Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Le Val D Aleth

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Languedoc Roussillon > Aude > Le Val D Aleth Reviews

Le Val D Aleth
Alet Les Bains
Aude
Languedoc Roussillon   (Browse area)
11580
Tel: 0033 04 68 69 90 40
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 37
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 13 Reviews
                6/10 from 13 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 1 mile 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: January 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lynnestock 5 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 2 nights on way down to Spain. Great location for exploring Carcassone, amazing 1 euro transport from the town to the city each way! The medieval city is a must to explore. Alet les Bains is also interesting with a couple of reataurants and a small shop. Simple site with good facilities. Outlet for excellent local wine.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Everyman 5 reviews from this member

The town is attractive but as others have mentioned, very quiet. The sites are small, the facilities adequate. But we didn't enjoy our stay. I was left with the feeling that we were 'in the way' of the (English) owners. We too were charged in advance for the seven nights we said we wished to stay. I don't have a problem with this, but I did resent being charged for our daughter who had joined us after injury on the Camino walk, AND the additional tent she slept in. More irritatingly, they advertise 'wi-fi' available but to achieve this we were advised to subscribe to Orange for a month (20 Euros approx) and the service was appalling - completely intermittent and unreliable. This was crucial for us as my wife works online once a week tutoring students in Australia. We ended up outside McDonalds in Limoux using their wi-fi, which thankfully extends to the carpark.

Would I recommend the park - sadly not.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: JoannaLesley 39 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 2 nights. Our main reason was to pick the owners' brains as we plan to move to France (they advertise this service). Expecting a cosy chat but were disappointed. We felt a nuisance. In early June the weather was cool & damp. Site (v. Shady - probably ideal in summer) was dank and dark, although excellent sanitary facilities. Lovely village; we walked dogs in woods above the town. Would be unlikely to visit again.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bellringer18 7 reviews from this member

Found this site by chance. Lovely site well kept and very very clean shower block, showers best we have ever had in all the yrs been to france. Very helpful owners. Not far from carcasonne. Went by train which stops in the village 2euros. Andorra about two hrs away but well worth the ride. Bar in village and two very nice cafes. Open air pool. We had pitch no 7. Shady very hot so was most welcome overlooked the river. Good mix of brits, french, dutch. Limoux about 15mins away. Lots shops, bars etc. Markets. This is on our to go back to list.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mitchells 26 reviews from this member

We chose to stay at this site as we wanted to visit Carcassonne and from previous reviews it looked to be ideal, we were a little disappointed with what we found.

The pitches are small and very dark, it didn't look as if the trees and bushes had been pruned for a couple of years. The sanitary facilities are OK, yes there is unlimited hot water and the showers are not the push button type but I have seen facilities on some French Municipal sites which are as good if not better.

We were prepared for the village to be quite but were surprised just how quite it was. We had originally booked for 11 days and had been told in the confirmation letter that all days booked must be paid for, regardless of how long we stayed, also payment is taken when you arrive (a very British way of doing things I think). In hindsight that should have rung alarm bells as after a week we were more than ready to leave.

The site is on one side of the river and the road (quite busy) is immediately on the opposite side of the river. As it was hot we slept with the windows open and the traffic noise was quite intrusive, even more so than the church bells which started at 7am.

As a touring base for the area it's OK but will we go again - no.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Firstclass67 38 reviews from this member

I also would not use this site again. I was very disappointed with it.

The pitches were small and also very dirty - though that is not the owners' fault!

In the guide it advertises access to the river with swimming. There is a tiny narrow path along the river but there is no 'beach' - you have to climb down off the muddy bank and compete with the pond skaters for water.

The loos and showers were impeccably well kept, but without loo paper or loo seats. The showers would earn 10 out of 10 for me - adjustable settings, taps not push buttons, and plenty of hanging places for clothes and towel.

We were there during the fete weekend, which rather spoiled it for us - we were hoping for quiet nights, but what we got were discos that started very late and went on till 2 or 3 in the morning, 2 nights running.

Its a good site to use for the Cathar castles and the lower Pyrenees, and the village is well worth a walk round to see the medieval houses and roman remains.

Like a previous reviewer I didn't like that I had to pay up front, and was expected to pay for 3 nights when I had said on the phone 2 or maybe 3!

All in all I would not go back.

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pinxton20 9 reviews from this member

Stayed 3 nights. Would have been 2, but our car was broken into at 5. 00 am 2nd night, and passports etc. Stolen. Owner initially said this had not happened before, but local boulangerie said there were 3 burglaries there last year. Sanitation facilities good - modern and clean. Site compact, bounded by river Aude (trout for flyfishers). Bus and train links to Carcassonne are good - important for motorhomers. Pitches were tight and site felt a bit run down (except for sanitation block. After burglary, other campers were extremely supportive. Didn't see much of owner though. Will I go again? no - not my sort of site.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gerhard1948 1 review from this member

We stayed at this site from mid June 2011 until the beginning of August 2011, the side was outstanding, very clean facilities, some of the best and cleanest we ever encountered. The owners are very friendly; as the cleaning personal was (she was a wealth of information on the area and history off it). Everyone was very helpful. The village was very quiet, with a nice little shop/coffee/bar, you may have to sit on the road for your drink, but the drivers don’t mind, everything is very quiet and relaxing the Hotel/ Restaurant in the village has excellent food and service and again the staff was very helpful, the little garden restaurant was also very nice, sitting under the trees in the hot sunshine was very cooling and tranquil. The village also got a very nice swimming pool during the summer month and a free supply of fresh mineral water from the local spring. We can only recommend this side and the village for a very relaxing and stress free holiday.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Villalonga 1 review from this member

We stayed at this site for almost a fortnight and really loved it. As previous contributors have mentioned the toilet block is exemplary with regard to sparkling cleanliness, provision of hot water and layout. The setting of both of the site itself and of the village is delightful. We were in one of the very spacious pitches, though some were fairly small. We were glad of the shade provided in the heat of the day by the beautiful trees surrounding our pitch. As the previous writer said we soon got used to the bells and the traffic noise.

We found the owners most welcoming and efficient. In particular they went out of their way to help and advise us when we had a problem relating to our towball.

It's not the place to go if you're looking for the bright lights and immediate access to shops, restaurants, supermarkets and so on, but if, like us, you're interested in exploring fascinating historic places and having a peaceful time then this could be the site for you. One further asset is that the owners also run a very successful bed and breakfast business in their own lovely old house adjacent to the campsite. Our friend stayed there and was delighted with it.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ecowoody 2 reviews from this member

My Wife and I stayed at Val d'Aleth in early September and found it the perfect site to explore the nearby Cathar castles, Rennes-le-Chateau and, of course, Carcassonne.

As mentioned by others, the facilities (Showers, WCs, basins, etc) were always spotless and there was always as much hot water as we needed. The management were efficient and helpful (for example regarding fly fishing in the River Aude) and, if not in the office, would return from their home to deal with our queries very quickly.

The site is very well set out with modest sized pitches that were perfect for our large tent and car and beautifully shaded by trees and shrubs, meaning that our cool box had no problem coping with the very warm temperatures (and ensuring that there was cold beer and chilled white wine, as well).

The immediate proximity of the medieval wall was very interesting and created a unique atmosphere and aspect to the site.

Alet les Bains is the most charming and largely unspoilt medieval walled town with a fascinating ruined Abbey but was limited in facilities. There was a very handy shop opposite the campsite that had fresh bread and just enough on sale to make a meal and the campsite shop also had the essentials (including wine and beer). The supermarkets north and south of the town were, however, not far by car (ten minutes). A small, seasonal cafe-bar was also open for part of our stay.

The situation was beautiful, located on a bend on the River Aude, with the hills visible through the trees and it was a charming location to walk around, just enjoying the atmosphere of the area.

Something not mentioned by other reviewers is the bells! The church (which we were camped directly behind) started at 7.00 am each morning with a double ring of the hour plus the call-to-work peal. That was a shock on the first morning but, after that, we got used to it surprisingly quickly (though we are not late birds, others may not appreciate them.). There is also the D118, the main road between Limoux and Quillan. We were very disappointed to hear so much road noise on our first evening but it was very quiet after 10 pm and we got used to it very quickly.

As mentioned above, the site is ideally situated to explore the fascinating history of Cathar Country, particularly the extraordinary castles and the amazing spectacle of Carcassonne (about 35-40 minutes drive – though there is also a train).

Would we stay there again? Certainly, not just because of its ideal location but also because we enjoyed staying there.

Would we recommend the site to others? Again, certainly – as long as you are aware of the bells and the main road and, like us, can find it easy to filter out such distractions.

Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Aude      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Languedoc Roussillon

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5671 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019