Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Cote De Nacre

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Normandy > Saint Aubin Sur Mer > Camping Cote De Nacre Reviews

Camping Cote De Nacre
Rue General Moulton Bp 18
Saint Aubin Sur Mer
Normandy   (Browse area)
14750
Tel: +33 02 31 97 14 45
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 507
Open: 25/03/2021 to 01/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 23 Reviews
                8/10 from 23 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bigart 19 reviews from this member

 To be honest this is not the type of site we usually stay on, but we were plesently surprised, your Holliday depends on you you can get involved with the entertainment or have a quiet stay.

We called on the off chance on a Saturday afternoon with out booking and we were plesently met with English speaking receptionist and given a pitch with our acsi card, the site is about 15mins walk from the town centre, which has a very nice prom.

Also as mentioned in a prior report the toilets are very clean, also there is a bar swimming pool and a shop come takeaway, yes we would stay again if in the area 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pcjbt 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 3 nights beginning of May 18 to visit the Normandy beaches on our way through to Spain. Didn't book ahead, but due to local school holidays, pitch choice was limited which was unexpected. However, used ASCI card to book a pitch with electric, water and waste (2A 1 Dog) for a total of 55.30 Euro including tax.

The D7 entry road in the town has the expected speed humps to be aware of, and a couple of chicanes, but access is very good from the motorway. There is a pull in on the right for new arrivals which is good use of the fairly small entry road to the camp.

The reception is small but well staffed and speak many languages. They ask you to walk round to choose your pitch from a selected number ringed on the site plan whilst you leave your outfit in the arrivals area. Then report back where they complete your booking and take the money.

The site is, at first, confusing, with numbered plots not appearing to run concurrently, so take care to understand the road system, which is two way entirely. There are quick walkways between some pitches to get to the reception area, which also houses the pool complex, the bar/restaurant and outside entertainment section. The supermarket is well stocked if a little expensive. There is a large Intermarche supermarket within a couple of miles if you need it.

The toilet and shower building is exceptional and warrants the 5* rating alone. But there is wear and tear in places due to heavy people traffic that could become a hazard if not maintained. I guess pitches could get boggy in wet weather due to underlying sandy soil, but dry at time of stay. Plenty of room for 7. 5m van and car, plus room for extra tent/awning if needed. Pitches surrounded by high hedging, giving good privacy.

Entertainment in French (as you'd expect) and provided throughout the day, although limited at the beginning and end of the season.

Didn't use the bar or restaurant. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kitkat2279 9 reviews from this member

 This is the second time we have stayed here and will be our last sadly we did not enjoy it as much as 2 years ago. This campsite is no longer owned by yelloh and sandaya has taken over.

We arrived after a very tiring 200 mile drive from brittany, our pitch was available and we set up on a good size pitch. Last visit we had to pay a refundable deposit of 20 euros for the water tap which connects into your water by your pitch, this time its 30 euros and the maintenance guy come and fits it, which is good except we had an old pitch which only needed a small connection which he did but trying to explain that on leaving we didn't the whole tap and getting the refund was a little frustrating.

The electric - Last visit we did not need an electrical adapter but on this pitch we did and admittedly it was something we weren't aware of having camped all over France we had never encountered this issue. Again they wanted 30 euro deposit which is not an issue but when your tired and just want to set we were loosing patience.

The toilet block is great and clean the showers good with really hot water.

The pool indoor and outdoor both open and so was the bar. We watched the England match but at 10pm the bar shut with a room full of English fans and the game wasn't finished, I know its low season but people are still on holiday and still want to have a drink whilst watching football.

The prices are very expensive and camping there with the ACSI card does make it cheaper but now charging 19 euros a night compared to the 17 euros 2 years ago for no better facilities and 6 euros a pint this site is getting too expensive. We had a fabulous time here 2 years ago but this time we felt isolated from other campers. Its a good location for accessing D DAY beaches but to be honest its an 50min - 1hr drive to utah beach, omaha beach and saine mere eglise and there are closer campsites at cheaper rates we noticed right in the thick of d day memories.

We got free wifi in the bar and the food is ok but again expensive, the shop is well stocked and there is an intermarch and hyper you within 5-10in drive which was good value. We didn't experience any issue with getting petrol.

We found saint aubin sur mer a very sleepy village with not much going on we went to the casino but they had shut the bar at 9:30pm so we left. This part of Normandy is beautiful and steeped in history we will definitely be visiting this region again but not at this site 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Himwas22 2 reviews from this member

 This site is a really large complex and has good facilities, although we only stayed over 4 days we enjoyed the bar/ restaurant on site. As we were in a Motorhome it was a useful location, and we didn't go off site to eat - a 'family' would probably need to go into town. It was a little expensive for the pitch size, and we had a slight problem when we had wild camped one night - our 'original' pitch was re let and we were moved. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Clf86ha 16 reviews from this member

 Situated in a pretty town, easy to find, decent area to pull in whilst booking in. Told to go and look aboyt and choose a pitch if we liked the place. We chose the biggest of the pitches on their site map, not for its size, but for its position, it still wasn't a big pitch! The other pitches with caravans on, looked tight for space.

The sanitary block is nice, decent showers with good water pressure, hairdryers provided.

The pool area doesn't live up to the pictures of it! And a little health and safety wouldn't go a miss covering the tracks of the indoor pool cover between the inner and outer pools to avoid injury (my OH hurt his foot).

There is a decent shop on site and a decent laundrette, although be careful of the floor inside the laundrette, as it is in bad need of repair, and no, covering the problem with mats does not solve it!

I also witnessed some disgusting behaviour of campers emptying toiley cassettes, so I'd highly recommend you take rubber gloves and disinfecting wipes with you.

Overall, the site was ok, but I've seen better 3* sites! would I return? No. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Joflo2 7 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from this campsite having spent 10 nights there.

Unfortunately the weather was not brilliant and in fact the journey from Calais was in some of the worst rain we have encountered since towing.

Site is well signposted and in a lovely town, very pretty.

On arrival there is a handy pull in area which would take a couple of vans. Check in was easy and the staff friendly and welcoming.

We were holidaying with 2 other families and had asked to be together and the quieter area of the site (having read previous reviews regarding noise from entertainment) we were allocated pitch 13 which was perfect, close to the sanitaries (toilets, showers and pot wash - more about this later)

When we arrived at pitch there were some really large puddles and so placed the caravan and decided to leave the pitch to drain before putting the awning up. Returning after a dry hour or so the pitch was still very wet but we decided to get on with setting up hoping the pitch would dry further during the stay.

Our friends pitched adjacent were very wet also but as they had tents again there was little option but to pitch.

We had rain most days and the pitch did not fair well with lots of standing water and puddles which did not drain well the soil seemed very clay based and so not very porous.

The site was very nice, lots of trees and shortcut paths and children enjoyed cycling round the roadways.

Lovely shop for essentials, freshly baked pastries and breads which we used every day.

The pool was COLD, the indoor was bareable the outside was not for me or my 4 year old although my husband and 7 yr old braved it for the water slides which they enjoyed but daughter did come back with blue lips.

Sanitaries were very nice, cleaned regularly, the toilets had paper, soap and a decent hand drier and the showers hot and a good water flow. Pot wash was large and inside and mostly clean (why some campers find it impossible to clean up after themselves is beyond me!)

Play area for kids was nice with a variety of play equipment and bouncy castles with a seating area for the adults (you could even purchase a coffee or beer at certain times of day)

All in all a very pleasant site that we would use again should we return to the area, lovely beaches nearby (the beach within walking distance was VERY seaweedy) lots to do nearby with D-DAY beaches, museums, bayeaux tapestry, castles, etc we had plenty to do.

Our only issue would be with customer service - we reported our dodgy electrics which we had to tape together to work, and the tumble drier that failed to work (no refund forthcoming) 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kitkat2279 9 reviews from this member

 I booked two camping places at this site as we were meeting family for the D-Day celebrations we were informed before arriving that they would not be next to each other but we would be a close as possible.

On arriving to this wonderful campsite we were greeted by the staff in reception very warm and friendly introductions very informative and English excellent. We were given a map of our pitch and when we got there our family members were right next door a very pleasant surprise.

The pitches are excellent, spacious and very flat, well maintained and the campsite is immaculate.

The showers and toilets are always clean, we never had to wait ample facilities for all. Short walk down to the sea through the town which we did most evenings.

The site bakes its own bread am and pm which is delicious and we had everyday. The restaurant and take out we never visited but from what we saw it all looked good.

The pools are great and a welcome addition on D-DAY as the sun definitely had its hat on.

The only downside was having to leave we had such an amazing time and a perfect base to explore the D-DAY sights. We are already planning a trip for next year to this site. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hdv61 14 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from a lovely weeks stay at this site.

Very well laid out, plenty of room on pitches.

Toilet block very good, quite new. Always clean and never had to queue even with site being full.

Bar and restaurant ok, reasonable prices on food and drinks.

Shop adequate, lovely fresh bread and croissants baked on site.

Able to walk to village where there is a butcher and a supermarket.

Bus station 5 minutes walk from site, buses hourly whichever direction you go.

Staff in reception very nice and helpful.

Would return again definitely if in the area. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Beecherk 9 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 10 days during the dday celebrations and I have to say a great site we stayed here a few years back and it has list its polish slightly. But its in a great location for Normandy and we really enjoyed our time here. Fully serviced pitch but the water tasted of chlorine. The shop is ok great pool and the kids park is fantastic. But the attention to detail on the up keep wasn't as good as previous a door in the shower block was broken for the ten days we were there. And the disabled toilet had no loo paper while we were there.

But these issues didn't spoil our holiday and I would recommend this site great people and a great site once they catch up on all the little bits it will be a

One of the best sites in Normandy.

Kevin 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Justy 13 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a week tent camping at this site and found it to be generally excellent. The facilities are good and the pool complex is the best I have ever experienced on a campsite. There are 3 main pools and in addition a slide pool with 3 straight, fast slides and another twisty slide. There is a 'lazy river' in one pool which is superb and a fountain and bubble beds in another. The final pool can have a glass building pulled over it to make it indoor - perfect on our one gloomy day. The water is on the cold side but it is not as bad as some pools I have experienced! The toilet block is very modern which is both a good and bad thing. It is good because it is all still very clean. The bad? The sink cubicles only have one hook and no bench/shelf so I put things down on the side of the sink to then discover that the taps are automatic. The taps shot on and soaked the things on the edge of the sink! In addition one of the handwashing sinks in the ladies did not work all holiday nor did the single fancy Dyson hand dryer. There was also no hand soap for 3 days. The showers were great (apart from the single hook/no shelf/bench). They are pushbutton but the temperature is controllable and the water lasted for several minutes on one push. The pressure is good too. The temperature was a bit variable - one day barely warm, the next boiling hot. The site is in a great position to visit the local area. I can highly recommend the 360 Cinema at Arromanche and the Cite de la Mer in Cherbourg.

Now for my two gripes. The noise. There are signs up around the place reminding people to be respectful and quiet after 10pm and totally silent between midnight and 7am. The hypocrisy of this is staggering as the 'entertainment' goes on until way past 10pm and is unbelievably loud when you are in a tent! We thought we were quite a good distance from the bar but the noise literally booms across the site. On our last night a marching band marched through the campsite at around 8pm which was quite amusing. It wasn't so amusing when they started up again at 10. 15pm. For those in a mobile home or cottage it probably wasn't noticeable but in a tent. I just happen to have a decibel meter on my iPad (don't ask!) and the level was 85 in our tent every evening from between 8pm to 11pm. This may not sound much but I like to have a nice relaxing sit outside my tent in the evening and the karaoke/disco/general shouty DJ spoilt this every night. In addition they obviously have no one patrolling the site at night as for 2 of the nights the group of students a few tents down were still running around, shouting and laughing at 2am. Fortunately when I went to complain I was told they were leaving that day. The toilets are also very intimidating at night. A couple of times I went to the toilet block in the middle of the night to find groups of French teenagers/young adults hanging around drinking and shouting (and engaging in other activities in the cubicles!)

2nd gripe - some of the pitches are very small and awkward to get onto. We have a 6 berth tent which is quite large but certainly not the biggest tent I have ever seen and we had to put it on at a really strange angle and could barely get the car on too (it stuck out onto the road). This meant that we had no space at all for sitting outside the tent and there was no area anywhere for throwing a ball/playing badminton etc.

Despite these gripes overall the site was great and I may consider coming back and staying in a mobile home but I don't think I would camp here again. 


Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Cote De Nacre child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Cote De Nacre have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Cote De Nacre?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Cote De Nacre dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Saint Aubin Sur Mer      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Normandy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/03
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2920 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement