Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Howslack Farm Certificated Location

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Borders > Site Reviews

Howslack Farm Certificated Location
Annan Water
Moffat
Borders   (Browse area)
DG10 9LS
Tel: 01683 220416
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 5 CAMC Members Only
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 13 Reviews
                9/10 from 13 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

This is a Caravan and Motorhome Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes and is for Club Members only.

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: LouLiz 15 reviews from this member

Like other campers, we just wanted a stopover coming from Fort William back down to Birmingham and Moffat fitted the bill. We had tried to book the C&CC but they wanted us to book for two nights and we only wanted one so chose this site and for £16 it was well worth it. Quiet and peaceful although we did have the building noise over the road but they didn't start too early. Views were fabulous. It was a shame it was raining and the field got quite boggy but as the pitches were all hard standing it didn't matter.

We couldn't get any radio, tv or mobile coverage but for one night this didn't bother us.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 71 reviews from this member

A really popular site as the owner was refusing bookings.

Located a couple of miles from Moffat itself up a lovely quiet road with excellent views over the hills. There was a bit of noise from a new building being erected behind the site, but otherwise really peaceful.

The facilities were basic but fine.

One evening we got a taxi into Moffat (£6 each way) and enjoyed a good evening meal in the Balmoral Hotel.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Teenoso 5 reviews from this member

We were on the road North to freecamp the night before going to the C&CC site at Moffat the following day. For one reason or another the free camping option didn't materialise so we frantically consulted UK Campsite UK on our smartphones, tracked down this site & wearily pulled in at around 8. 00pm, in the dark. We woke to this gem of a site in a terrific location, great views and so quiet. We were made so welcome we asked if we could stay another night, forfeiting our C&CC fee. Worth every penny. Hate telling people - want to keep this one to ourselves!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dave and Wendy 26 reviews from this member

Was going to use this as a 1 night stop over but stayed for 2 nights as it was so peaceful. As others have said road to it from Moffat is very narrow but we had no problems when we passed a couple of tractors. It is worth the drive up from Moffat, so quite and peaceful just the sound of sheep and a few birds.

6 Flat hard standings right next to the road but as this is a no through road had very little traffic, and what did go by was hardly noticeable.

There is a shower/wc block which was kept clean and tidy, two water taps, a waste disposal point, the E/H are close to the pitches.

Good views all round of rolling hills.

Well worth more than an over night stay, we will be going back when next in that area.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lady of the lakes 30 reviews from this member

This is a very peaceful site located a couple of miles down a little used narrow lane. We had no problems getting our van down there as we are quite small. The pitches have marvellous views of the rolling hills and all we could hear were the birds and the occasional sheep from the hills. The single toilet and shower are adequate; there were an assortment of leaflets and reading matter on a table in the facilities hut. The best part for the dog and I was discovering the Annandale Way just a few yards back up the road. You will need a long lead for the dog as it passes through gated sheep pastures, but the walk climbs gently up the slopes of the hill and magnificent views unfold as you go. It was lucky for us that the sheep eventually gave way to cows beyond one of the gates, or we would probably still be walking. Although the site seems to be popular for stopovers (and we were no exception this time), it would be lovely to spend more time exploring the area.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Elmo the motorhome 26 reviews from this member

Like most people we used this site as a stopover en route to the Scottish Islands. It is a convenient place to access. Quiet with countryside views. The single toilet / shower is in need of refurbishment. There was no hot water to the wash basin. There is a waste disposal point. At £15. 50 per night it is 'par for the course'. However, other sites offer better facilities for the same price.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 77 reviews from this member

We needed a half way stopover when travelling from West Norfolk to a wedding at Arisaig [between Fort William & Mallaig] and Howslack Farm fitted the bill perfectly.

The site is located not too far off the A74(M) - [Jnt 15]. Yes the road to the site is a bit narrow in places but we didnít encounter any problems with our 7m long motorhome. The site has six hardstandings but they arenít very deep or wide, so any towing vehicles or awnings would need to be on the adjacent grass. There was a water point alongside both fences and the EHUís were within a sensible distance of the pitches.

The toilet & shower, along with an information table, were housed in the building on the site and were always clean & tidy. It should be noted that the occupants of this building are not associated with the site at all.

We were charged £14. 50 for two adults and a dog in late August 2014. The owner appeared during the early evening to collect the site fee.

The area is a haven of quiet [apart from the odd tractor on the adjacent road] and we would have liked to have spent longer in the area. We hope to return at some point to do the area ďjusticeĒ.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ardenjock 1 review from this member

A good quiet site.

Very clean and tidy with one toilet block including shower.

The access road is a little narrow in parts and is also used by a logging operator but no problems encountered.

Take the opportunity to top up supplies on the way in. The nearest provisions will be behind you in Moffat. Moffat is well worth a visit.

Very good scenery all round the site.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alan Trengove 5 reviews from this member

What a beautiful site. Views all round outstanding. Used as half way stop to Aberdeen. Not far from M74. Quiet. Road to site is narrow in places, but so what, the trip was well worth it. Everything you need is down the road in Moffat. O. K so tv reception isn't up to much, but is that important on holiday? The site had plenty of room for the caravans. It was level. The toilet was clean and well kept. Booked in again this year, that says it all.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sinbad 17 reviews from this member

This is a lovely little site with friendly owners. The toilet is very clean with a nice shower and constant hot water. The views are tranquil.

The only down side was the approach. The road is single track and although there are passing places they are small. We met two tractors and had to reverse which was a bit hairy to say the least with a drop to the stream looming.

The entrance to the site appears to be quite narrow but on leaving we noticed that the post to the little gate can be removed to make it about 3 feet wider. Handy idea!

I would heartily recommend this site if you have a smaller van or motorhome but the approach was a bit stressful for us!

Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Borders

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over £399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2311 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth £399!