, they are nothing like the ones we get in Tesco.

Given the location, weather will always be a factor, but with fair wind St Pol would provide a pretty good holiday base, and it's only 30 mins from the ferry. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: ChrisB1953 6 reviews from this member

 This site has one of the best locations with a view of Carantec the other side of the bay. Impressive views at high and low tide. We stayed here last year before our return to the UK via Roscoff to Plymouth and decided to do the same as it is in such a beautiful position. Over the winter a new sanitation block has been built with a back packers kitchen! New covered pool also. The outside pools have fantastic views also. Really one of our favourite sites ever. Extremely clean with beautifully kept grounds. Not sure if I wanted to share this gem but decided that as I couldn't fault anything I should let others in on it! Lovely hedged pitches arranged so everyone gets a view. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: StixJimbo 8 reviews from this member

 We visited Ar Kleguer in our FC and loved it! We decided to visit 2 sites this year and Ar Klegeur was the second of the 2. It is easy to find with a SatNav, or just follow the signs to 'St Pol Littoral' and 'Campings'.

On arrival we were greeted by a friendly fella on reception who showed us where our pitch was, on a map of the site. I was very surprised to see that we had a pitch next to the sea (albeit down a bit of a steep slope) and when we got to the pitch the view was fantastic! (see my gallery).

Some of the pitches are on a bit of a slope so levelling blocks/a shovel are needed. The electricity points are fairly well spread amongst the pitches and are a mix of our 3 pin plugs and the European 2 pin plugs.

The site is not small but has the feel of a small site, there is a good pool there with slides etc for the kids but be aware that shorts are not permitted, although swimming caps are not compulsory. There is also a small play park for children.

With all this said the site is pretty quiet and doesn't seem as busy as it is, which is nice if you like to relax in peace and tranquility (OK, you can hear some shouts from the pool but nothing too bad).

The shower blocks are very clean and modern although they are a bit of a hike from some of the pitches and there are queues at busy periods, there is also no lo paper or seats on the toilets, but they are immaculately clean.

St Pol itself is a gem of a town and there are some fantastic beaches within walking distance of the site and if you wish to venture a bit further you can walk on the GR34 (Brittany coastal path) and find some very nice secluded beaches.

Roscoff is about 10-15 minutes away by car so the site is very handy for the ferry, it is also worth mentioning that Roscoff itself is a very nice little town and well worth a visit.

Overall the site is very nice and situated in a picturesque location, the tariff is good and it has plenty for kids to do, whilst being fairly quiet for those without children.

We would certainly come back again, a real gem of a site. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pickled Onion 6 reviews from this member

 We picked this site mainly for its proximity to the port of Roscoff and our return to the UK. We didn't want another mad rush back to the ferry in the very early hours of the morning so had a couple of very nice days here and we could have stayed even longer.

We did however have a bit of trouble finding the place initially, but don't let that put you off.

We missed the one and only sign, it didn't give directions, it was just a sign advertising the site.

Travelling north to Roscoff, close to St Pol De Leon you will pass over a bridge, this sign is just over the top of the next hill and you turn off right towards St Pol half way down the other side. This is by far the best way to approach it as it keeps you well away from the busy narrow town centre streets. (With the Cathederal, well worth a visit by the way) Follow the signs for 'Les Plages' & 'Campings' and you will arrive at the sea, turn left past a motorhome stopover area and ahead of you at the end of the road will be four or five flags blowing in the breeze, you have arrived.

We were given a friendly welcome in English by the nice lady in reception who asked us if we wanted a sea view. I mention this because I don't think that there are many Brits here yet. The majority whilst we were there were French, a large amount of Dutch with a smattering of Germans. It did however have a very safe friendly feel about the place.

The site is situated on a small rocky promentary with sea on two sides. It overlooks the bay and island of St Anne to which there is a causway as its cut off at high tide. There are a few statics but they tend to be grouped towards the back left hand side. The remainder is neatly laid out in pitches with hedges around, a mixture of caravans, motorhomes and tents. Electric is rated at 10 amps, available to most pitches and it utilises the same 3 pin blue plug that we use in the UK. The fresh water taps are grouped in a few areas rather than one for every row or two. There are two modern toilet/shower/dish washing blocks and chemical disposal is at the rear of one of them. There are laundry facilities too.

A point to be aware of is that there is no toilet paper supplied in the loos, you have to take your own. This practice we have come across in other French sites.

The bar area next to reception has a very small shop that stocks the very bare essentials, it does however have nice bread and you don't have to order it beforehand. There is a large Super you in town where you can buy all you will ever need and more.

We will go back here again next time. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Ar Kleguer child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Ar Kleguer have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Ar Kleguer?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Ar Kleguer dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Saint Pol De Leon      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Brittany

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6213 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement