Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Park House Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Appleby In Westmorland > Park House Caravan Park Reviews

Park House Caravan Park
Roman Road
(lake District)
Appleby In Westmorland
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA16 6JB
Tel: 01768 353249
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 10
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 11 Reviews
                9/10 from 11 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Torrington 4 reviews from this member

 The owner of this site lives in a house adjacent to the site and generally keeps his eye on the place. He is friendly and helpful but leaves campers to their own resources. The washrooms, showers and lavatories are clean, well equipped and substantially built. The showers are coin operated and work well. There is plentiful hot water. There are no pitches, people go where they want, which can sometimes lead to people pitching up too close to others. The site is on a gentle slope but this does not present any real problems. The site is surounded by tall trees and this provides a degree of shelter from bad weather. The Derbyshire Dales do have more wind and rainfall than average and this site is quite high up giving views across many miles of rolling moorland. Although the site is quite remote it is close to Monsal Dale Head and the similarly named hotel nearby, which does good food and drinks. This is an excellent site for people who want simple unadorned sites and avoid unnecessary sophistication. I will return again soon. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tangoman69 3 reviews from this member

 We were the first tourers on site for a 4 night Bank Holiday weekend and had a choice of all the pitches, there are only 10. There is a slight slope to the pitches, but we managed OK without the need for using chocks.

The site is located on a working farm, hence the no dogs rule, but if you like horses, sheep and rabbits this is the site for you.

The shower/toilet block is clean with plenty of hot water.

It is a short walk to Appleby, where there is a variety of shops, pubs and restaurants, and the locals are friendly.

The warden was very accommodating and pointed out local walks for us.

Would I visit again? Definitely! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Redwiggi 3 reviews from this member

 We received a very friendly welcome at the site. The site is quiet with very good views. The showers were excellent and very clean as were the toilets and washing up area, lots of hot water.

The site is on quite a steep slope so take chocks with you.

Easy walks to Appleby and a hotel very near. There were a few other Hotels in Appleby which did food.

There are lots of interesting villages nearby and good rail links if you don't want to drive. The station is only a 10 minute walk away.

I would certainly recommend this site if it is peace and quiet you are looking for, and we look forward to going back. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Sandranewgirl 2 reviews from this member

 This is my second visit to this fabulous caravan park, I took my camper and my 18 month old grand daughter, we were made very very welcome,

My granddaughter was invited to stroke the lambs and horses and she loved it,

Toilet block was spotless and we enjoyed our breakfast on the picnic tables surrounded by beautiful views.

The owners are the nicest people and put them selves out to make sure you have every thing you need,

Cant wait to go back again soon loved it 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DebandAndy 1 review from this member

 Only our second time venturing out and what a pleasant experience it turned out to be. Park House is an immaculate site with spectacular views, whatever the weather.

The lady owner (sorry didn't get her name) was welcoming and friendly. The shower/toilet block was absolutely immaculate with red hot powerful showers included in the price. We had a drink in the nearby Appleby Manor House which was a bit pricey but worth it for the experience.

We had a walk into Appleby (about 15 mins there) a few pints and a walk back (25 mins!) and everyone was friendly and welcoming. Thoroughly recommended, we will be back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lambshack 3 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site to find, the view of the countryside is second to none. The toilet block is very good, clean and functional.

The site was very peaceful and you can only hear the road when windows are open or whilst sitting in the awning.

Hard standing Pitches require levelling blocks etc if pitched across the incline but David is on hand to assist if necessary.

Very relaxing watching both the cows & horses in their fields.

Will definitely revisit. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Sandranewgirl 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic camp-site. Hard standings and grass pitches, electric hook up for no extra charge, picnic tables, beautiful scenery, cleanest nicest toilet and shower block I have even seen in a camp site, yes not far from A66 but you don't really hear it, very friendly people, kids loved the horses and sheep. Appleby is a very nice village and not to far to walk or drive, well worth a stay, cant wait to go back again later this year 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Julesndave 1 review from this member

 Nice peaceful camp site with both grass and hardstanding pitches. Electric hook up and awning at no extra charge during our stay. Toilet/Shower block excellent. Horses kept our 11 year old entertained.

Appleby short walk or drive away. Very picturesque with lovely river walks and a selection of shops, pubs and takeaways.

Will definitely be staying here again. Nice gateway to the Lakes etc. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Stumpythebear 13 reviews from this member

 Stayed here over the early May Bank Holiday. Weather was cold but fine. Campsite in very good and attractive setting. Very little noise from nearby A road.

Excellent toilet and shower block. Very quiet and peaceful. 20 minute walk into Appleby - a very pleasant, small town, with a range of interesting shops.

Good walk from the campsite to the stunning High Cup Nick, which is a fascinating geological feature on the Pennine Way. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Franandmike 1 review from this member

 Spent two nights here in August.

Very peaceful, quiet site. They really do have the best facilities we've seen for ages. Spotless showers and toilets were cleaned even when they were clean already! Hot water throughout all facilities including the washing up sink. Pitches were flat and each with their own hook up (for which there is no extra charge). They were a good size too.

If there is only one downside, it is that its close to the dual carriageway. You soon ignore the road noise though.

Appleby is a very pleasant village with lots of walking and cycling routes to enjoy.

Definitely will be going back again. 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Park House Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Park House Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Park House Caravan Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Appleby In Westmorland      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Campervan Show, Peterborough 11/06 to 13/06
Browse new and used motorhomes for sale from a huge range of local and national dealers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3116 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement