Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Reine Mathilde

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Normandy > Etreham > Camping Reine Mathilde Reviews

Camping Reine Mathilde
Route De Sainte Honorine
Lieu Dit Le Marais
Etreham
Normandy   (Browse area)
14400
Tel: +33 0231217655
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 76
Open: 01/04/2021 to 30/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 9 Reviews
                8/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: HarryB 17 reviews from this member

 It would be good to bring this site up to date after the last review of 2 years ago.

Yes the owners took over two years ago and from what was stated before they have obviously been busy. Trees have been felled that obviously obstructed certain pitches Roads were in good condition and grass was in good condition without the bare patches of groundsheet damage. The hedges, mainly privet, were in need of an early season trim but the pitches are so big that didn't prove to be a problem. The shower blocks were old and a little tired in places but there was plenty and they were clean, there was definitely no drain smell.

Reception is open all day so know need to worry about arrival time. The staff were all very friendly and the owner was always keen to learn English and his sister was a big bonus to this site. She speaks perfect English even with an English dialect. She is French but taught English in here working life. She was really keen to help you and would know doubt be an asset because of her willingness to help you learn.

But working on the cafeteria and shop has certainly paid dividends. It was well patronised by the people staying there and as part of their ethos the whole family dined together with the campers on an evening. That said a lot to me.

Yes, there are statics but the majority are in a far corner of the site.

I would certainly stay here again for the friendliness and the location, although a little remote proved it's worth in silence.

50 mins from the ferry so perhaps not good for the early sailing 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Red1archie 10 reviews from this member

 New owners seem a little lost on how to run a site, they have focussed on the coffee bar/snack bar. The pitches will not take heavy units after a downpour, the roadways need potholes filling. The pitches are over grown with grass and the hedges and trees need a lot of attention. The showers smell very badly of backed up drains and the cleaning leave a lot to be desired. Also watch out for rowdy teenagers late at night staying in the static vans (no parents around). 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: 1942 tony 6 reviews from this member

 Two large motorhomes arrived at this site allowed to find any pitch we like very helpful people at this site.

We stayed one week we tried the swimming pool very nice also tried the restaurant nice food and the wine was nice, the shower block clean and tidy good hot water we had a drink at the bar with the owner he gave us quite a list of what he was doing during the winter ie work to up-grade the site he only purchased this site just over a year ago so he will be rectifying all problems.

To get to this site you travel down some narrow lanes but nothing to worry about its worth going to,

Pitch size large easy to park and level

Good electrics

Lots of water points

Only fault toilet empty point at main shower block

Lots to see and do around this area

Both us motorhome users will return to this site we could not find any major faults at all 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Techno250 2 reviews from this member

 A lovely site, ideally situated for visiting the nearby landing beaches.

The site is very well kept, with nice clean large pitches, screened with hedges.

Water and electicity points easily accessed from every pitch.

Toilet / shower area kept clean all through the day and good hot water at all times.

Very popular with Dutch & Belgian campers, with only 3 or 4 British registered cars on site during our week long visit.

Made good use of the pool, which like all the other facilities was very clean & tidy.

The site staff / owners were very helpful & we would definitely stay again. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Red1archie 10 reviews from this member

 This is one of many visits to this site on the last leg of our return journey. Site facilities are unisex showers but separate toilets. The pitches are varied in size and accommodate large units with ease. The lanes surrounding the site (Etreham) are wide enough for long units. Site is just a few kilometres from the D day landing beaches/museums. Omaha beach is dog friendly and great when the tide is out. There is motor home parking adjacent to the bus park. The nearest motor home accessible supermarket is in Port en Bessin which also has an accessible fuel station although it is not manned, so have your credit card to hand.

There is a very good English speaking vets in Bayeux, Chemin de la Cambette, follow your instincts not your sat/nav to find it just off the island where the D5 changes to the D572, parking for a motor home is possible.

The site does hot roast chickens in high season, WiFi is accessible from the cafe` or just outside on the seating area. The reception shop and cafe` have just been refurbished. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pickles2 3 reviews from this member

 Due to a last minute work-dictated change of plan, we got off the early ferry in Caen with no site booked for the first few days. And went to look at our short list of 4 sites to start our holiday. Camping Reine Mathilde had been recommended by a colleague. The atmosphere on arival was so welcoming, and there was no competition with the other three, but we did visit all to give a fair judgement. Being early in the season there were vacancies at all four.

The pitches here are a lovely size, good mature hedging for privacy, and everywhere was very well tended, plenty of flowers in bloom as well as neat grass.

All the staff were very welcoming and friendly, shower and toilet facilities were spotless despite loads of campers tramping in from the rain.

Shop sold just enough for us, chips from the rotisserie were excellent! Ice block exchange was easy and cheap (we didn't need electric hook up)and fresh bread and croissants were available for breakfast.

The pool might have been a bit warmer, but we still had a good swim. Small children in the toddler pool seemed to be having a lovely time too.

This gem of a campsite was well worth the recommendation. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Craneman4tp 1 review from this member

 Much as described in the other reviews- spacious, clean, quiet. Stayed for a week to travel the Normandy landing sites and found it ideal, nowhere seemed too far away. Travelled from Portsmouth to Caen and the site is only 30km away. Be aware though, once you leave the main road from RN13 towards the D206 it gets narrow - I mean one way at a time. If you have a large van or caravan be prepared for a trip onto the rough verge.

We really enjoyed the site, even though there was no toilet seat, let alone paper!. You have to be aware that showers are push button and stay on for about 20 secs, and, no you cannot keep it going with an elastic band.

This is a place I would definitely return to, with an ACSI card it was 15 euro / night. Be warned - the hook up is only 6amp. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 2kias 10 reviews from this member

 Would agree with the first review. We stayed for 5 nights and had a good time visiting the landing beaches although you can have too much of a good thing!

The site does have rules which suited us. The pool was open but is not heated. OK once you have got used to it! There is a small children's playgound.

Pitches are level and private with high hedges which needed a cut when we were there. Wi-Fi is available at 5 Euros. There is a pet pot bellied pig which looked as if it had been over fed!

Mostly Dutch campers when we were there who had mostly all been before. All very friendly. You do need a sprinkling of French to get what you want but I am sure they did speak English!

Definitely a site to visit. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BushBabyJane 25 reviews from this member

 Lovely site which is positioned very conveniently for visiting the Normandy Landing museums and so on, and also for visiting Bayeux. We only stayed for 3 days, but wished we'd had much longer.

The site is very well tended. The pitches are large and have a high hedge separating them, which gives you privacy.

The toilets and showers are spotless, though you do need your own toilet roll! There are laundry facilities in the ladies toilets.

There is an on-site shop selling essentials and also a bar. You can order lovely bread and cakes for delivery the next day. Wireless internet access is available for a nominal sum.

There is a swimming pool, but it was closed when we were there - too chilly.

There are a lot of 'rules', but if you like your sites to be clean and well-tended, then we thoroughly this site. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Reine Mathilde child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Reine Mathilde have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Reine Mathilde?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Reine Mathilde dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Etreham      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Normandy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3319 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement