Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Howslack Farm Certificated Location

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Moffat > Howslack Farm Certificated Location > Reviews

Howslack Farm Certificated Location
Annan Water
Moffat
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG10 9LS
Tel: 01683 220416  or  07821 781517
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 CAMC Members Only
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 15 Reviews
                9/10 from 15 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

This is a Caravan and Motorhome Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes and is for Club Members only.

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: March 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gillian robertson 1 review from this member

 We are new to caravanning but this place is really special.

Basic but worth it for the views and the lovely owner.

There are only 5 pitches by the river and looking out over the hills.

Wonderful walks nearby and Moffat is a great wee town. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Franksy 1 review from this member

 This site was out of the way with wonderful views. There were picnic benches near each pitch. Bird feeders everywhere.

A beautiful running stream to boot. There was a shower and toilet on site which also incorporated a small library in the outer room.

It was not walkable into town but just a couple of minutes in the car. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: LouLiz 36 reviews from this member

 Like other campers, we just wanted a stopover coming from Fort William back down to Birmingham and Moffat fitted the bill. We had tried to book the C&CC but they wanted us to book for two nights and we only wanted one so chose this site and for £16 it was well worth it.

Quiet and peaceful although we did have the building noise over the road but they didn't start too early. Views were fabulous. It was a shame it was raining and the field got quite boggy but as the pitches were all hard standing it didn't matter.

We couldn't get any radio, tv or mobile coverage but for one night this didn't bother us. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 124 reviews from this member

 A really popular site as the owner was refusing bookings.

Located a couple of miles from Moffat itself up a lovely quiet road with excellent views over the hills. There was a bit of noise from a new building being erected behind the site, but otherwise really peaceful.

The facilities were basic but fine.

One evening we got a taxi into Moffat (£6 each way) and enjoyed a good evening meal in the Balmoral Hotel. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Teenoso 8 reviews from this member

 We were on the road North to freecamp the night before going to the C&CC site at Moffat the following day. For one reason or another the free camping option didn't materialise so we frantically consulted UK Campsite UK on our smartphones, tracked down this site & wearily pulled in at around 8. 00pm, in the dark. We woke to this gem of a site in a terrific location, great views and so quiet. We were made so welcome we asked if we could stay another night, forfeiting our C&CC fee. Worth every penny. Hate telling people - want to keep this one to ourselves! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dave and Wendy 35 reviews from this member

 Was going to use this as a 1 night stop over but stayed for 2 nights as it was so peaceful. As others have said road to it from Moffat is very narrow but we had no problems when we passed a couple of tractors. It is worth the drive up from Moffat, so quite and peaceful just the sound of sheep and a few birds.

6 Flat hard standings right next to the road but as this is a no through road had very little traffic, and what did go by was hardly noticeable.

There is a shower/wc block which was kept clean and tidy, two water taps, a waste disposal point, the E/H are close to the pitches.

Good views all round of rolling hills.

Well worth more than an over night stay, we will be going back when next in that area. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lady of the lakes 36 reviews from this member

 This is a very peaceful site located a couple of miles down a little used narrow lane. We had no problems getting our van down there as we are quite small. The pitches have marvellous views of the rolling hills and all we could hear were the birds and the occasional sheep from the hills. The single toilet and shower are adequate; there were an assortment of leaflets and reading matter on a table in the facilities hut. The best part for the dog and I was discovering the Annandale Way just a few yards back up the road. You will need a long lead for the dog as it passes through gated sheep pastures, but the walk climbs gently up the slopes of the hill and magnificent views unfold as you go. It was lucky for us that the sheep eventually gave way to cows beyond one of the gates, or we would probably still be walking. Although the site seems to be popular for stopovers (and we were no exception this time), it would be lovely to spend more time exploring the area. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Elmo the motorhome 26 reviews from this member

 Like most people we used this site as a stopover en route to the Scottish Islands. It is a convenient place to access. Quiet with countryside views. The single toilet / shower is in need of refurbishment. There was no hot water to the wash basin. There is a waste disposal point. At £15. 50 per night it is 'par for the course'. However, other sites offer better facilities for the same price. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 86 reviews from this member

 We needed a half way stopover when travelling from West Norfolk to a wedding at Arisaig [between Fort William & Mallaig] and Howslack Farm fitted the bill perfectly.

The site is located not too far off the A74(M) - [Jnt 15]. Yes the road to the site is a bit narrow in places but we didnít encounter any problems with our 7m long motorhome. The site has six hardstandings but they arenít very deep or wide, so any towing vehicles or awnings would need to be on the adjacent grass. There was a water point alongside both fences and the EHUís were within a sensible distance of the pitches.

The toilet & shower, along with an information table, were housed in the building on the site and were always clean & tidy. It should be noted that the occupants of this building are not associated with the site at all.

We were charged £14. 50 for two adults and a dog in late August 2014. The owner appeared during the early evening to collect the site fee.

The area is a haven of quiet [apart from the odd tractor on the adjacent road] and we would have liked to have spent longer in the area. We hope to return at some point to do the area ďjusticeĒ. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ardenjock 1 review from this member

 A good quiet site.

Very clean and tidy with one toilet block including shower.

The access road is a little narrow in parts and is also used by a logging operator but no problems encountered.

Take the opportunity to top up supplies on the way in. The nearest provisions will be behind you in Moffat. Moffat is well worth a visit.

Very good scenery all round the site. 


Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Howslack Farm Certificated Location child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Howslack Farm Certificated Location?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Howslack Farm Certificated Location dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Moffat      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


46128 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement