Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lower Heights Farm Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > West Yorkshire > Keighley > Lower Heights Farm Certificated Site Reviews

Lower Heights Farm Certificated Site
Silsden
Keighley
West Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD20 9HW
Tel: 01535 653035
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5
Open: 01/04/2022 to 30/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 25 Reviews
                9/10 from 25 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Richar 1 review from this member

 A lovely quiet campsite with good, clean facilities. Perfect for camping as it has lots of room and good ground.

I was welcomed by a very helpful owner.

The site is well positioned for striking out into the Dales and local towns and for walking and climbing. 


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Ivor Bowen 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely little sight on the top of a hill. Very basic but all we wanted. Very friendly and helpful owners. (Got me our of a muddy field when I got a bit stuck!)

Only 16 per night when we stayed so great value too.

Good walks from the site and not far from the national park and Malham to boot.

Would definitely go again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Sarahb 1 review from this member

 My sister and I found this campsite from the website. I rang on the day I wanted to come and the farmer/owner was very pleasant and friendly and welcoming. We did get lost after following his directions but we are rubbish at following directions!

It is quite a remote farm though. We were late arriving but the owner was waiting for us and he was lovely. The campsite is a field on the working farm, and the views are absolutely outstanding of the beautiful Yorkshire Dales (I think it's the Dales anyway).

It was perfect for our limited needs, ie a clean toilet block with plenty of space for washing - we didn't use the shower so don't know what that was like.

It is pretty basic, with a sink to wash pots around the back of the toilet facilities, but that is the kind of camping we like. You would need to bring what you need with you as it is not walking distance to shops etc.

We absolutely loved it and would definitely go again and probably will! 


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mikea2 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for a pleasant weekend with another couple also in a motorhome. Cheap and pleasant enough -

Facilities perfectly fine, pitch electricity free, the toilets and shower (1) clean. After reading the reviews, we arrived full of water, and the facilities are not really suitable for motorhome full service, however caravans would be fine for water.

Threw it down for the first day, but the hardstanding fared well. Plenty of walks direct from the site and the lovely towns of ilkley and skipton are nearby. Would go again. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Thomasive 1 review from this member

 Wonderful site, we stayed with a group of about 16, and on a couple of occasions since as a single unit, the facilities are always clean and tidy, the showers hot and the people are lovely.

The family went out of the way to make our stay really homely and the farm owner even showed the kids round the newly hatched chickens.

Cannot recommend highly enough. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Evamis66 1 review from this member

 This is a cracking site, family ran, beautiful views, super child friendly with good facilities and well priced to boot

Will be definitely be booking to stay again!

Thanks,

Sam

(Keeper of keys and order at Tree of shields) 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Straitsman 1 review from this member

 Me and my partner Teresa have stayed here throughout 2017 and now into 2018. The views from this daily actual working farm at the top of Skipton are stunning. The owners Martin+Kathy have a beautiful peaceful tranquil site, this is rare from all the commercial sites out there. And to boot lovely helpful people. I do not agree with a previous review. We have had 1 of the hardest long winters on record. That directly affects water pipes + supply. The site is lovely + down to earth, showers, toilets, EHUs, hard+ grass pitches (weather permitting). We take our grandchildren. They love it and play in peace. It IS a working farm and as such respect to the nearby lush fields and livestock cattle in the fields must be shown at all times if going with children for their own safety. Molly the sheepdog greets you with her ball to be thrown! and chickens run free. Around the site. Perfect location and tranquil peace. 


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chota 4 reviews from this member

 We booked here for a week because of good review and we're very disappointed. The owner was busy when we arrived but said he'd see us later, he also said he hoped we had our own toilet as his was out of order. The hardstanding pitch he directed us to was mud and we would have got stuck so we went on another. We couldn't get electric so we had to bother the owner again to come and show us. So far so good but when we went to get a container of water it was brown and dirty with silt in it. We went back to the owner who said we should have filled up before we came and he had never heard of having to provide drinking water. He filled our container from his kitchen tap but when I asked what to do in future he shrugged. We stayed one night and left in the morning. We offered to pay for one night but the owner wouldn't take it saying he couldn't help the weather. We felt as if we were a nuisance and expected 5 star service from a farm site. We often go away in winter and we don't want anything special but this experience was awful 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bestyman 46 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from an enjoyable weekend here.

Location is 1. 5 miles from centre of Silsden, here you find 4 pubs, supermarket and shops etc. Taxis are available if you don't want to walk back up the hill.

At the site the view is amazing, you can see for miles. Pitches are not marked out as such so you can pitch where you like for the best view. Some areas grass some stone. EHU points everywhere.

The site has toilets and a shower which were well maintained and clean. Shower is 50p token so remember to buy on arrival if needed. There are bins with recycling, TV and 4g signal good

For a site with so many facilities and a good location, we were supervised that the cost was only 12 for 2 adults and a dog. Electric is on a meter but this amounts to pennies, mainly battery charger in our case.

Owner was friendly and helpful. We were told no set departure time.

As the name says, it is a farm. Tractors, chickens, the farm dog and even the cockerel didn't bother us at all, in fact it was nice to stay on a real farm rather than a concrete site.

We would happily stay here again. 


Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jrayner 14 reviews from this member

 Plus-points as in previous reviews. Nice views (apart from building rubble dumped smack dab in the foreground - perhaps this will be moved before the season is in full swing? ), dog- friendly, good for walking in the area, pleasant owners.

However, the toilet / shower block had clearly not been cleaned at all since the last campers left at the end of the summer, nor was it touched at all for the week of my stay. The waste bins were full, the one toilet roll that was left was damp, the hand wash was empty, the hand dryer did not work, there were dead leaves and a few pieces of litter on the floors of the toilets and shower, and the toilets were not at all clean. It was also freezing.

I also had to move several large piles of dog mess off the pitch before I could put up my awning. I understand that this is a working farm and someone's home and their dog has to do what dogs do, but I did think they might have checked for this when someone was booked in to stay.

I only paid 10 a night, which is good value, and I was the only person staying, apart from one permanent pitch and two caravans that came for one overnight, but even so, I would have expected clean facilities, particularly as this is a Camping and Caravanning Club site. This really let the site down for me.

'Hard-standing' was a bit of mixed gravel and grass next to the hedge. After a very wet winter it was also extremely soft and muddy - not really sure it qualified as hard standing!

I would probably return, but not until cleanliness is improved. 


Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lower Heights Farm Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lower Heights Farm Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Lower Heights Farm Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Keighley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1883 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement