Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Le Val D Aleth

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Languedoc Roussillon > Aude > Le Val D Aleth Reviews

Le Val D Aleth
Alet Les Bains
Aude
Languedoc Roussillon   (Browse area)
11580
Tel: 0033 04 68 69 90 40
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 37
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 14 Reviews
                6/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jsparkes201148 28 reviews from this member

 On ACSI website but no longer ACSI

Cost us 24 euros a night.

Owner friendly and helpful, facilities clean.

A few workers with vans staying. Sleeping in van or pop up tent.

Pizzas on site, and he will bake croissants etc on request.

However, he shares his office/ kitchen with a big dog and it smells ‘doggy’

Pitches gravel and about 70sq m

Spoke to local ex pat, he said nothing in the village now. No shop or bakery.

Limoux worth a visit, 10 mins away  
via mobile


Date of Visit: January 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lynnestock 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 2 nights on way down to Spain. Great location for exploring Carcassone, amazing 1 euro transport from the town to the city each way! The medieval city is a must to explore. Alet les Bains is also interesting with a couple of reataurants and a small shop. Simple site with good facilities. Outlet for excellent local wine. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Everyman 5 reviews from this member

 The town is attractive but as others have mentioned, very quiet. The sites are small, the facilities adequate. But we didn't enjoy our stay. I was left with the feeling that we were 'in the way' of the (English) owners. We too were charged in advance for the seven nights we said we wished to stay. I don't have a problem with this, but I did resent being charged for our daughter who had joined us after injury on the Camino walk, AND the additional tent she slept in. More irritatingly, they advertise 'wi-fi' available but to achieve this we were advised to subscribe to Orange for a month (20 Euros approx) and the service was appalling - completely intermittent and unreliable. This was crucial for us as my wife works online once a week tutoring students in Australia. We ended up outside McDonalds in Limoux using their wi-fi, which thankfully extends to the carpark.

Would I recommend the park - sadly not. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: JoannaLesley 42 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 2 nights. Our main reason was to pick the owners' brains as we plan to move to France (they advertise this service). Expecting a cosy chat but were disappointed. We felt a nuisance. In early June the weather was cool & damp. Site (v. Shady - probably ideal in summer) was dank and dark, although excellent sanitary facilities. Lovely village; we walked dogs in woods above the town. Would be unlikely to visit again. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bellringer18 9 reviews from this member

 Found this site by chance. Lovely site well kept and very very clean shower block, showers best we have ever had in all the yrs been to france. Very helpful owners. Not far from carcasonne. Went by train which stops in the village 2euros. Andorra about two hrs away but well worth the ride. Bar in village and two very nice cafes. Open air pool. We had pitch no 7. Shady very hot so was most welcome overlooked the river. Good mix of brits, french, dutch. Limoux about 15mins away. Lots shops, bars etc. Markets. This is on our to go back to list. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mitchells 27 reviews from this member

 We chose to stay at this site as we wanted to visit Carcassonne and from previous reviews it looked to be ideal, we were a little disappointed with what we found.

The pitches are small and very dark, it didn't look as if the trees and bushes had been pruned for a couple of years. The sanitary facilities are OK, yes there is unlimited hot water and the showers are not the push button type but I have seen facilities on some French Municipal sites which are as good if not better.

We were prepared for the village to be quite but were surprised just how quite it was. We had originally booked for 11 days and had been told in the confirmation letter that all days booked must be paid for, regardless of how long we stayed, also payment is taken when you arrive (a very British way of doing things I think). In hindsight that should have rung alarm bells as after a week we were more than ready to leave.

The site is on one side of the river and the road (quite busy) is immediately on the opposite side of the river. As it was hot we slept with the windows open and the traffic noise was quite intrusive, even more so than the church bells which started at 7am.

As a touring base for the area it's OK but will we go again - no. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Firstclass67 38 reviews from this member

 I also would not use this site again. I was very disappointed with it.

The pitches were small and also very dirty - though that is not the owners' fault!

In the guide it advertises access to the river with swimming. There is a tiny narrow path along the river but there is no 'beach' - you have to climb down off the muddy bank and compete with the pond skaters for water.

The loos and showers were impeccably well kept, but without loo paper or loo seats. The showers would earn 10 out of 10 for me - adjustable settings, taps not push buttons, and plenty of hanging places for clothes and towel.

We were there during the fete weekend, which rather spoiled it for us - we were hoping for quiet nights, but what we got were discos that started very late and went on till 2 or 3 in the morning, 2 nights running.

Its a good site to use for the Cathar castles and the lower Pyrenees, and the village is well worth a walk round to see the medieval houses and roman remains.

Like a previous reviewer I didn't like that I had to pay up front, and was expected to pay for 3 nights when I had said on the phone 2 or maybe 3!

All in all I would not go back. 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pinxton20 9 reviews from this member

 Stayed 3 nights. Would have been 2, but our car was broken into at 5. 00 am 2nd night, and passports etc. Stolen. Owner initially said this had not happened before, but local boulangerie said there were 3 burglaries there last year. Sanitation facilities good - modern and clean. Site compact, bounded by river Aude (trout for flyfishers). Bus and train links to Carcassonne are good - important for motorhomers. Pitches were tight and site felt a bit run down (except for sanitation block. After burglary, other campers were extremely supportive. Didn't see much of owner though. Will I go again? no - not my sort of site. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gerhard1948 1 review from this member

 We stayed at this site from mid June 2011 until the beginning of August 2011, the side was outstanding, very clean facilities, some of the best and cleanest we ever encountered. The owners are very friendly; as the cleaning personal was (she was a wealth of information on the area and history off it). Everyone was very helpful. The village was very quiet, with a nice little shop/coffee/bar, you may have to sit on the road for your drink, but the drivers don’t mind, everything is very quiet and relaxing the Hotel/ Restaurant in the village has excellent food and service and again the staff was very helpful, the little garden restaurant was also very nice, sitting under the trees in the hot sunshine was very cooling and tranquil. The village also got a very nice swimming pool during the summer month and a free supply of fresh mineral water from the local spring. We can only recommend this side and the village for a very relaxing and stress free holiday. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Villalonga 1 review from this member

 We stayed at this site for almost a fortnight and really loved it. As previous contributors have mentioned the toilet block is exemplary with regard to sparkling cleanliness, provision of hot water and layout. The setting of both of the site itself and of the village is delightful. We were in one of the very spacious pitches, though some were fairly small. We were glad of the shade provided in the heat of the day by the beautiful trees surrounding our pitch. As the previous writer said we soon got used to the bells and the traffic noise.

We found the owners most welcoming and efficient. In particular they went out of their way to help and advise us when we had a problem relating to our towball.

It's not the place to go if you're looking for the bright lights and immediate access to shops, restaurants, supermarkets and so on, but if, like us, you're interested in exploring fascinating historic places and having a peaceful time then this could be the site for you. One further asset is that the owners also run a very successful bed and breakfast business in their own lovely old house adjacent to the campsite. Our friend stayed there and was delighted with it. 


Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Le Val D Aleth child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Le Val D Aleth?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Le Val D Aleth dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Aude      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Languedoc Roussillon

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3215 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement