Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Church Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Site Reviews

Church Farm
Monkton Farleigh
Bradford On Avon
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
BA15 2QJ
Tel: 01225 858583
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 20
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 9 Reviews
                6/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Webbhq 3 reviews from this member

The campsite is small, the field is flat and sheltered, the owner is friendly and it's in a nice village - the pub is a 5-minute walk away. However as you'll read in previous reviews, the bathroom / washing up facilities are in a barn shared with horse stables and horse owners. There was only one loo (filthy but later cleaned in a perfunctory way) and one shower which emitted a dribble of water - mainly sideways - so was impossible to use. The washing up sink was shared by horse owners - a girl was making up horse feed in the sink when I arrived. The sink was absolutely filthy and unhygienic to use. I'm used to rustic camping and don't mind the single loo, no hot water for washing up etc - it was just the layers of dirt that were disturbing. The owner was going to charge £20/night for this. I disputed it and was given a discount.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: RRandall 1 review from this member

What a lovely stay! Described as 'a small green field site', it was exactly what we wanted. My partner and I were looking for somewhere quiet for the weekend, and this little gem was certainly that. Two toilets & showers, clean and tidy, acceptable for a good price (only £10 each night). The village was lovely, lots of nice footpaths, and the pub up the road was a bit of luxury (maybe a tad expensive?!). We also found the Fox and hounds very good just down the road - food was great! Campsite was a short drive from Bradford on avon, also nice to visit, but we were happy to return to our little tent and peacefulness. Great as a short last minute break away!

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Choisy 1 review from this member

Spent a beautiful night here after a swim at nearby Claverton Weir. 5 adults in a camper van and tent, along with our 3 year-old and 1 year-old. Lovely well kept small field looking over the surrounding countryside, including the horses paddocks on the farm. Owners were welcoming and helpful.

Although the campsite doesn't allow open fires (so the grass doesn't get burnt), they were happy for us to have a barbecue raised off the ground on bricks.

There are two toilets and two showers (one each for men and women) which were clean and functional. Showers nice and warm. I always like to wash up with warm water, so it was a little disappointing that there wasn't a hot tap for the sink, and we weren't supposed to use the kettle. It takes more than this to spoil a camping trip for me though! Lack of toilet paper also not a problem as we would no sooner go camping without our sleeping bags than without toilet paper.

The village is tiny and idyllic, there is a charming church adjacent to the farm, Bath is a short drive away and there are lots of options of things to do in the local area - footpaths, cycle track along the Avon Canal, Muddy Duck pub, Bathhampton Mill pub (on the river, right next to the c19th toll bridge), endless things to do in Bath, Claverton Weir is an amazing swimming spot, not much parking though.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Roger2338 2 reviews from this member

We recently spent 3 nights here. We chose this site because we were told it had a large paddock for exercising dogs. Unfortunately this was not the case.

Dogs had to be on a lead whenever on the site & no paddock was available - all paddocks surrounding the site contained livestock.

Because dogs, caravans & tents were all together you were obliged to 'walk ' the dogs offsite. This involved using a very narrow lane or the verge of the road. Not very safe as the lane had very narrow verges.

All the other details are correct but the shower block is tired. It really needs upgrading and increasing in size, 4 toilets & 2 showers can be a problem first thing of a morning!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Skodie 15 reviews from this member

Stayed here with a large family group, 5 units 21 people. On the plus side they were happy to accept a large group and one of the party stayed in the B and B. It is close to bath and lovely countryside.

However the facilities 2 toilets and 2 showers were only cleaned occasionally, there was no hot water in the wash basins and the kitchen area was not for campers use. Access to the facilities is through the livery barn which was not very pleasant in high summer.

The grass had not been cut in many weeks and recycling bins were left to over flow for several days. There was no access to the children's play area or the swimming pool although we would have been unlikely to use it as£3 a person seems a little steep given its size and condition.

The site was cheap at £10 per unit per night however not value for money.

If we had not been with a large group then we probably have left. We are unlikely to return.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nuttyzebra 1 review from this member

This is the first time of staying but second time of booking to stay at church farm, first time they were fully booked and we now understand why.

We got a very warm welcome from the owner, he showed us where everything was and we got the pick of the plots.

The amenities are very basic, nice hot shower, with toilet and sink, and a sink for drinking water. There is a small play area with swings and climbing frame which our 2 children loved, and wanted to play on even in the rain.

The toilet block is also used by the livery stables (which are connected) they were all very pleasant, but if your not fond of horses it's not the place to go.

The site is perfectly placed for day trips to Bath, and surrounding areas.

All in all we were very happy with our stay and will definitely be making a return trip.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rosie2 4 reviews from this member

We re-visited Church Farm for the 3rd time, and it has changed a bit since last year.

The price is still £10 per pitch per night, but we are no longer allowed to use the plug sockets in the loo/shower area - this was quite inconvenient as we had used them in the past. Shower and loo still in need of a wipe down before use, and no loo roll or hand soap.

The site has obviously become more popular as there was another 2 campers and 2 camper vans on site over the weekend (which meant queueing for the loo and shower!).

Groups of folk using the livery yard seemed to have formed a habit of staying in the yard later into the evening and drinking cups of tea and beer, just be aware if you have young children that you may be disturbed by their noise in the evenings.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rosie2 4 reviews from this member

2009 was the second time we had used Church Farm as our campsite, whilst visiting nearby Castle Combe race circuit. A group of us (all adults) stayed in 2 tents (£10 per tent, no extra charge for extra adults or cars) and 4 of us used Church Farm's B&B.

The site had not been mown recently so we all got wet feet in the morning, but the field was free from horsey poo (which you may have expected as the place is also a livery yard).

The very basic shower and loo (1 Male & 1 Female) needed a quick wash down before we used them, but they are shared with the horsey people and there was quite a few of them at the weekend. No loo roll or hand soap, but we had bought our own. There is a small area with a sink and kettle, and plug sockets which we could use for hairdryers etc.

The owners were very friendly, and even allowed us campers into the B&B on the Sunday morning and cooked us breakfast (£6 each).

We will use the site again next year, although basic it is great for the price!

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Naomi Williams 1 review from this member

We went to Church farm the week after August bank holiday. (it was fully booked before)

Monkton Farleigh is 5miles either way to Bath & Bradford-On-Avon, And is a lovely little village with a church, a shop/post office & a great oldie worldie pub about 7 Min's walk up hill. The pub does lovely food & has great gardens with views over fields.

Church Farm cost us in September, £10 per pitch per night, we stayed in our Kalahari 8 tent, no extra charge for dogs or cars.

There is an outdoor swimming pool by the house that campers can use, 1pm till 3pm at the cost of £3.

The site a basic field without EHU, surrounded by horses, as people use it to house them on the farm. There is 1 male & female toilet/shower, very basic with spiders (but clean).

Friendly owners, although we didn't see that much of them.

We (husband me & our 2 dogs) had a fantastic

Time & cant wait to go back at Easter next year.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3021 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019