Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Solitaire Du Lac

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Rhone-Alpes > Saint Jorioz > Solitaire Du Lac Reviews

Solitaire Du Lac
615 Route De Sales
Saint Jorioz
Rhone-Alpes   (Browse area)
74410
Tel: 0033 04 50 68 59 30
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/04/2022 to 30/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 7 Reviews
                9/10 from 7 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Longtimecaravaner 27 reviews from this member

 The huge pluses for here are that it is as far away from the noisy/busy road to Annecy as it is possible to get and so very quiet in comparison to other sites in the area, and it has direct access to the lake just a minute's walk away. However the minuses are the pitches are cramped so we could not put our caravan sideways on in the pitch or we would have had to walk on other people's pitches to get round the back, nor could we park car caravan awning so we ended up with the nose of the car touching the awning. The electricity is only 5amps. Motorhomers have to pay E20 for 30 litres of water at the motorhome point. They can fill up by a watering can at a time from the very slow running water taps around the site for free.

Apart from that, the pitches are level and well cut and marked by a tree at each corner which gives a bit of shade. The toilets and showers are clean and the staff in the office are pleasant. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jennydddd 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 10 nights at this campsite in our campervan and had a great time. I spent ages trying to decide which site would be best for our family and was very happy with the decision. As expected the pitch was quite small but we only had tents either side of us which made it feel a bit more spacious. We had plenty of space for our van, awning and there was lots of grass out the front for us to play and relax on. We decided to forgo a swimming pool in preference to the site location and so pleased we did. At first the lake didn't look much. There is a small cutting through the reeds at the end of the campsite. The ground is a bit stony to begin with but after a few metres you come to sand and it is glorious. Quite shallow for a while which is good for kids. We much preferred this bit of the lake to any of the main beaches. It was mid 30s for most of our visit so spent a lot of time in the lake.

The cycle path is only a few minutes away and we cycled everyday to the supermarket. Either the one in Saint Jorioz or the Carrefour along the cycle path towards Sevrier. Both are about a 5 minute cycle. We used our bikes more than the van once on site so never got stuck in the traffic.

We had pizzas from the snack van a couple of times which were delicious. They also did sausage and chips each night and sandwiches at the weekend. The campsite hatch sold cold drinks, bread and a few basics. Facilities were clean, although the lack of loo roll, soap and plugs was annoying.

We have previously stayed at Europa just down the road but preferred this site. It's much more relaxed, a good mix of nationalities (majority French, Dutch and GB third on the list). Very quiet at night. At 10pm there are still kids messing around but by 11pm it's all quiet. Very different to the majority of English campsites. I agree with the previous review that there was a nice feel to the site. I felt safe and everyone was very friendly and respectful. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TeamX 7 reviews from this member

 We spent an absolutely lovely week here this summer. The reasons it was so great come down to the campsite itself and the beautiful location.

The campsite had a really great 'feel'. I know that's not very technical or specific but I think atmosphere is important and everyone on the campsite was friendly and considerate. Even though it was high season and the campsite was fully booked for most of the week, it felt calm and relaxed.

The facilities coped well even under the pressure of a full campsite. Loads of loos, showers and washing up facilities. They were cleaned twice a day. Pitches were a good size though some had more shade that others (it is worth requesting your preference on booking as they do bear it in mind). The staff were polite and the whole thing was well organised.

There was a small bar and pizza van on site. This did good business, especially as there aren't many restaurants in the town itself.

We particularly enjoyed the access to the lake at the bottom of the campsite. The lake itself was warm and shallow making safe swimming for kids. You can also walk around the lake to a small free beach area about 5 mins from the campsite. From here we hired canoes and they had other types of boat available.

We also hired bikes from 'Le Conty' (a small holiday complex not far from the super u) and cycled along the excellent dedicated bike trail to Annecy town.

Saint Jorioz town itself isn't much to write about. There's a super you and bakery. The bars are dotted around down long streets and there isn't much of a town centre feel. However, there's plenty to do in the wider area to make up for it. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bickers 10 reviews from this member

 This is a wonderful campsite on the shores of Lake Annecy.

The campsite itself is fairly small, and attractively laid out, with only one sanitary block. The showers were a little luke warm, and the water pressure could have been better, but it was adequate. The toilets and showers were unisex, so I was extremely surprised to find two urinals in the sanitary block which were in public view of everyone, men, women and children, situated next to the showers and wash basins.

In the sanitary block you also have washing machines (cost 5 Euros) and tumble driers (cost 3 Euros), which did a fantastic job of cleaning and drying our clothes.

The campsite is in a very attractive location, situated right next to the lake, and set back from the busy road, so you don't hear any traffic noise. Driving around Lake Annecy, we felt this site had the best location of all the sites we saw, situated as it is mid way up the lake.

The plots are a decent size. It's a quiet site, with no organised entertainment or activities. The showers switch off at 10pm, and by 10. 30pm the site was site was very quiet, which I loved.

Between the pitches and the lake shore, there is a field with some swings, ping pong tablet, basket ball net, and place to play badminton. It provides a great space for the children to run around and play on. We felt it was very safe to let our three children (aged 6, 8 and 10) to run around the site.

The campsite has direct access to the lake, which is beautiful for swimming in. But instead of using the campsite beach - which is shaded by trees, there is a path that takes you to another nicer beach three minutes away, which provides the most stunning views across the lake, and has a little field to relax on.

On the site itself they sell baguettes and croissants, ice creams and cold drinks, but that is all. For other shopping items there is a Lidl and Carrefour supermarket a few minutes drive from the site.

The site has a pizza van, which provides the most fantastic pizzas. We overheard one Italian family saying they were some of the best pizzas they'd ever tasted, which is high praise indeed!

The area around the campsite is stunningly beautiful, although unfortunately the week we were there we had a lot of rain (it was one of the worst July's on record). One of the disadvantages of visiting this site in high season is the traffic around the lake and through Annecy can be a nightmare. On one particularly bad day when it rained all day, we decided to take our children to a play factory the other side of Annecy. The journey should have taken around 25 minutes, but took over 2 hours to make because of the traffic.

If visiting this site, it is worth bringing bikes with you, because there is an excellent cycle path that goes right past the campsite, and is clearly one of the best ways of travelling down the west shore of the lake. You can hire bikes from the campsite itself. It's also only a short walk to the jetty at Saint Jorioz where you can pick up one of the boats that takes you around the lake.

This is a very special campsite, and despite the disappointing weather, we are very keen to return here in the future. If you're looking to stay in the Annecy area, and like a peaceful, attractive site, then look no further than Camping Solitaire Du Lac. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Andy&Mandy73 8 reviews from this member

 Would definitely return. We saw a few other campsites in the town and this was the best as regards location, facilities etc. It is on the right side of the main road - some sites you have to cross the road to gain access to the lake. This campsite has direct access to the lake, you can walk into the town easily (5 mins cycle or a 10/15 min walk) and there is a cycle path to Annecy centre which is about 9kms but a beautiful cycle and well worth it. Some pitches have views looking out onto open countryside. All pitches are flat and spacious. Would definitely recommend this site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Scott101 2 reviews from this member

 To add to my previous 2009 review, for 2010 a new play area for the kids with a small climbing wall and an array of climb and swing things. Toilets have had a face lift with new pot ware and cubicles. The whole place is as usual spotless and jet washed from roof to floor once a day.Yes I have seen them cleaning each joist in the roof. If your looking for a no nonsense site well run clean and friendly and internationally renowned this is the one. Book early in the new year if you want to have a pitch in July /August. Most people like me just keep going back year after year. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Scott101 2 reviews from this member

 This site has been successfully run by the Bastard family for as long I care to remember. This campsite has its own access to the lake for swimming and launching of small craft (no slipway).The large grassed area for ball games is slightly long for football, table tennis on concrete table and internet access but thatís about it for the smaller campers.

The facilities are spotlessly clean (power washed) However slightly dated (in sunburst yellow 70s camping colours).Its a spacious site set out well with access roads to pitches in parallel rows all of a good size some with shelter of trees most with hook up. With the one main shower, toilet block and washing area centrally located. The site has a small camp shop on site and deliveries of fresh bread milk etc, high season has visits from local vendors of made on site food (always smells great).Security Guards operate throughout the night keeping the order and safety on site.

Saint Jorioz max 5min walk has bars, banks, pizzerias, post office and a market but canít remember what day. Supermarkets Lidl , and others less than two miles away. Good access to the cycle lane around the lake without crossing roads, close by is access to the water Taxi that operates around the lake( for those who drank too much the night before).The outdoor swim area Diving boards etc two min walk from the lake side of the site.

If you want a no nonsense site with great access to the area but hasnít the pools or other essentials for keeping little ones occupied, this is the one. Most people keep revisiting (like me) because it is a no nonsense site. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Solitaire Du Lac child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Solitaire Du Lac?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Solitaire Du Lac dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Saint Jorioz      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Rhone-Alpes

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1969 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement